gilesy
Share gilesy's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
gilesy's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    11 September 2009
  • Last Review
    14 January 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    04 April 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    01 February 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    26 February 2013
  • Last Question
    26 February 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    11 September 2009
  • Last Answer
    24 August 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
gilesy's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Vittoria Zaffiro Rigid Clincher Tyre 2013
Vittoria Zaffiro Rigid Clincher Tyre 2013
Zaffiro is recognised everywhere as the training tyre for the serious rider.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Rubbish!
Posted14 January 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
gilesy
fromSomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Prone to punctures! Difficult to fix at the roadside. You get what you pay for!"
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Race Day Belt
Race Day Belt
Spring-loaded toggles fit any race numberUltrasoft brushed elasticOne size
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
I had a free zipvit race belt which is much better
Posted14 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
gilesy
fromSomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"It's a good race belt, but I've had a freebie from zipvit which I prefer, this has toggles and my other has heavy duty poppers, which seem more secure. If you can't get a freebie, then I'm sure this will do a good job."
Pros: Great Value, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mens Grid Fastwitch 5 Shoes
Mens Grid Fastwitch 5 Shoes
Colour exclusive to Wiggle in the UK!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect transition to full race flats
Posted18 July 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
gilesy
fromSomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Straight out of the box they were comfy when running sockless. You'll need to add a set of elastic laces if you are using these for triathlon. The only issue I found was that the tongue sometImes doesn't quite sit right and can be fiddly getting them on in t2, but in my first race they wen't on like a glove. Slight rubbing on my toes on one foot, but you'll get this running sockless with nearly all trainers. Really fast flats and cheap at appox £60. Will definately be buying them again. I run saucony jazz in a 9.5 and these in the same size, so in my opinion, no need to change sizes if you already run in sauconys."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: should come with elastic laces as standard imo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Amazing tyres for the price
Posted24 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
gilesy
fromSomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've been using these for commuting and training for over 300 miles and not had a puncture yet, Inflated to 110psi. It is now hard for me to spend more than £10 on a race tyre as these are so good and durable"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Sampler Box
Sampler Box
Great value sample kit containing a selection of the most popular products in the range, ideal pack for a sportive or triathlon. Includes a free Elite Water Bottle
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality stuff!
Posted24 April 2012
gilesy
fromSomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Generally the I have been very impressed with the zipvit range, particularly the gels. The banana and blackcurrant gels are easy to consume and taste amazing. They are easily the best gels i've tried and they are now the only gels I use. The fruit punch is ok, but not really to my taste. The watermellon sweets are good, but they tend to get stuck in your teeth and are hard to chew; not good in a race. I'm going to stick with jelly babies instead as the zipvit gels are also very expensive. The bottle is ok for swimming and the gym, but for cycling you can't take on water easily. A much better bottle for cycling is the specialized purist with the larger mouth piece. The protein & energy bars are both good, but I only every buy them when I haven't got a shake with me"
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
See your fitness-and your bike handling skills-improve when you add CycleOps rollers to your training program.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just Brilliant!
Posted04 January 2012
gilesy
fromSomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought a set of these after purchasing a set of faulty tacx antares (big mistake!). These rollers are the nuts, they don't look blingy like the elite or tacx, but they are basic, functional, durable and the perform brilliantly. I wouldn't even look at another set of rollers or deviate away from aluminium drums in the future.
You have the option of adding a resistance unit to these, but i've found the resistance in top gear adequate for a few 30 minute training sessions.
Perfect for winter training, i've been doing bike to run triathlon training over the winter without having to take the bike out in the wet and cold. Although I haven't had the guts to try my tri bike on them yet, but they are really easy to use after a few minutes getting used to the height.
I have these and a turbo trainer for winter training, the rollers are an excellent addition to training, you really have to focus during a session, so don't purchase if you intend on watching a movie whilst using them, its all about improving pedalling technique and efficiency, as apposed to interval training on the turbo trainer.
Honestly if you are looking at these or the Tacx, pay the extra and go for these, you won't be dissapointed."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A versatile seamless, full-fingered glove with a close fit for just about any cold-weather activity. Dura gloves can be worn as a glove liner in cold conditions or alone on mild morning rides. A year-round essential.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value for money and durable
Posted03 January 2012
gilesy
fromSomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Very grippy and durable palms, on average it takes me about 3 days to wear through the fingers of a set of wool blend gloves (being a postie), but because of the grippy rubber palms they are still intact. Will definately be buying some more pairs in the future"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Tacx Antares Professional Training Rollers. These heavy-duty tapered rollers ensure that it is almost impossible to ride off the machine. High concentration on steering is required when riding without a brace; this reinforces your sense of balance.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Cheap, poor quality rollers! Buy Cycleops!
Posted31 December 2011
gilesy
fromSomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Broke after 5 minutes use! these set of rollers have a common problem; the bearings in the rollers work loose and make a horrible noise and vibrate (mainly the back roller) Type 'tacx antares noise' into google before you add them to your wiggle basket. I was advised by tacx to try and reset the bearings into the shafts using a socket, but to be honest they were 5 minutes old, so I opted for a set of cycleops aluminium rollers instead. No quibble return and refund from wiggle - top marks to them. Over the moon with the cycleops set, they don't look as fancy as the Tacx, but the are quieter and much better quality and easier to set up and store away. I was quite dissapointed with the quality of the antares as my Tacx Sirius turbo trainer is great - Definately go for the Cycleops if you want a set of rollers."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Custom Race Bottle Cage 2011
Custom Race Bottle Cage 2011
The undisputed number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
best bottle cage for the money
Posted29 August 2011
gilesy
fromSomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"great colour range, very light, extremely cheap, I wouldn't bother with fancy carbon cages whilst these are available. No issues with fitment on all sizes of bottles"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Strada Wireless Le Tour Jersey Cycle Computers
Strada Wireless Le Tour Jersey Cycle Computers
Special edition cycle computers from Cateye based on the three main Tour jerseys (Polka Dot, Yellow and Green). Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomises power and elegance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
If you don't want gps, then go for this!
Posted24 August 2011
gilesy
fromSomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"very accurate, easy to use and all that you need out of a cycle computer. The tour de france designs make them a bit more fun. Set up is easy, if not a little bit fiddly at the getting started. If you can afford a Garmin gps unit then go for it, but if not then this is more than adequate."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: fiddly set up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
gilesy's Questions
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

