29029
Top 1000 Contributor
Share 29029's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
29029's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    26
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    17 June 2009
  • Last Review
    19 September 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    2
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    28 April 2011
  • Last Answer
    20 June 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
29029's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Morgan Blue Chain Cleaner - 1000ml Bottle with Spray Head
Morgan Blue Chain Cleaner - 1000ml Bottle with Spray Head
Chain Cleaner is an active cleaner/degreaser suitable for the chain and drivetrain components. This degreaser is used by several professional teams.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
does the job well
Posted19 September 2011
29029
fromSandhurst, Berkshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"this certainly breaks down grease/gunk on the transmission parts very quickly and can be sprayed then brushed then rinsed off, it is a light liquid, like terps/white spirit, I found that the spray head leaks meaning you do get wet hands which does help clean them too, not sure if they all do it or just this one."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
These Roubaix 3/4 Bib Tights are your winter saviors and will keep your warm and comfortable whatever the weather.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent product for cooler weather
Posted19 September 2011
29029
fromSandhurst, Berkshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Have been looking at these for some time in my wishlist and eventually went for them with the change in weather. These are excellent, lighter than the full leg version and cooler with the mesh back. Great pad.
Love 'em, these really do fill the shorts gap very well which I had been dubious about having both shorts and full leg. Have only used in relatively mild weather and have been impressed at the warmth in my legs but not over heating either with a long sleve jersey. I use them for road and MTB.
fyi, I'm 5'8" and 80 kg and the Medium is a good fit, perhaps a bit long in the lower leg but not an issue; I am sure a small would be too small.
If you've considered these just go for it you will not regret it."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomizes power and elegance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great device
Posted20 June 2011
29029
fromSandhurst, Berkshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The Cateye Strada wireless is a great device, easy to use, and in my opinion looks great on my new road bike, it is smaller (as is the detector) than the Cateye Micro Wireless which I use on my MTB and a fixie.
The touch anywhere technology is in reality down to the switch being on the back of the unit, when you press the screen it pivots down to depress the switch, this does not have touch screen technology.
The quick 'on' fixing for the computer is good, hoping it doesn't off a thief a quick 'off' option!
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 TT02 Touring Puncture Repair Outfit
TT02 Touring Puncture Repair Outfit
Probably the most effective permanent puncture repair kit in the world.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
a proper repair kit
Posted16 May 2011
29029
fromSandhurst, Berkshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"this is a proper repair kit, and the patches always make a great seal"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SRAM PC991 9 Speed Chain - Crossstep
SRAM PC991 9 Speed Chain - Crossstep
SRAM PC991 9 Speed Chain with PowerChain II technology.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic Chain
Posted16 May 2011
29029
fromSandhurst, Berkshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Fantastic chain, looks great, cleans up well, tough, and as with SRAM the power link means easy on/off for cleaning and emergency situations.
I think SRAM chains are the best and run them on all my bikes."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Pedal Wrench
LifeLine Pedal Wrench
15mm carbon steel Lifeline pedal wrench
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
You have to have one
Posted16 May 2011
29029
fromSandhurst, Berkshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"What can I say, you have to have one of these if you like to do any bike mechanics"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cross Country Wet Lubricant 120ml Bottle
Cross Country Wet Lubricant 120ml Bottle
This Wet Lube is ideal for all MTB chains and great for extreme weather.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great lube for winter
Posted16 May 2011
29029
fromSandhurst, Berkshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"great lube, works well for the most part, the only drawback is that it will collect grit and sand which of course will wear a chain etc, so need to keep cleaning that chain"
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ergon GP3 (Formerly GR2) Handlebar Grips
Ergon GP3 (Formerly GR2) Handlebar Grips
Made with a GFK composite bar end with an rubber anti-slip insert. The bar end and support platform can be independently adjusted to suit riding position and style.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great product
Posted16 May 2011
29029
fromSandhurst, Berkshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these for an MTB bike that I was using in a 110KM sportive, they gave lots of extra positions on the bars which was great and are fully adjustable. they make for a reasonable off road bar end too, pull on them up hill and they never slip."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lifesystems Mountain Whistle
Lifesystems Mountain Whistle
This whistle has an anodised body with a keyring attachment and a single blast can reach 100 decibels. The international distress signal is 6 blasts of a whistle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
One for the saddle bag or back pack
Posted16 May 2011
29029
fromSandhurst, Berkshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Thought it might be useful to have one of these in my kit in the saddle back (top peak wedge) just in case I was injured and needed to get some attention, this is light weight, small, noisy and reasonable, get one."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Basic Bottle Cage
Basic Bottle Cage
One piece injection moulded construction bottle cage
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bargain price for great look
Posted16 May 2011
29029
fromSandhurst, Berkshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bargain price for great look on my new Cannondale Synapse (also in black) when you are buying two, look great, work well, light weight, love 'em"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
29029's Questions
 
29029 has not submitted any questions.
 
29029's Answers
 
 SKS Chromoplastic Road Mudguard Set
SKS Chromoplastic Road Mudguard Set
The Rolls-Royce of mudguards; they are virtually unbreakable and very elegant. The stainless steel v-shaped stays make for easy fitting and quick release secu-clips are far safer than standard fixings.
 

i have a hybrid bike with 700c-35 wheels, what size should i get?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I run the 35mm wide guards and I use 700*28 tyres which seems about as wide a tyre should be used so I think you would be best using at least the next size up, 45mm, to get the best water protection
3 years, 6 months ago
by
29029
Sandhurst, Berkshire, UK
 
 dhb UltraLite Sunglasses
dhb UltraLite Sunglasses
Now available in a choice of three lens options, the dhb Ultralite Sunglasses are comfortable, lightweight and versatile.
 

