CycleManiac2001
Share CycleManiac2001's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
CycleManiac2001's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    12 August 2009
  • Last Review
    09 October 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    22 July 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    22 July 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    16 September 2009
  • Last Question
    16 September 2009
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    14 October 2011
  • Last Answer
    22 July 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
CycleManiac2001's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses
dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses
The dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses are one of our best-selling products - and it's not hard to see why. They offer 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection and have a Hydrophobic lens coating to help repel sweat and water.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A Top Notch Product
Posted09 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CycleManiac2001
fromAberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"bought these when I first started cycling as I was trashing my good shades.
Well I am now on my 3rd pair. DHB have kept the shape the same for a few years (if it aint broke dont fix it right) however instead of the blue lenses you get yellow and I'm looking forward to road testing those.
If you cycle and you are looking to keep you eyes dirt free, preventing squinting against the sun These are a must have
I think glasses are as essential as a helmet."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Quality MTB Pack of 10 Inner Tubes
Continental Quality MTB Pack of 10 Inner Tubes
Pack of 10 high quality inner tubes
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Inntertubes. Tubes of rubber that hold air
Posted09 October 2013
CycleManiac2001
fromAberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"So what can I say about these, they hold air anre pretty dedent the bead needs an bit of a push down around the valve for some reason but happy with them.
For less than £4 a shot its worth a try and quality innertube from a comany that knows stuff about tyres
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Quality Road Pack of 10 Inner Tubes
Continental Quality Road Pack of 10 Inner Tubes
Pack of 10 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
High Quality tube
Posted22 July 2013
CycleManiac2001
fromAberdeen
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"I used to swear by schwable, however I managed to punch a hole in one of them and had to pop to a nearby well known autostore and buy an inntertube not going for the generic brand I thought I would give these a bash and I am glad I did.
The MTB schrader tubes feel pretty thick (however the tyre will need a little push to get the bead in at the valve). Though once on its an inntertube it holds air it rolls well and paired with a trye liner I feel pretty safe.
All in all its a good purchase and being so happy with It I thought I would buy 10 working out at at £3.50 a pop rather than the £6 I paid for one at this well known authostore.
A bargin for a good quality innnertube."
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ashima V-Brake 3 Function Standard Pad Inserts
Ashima V-Brake 3 Function Standard Pad Inserts
3 function brake pad inserts without the patented Airflow cooling and Wear dot indicator.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Pad insterts
Posted12 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CycleManiac2001
fromAberdeen
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"I bought these Brakeblocks after I was burning through brakes for fun. and after replacing brakes for the 4th time in 1 year I was getting a little narked.
So bought the Ashima brake shoes and they have certinaly proved their worth, excellent performance whatever the weather I can stop on a 6 pence.
In the space of a year I have had to admit defeat and after cleaning my bike I realised I was wearing them a bit thin so I bought these to repalce them However the ones that are wearing thin are still going stong, so going on that perfomace of those pads these will last the distance. If you have V brakes get the shoes for these pads and these for when those pads are finished. excellent stopping power no matter the conditions.
They are minimal maintenance as when the pad wears out slip out a p[in slide the dead pads out slide the new ones in a slight tweak and your off 10mins max! rather spending 20 mins + linging up the brake tighening bolts, all you have to fiddle with when you replace these brakes is the tightness of the cable and with V's that takes seconds."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ashima V-Brake 3 Function Brake Shoes
Ashima V-Brake 3 Function Brake Shoes
High performance 3 function, 3 colour brake shoes for ultimate stopping power.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent whatever the weather
Posted25 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CycleManiac2001
fromAberdeen
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have put these on my bike after wearing through countless brakes with my daily commute and I am really impressed with these. I have managed to pick up the back end of my MTB by slamming on the font anchors (endo) and holding it there (something i have alwys found it hard to do with a Hard tail)
