beanbag
Share beanbag's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
beanbag's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    04 July 2010
  • Last Review
    22 July 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    04 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    30 October 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
beanbag's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
A thick moisturising solution for comfort and reduced friction on endurance road rides. Apply to your seatpad on shorter rides or apply to both your skin and seatpad on epic sportives and stage races.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Silky smooth....
Posted22 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
beanbag
fromSpain
Country : Spain
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This product is superb. I slap it on between my legs and manly bits and the result is a super silky, friction free ride.
My manly bits are most grateful for this."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile, protects man bits
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Indicator Helmet 2013
Indicator Helmet 2013
The Indicator's confident style and amazing ventilation are coupled with a modern design that complements every type of rider. It's the perfect choice for riding downtown, up the technical climb, and everything in between.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great gift for the old man
Posted01 October 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
beanbag
fromGibraltar
Country : Gibraltar
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought this for my dad as I learned he was out cycling on a battered up bike daily with no lights, gloves, or reflective gear. Worse still, he wasn't using a helmet so I immediately sought to get him one.
At 65 years of age, I dread to think what would happen in a fall.
The Giro Indicator helmet is superb and ideal for this gift. It's one size fits all sizing is superb as it didn't mean trying on a dozen helmets plus Giro is a brand you can count on and it's already saved my neck a couple of times.
In fact, I have two Giro helmets for my MTB and roadie. I can't fault either of them.
My dad was very pleased with the new gift and now wears it every day. Next on the list is a reflective strip for him to wear in the winter and probably a new bike!!!!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Use with gym cardio machines, Suunto Fitness Solution, and heart rate monitors
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Great concept....terrible implementation
Posted14 April 2011
beanbag
fromVienna
Country : Austria
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"I decided to go for the Suunto heart rate monitor as it allowed for both standard analogue use for gym equipment and ANT. (Note the lack of the plus on that).
Yes, there are two forms of ANT making it very difficult to choose equipment. You get ANT and ANT+. How about it!?
Even though they are both made by the same company and the technology is meant to be the same, they are totally incompatible with one another.
My fault you say? Well, it looks like I'm not the first to fall into that trap and the lack of ANT equipment means it's more of a proprietary system for Suunto.
So, this dual belt is useless unless you have a Suunto device.
If you need an ANT+ heart belt, go for the Garmin or Bontrager ANT+ heart belt. Unfortunately though neither work with analogue gym equipment which is a shame."
Pros: Comfortable, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, does not work with ant+
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Now available with three lens options, the dhb Ultralite Sunglasses are comfortable, lightweight and versatile.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bargain basement glasses
Posted23 August 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
beanbag
fromVienna
Country : Austria
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I don't like spending much on glasses. They get scratched and worn out very quickly so I don't see the point.
However eye protection is very important. Especially when tailing your mountain bike buddy whilst getting grit and dirt in your eye. Not to mention protection against UV rays.
So when I saw these dhb glasses on sale, I figured this was a bargain worth buying. My first outing with them saw me paragliding with them and they were very comfortable protecting me from the wind.
Unfortunately I found my lashes seemed to hit the inside of the glasses but I put this down to my paragliding helmet.
I then went out for a cracking tour in the Austrian Alps and found these glasses were excellent. The offered plenty of light protection and the yellow lens helped provide contrast in ruts and dodgy areas, plus I didn't get one ounce of dirt in my eye.
My biggest flaw however is the ventilation of the glasses. It's quite poor so it meant they steamed up quite a bit when climbing the mountains. Downhill was fine since the airflow was much higher.
Nevertheless for 15 quid, who could argue!?!?!?"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit, poor airflow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
19 function multitool weighing a mere 175g (without tool flask).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Another quality CB item...
Posted29 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
beanbag
fromVienna
Country : Austria
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I actually got this tool from another store for just £10 as it was "flood damaged".
Needless to say it's the dogs and no serious MTB'er should be without one. It's saved my ride on two occasions and the quality is top notch.
Even at its full price, it's worth every penny."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lite Pedal-Free Kids Bike
Lite Pedal-Free Kids Bike
Welcome to the range of Early Rider Learner Bikes. The no-compromise approach to design, creation and safety ensures your child will learn to ride on one of the most stylish, perfectly made and safest Learner Bikes available.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Awesome gift for your toddlers!
Posted28 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
beanbag
fromVienna
Country : Austria
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this Early Rider bike for my nephews first birthday. We already knew he would still be too small for it, but already he loves it.
The wood on the bike is very high quality and the seat is fully adjustable allowing most children to ride it up to the age of four meaning it'll last a few years unlike many other toys.
Wiggle also offered the bike at a top price so it was excellent value for money.
Definitely recommended for all rug-rats."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lightweight and accurate
Posted28 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
beanbag
fromVienna
Country : Austria
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My Stumpy FSR came with a knaff, heavy bottom end HG-50 Shimano cassette so this was one of the first upgrades I made.
The difference along with an XTR chain was immense.
The cassette was massively lighter than the stock HG-50 plus it also looked much nicer... ;)
Immediately after fitting it, gear shifting felt quicker, sharper and far more precise and completely transformed the Stumpy.
I've had it now for a couple of years and where the old HG-50 lasted just 6 months before getting worn out and a little mangled, the XT cassette is still going strong and only shows signs of a little wear.
I would recommend this upgrade to anyone with a stock cassette."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This 2.1" version of the Nevegal features the same slow rebound Stick-E rubber compound as its bigger bothers provides greater traction on rocks and loose terrain as its conforms to the trail, rock or roots surface instead of bouncing off it.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Grippy tyres but they wear out too quickly....
Posted28 July 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
beanbag
fromVienna
Country : Austria
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Riding on a weekly basis in the Austrian alps really helps me put this rubber to the test in all weather.
The tyres are fantastic and I'm already on my third set, and this is why I can't offer them the full 5 stars. They simply wear out too quickly. One and a half full seasons and three sets of tyres simply isn't good enough.
Putting this aside, the tyres are able to shed mud quickly and offer great traction on loose terrain. They also work brilliantly in snow and cold wet conditions which is ideal for the end of season rides at 2000m.
Having said all that, I'm going to perhaps try the Nobby Nics and compare them against those. A MTB buddy has them and he's still going strong on one set after two seasons. They seem to be indestructible but cost about 3 times as much, so perhaps the Kenda's offer better value.
Either way, a top bit of rubber."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Versatile, very grippy
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Tech X2 Disc Brake, Braided Hose, Floating Rotor
Tech X2 Disc Brake, Braided Hose, Floating Rotor
The Tech X2 replaces the award winning Mini brake - perfect for all XC and light freeride applications, this brake is a perfect blend of power, low weight and adjustability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
They looks the nuts and work even better
Posted04 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
beanbag
fromVienna
Country : Austria
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've just done my first trail today with my new front X2 brake set. All I can say is perfect.
Obviously the first 10km was quite spongy but as the brakes wore in, the power came in tremendously fast but it was very progressive and controllable.
Towards the end of the day, I completed a 1000m decent with staggering control and I can't wait to get the rear brake to complete my set.
On top of this, they are cheaper than the competition so I simply don't understand why OEM's use them.
Either way, they are staggeringly better than my Avid Juicy 5's and far more controllable.
Very happy and the bling factor is superb. I had passers by coming over to take a look while stopping for a drink!
My only con is the hose was too long (but that's unavoidable for a generic setup), and the hose was twisted meaning I had to take it over to my local mountain bike shop to make some final adjustments. No biggy really.
Massively recommended! (Braided hose and floating rotor of course!) ;)"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 XT M770 9 Speed Rapid Fire Pods 2011
XT M770 9 Speed Rapid Fire Pods 2011
Xt rapid fire shifters
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Sharp, fast, accurate shifting!
Posted04 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
beanbag
fromVienna
Country : Austria
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These shifters are perfect. I have them on my Spesh Stumpy FSR 2006 with an XTR rear and XT front. They are fast, comfortable, accurate and durable.
Top product! Highly recommended!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
beanbag's Questions
 
