Cjbt4
Share Cjbt4's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Cjbt4's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    16 June 2011
  • Last Review
    12 August 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    03 December 2012
  • Last Question
    03 December 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    21 October 2011
  • Last Answer
    12 August 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Cjbt4's Reviews
 
 SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
Recommended for use with SRAM's Force and Rival groupsets. The new PowerGlide™ 1070 cassette offers an innovative approach to 10 speed cassette design.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great cassette
Posted12 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cjbt4
fromNewcastle
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Second one of these I have bought. First with a 28, which I needed in the Alps this year. Ran smoothly then, still running smoothly now - no faults, and very little difference to my SRAM Red cassette but significantly cheaper - can't see me buying another RED one when that needs replacing."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Tufo Tub Tape for Road Wheels
Tufo Tub Tape for Road Wheels
Excellent tape for all applications, sufficient for one 28" rim.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Easy to fit
Posted08 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cjbt4
fromNewcastle
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Just bought my first set of tubs and thought I would give Tufo tyres and tape a whirl, on the recommendation of a seasoned expert from the club. Fitting the tape and subsequently the tyres couldn't have been easier (needed help as the tyres were tight, but better than being loose). Managed to adjust them before removing the tape, pumped them up and have completed four races now with no detrimental effects so must have done a reasonable job of fitting!
The finished fit looks much neater than glue too with no spatters around the tyre sides and the rims like many I have seen fitted with glue."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit, simple
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Michelin Pro4 Service Course Folding Road Tyre
Michelin Pro4 Service Course Folding Road Tyre
The Michelin Pro4 Service Course are for cyclists seeking a very high performance tyre whatever the circumstances. Faster and safer due to improved wet grip compared to Pro Race tyre.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great all round tyre
Posted20 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cjbt4
fromNewcastle
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Urgent purchase due to overuse and deterioration of last tyres meant the need for something for all year round training. First time use involved 50mph descents on wet greasy roads and the tyres have me do much confidence - I would be happy racing in these. The profile is almost triangular so more rubber is in contact with the road when cornering which improves performance. Compound feels a bit soft when standing on climbs but a club member has done 2500 miles on his with no punctures so this may be a result of how thick the compound is. As a result they are heavier than what I am used to but this hasn't affected performance though.
I wouldn't hesitate to buy another pair or recommend them for use year round. Superb!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Kask Mojito Road Helmet
Kask Mojito Road Helmet
An all-Italian road helmet made with Kask's signature styling and workmanship. The Mojito offers the superb Up & Down fitting system and unique synthetic leather chin strap for absolute comfort out on the roads.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kask Mojito
Posted10 July 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cjbt4
fromNewcastle
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I deliberated for some time over which helmet and Indeed which Kask helmet to buy. There was no evidence to suggest why the more expensive options were worth more money. Had a chance encounter with another retailer who explained all helmets have the same features but that more money buys you a helmet with more safety protection - i.e. thicker and heavier.
Went for the lighter smaller Mojito as a result and I am not disappointed. It fits snugly, it's very comfortable, infinitely adjustable and very light. I have had no problem with overheating. Barely realise I am wearing it!
Only problem I have encountered Is that my Rudy Project glasses arms are of such a length that they impact against the helmet where it contours around my ears cussing them to slip down my nose when I turn my head. Should be able to trim them though.
Overall, delighted."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 SLR Flow Team Edition White Saddle -2012
SLR Flow Team Edition White Saddle -2012
Be like a pro and ride the "Team Replica" saddle. Same saddle used by road pros with stiffer base and the "perfect fit" self modelling padding that is perfect for long distance rides.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted28 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cjbt4
fromNewcastle
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"First time I used this saddle was in a race but at the end realised I hadn't noticed whether it was good or bad, which I took as a good sign. Did 85 miles on Sunday too and no complaints. More comfortable than what I replaced but needed something different for harder faster miles"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Knog Gekko LED Rear Light
Knog Gekko LED Rear Light
Water-resistant, superslim, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting, directional LEDs. Low battery warning indicator. Visible up to 600 metres.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent value, quality product
Posted21 October 2011
Cjbt4
fromNewcastle
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"The Gekko rear light has proven to be superb. While it doesn't need to light the road for visibility, it does provide sufficient light for other road users to see. Riders in the pace line have commented on how bright it is when they are following me closely. There are numerous settings too from permanently on to several modes of flashing.
I would recommend this light to anyone as the mechanism for attaching it also means no tools are required and it can easily be attached to any part of the bike and removed in seconds"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Knog Gekko LED Front Light
Knog Gekko LED Front Light
Water-resistant, superslim, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting, directional LEDs. Low battery warning indicator. Visible up to 600 metres.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Versatile and effective front light
Posted21 October 2011
Cjbt4
fromNewcastle
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This light is really easy to fix and remove making it easy to take with you when leaving the bike locked up if need be. It provides ample light for dusk riding and although I have used it for riding at night, which it is not recommended, it does give me some comfort that other road users will be able to see me.
The only criticism I have is that the collective beam from the led's is very broad , which lights the full width of the road but not very far ahead (at night)."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Scalatora Corsa 750ml Water Bottle
Scalatora Corsa 750ml Water Bottle
Elite's renowned Corsa cap is now available at a lower price point (same cap and valve design as the market-leading team-issue Hygene model).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great bottle
Posted16 June 2011
Cjbt4
fromNewcastle
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I first ordered the Hygiene bottles which were out of stock and which have since arrived but the cheaper Scalatora Corsa in my opinion is a better bottle with the same lid mechanism.
It fits well in the bottle cages, which my existing bottles did not, and smells infinitely better while the drink tastes much less plasticky than one from the Hygiene bottle.
I would certainly recommend this bottle on price and quality"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Cjbt4's Questions
 
