GrahamA
Top 250 Contributor
Share GrahamA's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GrahamA's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    41
  • Helpfulness Votes
    25
  • First Review
    21 February 2012
  • Last Review
    12 September 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    03 September 2012
  • Last Question
    25 July 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    21
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Answer
    25 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    12 September 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
GrahamA's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
A concentrated sports fuel for instant energy with a caffeine kick for increased focus on your most challenging events and training drills.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good value energy
Posted12 September 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Used these a few times on long rides when I need a boost and have found them to be just the job. I have only tried the orange flavour and it's palatable enough, although the caramel taste that comes with it takes a bit of getting used to - but not unpleasant.
Kind on the stomach as well and definitely gives a boost when you need it at around 15 minutes after consumption. I've only used a maximum of two sachets on any one ride so can't say if taking more might upset things.
Easy to open and consume when on the go.
Good value when compared with some other gels.
"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
As the benchmark in mid level bibshorts, the Velocissimo Due leads the way in styling, function and quality. An everyday short that stands up against competition way above its cost.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good short
Posted15 August 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Got these in the sale and overall I'm pleased with them. They do come up small! I bought a Medium size in line with the chart. I'm 5ft 7" tall. Approx 32-33 waist and 30" inside leg and don't have Chris Hoy thighs (well, not quite). They fit well but do need to be pulled on carefully to get them to fit properly (i.e. get the pad in the right place). My body length isn't long and I felt the shoulder straps to be quite tight - although not uncomfortable.
Would have been concerned about the leg width if I had bigger thigh cirumference although the silicone leg grippers are comfortable and the shorts themselves provide decent support.
Can't say the pad comfort is anything better than others though; after 20 miles in the saddle I feel I need a break - which is no different from my dhb shorts. They look good, fit well but I have noticed a couple of red patches on the front of my thighs and I can't work out if it's colour bleed from the fabric or some slight soreness from the seams as they flex (suspect the latter). Not a major problem though. Mesh inserts on the side of the help help to provide some extra cooling too - although it's not really noticeable. For the price I paid (sale) I feel they are very good value.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Essential for longer rides, Assos Chamois Creme is formulated to reduce friction, inflammation and discomfort. Applied to the skin, it gives a soothing, cooling effect and applied to the short it helps maintain suppleness, elasticity and freshness.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Seems effective
Posted15 August 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"First time I've used such stuff. Found that I was getting some soreness on long rides when it was hot and sweaty so bought a tub. Not the cheapest but you get a decent quanity and will last ages. You get a warm, then cool feeling when you spread it on. Not entirely sure how much you need to apply at any one time so a bit of trial and error. Have also spread on my short pads as well to help. Seems to work well and supress the soreness, although I do still get some redness on my thighs - but that could be the colour coming out from the pad!
Notice the cooling effect from time to time during the ride too so it's obviously working. Cream is still in place after 40+ miles so lasts well too. Not overly scented.
"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Single spoke version which fits all cateye computers including cordless.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works with other computers too
Posted15 August 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Lost my original wheel magnet that I used on my hybrid with a cheap computer so was looking for a appropriate replacement.
easy to fit and adjust with the sensor and hasn't moved since I put it on. Really pleased with it. Can't really say more when it's just a small magnet in a lump of plastic.
"
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted15 August 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I use this stuff for pre early morning ride hydration as I get up and ride without any foord or drink beforehand. Helps to fend off the thirst when the weather is hot and aids the performance of my normal carb drink during long rides. I also use it for shorter lunchtime rides when it's hot just as a thirst quencher. Doubt I'd bother to use it when the weather's cooler. Have tried a range of flavours. All are quite muted in taste and not sweet. Tastes more like slightly flavoured water than stronger types of drink. Not unpleasant but hardly exciting. Seems kind on the stomach."
Pros: Great Value, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Rubber cable covers to protect the frame from the cables marking the headtube. Suitable for 4mm derailleur cables.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Helps protect
Posted27 July 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Don't know why all bikes don't come with these fitted as standard. (A few do I've started to notice).
A few miles in and I noticed the graphite 'stealth' paint finish on my new carbon bike had started to wear round the headset. Some judiciously placed Frame Protectors has stopped that dead. Now have them fitted where ever the cables touch the frame.