beanbag has not submitted any questions.
 
beanbag's Answers
 
Use with gym cardio machines, Suunto Fitness Solution, and heart rate monitors
 

Is this ANT or ANT+ ?

ANT....I also found out the hard way.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
beanbag
Gibraltar
 
A thick moisturising solution for comfort and reduced friction on endurance road rides. Apply to your seatpad on shorter rides or apply to both your skin and seatpad on epic sportives and stage races.
 

Is it tested on animals?

By humans, yes.

But I checked too and you're all clear.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
beanbag
Gibraltar
 
Now available with three lens options, the dhb Ultralite Sunglasses are comfortable, lightweight and versatile.
 

Is there any way to find out before buying, if they'll fit me?

I could measure my head if needed, but I don't want to buy glasses that are too big for me... and I have a problem finding the right size (smaller models are okay).
It's a bit hit and miss. To be honest, at 15 quid, it doesn't matter too much and you can return them to Wiggle at no cost if they don't fit.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
beanbag
Vienna
 
Now available with three lens options, the dhb Ultralite Sunglasses are comfortable, lightweight and versatile.
 

Are the Lenses Removable and the same size as the DHB Triple Lens Glasses?

I have bought 2 pairs of the DHB triple lens sunglasses and broken 1 and lost the other. Now I have many spare Lenses. Could I simply buy a pair of these and still have multiple Lens options?
Nope. These lenses are fixed.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
beanbag
Vienna
 
 XT M770 9 Speed Rapid Fire Pods 2011
XT M770 9 Speed Rapid Fire Pods 2011
Xt rapid fire shifters
 

Can these replace XT M760 shifters?

Yes. They'll pretty much fit in place and work after a little adjustment!
4 years, 2 months ago
by
beanbag
Vienna
 
 XT M770 9 Speed Rapid Fire Pods 2011
XT M770 9 Speed Rapid Fire Pods 2011
Xt rapid fire shifters
 

Will these shifters work with the Shimano XTR RD-M960 rear derailleur?

Yes, they'll work perfectly. I have it on my M950 XTR rear mech and they are perfect.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
beanbag
Vienna
 
 XT M770 9 Speed Rapid Fire Pods 2011
XT M770 9 Speed Rapid Fire Pods 2011
Xt rapid fire shifters
 

Could the XR rapid fire work with a 7 speed LX rear derailler?

Yup! Should fit the bill perfectly, but you are probably better off upgrading your rear mech first and then the shifters.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
beanbag
Vienna