Also in the wet they still perofmr extremely well, I dont know if it is the compund they use or the brake tread helps disperse water or what.
Still get them if you are fed up of burning brakes"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe MTB Inner Tube
Schwalbe MTB Inner Tube
Top quality inner tubes with a unique rubber compound in various sizes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I cant recommend enough
Posted25 April 2012
CycleManiac2001
fromAberdeen
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought a couple of these as they were new on the market (a few of years ago now) and after bursting a tube on my bike i found these hiding in the attic (moving house made them migrate up there)
All in all its an innertube and they are all pretty much the same, however there is a little feature that these offer that noone else has thought of, The collar on the valve, it screws off put the valve through the hole and screw the collar on to hold the valve in place with is genious. It stops the valve getting lost in the wheel or makes it fiddly for putting the pump on.
If you are needing an innter tube for your MTB get these!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Night Vision Waterproof Overtrousers
Altura Night Vision Waterproof Overtrousers
A waterproof and breathable fabric, loads of reflective trim and a host of innovative features ensures the Night Vision remains the most popular commuter overtrouser.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Scared of getting wet, fear no more!
Posted18 October 2011
CycleManiac2001
fromAberdeen
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought these as after a year off the bike I decided to get back into it and lost all my wateproof wear in that time (proably used for Diving gear) so bought these.
They are have a lot of reflective bits so you wont be missed in a torrential downpour and they will keep you dry. I have used them twice and now my heart doesnt sink anymore when I see grey clouds looming!
Only con is if you work in an office and walk through with these on they are so noisey, likened to that of Ski pants.
I have a 30 inch waist and 32 inside leg and medium is more than ample. and they can go longer so you tall drinks of water fear not."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: noisy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner Device
Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner Device
Muc-Off new compact, workshop quality chain cleaning device makes chain cleaning a breeze. Heavy duty design and construction ensures it's built to last and with replaceable brushes and scrubber plates it will be your best friend for life!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Use this with the Muc off Chain Cleaner
Posted14 October 2011
CycleManiac2001
fromAberdeen
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Used this with the chain cleaner...WOW!!!!!
That is all I have to say it's just brilliant and if you are the guys who like cleaning the bike but dont have the time to clean every linke with an old toothbrus this will make life a lot easier.
I have naver used anything like this before and I can ensure you it wont be the last time, easy to use and easy to clean"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Muc-Off Chain Cleaner 400ml Aerosol
Muc-Off Chain Cleaner 400ml Aerosol
The Muc-Off Chain Cleaner Aerosol rapidly removes heavy chain grime quickly and safely and is also bio-degradable. It breaks down oil, grease and grim, leaving the chain containment free.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
AWESOME!
Posted14 October 2011
CycleManiac2001
fromAberdeen
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Amazing used it with the Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner Device and it was awesomely Clean and brought it up nicely and got in all the nooks and crannies.
I used a rag after to give the chain a wipe and the residue left was almost as good as using an old tooth bursh to clean the chain but a lot quicker."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Muc-Off Water Soluble Degreaser 500ml Aerosol
Muc-Off Water Soluble Degreaser 500ml Aerosol
The Water Soluble De-Greaser quickly and safely eliminates built-up oil, grease and grime on metal, plastic, rubber and seals. The biodegradable formula means that after use it can be quickly rinsed away with water to leave your greasy bike parts clean.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Will Definately buy again
Posted14 October 2011
CycleManiac2001
fromAberdeen
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought this after trying to clean my bike and noting my gears were gummed up with an amazing amount of cack.
Muc-off spray worked but not too well so I thought this would do the trick how right was i?
It got right in there and worked a treat with a bit of Elbow grease to give it a dam good scrubbing and got eveything out, granted it didnt leave them nice and shiney cause I like to use my bike, but it was good to bounce around knowing that I could get the groub out easily."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, it works
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
CycleManiac2001's Questions
 