Is there any way to find out before buying, if they'll fit me?

I could measure my head if needed, but I don't want to buy glasses that are too big for me... and I have a problem finding the right size (smaller models are okay).
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
they fit an average head and are flexible, go for it, at this price they are worth a try compared to the expensive branded equipment

note that they also work for my 11 year old daughter, so do fit a smaller head/face
3 years, 6 months ago
by
29029
Sandhurst, Berkshire, UK
 
 dhb UltraLite Sunglasses
dhb UltraLite Sunglasses
Now available in a choice of three lens options, the dhb Ultralite Sunglasses are comfortable, lightweight and versatile.
 

What is the fit like of these glasses, would the fit ladies ?

I'm thinking of getting a pair of these for my partner, she is quite small and usually wears kids glasses. How small do they come up ?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I would say ok, but possibly a little large looking.
I say this as my 11 year old daughter wears these and they work for her, as a kid she has a kids size head, about average for her age!

Hope that helps

At this price you can't go wrong and if too big then you have a spare pair!
3 years, 6 months ago
by
29029
Sandhurst, Berkshire, UK
 
 dhb UltraLite Sunglasses
dhb UltraLite Sunglasses
Now available in a choice of three lens options, the dhb Ultralite Sunglasses are comfortable, lightweight and versatile.
 

Changing lenses?

I have just taken delivery of my triples and would like to know how on earth I change the lenses? I want to put the clear in for night riding but thought I'd ask how to change before I started pulling and pushing.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I find they pop out of the frame easier at the arm edge of the frame, like wise put the replacements in at the center first then pop back in fully at the arm edge of the frame. The frames are pretty flexible.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
29029
Sandhurst, Berkshire, UK
 
 SKS Chromoplastic Road Mudguard Set
SKS Chromoplastic Road Mudguard Set
The Rolls-Royce of mudguards; they are virtually unbreakable and very elegant. The stainless steel v-shaped stays make for easy fitting and quick release secu-clips are far safer than standard fixings.
 

Which SKS mudguards will fit my specialized tricross sport 2009 please?

Bike has Borough CX 700 x 32c tyres...
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I have a 35mm wide set on my Tricross and these work well with 700*28 tyres, would expect work well with 700*32 also.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
29029
Sandhurst, Berkshire, UK
 
 SKS Chromoplastic Road Mudguard Set
SKS Chromoplastic Road Mudguard Set
The Rolls-Royce of mudguards; they are virtually unbreakable and very elegant. The stainless steel v-shaped stays make for easy fitting and quick release secu-clips are far safer than standard fixings.
 

Could you recommend a size for a specialized tricross please?

Also, do I need any additional fitting kit?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I run 700*28 Continental tyres on my Tricross and the 35mm mudguard works well, I think it would also be ok on 700*32
3 years, 7 months ago
by
29029
Sandhurst, Berkshire, UK
 
 Hummvee Baggy Shorts with Liner
Hummvee Baggy Shorts with Liner
The Hummvee collection from Endura is one of the iconic ranges that is used by MTB'ers worldwide thanks to excellent quality, comfort, and performance. Aided with great styles, designs and colours this collection has it all.
 

lining

does liner have padding, ie like regular cycle shorts?.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, synthetic type, and it works pretty well too!
3 years, 7 months ago
by
29029
Sandhurst, Berkshire, UK
 
 Shimano Dura Ace Track Single Sprockets
Shimano Dura Ace Track Single Sprockets
Dura Ace Track sprockets ranging from 13T to 16T
 

What is the difference between 1 / 2" x 1 / 8" sprockett and a 1 / 2" x 3 / 32" sprocket?

Is one better than the other?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
1/8 or 3/32 refers to the chain width, you can use a 3/32 sprocket with a 1/8 or 3/32 chain but you cannot use a 1/8 sprocket with a 3/32 chain as the chain will not be wide enough.
A derailleur chain will be 3/32, single speed bikes may have 1/8, a BMX chain will be 1/8.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
29029
Sandhurst, Berkshire, UK
 
 Shimano Dura Ace Track Single Sprockets
Shimano Dura Ace Track Single Sprockets
Dura Ace Track sprockets ranging from 13T to 16T
 

Thread

Hello, is the thread is 1,37" x 24TPI ?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Dunno what the actual thread is but it fitted a standard thread on the back wheel of my spesh singlecross
3 years, 7 months ago
by
29029
Sandhurst, Berkshire, UK
 
 SKS Chromoplastic Road Mudguard Set
SKS Chromoplastic Road Mudguard Set
The Rolls-Royce of mudguards; they are virtually unbreakable and very elegant. The stainless steel v-shaped stays make for easy fitting and quick release secu-clips are far safer than standard fixings.
 

Will these fit a 2010 specialized tricross sport?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I have them on a Spesh Tricross (single speed) which I believe is the same frame, no problems fitting although I did buy some longer bolts to fit a rack and rear mudguard stays.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
29029
Sandhurst, Berkshire, UK