Herbie
Top 250 Contributor
Share Herbie's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Herbie's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    50
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    15 June 2009
  • Last Review
    30 September 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    18
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    02 September 2010
  • Last Answer
    30 September 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Herbie's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent grip without causing unecessary drag
Posted30 September 2014
Herbie
fromGuildford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These tyres have excellent grip on trails and damp roads, but still roll well on smoother tarmac. Great for hybrids or for that Eroica bike!"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new CN-10 Cable and Housing Cutter is a shop quality cutter designed specifically for use on all bicycle cables and housing, including hard-to-cut index housing.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Do the job well
Posted03 September 2014
Herbie
fromGuildford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"These cutters cut cables neatly and do the job well, at a reasonable price."
Pros: Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Positioned for minimum wind resistance and easy access these bags are ideal for triathletes or other riders wanting to keep energy food or other small items close at hand.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Very useful but straps could do with better design
Posted24 June 2014
Herbie
fromGuildford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I find this works really well, and the actual compartment of the bag is great design. However, the straps are not adjustable enough - they will go around all sizes of tubing: but the underneath straps don't do up tight enough on old steel frames, but work well on larger tubing; the headtube strap is low, and this means the bag flops aroundif fairly full and can be annoying (still functional), and for all my bikes (road, old.new, hybrid, MTB etc.) could do with being higher and so go around the steerer rather than the headtube and therefore hold the bag up better."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Unadjustable, Poor Fit, Limited Color Choices
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
 
IsoGel is a great tasting sports fuel for a burst of instant energy. It has a lighter drink-like consistency for easy consumption and absorption. The classic sachet with a rip-off top makes it ideal on the move for cyclists and runners alike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Probably my favourite gel - gets me through
Posted24 June 2014
Herbie
fromGuildford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I never got on with the original gels from anyone - they were all too gloopy or jam like, and it was an effort to take them. These, with greater volume are so much better, and very effective. I tend to use them towards the end of long rides and they help keep the fatigue and cramps away."
Pros: High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A quality brake cable outer casing for effective and responsive braking. Compatible with both Road and Mountain Bikes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Perfectly good and fundctional cable outers
Posted05 June 2014
Herbie
fromGuildford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Does the job well and good value. Fits old style frame eyes, which some modern cable outers are too thick for."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
More elasticity, more comfort and the highest shock absorbing properties thanks to Vibra Absorb.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality comfortable bar tape
Posted05 June 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Herbie
fromGuildford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Despite not being a gel bar tape this Cinelli product really does the job well. I t goes on easily and stays in place. It is very comfortable without needing the gel extra thickness. Sometimes the gel tapes move around a bit sooner and don't last as long."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Brooks Cambium saddle is made from vulcanized natural rubber and organic cotton canvas enhanced by a thin layer of structural textile for added resilience making it uniquely flexible, maintenance-free with all Brooks legendary longevity .
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just love it - modern comfort with retro style
Posted21 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Herbie
fromGuildford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Bought for an old 1982 Olmo GP being restored for the Eroica Britannia. It has all the comfort of a modern saddle, but looks the part on an old bike. Very stylish. Like the saddlebag loops too - which I've just added a tool-roll to with leather straps, rather than a full saddlebag."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Positioned for minimum wind resistance and easy access these bags are ideal for triathletes or other riders wanting to keep energy food or other small items close at hand.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job well enough
Posted21 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Herbie
fromGuildford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Overall this does the job very well. A couple of features just let it down for me. It's pretty tall, and yet fairly small overall - the extended flap could have been used to make it more flexible in size, but as it is it just wraps over a lot. The headtube velcro strap is so long that the velcro can't be tightened up completely around the tube, so it has to be loose in order for the velcro to meet. The underneath straps work well, and have material under the buckles that protect the bike frame. The bag itself is lined with a waterproof liner, which may be useful, but with a mesh top the rain will get in anyway."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, functional
Cons: Unadjustable, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Progression Roller features progressively sized surfaces that provide variable pressure to muscles.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very good for post-rdie self-massag
Posted22 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Herbie
fromGuildford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Advised to get a foam roller by my physio, and having borrowed a cheap foam one, thought I'd go for this deluxe one. Once you get used to the approach of letting your weight provide the pressure, this works incredibly well. Muscle fatigue is vastly reduced. I've had a bad back for years and have used a rolled up towel to affect relief for some time, but this is also useful for relief of back pain."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Vaeon Roubaix unpadded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb quality tights, warm but light
Posted22 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Herbie
fromGuildford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Have some really warm, padded tights from a top make, which are supposed to be shaped, but are really restrictive. These i bought for cold but not freezing days, when I will padded shorts underneath. The fit and shaping of these is superb, and the light material is slightly fleeced, making them very warm for their thickness."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Herbie's Questions
 
Herbie has not submitted any questions.
 
Herbie's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised.
 

Can I use 700c x 28 to replace my 700c x 38

Hi I am looking to reduce some road resistance and making my Claude Butler 500 Urban a little more easy for the road. So hoping I can just swop these an use 700 x 28c ?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
This would be dependent on the wheel rim - the rim will have a max/min 700c tyre width that it recommends. Wouldn't like to speculate without knowing what the rim is.
1 month ago
by
Herbie
Guildford
 
The Velo Wireless has a great new look regarding the screen and body. The screen is enlarged making it easier to view the display and with one button control makes this computer very easy to use.
 

Can I buy the attachments for a second bike?

I already have the Cateye velo wireless on one bike but now I have 2 bikes & want to be able to swap Cateye from one to the other.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes - but they are nearly as much as the original computer with fixing kit - and as this is a very good value one I tend to just buy several computers and have them as spares or set for kms to use abroad etc.
6 months ago
by
Herbie
Guildford
 
Meet HeatGear® Sonic: Under Armours’s newest and greatest baselayer innovation. These Shorts are supporting but not restrictive and won't let you overheat
 

Какая степень (класс, мм*рт) компрессии на данном белье?

Какая степень (класс, мм*рт) компрессии на данном белье?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Это не экстремальные сжатия - просто комфортно и хорошо подходящее. These aren't extreme compression - just comfortable and well fitting.
6 months ago
by
Herbie
Guildford
 
RaceBlades - the innovative new guard for all race bikes. Almost invisible, this new guard system is the problem solution for all road racers looking for a functional but lightweight guard (225g for the complete set front and rear).
 

Will these fit a Boardman CX bike that is for road use only

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Because of the fitting mechanism I believe these will fit almost any bike - I have previously fitted them to: an old steel framed Olmo, a Dawes Giro 300 with oversized alloy tubes, a Trek 1500, and a Boardman Team Comp. The a new pair have just fitted to a Cinelli Alloy framed 2013 bike perfectly.
1 year ago
by
Herbie
Guildford
 
RaceBlades - the innovative new guard for all race bikes. Almost invisible, this new guard system is the problem solution for all road racers looking for a functional but lightweight guard (225g for the complete set front and rear).
 

Hello, will these keep riders behind dry as well?

Hello, will these keep the peloton behind you dry as well? I know there is a "long" version of these but they are only available in silver.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
This new version has a rubber additional drip-stop addition on each mudguard, and will increase their protection of the rider behind. They keep riders behind as well protected as full mudguards, as they drop down behind just as far. What they don't do is keep the back wheel from flicking water low and forward as they don't continue round to the seat tube - so, riders behind, and your bum stay dry, but in extreme your feet might end up a bit wetter than with full mudguards - though, in extreme the front wheel splash usually soaks feet not in waterproof overshoes whatever guards you have. Essentially these work well for group riding.
1 year ago
by
Herbie
Guildford
 
RaceBlades - the innovative new guard for all race bikes. Almost invisible, this new guard system is the problem solution for all road racers looking for a functional but lightweight guard (225g for the complete set front and rear).
 

will these fit a Boardman CX bike that is for road use only with 25mm gatorskin tyres fitted?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Because of the fitting mechanism I believe these will fit almost any bike - I have previously fitted them to: an old steel framed Olmo, a Dawes Giro 300 with oversized alloy tubes, a Trek 1500, and a Boardman Team Comp. The a new pair have just fitted to a Cinelli Alloy framed 2013 bike perfectly.
1 year ago
by
Herbie
Guildford
 
RaceBlades - the innovative new guard for all race bikes. Almost invisible, this new guard system is the problem solution for all road racers looking for a functional but lightweight guard (225g for the complete set front and rear).
 

will these fit my sensa romagna?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Because of the fitting mechanism I believe these will fit almost any bike - I have previously fitted them to: an old steel framed Olmo, a Dawes Giro 300 with oversized alloy tubes, a Trek 1500, and a Boardman Team Comp. The a new pair have just fitted to a Cinelli Alloy framed 2013 bike perfectly.
1 year ago
by
Herbie
Guildford
 
RaceBlades - the innovative new guard for all race bikes. Almost invisible, this new guard system is the problem solution for all road racers looking for a functional but lightweight guard (225g for the complete set front and rear).
 

Will these definately fit a Trek Domane 2013

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Because of the fitting mechanism I believe these will fit almost any bike - I have previously fitted them to: an old steel framed Olmo, a Dawes Giro 300 with oversized alloy tubes, a Trek 1500, and a Boardman Team Comp. The a new pair have just fitted to a Cinelli Alloy framed 2013 bike perfectly.
1 year ago
by
Herbie
Guildford
 
A super cooling short sleeve base layer with 8 channel fibre structured construction. Ideal for activities with a high sweat rate due to low thermal insulation and very efficient evaporation cooling.
 

167cm (5'7"); 38-39" Chest (96-99cm) and 73-75 kg - Correct size is?

I would like to know correct size (not in the position to try them prior or the additional costs for return). Going by Assos, size chart S is suitable for persons 160-169cm; however no other measurements are noted. Are these a comfort, slim or relax fit and will they accomodate small changes in weight and chest.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm a little larger, but the fit is comfort rather than slim. So fitted without being sprayed on!
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Herbie
Guildford
 
A Swiss product, Swissstop offers the best braking performance in all conditions High performance compound for carbon wheels. Excellent stopping power wet and dry with superior modulation and low pad wear rates.
 

Are pads different for front and rear wheels?

The reason I ask is that one pair of left and right pads both have the same set of numbers on them, and the other pair of left and right pads both have a different set of numbers on them.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No - same brake shoes front and back - so same blocks/inserts.
2 years ago
by
Herbie
Guildford