 BodyFit Seamless Base Layer
BodyFit Seamless Base Layer
Band round collar, Seamless body and sleeves construction, End sleeves and bottom finished with flat 2 needles stitchings
 

I have a 38" chest and it looks like the Small/Med would be too tight and the L/XL would be too baggy, what size would you recommend?

5 years, 2 months ago
by
CycleManiac2001
Aberdeen
 
CycleManiac2001's Answers
 
 Schwalbe MTB Inner Tube
Schwalbe MTB Inner Tube
Top quality inner tubes with a unique rubber compound in various sizes.
 

Which size for a 1.5in tyre?

Which size inner would work best for 1.5in tyres? The 1.0-1.5 version, or the 1.5-2.0?
Thanks.
its best to go from 1.5-2.0. rather be on the lower end then the upper.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
CycleManiac2001
Aberdeen
 
 Schwalbe MTB Inner Tube
Schwalbe MTB Inner Tube
Top quality inner tubes with a unique rubber compound in various sizes.
 

Will these fit a 559mm MTB rim

Hi, want to be sure that these inner tubes will fit my Viking 26" MTB rim. Currently it has 26x1.95 so want to be sure that it fit its 559mm rim.
Hi the best bet is to look for 26" innter tubes and look for ones that go from 1.75 to 2.5 and they should fit.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
CycleManiac2001
Aberdeen
 
 Schwalbe MTB Inner Tube
Schwalbe MTB Inner Tube
Top quality inner tubes with a unique rubber compound in various sizes.
 

Do these come with caps for the valves?

Yes there is a Clear plastic cap for the tube
2 years, 7 months ago
by
CycleManiac2001
Aberdeen
 
 Altura Night Vision Waterproof Overtrousers
Altura Night Vision Waterproof Overtrousers
A waterproof and breathable fabric, loads of reflective trim and a host of innovative features ensures the Night Vision remains the most popular commuter overtrouser.
 

May i wear this overtrousers over regular pants? I mean i use a suit and i wear a poncho, i wonder if these are thought to be worn over non cycling

Best answer
There is no rule saying you cant wear these over suit trousers I wear cycling trouses to stop wrecking my work/suit trousers. Though they will keep you dry
3 years, 1 month ago
by
CycleManiac2001
Aberdeen
 
 Altura Night Vision Waterproof Overtrousers
Altura Night Vision Waterproof Overtrousers
A waterproof and breathable fabric, loads of reflective trim and a host of innovative features ensures the Night Vision remains the most popular commuter overtrouser.
 

Are the trousers easy to get on when wearing boots?

I often wear boots when riding my bike and have found in the past that it's difficult to put over-trousers on due to limited opening and the leg bottoms. How far does the opening on these trousers come up the leg?
There is a zip on the back that comes up about haly way up the calf
3 years, 1 month ago
by
CycleManiac2001
Aberdeen
 
 Altura Night Vision Waterproof Overtrousers
Altura Night Vision Waterproof Overtrousers
A waterproof and breathable fabric, loads of reflective trim and a host of innovative features ensures the Night Vision remains the most popular commuter overtrouser.
 

Adjustable leg length?

How does the adjustable leg length work and how much variance does it add? I'm 6ft 3 with a 34/35 inch leg and am unsure which size will fit my leg length without the waist being like a tent.... Any help would be greatly appreciated.
The waist is elasticated and can be brought in easily and the way the legs are exteneded is there are press studs on the inside and they can go down about 2 inches it insnt much so a large might be good for you.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
CycleManiac2001
Aberdeen
 
 Muc-Off 8 in 1 Bike Cleaning Kit
Muc-Off 8 in 1 Bike Cleaning Kit
The Muc-Off 8 in 1 bike cleaning and maintenance kit brings together 3 top selling products in a stylish black parts washer bucket. The kit is ideal for cleaning your machine once you have completed your wet or muddy ride during the Winter months.
 

When will this be back in stock ?

I put in an order and then it arrive or periodically check back anbd it will come up.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
CycleManiac2001
Aberdeen
 
 3 Piece Brush Set
3 Piece Brush Set
A 3 piece brush set at a fantastic price.
 

Which brush is which?

Looking at the picture:

Top brush - Double sided brush for cleaning sprockets and hard to reach places
Middle Brush - Tube cleaning brush
Bottom Brush - Sponge brush for frames

Hope this Helps
3 years, 1 month ago
by
CycleManiac2001
Aberdeen
 
 Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner Device
Muc-Off X-1 Chain Cleaner Device
Muc-Off new compact, workshop quality chain cleaning device makes chain cleaning a breeze. Heavy duty design and construction ensures it's built to last and with replaceable brushes and scrubber plates it will be your best friend for life!
 

when will this be available?

Put in an order and you'll get it. I did
3 years, 1 month ago
by
CycleManiac2001
Aberdeen
 
 Muc-Off Water Soluble Degreaser 500ml Aerosol
Muc-Off Water Soluble Degreaser 500ml Aerosol
The Water Soluble De-Greaser quickly and safely eliminates built-up oil, grease and grime on metal, plastic, rubber and seals. The biodegradable formula means that after use it can be quickly rinsed away with water to leave your greasy bike parts clean.
 

use on paint work mucoff degreaser

Is this ok to use on frame paint work to degrease before applying sticker or could you use disc brake cleaner.. Or what would you recommend.
I would use the Muc-off Spray (pink stuff) not as harsh as this but I would recommend getthing this.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
CycleManiac2001
Aberdeen