Great product. Just make sure you get the correct size for gear and break cables. Bit expensive for what they are but worth it.
"
Pros: Durable, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A versatile mountain bike short with a high stretch fabric construction.Featuring a S.100 seatpad for low bulk cushioning over long distances and waist adjustment tabs to ensure a perfect fit.Ideal for challenging single track routes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Useful summer short
Posted01 July 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Wanted to replace my old Madison water resistant shorts as they were too restrictive on the legs and felt like a corset round the waist.
So opted for these after a long search (wanted a cargo pocket and not too expensive either). Impressions so far are that they are comfortable, cool and do what I want of them for my summer lunchtime road training rides of around 15 miles. How good the padded liner would be on high mileage I wouldn't know. I'd wear normal lycra shorts for longer rides with more substantial pads for that.
Opted for the lime green (lotus?) trim and they match the hoops on my dhb socks nicely (LOL).
Some niggles however:
Tags that hold the inner in place are stitched in, no press studs to release. If you're like me and prefer to use different padded liners from time to time then you'll need to cut the tags off.
Mine came with one of the legs of the liner stitched to the tag in the wrong place so I nearly fell over when trying to put them on! Unpicked the stitching and they were fine.
They are baggy though. I know they are really MTB/commuting shorts but I'm a short, 30" inside leg and they don't do me any favours. They reach down to my knees. I'm not skinny either and the shorts do flap a bit in a head wind. But that helps to keep you cool. Material is lighweight for summer use unless you wear tights underneath for colder temperatures.
Pockets are cavernous, although I would prefer zip fastenings for all; only the two side pockets have them, the cargo and rear pockets just have a press stud closure.
Velcro waist adjustment is on the inside but this does ruck up the waist band at the back a bit if you pull them in. I'm a 32-33" waist and opted for a medium. They fit Ok but I had to pull in the straps a bit to stop them slipping down. Bit too high in the waist for my preference.
Could have got away with a small I expect.
No reflective areas but I don't ride in the dark at this time of year.
All in all they are OK for the money.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive, Limited Color Choices
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Heavyweight, neoprene, overshoe for deep Winter use. Tough TPU skin means rain won’t penetrate and thick neoprene gives the best level of insulation against the cold.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great overshoe
Posted28 June 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Have a few sets of overshoes but all of them seem to let in some rain or road spray and I always end up with wet feet. Got these over a year ago and one way of the other I never used them; probably as I always tried to ride in the dry.
They had a few outings last winter when it seemed to be wet and/or cold so often and each time I was left with warm and dry feet. Ok, Some road spray can creep in around the cleat cutouts but my shoes coped well with that.
Most neoprene overshoes aren't fully waterproof I've found. However, these have a waterproof outer surface which works well to keep your feet dry and warm. Am a size 8 shoe and opted for a medium which is an exact fit for me. haven't worn them a massive amount but they seem to be wearing well. Build quality seems good too.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Useful bracket
Posted28 June 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Needed a new one as somehow I managed to lose the spare I had.
I wanted to be able to transfer my Cateye HL-EL520 front light from my road bike to my hybrid when I wanted to without moving the bracket as well.
Had been some time since I bought the light so was slightly concerned that a new bracket might not fit. Needn't have worried as it was an exact match for the original.
Robust, easy to fit and adjust. Only thing to watch out for is the small screw that adjusts the up/down angle can work loose and drop out; so keep a check on it. But if it does it's easy to find one that will fit.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Sonic short sleeve jersey designed for those spring/summer rides in the saddle. The garment is light and features excellent softness and elasticity properties thanks to the Light Tech fabrics used.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice top
Posted09 June 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Finally the weather is warm enough to wear a summer top!
I have a number of short sleeved tops and this is by far the best in terms of value for money and features.
The close weave fabric on the front panel and the full length zip baffle helps to reduce chill from wind (although not windproof) while the mesh arms and side panels ventilate well.
Rear pockets are a reasonable size and the zipped security pocket on the back is large enough to take my Galaxy SIII. Time will tell if the zip itself lasts well as looks a little flimsy.
Limited reflective features but I don't plan on riding in the dark on long summer days.
Comes up small though. I'm a chunky 38inch chest /32 inch waist so went for the Medium and it's a snug fit . Only slight gripe is the arm cuffs feel a bit tight. I don't have massive biceps but anyone with big guns might find them slightly restrictive. But they don't really ride up as a result.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
GrahamA's Questions
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
The fighter raises the bar for sport level road shoes with an impressive palette of features from higher up the Northwave range. A ventilated upper with the SBS closure provides a secure fit while NRG carbon reinforced sole gives excellent power transfer
 

