Safmeister
Top 250 Contributor
Share Safmeister's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Safmeister's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    58
  • Helpfulness Votes
    21
  • First Review
    24 June 2009
  • Last Review
    20 August 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review Comment
    10 June 2011
  • Last Review Comment
    13 February 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    24 August 2010
  • Last Answer
    02 May 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Safmeister's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
Ale's best known Graphics bib shorts, used by professionals and amateurs all over the world. It is a 'Pure Performance' garment, a perfect and tested mix that combines the graphic details with technical and highly functional fabrics.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good quality shorts
Posted20 August 2017
Safmeister
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Female
"The fit and quality of these shorts is superb as ever. Love Ale kit. Always seems to fit me perfectly and is so comfortable to wear. Never buy anything else."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Summer cycling gloves with simplicity in mind. Castelli Women's Dolcissima Gloves are simple, elegant and stylish in a colour range to suit most kits no matter whether you like to clash or match.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Nice gloves
Posted20 August 2017
Safmeister
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Female
"The quality and fit of these gloves is really good and I like that the top of the wrist section on the upper side is cut away, so there is not digging into your wrist. Not so keen on the padding though. It is quite hard and not quite in the right place, so I found my hands were not completely comfortable on the bars"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The high-end line from Ale: the R-EV1 jersey is ideal for riders that require a professional and race fit as well as high performance materials. This is the jersey for your crit racing, circuit and road racing as well as your high paced chain gang rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Love this top
Posted20 August 2017
Safmeister
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Female
"I always like Ale kit, but this top is amazing. The fit is great, it looks really eye catching and the sleeve grippers actually work, although they are really sticky so take a bit of getting on. The jersey has mesh sleeve and side panels that may not be to everyone's taste and I am not sure how good they would be protecting you from burning in strong sunlight, but they look great. The pink is almost fluorescent, which makes the top look really eye catching. Not usually a fan of pink kit, but this is so bright it looks great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
One of the most comfortable fingerless gloves available. Constructed from lightweight, flexible materials, they offer maximum freedom of movement along with excellent fit and grip.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Sizing out
Posted20 August 2017
Safmeister
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Female
"Bought the M Size based on the sizing guide and they were far too big. I usually wear S, but based on the size guide these would be too small. Ms were massive, so returned"
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
If you love speed, going fast and pushing yourself to the limit then Castelli's Women's Free Aero Bib Shorts are for you. Developed for racers by racers it's a short with no compromises, letting you achieve your best while in total comfort.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Way too small
Posted20 August 2017
Safmeister
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Female
"I always wear M shorts regardless of brand. I am size 8. Size M was far too small. They looked like nice shorts, but the sizing is a long way out. I have tried Castelli shorts before and found that the pad folded and was therefore really uncomfortable. Not sure if this was going to be the case here, as they were too small to get on."
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Alé Women's PRR Bering Bib Tights
Alé Women's PRR Bering Bib Tights
The PRR Bering bib tights are ideal for cold conditions. A soft fleece fabric helps to retain body heat and offers exceptional comfort. The ideal garment for a modern and eye-catching look.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Bit pricey
Posted09 December 2015
Safmeister
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Female
"I bought these and the Ale Formula 1 bib tights. I returned these as I thought the others were better value for money. It wasn't obvious why these were worth paying more for. They both have the same chamois, the fabric on these is a bit stretchier than on the the Formula 1's, but I actually preferred the tighter fit of the others. These also seemed a bit longer, which for the vertically challenged wasn't a bonus. They have zippers at the ankles, which just seemed to dig in where they were a bit long. They are a nice quality bib tight, and there is nothing wrong with them, I just preferred the fit of the cheaper ones."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Alé Women's Solid Winter Bib Tights
Alé Women's Solid Winter Bib Tights
Alé Formula 1.0 Bib Tights offer great value and performance with trademark Alé fit and ergonomics. The soft fleece inner and carbon infused bibs combine to keep warmth in and cold out.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Loved these so much bought another pair
Posted09 December 2015
Safmeister
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Female
"The fit is great and they are really comfy to wear. I am 5ft 5" and they are a little long, but then most trousers are, but it is not a problem. They look great, are warm and are comfy to wear. Have only just washed them, so hopefully they have washed well. But liked them so much I have bought another pair. I am not usually a fan of bib shorts/tights, but these are so comfy I forgot they were bibs."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Great fitting waterproof and breathable cycling glove with comfortable and protective ProGel palm padding. Finished with reflective trim to help you be seen.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Love these gloves
Posted09 December 2015
Safmeister
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Female
"These gloves are really comfy and warm to wear, a bit too hot on the milder days.
They have lovely long cuffs so you don't get that horrible cold draught round your wrists and there is plenty of padding on the palms. They are not too bulky so still possible to work the shifters easily. The fit is good with the fingers just the right length. Haven't tried them in the rain so I don't know how waterproof they really are."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Women's Hot Pack 5 Jacket is the ultimate in lightweight jackets, easily stored in a jersey pocket. It provides protection from the wind and thanks to its Schoeller Nanosphere coating, it’s water resistant too. Don't leave home without it!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Super small and lightweight
Posted15 July 2015
Safmeister
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Female
"Bought this as a wind proof jacket to use descending in the Alps. It was perfect light weight and squashed up really small to fit easily into a jersey pocket. Got lots of admiring comments. Don't know how good it would be in the rain, but would only use it for a light shower."
Pros: Good Fit, Lightweight, small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Women's Viziata Jacket
Castelli Women's Viziata Jacket
Breathable thermal protection, right down to 0°C. Featuring WINDSTOPPER X-fast panels for weatherproof defence with a brushed fleece inner for insulation and moisture transfer. Ride through the winter in warmth, comfort and Castelli style.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Lovely warm jacket
Posted17 February 2014
Safmeister
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Female
"Really love this jacket, warm with just a base layer underneath. It wicks away moisture well. The high collar is really nice and snug too. My only complaint is that there is no zipped back pocket to keep valuable in"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Safmeister's Questions
 
Safmeister has not submitted any questions.
 
Safmeister's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses are one of our best-selling products - and it's not hard to see why. They offer 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection and have a Hydrophobic lens coating to help repel sweat and water.
 

How do you change the lenses?

I bought these glasses however no instructions on how to change the lenses?!
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
There is a link to the instructions on the product page. Just between the reviews and the 360 image button. They are clear and do work.
5 years, 4 months ago
by
Safmeister
Aylesbury, UK
 
High strength tyre lever with spoke hook.
 

Hi, are these sold as a pair?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
yes, you can either get them as a black or white pair. They aren't one black and one white
5 years, 5 months ago
by
Safmeister
Aylesbury, UK
 
The dhb Women's Triple Lens Sunglasses have it all - stylish wraparound design, a strong yet lightweight frame and three different lenses to suit all conditions. They have scratch and impact resistant UV400 polycarbonate lenses.
 

Are any of these lenses suitable for use at night time, ie hours of darkness?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I wouldn't suggest it. They are not designed for night time vision. They do work well in low light conditions, that is a cloudy day.
5 years, 7 months ago
by
Safmeister
Aylesbury, UK
 
 Estro Road Helmet - 2011
Estro Road Helmet - 2011
Comfort, design and performance. Three simple words to qualify this helmet with ergonomic, aggresive and stylish design.
 

I'm between sizes - 57.5cm - what size should I get? Is there any stretch in the smaller size?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
My head is 57 cms and I found the small a bit tight. I would suggest trying the medium
5 years, 11 months ago
by
Safmeister
Aylesbury, UK
 
The dhb Women's Triple Lens Sunglasses have it all - stylish wraparound design, a strong yet lightweight frame and three different lenses to suit all conditions. They have scratch and impact resistant UV400 polycarbonate lenses.
 

Do these have a Hydrophobic coating on the lens like the men's model have?

I would like to use them for running in winter and my current pair constant fog up.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No they don't have a hydrophobic coating, but they are great glasses all the same
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Safmeister
Aylesbury, UK
 
 Ladies Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Shorts
Ladies Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Shorts
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 

I am from US. is there a size chart that will help my wife find the right UK size in the women's Aeron pro bib short?? She is US size small (US 2 - 4)

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Generally you take 2 from the UK size to give the US size
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Safmeister
Aylesbury, UK
 
Positioned for minimum wind resistance and easy access these bags are ideal for triathletes or other riders wanting to keep energy food or other small items close at hand.
 

ref topeak toptube nutrition bag

my cables are on the top of the tube (kona firemountain) , is there any provision for that or should it be ok anyway?? thanks Phil
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
If your cables are in outers it will be fine as the bag will just sit on top of them. It is flexbile enough it shouldn't make a difference to the fit. If the cables aren't in outers then the cables will rub against the bottom of the bag when they move, so it would rather depend how you feel about that.
6 years, 10 months ago
by
Safmeister
Aylesbury, UK
 
The dhb Women's Triple Lens Sunglasses have it all - stylish wraparound design, a strong yet lightweight frame and three different lenses to suit all conditions. They have scratch and impact resistant UV400 polycarbonate lenses.
 

how do I change the lenses?

Hi I've bought some of these & can't figure out how you change the lense. Unfortunately they came in their case with nothing in the way of instructions. Thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Pull the lenses in the middle down away from the frame. The tension on the lense is released and will then come away from the frame, leaving only the two ends of the lens in the frame, these can then easily be pulled out. Putting a new lens is the opposite procedure. First position the ends of the lens into the frame. You need to make sure the ends of lens are firmly located in the frame before clicking the middle of the lens back into the rest of the frame. If the ends of the lens are not properly located they will keep popping out every time you try to push the middle of the lens into the frame
6 years, 11 months ago
by
Safmeister
Aylesbury, UK
 
The dhb Women's Triple Lens Sunglasses have it all - stylish wraparound design, a strong yet lightweight frame and three different lenses to suit all conditions. They have scratch and impact resistant UV400 polycarbonate lenses.
 

Are the nose pieces/rubber adjustable?

I have a very flat nose and the nose bridge/pieces have to be quite close together. Are these adjustable?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No not really. The rubber nose piece fits onto two lugs on the frame which is rigid, so can't be adjusted. The only adjustment comes from rotating the rubber nose piece around the lugs
6 years, 11 months ago
by
Safmeister
Aylesbury, UK
 
For 50 years Transfil has created, developed, tested and manufactured brake and gear systems for your bike in conformity with the leading bike and component manufacturers.
 

Does this set come included with the small springs needed for the rear derailleur?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No it comes with the two cables, a good length of cable outer and the small plastic ends that you put on the ends of the outers
7 years ago
by
Safmeister
Aylesbury, UK