Acolyte
Share Acolyte's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Acolyte's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    17
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Review
    06 December 2012
  • Last Review
    03 December 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    03 December 2015
  • Last Review Comment
    03 December 2015
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    06 December 2012
  • Last Answer
    18 May 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Acolyte's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The Vittoria road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels. Medium weight road inner tube with 2 valve length choices, 42mm or 51mm for deeper section rims.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
The endless enigma
Posted03 December 2015
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Ok it's an inner tube which works pretty well, the smooth vales on the 51mm version is great and removable if required."
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: getting expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top tube
Posted03 December 2015
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"You won't find a better tube, Ok so Latex drops pressure daily but to be honest I don't know a club cyclist that doesn't check their type pressure on every ride, IMHO the benefits are well worth the minor hassles, they roll very well, are light and seem to fend off the P word, I think the resistance to the P word is due to them being super compliant so if a flint penetrates the tyre the inner just deforms around the flint rather than being so rigid the flint just cuts through.
When fitting a new tyre I always start by fitting a Butyl inner and leave it over night for the tyre to take shape, then fit the Latex tube, it's much easier than risking pinching your inner.
I'm never going to add expensive to the list of cons as I cannot believe the price of Butyl tubes compared to Latex, ok Latex can be a bit more expensive compared to a few budget Butyl tubes, however just priced up Michelin Air comps at nearly £9.00 compared to the Mich Latex at under £8.00 ??? what's going on ?? a few years ago Latex could be double the price of Butyl's, it makes you wonder !!!!
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The LifeLine Derailleur Hanger Alignment tool is used to correct numerous rear derailleur/mech shifting issues that occur with indexed gear systems. Essential for bike workshops and mechanics.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Sorted
Posted03 December 2015
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Great price and works well after a 3 minute mod, will work straight from the box but there is a bit of play on the centre shaft which can be cured for good by sourcing a small piece of shim steel (sorry cannot remember the thickness), cutting to size and fitting.
If you are stuck just try bacofoil or any similar product, remember to only do full rotations of the shaft in order to keep the thickness even.
"
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
For cyclists who are looking for endurance, bead-to-bead protection and long life from their tyre. The Pro4 Endurance tyre (700 x 28c) offers you all-round protection, lower rolling resistance and superior wear and tear with excellent grip.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Love them
Posted03 December 2015
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Purchase a 28mm a couple of weeks back just ordered an other, really nice tyre's, they roll very well and have so far remained totally free of marks, using them on my winter hybrid with crosslight V3 wheels and my average speed has not suffered too much at all, I really cannot believe how well they roll, so far have used them at 5 bar (73psi) as I'm not sure how much pressure the wheels are going to be happy with.
Many of us liked the old Krylion's for winter work, good news these feel very similar !!
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: hard to find
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Bib Tight
The Vaeon Roubaix unpadded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great value
Posted03 December 2015
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"So far so good, the tights are very comfy and warm, the min temp so far has been about 6C which they handled without issue, size wise they are much more realistic than the usual Italian offerings after reading I went for a Medium and I'm 75kg and 176cm (12st 5ft 10") the fit is really good with no tight spots but offering good muscle support for the legs, the only reason I haven't given them a full 5* is a personal thing in that I like foot loops to avoid the legs riding up (this so far has not happened), I'm also not sure about the need for the 2 ankle zips, however I do like the upper zip (very much).
Not sure about durability as they have only done about 300 miles, they do look well made.
I'm using the un-padded version, like most of us we have our favorite pads/shorts and I like the double layering around my core.
Only available in All black which isn't an issue for me, there is a small amount of reflective material to aid being seen.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Energy Bar is race proven, high in energy and low in fat (less than 2%) for fast carbohydrate absorption. Made from real fruit (58%) and wholesome grains (22%).
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very good value
Posted24 August 2015
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Only tried the Coconut version which is very moist and tasty, really easy to digest and easy on the stomach, I usually use Wiggles own bars, I guess I will buy which ever offers the best value as they both have similar merits, perhaps the High 5 bar is more moist, you can't go wrong at the price. Enjoy"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, easy to eat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Shimano Dura Ace C35 wheelset, with the 35mm aero rim, is one of the most versatile wheels you willl come across. Great for everyday riding or racing & with an alloy braking surface, it is a wheelset ideal for racing/training/riding in all weathers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top Wheels
Posted14 July 2015
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Love the Dura ace C35 9000 wheels, out of the box the wheels are very true and feel really well balanced.
On the road they are stiff and fast and still manage to offer loads of comfort, I'm certainly climbing better with this wheelset which is obviously down to weight (circa 1485 iirc, rims are very light), the other area which has improved is maintaining speed once up and running, the faster the speed the bigger the benefit.
These wheels have to be the easiest ever to grease up, the whole job per wheel is about 20-25 mins "if you take your time", that's stripping down, cleaning, re-greasing, and adjustment, throw away your cone spanners!!! for the record this is my second set of these wheels, I tried hard to find something different that offered the same package, in the end I couldn't see beyond the lightweight rims with an ally braking surface and ease of maintenance, I do not like cartridge bearings!!
"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: lacquer easy to mark
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
More elasticity, more comfort and the highest shock absorbing properties thanks to Vibra Absorb.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bar tape
Posted14 July 2015
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Good bar tape, plenty of stretch, colour good, and very easy to fit."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Protect your Edge® 800/810 with this form-fitting, removable silicone case. Also available in other colours (sold separately).
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Garmin case
Posted14 July 2015
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Great, does exactly what it says on the tin, fits the Garmin really well, gives easy access to ports etc, thankfully I've not dropped the Garmin so can't comment on actual performance, it's got to be worth having at the price, so a no brainer really.."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 ZipVit Sport ZV8 Uncoated Energy Bars 20 x 55g
ZipVit Sport ZV8 Uncoated Energy Bars 20 x 55g
The delicious tasting project ZV8 Energy Bar contains a unique, easily digestible blend of ingredients formulated specifically for the nutritional demands of endurance athletes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Energy bars
Posted14 July 2015
Acolyte
fromEast Yorks
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Worked fine, no problem on the system, easy to chew, I have to be honest and say I use Wiggles own bars and find them better value for similar performance, taste wise I also like my usual brand a little more.
Certainly worth trying as the bars are clearly a quality product.
"
Pros: High Quality
Cons: would like sharper flavours
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Acolyte's Questions
 
Acolyte has not submitted any questions.
 
Acolyte's Answers
 
Featuring the new Shimano D-Fly Data Management system. This new wireless component adds another dimension to the Di2 experience by wirelessly connecting riders to their Di2 data through a cycling computer.
 

Stock enquiry

When will you be getting stock of these please?
Request a stock alert, I have twice (missed once) and had to wait 2 -3 weeks for the next batch to arrive, be quick the first alert I left while I had lunch (60 mins), came back and the last 6 units had gone, popular !!
8 months ago
by
Acolyte
East Yorks
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

what accessories do you get

Hello,

Could you please tell me if the bib shorts come in the proper 'Assos' box, together with the pouch to wash them in?

Thanks!
Hi Rob, I've purchased 2 pairs of Uno's in the last 2 weeks, both boxed with wash net bag included.
My Mille's came with chamios cream and wash liquid, the Uno's didn't.

ATB
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Acolyte
East Yorks