Acolyte
Share Acolyte's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Acolyte's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    21
  • Helpfulness Votes
    16
  • First Review
    06 December 2012
  • Last Review
    06 September 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    03 December 2015
  • Last Review Comment
    03 December 2015
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    06 December 2012
  • Last Answer
    18 May 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Acolyte's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It gets better with mileage
Posted06 September 2016
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I was looking to replace my Spesh Toupe RBX expert and noticed the Prologo zero had a very similar profile so I took the plunge and ordered the saddle, it felt Ok from the off and is improving with every ride, I've got about 1500 miles on it now and it's becoming really comfy, it is pretty plush without being too soft, it has got a single rub mark developing so it may not be quite as robust as my old Toupe, guess only time will tell, it looks really well made and the channel does well in keeping the blood flowing, the width iirc is circa 140mm which I assume would be fine for most of us, it probably weighs very similar to the Toupe which is about 225g on the scales.
Lovers of the Phenom should also take a look at this saddle, side by side very alike....I think the Phenom is the Toupes off road brother so no surprises there, just bear in mind the Space version does have a good bit of padding.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable
Cons: not sure about quality yet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great value
Posted21 April 2016
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Classy looking socks, I've got both the Black and the White options and like them both, I much prefer the lower cut to the usual half way up the chin specimens normally offered, price is good and the quality so far seems good, the sizing is very much UK and not the euro "need to add 2 sizes" standard, I'm a 9/ - 91/2 and the Mediums are perfect, can't see much point spending any more on socks......"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Better than open corsa
Posted21 April 2016
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"These tyres have many of the pro's of the Open corsa with one major advantage, they last much better, they roll really well, grip is fine, comfort is very similar to the OC, and they look good on the bike..."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
This is excellent BT
Posted21 April 2016
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Having tried between 10-12 tapes over the last 7/8 years this is the best, goes on fine so long as you don't over-pull, great to clean and grips like no other, looks classy too.
IMHO Pro carbon 2nd and Zipp SC 3rd.....
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
The endless enigma
Posted03 December 2015
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Ok it's an inner tube which works pretty well, the smooth vales on the 51mm version is great and removable if required."
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: getting expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top tube
Posted03 December 2015
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"You won't find a better tube, Ok so Latex drops pressure daily but to be honest I don't know a club cyclist that doesn't check their type pressure on every ride, IMHO the benefits are well worth the minor hassles, they roll very well, are light and seem to fend off the P word, I think the resistance to the P word is due to them being super compliant so if a flint penetrates the tyre the inner just deforms around the flint rather than being so rigid the flint just cuts through.
When fitting a new tyre I always start by fitting a Butyl inner and leave it over night for the tyre to take shape, then fit the Latex tube, it's much easier than risking pinching your inner.
I'm never going to add expensive to the list of cons as I cannot believe the price of Butyl tubes compared to Latex, ok Latex can be a bit more expensive compared to a few budget Butyl tubes, however just priced up Michelin Air comps at nearly £9.00 compared to the Mich Latex at under £8.00 ??? what's going on ?? a few years ago Latex could be double the price of Butyl's, it makes you wonder !!!!
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The LifeLine Derailleur Hanger Alignment tool is used to correct numerous rear derailleur/mech shifting issues that occur with indexed gear systems. Essential for bike workshops and mechanics.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Sorted
Posted03 December 2015
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Great price and works well after a 3 minute mod, will work straight from the box but there is a bit of play on the centre shaft which can be cured for good by sourcing a small piece of shim steel (sorry cannot remember the thickness), cutting to size and fitting.
If you are stuck just try bacofoil or any similar product, remember to only do full rotations of the shaft in order to keep the thickness even.
"
Pros: Great Value
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Love them
Posted03 December 2015
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Purchase a 28mm a couple of weeks back just ordered an other, really nice tyre's, they roll very well and have so far remained totally free of marks, using them on my winter hybrid with crosslight V3 wheels and my average speed has not suffered too much at all, I really cannot believe how well they roll, so far have used them at 5 bar (73psi) as I'm not sure how much pressure the wheels are going to be happy with.
Many of us liked the old Krylion's for winter work, good news these feel very similar !!
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: hard to find
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Bib Tight
The Vaeon Roubaix unpadded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great value
Posted03 December 2015
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"So far so good, the tights are very comfy and warm, the min temp so far has been about 6C which they handled without issue, size wise they are much more realistic than the usual Italian offerings after reading I went for a Medium and I'm 75kg and 176cm (12st 5ft 10") the fit is really good with no tight spots but offering good muscle support for the legs, the only reason I haven't given them a full 5* is a personal thing in that I like foot loops to avoid the legs riding up (this so far has not happened), I'm also not sure about the need for the 2 ankle zips, however I do like the upper zip (very much).
Not sure about durability as they have only done about 300 miles, they do look well made.
I'm using the un-padded version, like most of us we have our favorite pads/shorts and I like the double layering around my core.
Only available in All black which isn't an issue for me, there is a small amount of reflective material to aid being seen.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very good value
Posted24 August 2015
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Only tried the Coconut version which is very moist and tasty, really easy to digest and easy on the stomach, I usually use Wiggles own bars, I guess I will buy which ever offers the best value as they both have similar merits, perhaps the High 5 bar is more moist, you can't go wrong at the price. Enjoy"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, easy to eat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Acolyte's Questions
 
Acolyte has not submitted any questions.
 
Acolyte's Answers
 
 

Stock enquiry

When will you be getting stock of these please?
Request a stock alert, I have twice (missed once) and had to wait 2 -3 weeks for the next batch to arrive, be quick the first alert I left while I had lunch (60 mins), came back and the last 6 units had gone, popular !!
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Acolyte
East Yorks
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

what accessories do you get

Hello,

Could you please tell me if the bib shorts come in the proper 'Assos' box, together with the pouch to wash them in?

Thanks!
Hi Rob, I've purchased 2 pairs of Uno's in the last 2 weeks, both boxed with wash net bag included.
My Mille's came with chamios cream and wash liquid, the Uno's didn't.

ATB
4 years ago
by
Acolyte
East Yorks