Can I upload swims to strava with this watch?

I can upload swims manually to strava, but it is a pain. Can I upload this straight to strava like I do with my forerunner and edge?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
gilesy
Somerset
 
gilesy's Answers
 
 Strada Wireless Le Tour Jersey Cycle Computers
Strada Wireless Le Tour Jersey Cycle Computers
Special edition cycle computers from Cateye based on the three main Tour jerseys (Polka Dot, Yellow and Green). Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomises power and elegance.
 

can you use this computer on 2 bikes - one MTB one road?

just wondering if it is possible to use one computer (this one) between 2 bikes one Mountain Bike one Road bike?
you'd have to keep changing the wheel circumference settings from 700c to 26" mtb wheels, so i'd opt for 2 units or go for a garmin edge unit, which you could swap over without any issues
3 years, 1 month ago
by
gilesy
Somerset
 
 Strada Wireless Le Tour Jersey Cycle Computers
Strada Wireless Le Tour Jersey Cycle Computers
Special edition cycle computers from Cateye based on the three main Tour jerseys (Polka Dot, Yellow and Green). Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomises power and elegance.
 

Do these fit existing mounting brackets?

I have a dodgy display on my current Cateye Wireless and need a new one. Do these three "specials" fit the existing mounting brackets? as I can use the spare one for another bike.
They do fit the standard strada mount, not sure on other cateye computers though
3 years, 1 month ago
by
gilesy
Somerset
 
 Strada Wireless Le Tour Jersey Cycle Computers
Strada Wireless Le Tour Jersey Cycle Computers
Special edition cycle computers from Cateye based on the three main Tour jerseys (Polka Dot, Yellow and Green). Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomises power and elegance.
 

Size of digits

What is the actual size of themain digits on the Cateye Strada Wireless Le Tour Jersey Cycle Computers?
The main speedometer digits are 15mm and the odometer, average speed, trip etc are 7mm digits. Very clear even in bright sunlight.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
gilesy
Somerset
 
 Strada Wireless Le Tour Jersey Cycle Computers
Strada Wireless Le Tour Jersey Cycle Computers
Special edition cycle computers from Cateye based on the three main Tour jerseys (Polka Dot, Yellow and Green). Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomises power and elegance.
 

Is computer apple compatable

Does this bike computer work with Apple software. If not, which computer for my bike can I go for.
its not that advanced, they only shows details on the unit, not transferable to a computer. Go for a garmin edge 500 unit or similar garmin product
3 years, 1 month ago
by
gilesy
Somerset
 
 Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
The ultra popular Strada Wireless is now available with an extra 9th function - Cadence.
 

Speedometer.

Every photo of this product shows the speed in k/ph, and there is nothing in the description on whether it is possible to change it to m.ph. So basically, can it be altered to m/ph?
Yeah can be changed to mph easily on setup
5 years, 1 month ago
by
gilesy
Somerset