 Fast Forward F6R Carbon Tubular 240s Wheelset
Fast Forward F6R Carbon Tubular 240s Wheelset
A full carbon tubular wheelset with 60mm deep rims with DARC profile and DT Swiss 240s hubs.
 

The wheels are only available with a choice of campag or shimano freehubs. Will the Shimano freehub be compatible with a SRAM cassette?

I know Shimano and Sram are supposed to be interchangeable but find that Sram rear mechs and shimano cassettes work less well than Sram rear mechs with Sram cassettes so wondered if the same is tru with free hubs.
2 years ago
by
Cjbt4
Newcastle
 
Cjbt4's Answers
 
 SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
Recommended for use with SRAM's Force and Rival groupsets. The new PowerGlide™ 1070 cassette offers an innovative approach to 10 speed cassette design.
 

Hi i would like to ask if this cassette is compatible with sram red front and rear derailleurs. Do i have any problem changing the gears;

I use this cassette on one set of wheels and a Sram Red on another set wit my Sram Red groupset with no discernible problems. Barrel adjuster may need a slight tweek when I swop them but nothing more.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Cjbt4
Newcastle
 
 Kask Mojito Road Helmet
Kask Mojito Road Helmet
An all-Italian road helmet made with Kask's signature styling and workmanship. The Mojito offers the superb Up & Down fitting system and unique synthetic leather chin strap for absolute comfort out on the roads.
 

What do you pay £60 more for the vertigo for?

what feature does the vertigo have that is £60 more than the mojito?

i have seen some gel inserts at the back but other than that i can spot very little except a significant price difference.
Best answer
Vertigo is thicker and more robust, uses more material and more safety features, but I expect all have to pass the same tests to be compliant with legislation, so chose the cheaper, lighter one!
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Cjbt4
Newcastle
 
 Knog Gekko LED Rear Light
Knog Gekko LED Rear Light
Water-resistant, superslim, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting, directional LEDs. Low battery warning indicator. Visible up to 600 metres.
 

Will this mount on seat stays, or only on seat post?

Need a light to mount on seat stays because I have a clip-on fender that takes up all available seat post space already.
It will fit on the seat stays but may be a little loose and swing around over bumps. I would recommend choosing a tighter fitting light for stays. It will also likely point the beam up into the eyes of other road users if mounted on the stays as there is no means to angle it away from the angle of what it is fixed to.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Cjbt4
Newcastle