DHB01
Share DHB01's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
DHB01's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    28 May 2011
  • Last Review
    09 March 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review Comment
    13 April 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    02 December 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    162
  • Helpfulness Votes
    123
  • First Answer
    04 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    11 February 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    30
 
 
DHB01's Reviews
 
In line with the formulation used in their energy drinks, Torq Gels have a blend of Maltodextrin, a long chain complex carbohydrate and Fructose (fruit sugar) in a 2:1 ratio for maximum carbohydrate absorption.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Freakin Awesome
Posted09 March 2012
DHB01
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've used loads of Gels and as horrible as they all taste - these bad boys are one of the best. They give a serious boost which is after all why you would down these horrible things."
Pros: don't taste too bad
Cons: open mech is not 100pc
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MINIMA S v MINIMA
Posted13 February 2012
DHB01
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The MINIMA S is the new MINIMA. The difference is very simply a slightly more refined fit around the arm area. There is a new seam in the elbow joint which allows the arm fitting to be slightly closer without being restrictive."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Gel Cumulus 13 Shoes SS12
Gel Cumulus 13 Shoes SS12
The GEL-CUMULUS 13 continues to set the bar for lightweight cushioned trainers. The GEL Cushioning System in the rearfoot and forefoot improves shock absorption whilst the Trusstic System gives the shoe structural integrity and support. This shoe also features gender specific cushioning giving the m...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Awesome comfort and Quality
Posted19 July 2011
DHB01
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"...as ever Asics deliver a fine shoe. I'm a slight supirnator and
this shoe serves me just fine for marathon training type runs. Great build quality and fantastic comfort.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Nike+ SportWatch GPS is designed for high-performance with an extremely clear and readable user interface that delivers the information necessary to the user while in-run.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
NIKE+ GPS SPORT WATCH
Posted28 May 2011
DHB01
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Wiggle Staff Review
Product presentation, look and feel is awesome. Excellent build quality and styling. The integration this watch has to the web is excellent. Once you have the software downloaded (easy) you can monitor your distance / pace / route on a map and numerous other things. This watch is all about keeping it simple and quick to review your running 'career'. You'll get info like - fastest 10km and longest run popping up which all helps to keep you motivated and improving. The menu interface system is concise and super easy to understand, with a big clear display to show you exactly the info you want to see. Connect with others via the NIKE+ site and see how fast your 10K time is compared to everyone else in London (or something similar).
This isn't like a conventional running watch which has 'normal watch' features as standard - so expect a few omissions; No alarm clock, no configurable countdown timer (you need to configure this using your computer), no dual time - so if your running abroad you'll need to reset your watch.
To get the most out of this watch you will need use the NIKE foot sensor - this needs to be mounted in the sole of you shoe for best accuracy. The simple solution is buy a NIKE sneaker with a sensor cavity already integrated into the foot bed. I only run ASICS so I used a dremmel to hack a cavity into my shoe. Not pretty but it works a treat! There are aftermarket systems which allow you to strap the sensor to your laces - but I was conscious of how this would effect the orientation of the sensor and therefore the accuracy of data returned.
The accuracy of this watch whilst running is very questionable. Having run six marathons (PB: 3'09) I have become familiar with my pace, the real time 'pace' readout simply is not accurate. Once a mile is completed, the watch calculates the average pace and displays this, which reassures you that you are not running incredibly off pace.
This watch can struggle to find GPS reception. So choice one leave without a signal and use foot sensor only. Or option two stand around shaking your legs pretending to stretch while you watch finds the signal. I'm impatient so wait for a few minutes then get going. Sometimes the watch finds a signal - sometimes it doesn't.
(I run in London parks, urban and towpath environments.)
Summary - very cool concept, very cool web integration, awesome motivator, gutted that GPS reception is not more robust.
I am fairly certain their will be a firmware update to this watch which will improve the GPS reception and I can't wait until its sorted!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, excellent online connectivity
Cons: Expensive, gps reception frustrating.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
DHB01's Questions
 
DHB01 has not submitted any questions.
 
DHB01's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 >>>
 
The Mono Waterproof Overtrouser offers you rain protection for your legs and feature an adjustable tailored fit for minimal bulk.
 

Inside leg length part 2

Exactly how is it possible for the Mono and Minima trousers to be the same length, when the Mono has a regular/short/long option that the Minima never had? Is the difference in length that insignificant?
Staff Answer
Official Supplier
The mono waterproof over trouser does have different inseam/leg length leg measurements compared to the minima product. This product was specifically created to offer more choice to the customer and the varying body sizes (compared to Minima - where tall slim customers were unhappy with the shorter/average leg length).

WiggleJoe, has answered before all the information was with him. On occasions size charts do not reach the content team in time and we apologise for the lack of clarity here.
2 months ago
by
DHB01
London
 
The dhb Cosmo Jacket has a slim performance race fit for an aerodynamic profile and is highly technical, lightweight and fully waterproof. It is a packable jacket that offers full protection against the elements.
 

what is the Hydrostatic Head (HH)of this product?

Staff Answer
Official Supplier
The correct Hydrostatic Head performance rating for this jacket is 20000mm.
2 months ago
by
DHB01
London
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 

Does DHB do the AERON PRO as a non-bib short,or is it only available as a bibshort

Staff Answer
Official Supplier
The Aeron Pro Bibshort will also be available as Aeron Pro Waist Short in 2 weeks. (Before Feb 25th).
2 months ago
by
DHB01
London
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 

Queer sizing

Need help! Am standing at 172cm

Waist, pretty small at 26/27inches
Hips, around 29/30 inches

Reasonably long thighs at 37cm inseam(to kneecap)

XS or S!
I'd love longer shorts, hate them sitting in the middle portion of my thighs =(
Staff Answer
Official Supplier
I am 5'7" (170cm) with a 31" waist, I wear size small Aeron Pro and the bib length comes to the bottom of my quad muscle. (the bottom part of this muscle is visible)

You are 2cm taller and much slimmer than I. You have the choice to go for a better fit around the waist and backside (XS), but the shorts will slightly slightly higher up than they appear on me. Or chose Small to get a bit more thigh coverage and a lesser fit around the backside (not good).

Due to your slimness I would recommend XS.
2 months ago
by
DHB01
London
 
The dhb Cosmo Jacket has a slim performance race fit for an aerodynamic profile and is highly technical, lightweight and fully waterproof. It is a packable jacket that offers full protection against the elements.
 

Packable?

Will this fit into the back pocket of a jersey?
Staff Answer
Best answer
Official Supplier
This is a minimal construction, lightweight, waterproof and breathable jacket. Once the jacket is stuffed into it's own zip pocket. It can then be stowed in your jersey back pocket.
3 months ago
by
DHB01
London
 
The Windslam Roubaix Jersey offers effective windchill defence, added warmth and all the features you need whilst out on your bike, making it the perfect layer for those cold Autumn/Winter road rides.
 

This, the 2012 Windslam Roubaix, and the Blade

I currently have a 2012 Windslam Roubaix. Q1. Is this jersey essentially the same material and temp/warmth rating as the 2012 ? Q2. Differences between them (apart from the visually obvious) ? Q3. Compared with the Blade: is this same material in terms of outer wind stopping & fleece lining used in all 3, with the essential differences being the Blade's venting and it having differential construction at front versus back ? Want a warm windstopping top, and I'm not clear on how these 3 compare.
Staff Answer
Best answer
Official Supplier
The Windslam Roubaix 2012 and 2013 are the same concept of product. Temperature ratings are the same. The 2013 has received a visual update and the fitting has been refined to be less baggy around the sleeves and stomach area. The 100% polyester fabric for the 2013 model also has slightly more stretch which allows for a better fitting across a wider range of body shapes.

The Windslam Blade uses Premium Italian Fabrics. The front membrane is more breathable than the Windslam Roubaix (2012/13). The thermal retention of the Blade is higher - i't keeps you a bit warmer".

The fitting of the Windslam Blade is closer, but note the fabric also contains elastane on the back panel - which allows for better fitting and freedom of movement). Meshed panels at the rear allow the rider to shed heat, more effectively.

The Windslam Blade has zipped venting to allow effective cooling once your temperature has risen due to increased efforts.

The Windslam Blade has a longer tail compared to the Windslam Roubaix, for keeping you warmer around the backside.

Essentially if you spend a bit more you get a more technical product with the Windslam Blade. If you riding is not so demanding (less effort, shorter distances) then the Windslam Roubaix is a great performing cold weather top layer.

I will use the Windslam blade, with dhb Merino base layer and Vaeon Roubaix bibs for 50 mile social rides an 10 degrees C. Average speed 17mph.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
DHB01
London
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 

Comparison to Northwave Shorts

I am a large size in the Northwave bib shorts. I am 5ft 9", 32 inch legs, 33-34 waist and have large thighs so could you provide a comparison size in the Aeron Pro shorts please.
Staff Answer
Official Supplier
I am 5'7", with a 32" waist and decent size thighs (21.5"). I wear a size small. The feeling is very compressive (not tight) and feels good. I would recommend a size Medium for you.
7 months ago
by
DHB01
London
 
The dhb Commuter Waterproof Jacket combines great fit with oversized reflective panels to help you stay safe and dry on the roads.
 

Sizing!!!?

From the sizing chart, it appears DHB do not cater for women shorter than 1.68m! I measure 1.61m (though I feel much taller) and I worry this jacket will come down to my knees. I am a size 10.
Staff Answer
Official Supplier
This jacket won't come down to your knees ;)

This style of jacket is cut for cycling - not long like a walking jacket. So you'll find that the jacket will fit slightly below the preferred length (roughly pubicbone) but by no means will it be too low. If you feel you also have short arms consider a size 8 as this jacket does have some space around the body i.e. its not an ultra racy / fitted cut but more focused at commuters.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
DHB01
London
 
For the rider who wants a form fitting winter jersey, made from premium Italian Roubaix fabric and a clean aesthetic synonymous to the dhb brand.
 

Hi is this product windproof? What is the difference between this product and the Windslam Roubaix?

Staff Answer
Best answer
Official Supplier
This garment is not windproof. If you need windproof - check out dhb WINDSLAM products.

Long Sleeve Windslam Jersey (lightweight)

Windslam Blade Long sleeve Jersey (mid-heavy weight, Elastane so - form fit)

Long Sleeve Windslam Roubaix Jersey (heavy weight, polyester so not as form fitting as above)
1 year, 5 months ago
by
DHB01
London
 
The dhb Waterproof Commuter Jacket combines great fit with over sized reflective panels to help you stay safe and dry on the roads.
 

What does this jacket offer over the dhb Signal jacket

Hi
I'm looking through the descriptions of the Hi Viz jacket versus the Signal and am struggling to discern what the difference is between the two of them. They are both available in Hi Viz, both are 2.5 layer mid weight, both designed to accommodate a mid layer, both have same (or similar) features and both seem to be for similar intended use (cold/wet).

Is it basically just a mesh lines version of the Signal (and therefore a replacement for the older Amberley jacket) or is there something I've missed?

Cheers
Staff Answer
Official Supplier
You are right. Feature set is very similar. The key difference is this product has a lot more reflective detailing on it. The reflective prints are larger and there are 4 large reflective fabric surfaces in key positions.

The fitting of this new HiViz jacket is also slightly more cycle focused. The dhb Signal is boxy to accommodate 'non cycle specific' layers underneath (e.g. a casual jumper and shirt, not a sports fit microfleece or roubaix jersey!). The Hi Viz waterproof Cycle Jacket will work best worn over sports fit mid layers. If you need more space to accommodate casual/work wear, consider going a size up.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
DHB01
London