Size for a UK8?

Hi. Am a (small) UK size 8. What size would you recommend for this shoe please?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Multi-use sport touring shoe with a Multi-layer stretch resistant synthetic leather and mesh upper and glass fibre reinforced midsole for optimum sole rigidity.
 

Would these take winter overshoes

I've not yet migrated to cleats, preferring to stick with toe straps for the time being but would these, or any of the other similar touring/commuting shoes be Ok to take winter overshoes please?
2 years ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
GrahamA's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Sorry to be crude but with the extra abdominal protection can I relieve myself by pulling them down at the front ie without half undressing?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A practical question always worth asking with bib tights in my opinion. The front zip allows you easy access for that, so no need to undress. Just be careful when using the zipper!!
5 days ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 

S vs M?

Hi,
173cm height, 82cm waist. 96cm chest.

Size chart seems to suggest small. I'm a medium/Euro3 in Santini, Bontrager, PI and Mavic bibs...

Thoughts?
Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm abut the same size as you, perhaps slightly more round the waist by a cm or two. I got a pair in Small and they are a good fit. Comfortable too.
5 days ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides.
 

What size?

Chest 88cm Waist 77cm Height 1660mm
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
S if you want a baselayer underneath. XS if you don't.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides.
 

I am 1.68m tall, chest measurement 1.00m. What size of jacket would recommend?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm slightly taller than you at 170cm but with a smaller chest at 96.5cm and the Small is tight. Depends if you want to wear a layer underneath or not. Consider the Medium for a 100cm if you don't want a base layer.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Does this have any windproofing?

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No windproofing as such but it's a very close fabric. Coupled with the warm Roubaix backing it's pretty close to being windproof. I've worn this in sub zero (C) temperatures with a cnsiderable wind chill and not felf any wind though them on the legs apart from a slight cooling. The high zip front really helps keeping your waist and belly warm too.
9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Craft Active Extreme range is designed to keep you dry and fresh in any cold weather workout. The advanced fabric technologies keep you drier, lighter, fresher and warmer.
 

Long at back?

I find base layers ride up at the back. I have the Nike pro combat and the long length and compression means it doesn't. Is this one long at the back?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No extended back length on this baselayer. long enough if you tuck it into to shorts/tights etc but will ride up if you don't I'd say.
9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
A package combination of the Swan Road (rear) and Croozer Road (front) mudguards for road/hybrid bikes.
 

Will the clamp fit on an aero shaped seat post?

I have the Giant Avail composite which has an aero seat post, will the rear mud guard clamp fit securely without turning?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
This crossed my mind when I was fitting my clamp and I have a standard seat tube. The clamp seems to be shaped as though it would fit an aero tube as it has a slightly narrower profile to the back edge.
There didn't seem to be much slack in the clamp though so it might struggle with an aero shape.
Hopefully someone with an aero tube will have tried it and can advise better.
9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Cool weather padded waist tight suited to Autumn training rides. (dhb Vaeon - previously dhb PACE)
 

Medium or Small?

I'm 29-30" waist and 32" inseam.
Will a size Small be a good fit or I should try Medium instead?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I am a 30" inside leg and 32" waist and the Small fits me fine, although slightly long in the leg.
So you should have no problem with a Small.
9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Falling between S and M

Hi,

If I'm a 36" (S) chest, a 31" (S) waist and 5'7" height (M)...AND...I find the similarly-sized Aeron Pro bib shorts in S on their limit (but perhaps a little too tight around the thights), would a M be OK, or a touch on the baggy side everywhere else?

Cheers,
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Hard call. Am same height as you with a 38" chest and 32" waist and a Medium fits me brilliantly. Although they are quite well fitting on the thigh I get the impression there is a fair amount of stretch.
A small would probably be just on it's limit I expect .
I'd opt for the Medium and I expect Wiggle will swap them if they don't fit.
9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
A package combination of the Swan Road (rear) and Croozer Road (front) mudguards for road/hybrid bikes.
 

Could you fit these to a Trek Madone 2.1 road bike

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Depends on the diameter of your down tube I guess. I have a Domane 4.3 and the the tube at it's widest is 19cm and the front muguard fits fine. Rear guard just clamps to your seatpost which should be fairly standard diameter, so as long as you have plenty of height in the seat tube (if you also hang a saddlebag or light off it) then it will fit OK.
9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK