GrahamA
Top 250 Contributor
Share GrahamA's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GrahamA's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    45
  • Helpfulness Votes
    31
  • First Review
    21 February 2012
  • Last Review
    05 January 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    03 September 2012
  • Last Question
    16 March 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Answer
    25 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    07 December 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    5
 
 
GrahamA's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
The Lezyne Macro drive duo is the ultimate combo light with 400 lumen of front power and 5 lumen in the integrated rear light. The Intelligent Power Indicator button allows the user to check the power level at any time.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good backup
Posted05 January 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this to replace a small helmet safety light as I'd nearly overshot bends on dark country lanes a few times. Had a search round and very few decent helmet lights with the front/rear config together, so this suited my needs. Don't know why more brands don't have them.
Very pleased so far. Fitting is a little fiddly if your helmet vents are close together on top but otherwise it's easy and the excess velcro tape can be tucked up into the vent so it's out the way.
Beam gives an almost 180 degree spread at base so you can easily see bike computers etc on your bars and has a broad coverage with a brighter pinpoint that lights ahead for around 50 metres. Not the brightest and would recommend a stronger light on your bars for dark roads/lanes, although could be sufficient on it's own depending on light conditions. But I only use this as a backup so didn't need a bright beam.
Picks out reflective surfaces (e.g. road signs) at well over 500 metres so should be visible to other road users at similar distances.
Light enough that you don't know it's on top and burn times are as detailed, if not slightly better. Good combination of modes to chose from depending on where you're riding.
Charges via USB mini connection to your computer by unscrewing rear lense and plugging it in. Charge times seem fairly quick too.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The ASV Lycra Bib Tight combines branded, highly technical fabrics and refined striking graphics for the perfect Spring and Autumn training bib tight.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Versatile and comfortable
Posted07 December 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"It wasn't the 'Professional' athletic fit of these that caught my eye but the Wiggle sale price. I wanted a pair of bib tights for 'shoulder' seasons of Autumn and Spring but didn't want to break the bank.
A very comfortable pad (only ridden for 2-3hrs in these so far and no problems).
Have warn in temperatures as high as 15 degrees C and they just start to get too warm and down to around 5 degrees when the cold wind starts to be noticed on my thighs. The double thickness on the knees however continues to keep them warm.
Normally I take a Small in size for most dhb kit bit took the Wiggle advice and went a size up (was slightly confused as the chart is actually the standard dhb sizing chart on this product). I could have got away with a small probably but only just and they would have probably been unconfortable.
I can't be considered a typical slim and tall cyclist. Currently weigh 12st; 5ft 7in tall, 32in waist and 30inch inside leg and the Medium is just about right apart from the leg length. They do wrinkle behind the knees a little but it's not unfomfortable and that, along with the slight bunching round the ankles is probably due to my short legs rather than the design of the product.
Compression feels tight as you pull them on but once on I hardly notice I'm wearing anything (alarmingly!). Construction looks good and no problems to-date.
Overall a great value tight.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A 550ml water bottle with a three function lid; a push pull mouthpiece for hydration on the move, screw off lid for refill and fast thirst quenching and a safety "pop open" feature. Featuring measuring guide markings and LifeLine graphics.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
It's a bottle!
Posted03 October 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Not that exciting. Wanted a bottle to mix my recovery drink in and leave it sealed in the fridge the night before.
So this does the job admirably. Sturdy and lightweight and the scale and clear strip on the side let you measure out exactly how much fluid you have.
The cap works well and dispenses a decent amount of the contents.
Not overly keen on the colours but given the price and it's not seen in public I'm OK with that.
A good buy.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Science in Sport Rego Rapid Recovery 1.6kg Tub
Science in Sport Rego Rapid Recovery 1.6kg Tub
A full spectrum recovery product for periods of intense training. Use immediately after exercise to help your body adapt to increased training demands and strengthen as quickly as possible.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great shakes
Posted26 September 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Use this for recovery drink after my long early morning weekend ridtrs where I haven't eaten first. Usually come back hungry after 30-40 miles on nothing but carbo drink and a gel so this hits the spot and certainly avoids post ride stiffness. Also helps to suppress appetite a little so not tempted to get a Full English. Did try to use as a breakfast replacement but not quit sufficient for me. Tasty mixed with water but nicer with milk I think. Only tried vanilla flavour so far."
Pros: Great Value, tasty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A concentrated sports fuel for instant energy with a caffeine kick for increased focus on your most challenging events and training drills.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good value energy
Posted12 September 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Used these a few times on long rides when I need a boost and have found them to be just the job. I have only tried the orange flavour and it's palatable enough, although the caramel taste that comes with it takes a bit of getting used to - but not unpleasant.
Kind on the stomach as well and definitely gives a boost when you need it at around 15 minutes after consumption. I've only used a maximum of two sachets on any one ride so can't say if taking more might upset things.
Easy to open and consume when on the go.
Good value when compared with some other gels.
"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
As the benchmark in mid level bibshorts, the Velocissimo Due leads the way in styling, function and quality. An everyday short that stands up against competition way above its cost. Prepare for victory!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good short
Posted15 August 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Got these in the sale and overall I'm pleased with them. They do come up small! I bought a Medium size in line with the chart. I'm 5ft 7" tall. Approx 32-33 waist and 30" inside leg and don't have Chris Hoy thighs (well, not quite). They fit well but do need to be pulled on carefully to get them to fit properly (i.e. get the pad in the right place). My body length isn't long and I felt the shoulder straps to be quite tight - although not uncomfortable.
Would have been concerned about the leg width if I had bigger thigh cirumference although the silicone leg grippers are comfortable and the shorts themselves provide decent support.
Can't say the pad comfort is anything better than others though; after 20 miles in the saddle I feel I need a break - which is no different from my dhb shorts. They look good, fit well but I have noticed a couple of red patches on the front of my thighs and I can't work out if it's colour bleed from the fabric or some slight soreness from the seams as they flex (suspect the latter). Not a major problem though. Mesh inserts on the side of the help help to provide some extra cooling too - although it's not really noticeable. For the price I paid (sale) I feel they are very good value.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Essential for longer rides, Assos Chamois Creme is formulated to reduce friction, inflammation and discomfort. Applied to the skin, it gives a soothing, cooling effect and applied to the short it helps maintain suppleness, elasticity and freshness.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Seems effective
Posted15 August 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"First time I've used such stuff. Found that I was getting some soreness on long rides when it was hot and sweaty so bought a tub. Not the cheapest but you get a decent quanity and will last ages. You get a warm, then cool feeling when you spread it on. Not entirely sure how much you need to apply at any one time so a bit of trial and error. Have also spread on my short pads as well to help. Seems to work well and supress the soreness, although I do still get some redness on my thighs - but that could be the colour coming out from the pad!
Notice the cooling effect from time to time during the ride too so it's obviously working. Cream is still in place after 40+ miles so lasts well too. Not overly scented.
"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Single spoke version which fits all cateye computers including cordless.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works with other computers too
Posted15 August 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Lost my original wheel magnet that I used on my hybrid with a cheap computer so was looking for a appropriate replacement.
easy to fit and adjust with the sensor and hasn't moved since I put it on. Really pleased with it. Can't really say more when it's just a small magnet in a lump of plastic.
"
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted15 August 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I use this stuff for pre early morning ride hydration as I get up and ride without any foord or drink beforehand. Helps to fend off the thirst when the weather is hot and aids the performance of my normal carb drink during long rides. I also use it for shorter lunchtime rides when it's hot just as a thirst quencher. Doubt I'd bother to use it when the weather's cooler. Have tried a range of flavours. All are quite muted in taste and not sweet. Tastes more like slightly flavoured water than stronger types of drink. Not unpleasant but hardly exciting. Seems kind on the stomach."
Pros: Great Value, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Rubber cable covers to protect the frame from the cables marking the headtube. Suitable for 4mm derailleur cables.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Helps protect
Posted27 July 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Don't know why all bikes don't come with these fitted as standard. (A few do I've started to notice).
A few miles in and I noticed the graphite 'stealth' paint finish on my new carbon bike had started to wear round the headset. Some judiciously placed Frame Protectors has stopped that dead. Now have them fitted where ever the cables touch the frame.
Great product. Just make sure you get the correct size for gear and break cables. Bit expensive for what they are but worth it.
"
Pros: Durable, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
GrahamA's Questions
 
The Grand Prix 4000S has had a facelift. The 4000S II gets a Vectran breaker for unsurpassed puncture protection and Continentals advanced BlackChili compound for lower rolling resistance and increased grip.
 

Reflective sidewalls?

Does these have reflective print on the sidewall?
1 month ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket is extremely durable but also lightweight. Great for colder weather runs providing the wearer with 360° reflectivity for low light conditions and back venting for breathability.
 

Weight?

Can you confirm the weight and approx packed size for this jacket please.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Aluminium Bolt for Cage M5x16mm (4pcs)
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
The fighter raises the bar for sport level road shoes with an impressive palette of features from higher up the Northwave range. A ventilated upper with the SBS closure provides a secure fit while NRG carbon reinforced sole gives excellent power transfer
 

Size for a UK8?

Hi. Am a (small) UK size 8. What size would you recommend for this shoe please?
1 year, 9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Multi-use sport touring shoe with a Multi-layer stretch resistant synthetic leather and mesh upper and glass fibre reinforced midsole for optimum sole rigidity.
 

Would these take winter overshoes

I've not yet migrated to cleats, preferring to stick with toe straps for the time being but would these, or any of the other similar touring/commuting shoes be Ok to take winter overshoes please?
2 years, 7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
GrahamA's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
The ASV Lycra Bib Tight combines branded, highly technical fabrics and refined striking graphics for the perfect Spring and Autumn training bib tight.
 

What's the construction of this?

Wondering what fabric (normal lycra through to winter-weight material) and whether its full-length to ankles.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Not winter weight (Roubaix) type fleecy backing but somwehere in between a thin summer and thicker winter weight lycra. Good down to 5 degrees in my experience.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Sorbitol?

Is sorbitol listed as an ingredient? Or xylitol?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Had to get the magnifying glass out to read the ingredients!
Sorbitol and Sucralose are listed as the sweeteners.
6 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

How to stop the material being so itchy?

I'm finding the material very itchy, apart from 'man up', how have others solved this?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Personally I haven't found mine itchy at all. It does depend on how you care for them. They need to be washed in a non bio detergent that's designed for easy care at a fairly low temperature and I hand wash mine. But then I do that with all my cycling gear anyway.
Chuck them in the washing machine with your normal washing and detergent and you're likely to experience problems.
6 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

How long-bodied are these?

I find a lot of non-cycling tops ride up and expose the back on the bike.

This top doesn't look especially bike-specific.

Does anyone who knows what I'm talking own one of these and can comment?

Thanks for any help.
Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Depends on your upper body length I guess. You're right that they aren't bike specific and don't have a dropped tail but I find them reasonably long for me - about down to my hips. Although I'm fairly short in the body anyway. Someone who's taller may experience the problem you've mentioned.
I haven't had any problems when I've used them with normal waisted shorts and tights but mostly I wear with bib tights, so the risk of them riding up is reduced anyway.
6 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Sorry to be crude but with the extra abdominal protection can I relieve myself by pulling them down at the front ie without half undressing?

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A practical question always worth asking with bib tights in my opinion. The front zip allows you easy access for that, so no need to undress. Just be careful when using the zipper!!
7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 

S vs M?

Hi,
173cm height, 82cm waist. 96cm chest.

Size chart seems to suggest small. I'm a medium/Euro3 in Santini, Bontrager, PI and Mavic bibs...

Thoughts?
Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm abut the same size as you, perhaps slightly more round the waist by a cm or two. I got a pair in Small and they are a good fit. Comfortable too.
7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides. Engineered to a streamlined profile.
 

What size?

Chest 88cm Waist 77cm Height 1660mm
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
S if you want a baselayer underneath. XS if you don't.
1 year ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides. Engineered to a streamlined profile.
 

I am 1.68m tall, chest measurement 1.00m. What size of jacket would recommend?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm slightly taller than you at 170cm but with a smaller chest at 96.5cm and the Small is tight. Depends if you want to wear a layer underneath or not. Consider the Medium for a 100cm if you don't want a base layer.
1 year ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Does this have any windproofing?

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No windproofing as such but it's a very close fabric. Coupled with the warm Roubaix backing it's pretty close to being windproof. I've worn this in sub zero (C) temperatures with a cnsiderable wind chill and not felf any wind though them on the legs apart from a slight cooling. The high zip front really helps keeping your waist and belly warm too.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Craft Active Extreme range is designed to keep you dry and fresh in any cold weather workout. The advanced fabric technologies keep you drier, lighter, fresher and warmer.
 

Long at back?

I find base layers ride up at the back. I have the Nike pro combat and the long length and compression means it doesn't. Is this one long at the back?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No extended back length on this baselayer. long enough if you tuck it into to shorts/tights etc but will ride up if you don't I'd say.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK