GrahamA
Top 100 Contributor
Share GrahamA's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GrahamA's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    61
  • Helpfulness Votes
    50
  • First Review
    21 February 2012
  • Last Review
    02 May 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    01 July 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Answer
    25 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    07 December 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    5
 
 
GrahamA's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
The Lezyne Zecto Drive Front Light Y9 is a handy little safety light with multiple lighting modes giving an output of up to 120 lumens. The small size makes it perfect for stashing in your bag or your pocket.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bright and useful
Posted02 May 2016
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Great little light I bought to use as a safety light during daytime rides. Bright enough for town use at night probably. Too many modes for my liking but plenty to chose from depending on your needs I guess. Copes with my oval shaped bars reasonably well, although need to adjust up every so often. Easy to fit. Charge lasts ages, certainly as long as advertised. Only niggle I have is the USB port on the light can be a bit flaky in terms of connection every so often andso needs adjusting to make sure it's charging. Doesn't seem to get phased by the wet either. A good all rounder and value for money."
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, Rugged
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Classic Roubaix is a new improved version of the top-rated Vaeon Roubaix Bib tight. Giving you super snug warmth from their super soft Lombardia Roubaix Lycra.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simply good
Posted05 April 2016
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought these to replace a pair of Vaeon Roubaix bibs I trashed when I hit some black ice during the winter (tried patching them but wasn't that successful - but I still have them as a back up).
These are certainly an improved spec. Outer surface sheds the wind well (but aren't windproof) and even with temperatures around zero and below I don't really notice the chilling. Did start to feel some chilling once the rain started but even then it wasn't a big issue. Breath well and don't feel like I'm overheating. I am a chunky 32" waist and 30" inside leg and opted for a Medium (same as my old Vaeon's) and the fit is near perfect. Leg length is fine and any extra is tucked into my winter boots or overshoes anyway.
Some reflective features but not OTT (go for the Flashlight version if you wnat more).
Zip is ideal and works well for comfort breaks. Shoulder straps are comfortable. Level of compression on the legs is about right and not overdone for me and the pad is good for 3hrs in the saddle and more.
I use a lot of dhb kit and these are a well made, quality item. look good on too.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
The definitive cold weather WINDSTOPPER® Soft-Shell jacket. Designed solely for riders who want the ultimate warmth and comfort for long hours in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works well
Posted29 February 2016
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought this to replace an ageing winter jacket and after much research this seemed to fit my needs.
Have used in temperatures hovering around 0C and with windchill much lower and have always been warm without overheating. (using a Merino 200 base layer).
Am a stocky 38" chest and 32" waist so went along with the reviews and sizing chart and bought a Large, even though I fit a Small in some other products. Large was fine and there's room enough to get a thicker baselayer/jersey underneath. So could have got away with Medium - just.
Was surprised that this isn't fully fleece backed. Only the black panels have a micro fleece backing. The rest (coloured) are just windstopper fabric so I feel some coolness on the arms but nothing unpleasant. This isn't clear from the product description and I would have preffered a full fleece backing throughout for really cold rides.
Rear pockets are Ok but not massive. The zipped security pocket just about takes my Galaxy S4 Neo smartphone (which is faily long) but can be awkward to get out while wearing the top as the zipper is about an inch down from the top of the pocket.
Would only use the side mesh pockets for items I can jam in. e.g. a gel would probably bounce out.
Arms are nice and long to cover or tuck into gloves.
Niggles: It's not long at the back and although the hem grippers are good, anything bulky will make the jacket gap at the back hem (which does help to stop you back sweating a bit I guess).
Could do with a 'Napoleon' pocket on the chest.
Reflective detail is sufficient although I'd prefer a little more on the back.
Can't make up my mind if this nis a true jacket or a very good jersey.
Rated 4 star because of the above.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Wisp Windproof Jacket
dhb Wisp Windproof Jacket
The dhb Wisp Windproof Jacket is a lightweight top layer which offers wind and light rain protection during variable weather conditions. The minimal construction means it easily packs away into the arm sleeve for portability and storage.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted25 February 2016
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought this just as an emergency windproof to stick in a jersey pocket. I'm a stocky 38" chest with 32" waist and as per the advice and sizing guide I opted for Medium when most of my dhb kit is Small. Glad I did. Just fits over a decent thickness jersey. I guess I could also wear under a jacket in an emergency too. Nicely made. A few small reflective features. Vented back between shoulder blades should help ventilation.
Not used for long so can't tell how breathable it is but for me it's emergency use only anyway.
Small stuff pocket in right sleeve with a draw cord that is on the cuff. This could be a niggle for some if it gets in the way.
Only issue I have with it is that it is short. I'm not long in the body and this just about meets my waist. Hence 4 stars only.
Otherwise it's great value.
"
Pros: Attractive, Great Value, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SiS WHEY20 is the latest addition to the SiS Protein range, offering high quality whey protein hydrolysate in a ground breaking format. The yoghurt like texture tastes great and removes the need for a shaker and water post training or a snack on the go.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does the biz
Posted10 February 2016
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought some of these to see if they helped reduce muscle soreness after a day's walking and climbing as I often get sore the next day.
Really worked well and no signs of muscle stiffness or soreness so seems to support the idea that taking a decent slug of protein within 30 minutes of ceasing vigorous exercise helps.
Came in a box of mixed Lemon and Strawberry flavours (Lemon gets my vote but both were tasty and little sign of a synthetic flavlour or after taste), has a consistency a bit like yoghourt and goes down easily.
More expensive that using a protein powder shake but then you get the convenience of being able to carry/pack a sachet for use on the move or if you don't want the inconvenience of a tub.
Not tried any other protein 'gels' so can't compare them but will get some of theswe again for cycling.
"
Pros: High Quality, tasty
Cons: Expensive
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Zero Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Zero Padded Bib Tight
dhb’s warmest Winter bib tight, built from the original MITI Thermoroubaix fabric, TEFLON coated, with large wind blocking membrane on legs. (dhb Vaeon Zero - replaces dhb PACE SuperRoubaix Windproof)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent cold weather tights
Posted23 December 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"First wore these when standing windchill was down to -7C (colder on the bike) and the windproofing kept me really warm. Colder spots to the sides on the legs but that helped keep them breathable. Comfortable after 2.5hrs in the saddle. Only niggle for me is the rear reflective strips sat right on the back of my knee but that didn't really feel uncomfortable. Being short legged they did bunch a little at the ankles but liked the foot straps to keep the tights from riding up and exposing cold spots. Front zip went low enough to be OK for a comfort break too. Overall nice and warm.
Have plenty of dhb kit and these tights were up to and above the normal standard and good quality. Great for the price, although could have done with more reflective features as many of my winter rides start in the dark.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Universal 2.0 Leg Warmers
Gore Bike Wear Universal 2.0 Leg Warmers
These Universal Leg Warmers are lightweight and packable. They are perfect to keep your legs warm in cool weather conditions and protected from the sun and UV rays.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice warmers
Posted21 September 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Now the mornings have started to cool down I've begun to use these more. Not tested on really cold mornings (I'll start using full lenth tights by then anyway) but these are ideal for Autumn and Spring when the temps dip down below 10C. Certainly notice the difference in helping to keep my legs warm - but not too warm. I'm a 30" inside leg and around 12st so, as with most Gore kit, I went a size up and ordered Medium. Fit is great. As I'm a short leg they come a decent distance up my thighs and the grippers are firm but not uncomfortable. Only downside is they do bunch a bit at the ankles but that's just my leg length. The ankle grippers stop them riding up and bunching behind the knees is minimal and not uncomfortable. Decent length ankle zips means they are easy to slip off over your shoes when things warm up. Nice reflective surface on the zip and the Gore logo. Only slight niggle is I'd prefer the reflective logo to be on the outside of the leg rather than the inside. Not that keen on the light coloured (reflective??) seam stitching as needs extra effort to make sure they looked lined up correctly but thats more a personal preference. Conveniently marked with L and R to stop you guessing too."
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
An all over bike-maintenance spray. Protect, preserve and freshen your bike with Muc-Off Bike Spray's incredible water dispersing action.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great stuff
Posted08 September 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Really useful to help keep your bike clean and dry after a wet ride, or after a hosing down. Spray on frame and mech after general drying off to drive out any remaining moisture. Helps bring up the finish on the frame as well and provides all round protection."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Xenon Race Bib Shorts
Gore Bike Wear Xenon Race Bib Shorts
A lightweight road cycling bibshort developed for long and demanding rides. The slight compressive fabric as well as the innovative bib construction and the flat bottom hem guarantee optimum fit and avoid any irritation.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Generally good
Posted08 September 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Wanted a pair of bib shorts good enough for long rides and opted for these. Way more expensive than I've ever bought before but have a few bits of Gore kit and been happy with them. These haven't dissappointed. I normally measure up as a Small in size but aware Gore kit tends to need a step up I opted for Medium (I'm a 32inch waist / 38inch chest). Glad I did as these are skin tight. Pull them on and adjust them and can find yourself grabbing flesh as well.
Low enough to be able to answer the call of nature without any drama.
First couple of rides over 3.5hrs I found the uncomfortable but realised it's all in the adjustment. You need to get the pad lined up correctly. Once that's done they were really comfortable.
Nice features, plenty of reflectives and thin for warmer days. Leg length is good too and don't come up too short on a 30inch inside leg. No sign of the leg grippers going baggy as some have reported (wash carefully in non bio detergent and should be OK). They do seem to feel as though they are riding up and down a bit on the leg which could mean the grippers aren't beefy enough for some. No actual sign of movement though and got used to that feeling after a few miles.
Are they any better than my Castelli Velocissimo Due Bib Shorts which were nearly 40 quid cheaper? Probably, but not much in it and are less 'flashy'. I chose the black/red as heard the white panels can go see through if you get them wet/sweaty (My Xenon jersey does suffer from that).
Overall am pleased with them but could be a bit cheaper.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Xenon 2.0 Jersey
Gore Bike Wear Xenon 2.0 Jersey
A light and ventilating summer jersey designed to keep you cool on high intensity rides in hot conditions. Strategically placed mesh vents provide fresh airflow and the close anatomic fit helps dispel moisture and improve aerodynamics.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ideal for warm days
Posted10 August 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Wanted a quality (been let down by ba cheaper product), lighweight top for warm/hot rides that had a decent sized security zipped pocket (not many of the more expensive brands do - possibly as it spoils the look?).
This is ideal. Nice mesh features down the back and underarms to aid breathability. Also some decent reflective areas as well which is unusual for summer tops. No grips on the arm hems but they are quite short and don't seem to ride up (on me). Gripper on hem at back is OK but it does ride up a little when pockets are full.
As with other reviews, the white panels do turn see through when wet from rain/sweat so chose wisely. Followed the size guide and ordered a Large which is bang on in terms of the fit for me (38in chest, 32in waist and 5ft 7in tall). Other brands I normally come up small so do take care when ordering.
Looks good and very pleased overall.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices, no arm grippers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
GrahamA's Questions
 
The Castelli Prologo 4 Jersey creates that perfect balance between heritage styling and new construction with all the performance details to make it your favourite jersey. A timeless classic season after season.
 

Size of key pocket

Is the zippered key pocket lickely to be large enough to take a medium sized smartphone?
1 year, 3 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Grand Prix 4000S has had a facelift. The 4000S II gets a Vectran breaker for unsurpassed puncture protection and Continentals advanced BlackChili compound for lower rolling resistance and increased grip.
 

Reflective sidewalls?

Does these have reflective print on the sidewall?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket - AW14
Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket - AW14
The Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket is extremely durable but also lightweight. Great for colder weather runs providing the wearer with 360° reflectivity for low light conditions and back venting for breathability.
 

Weight?

Can you confirm the weight and approx packed size for this jacket please.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Aluminium Bolt for Cage M5x16mm (4pcs)
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
3 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
The fighter raises the bar for sport level road shoes with an impressive palette of features from higher up the Northwave range. A ventilated upper with the SBS closure provides a secure fit while NRG carbon reinforced sole gives excellent power transfer
 

Size for a UK8?

Hi. Am a (small) UK size 8. What size would you recommend for this shoe please?
3 years, 3 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Multi-use sport touring shoe with a Multi-layer stretch resistant synthetic leather and mesh upper and glass fibre reinforced midsole for optimum sole rigidity.
 

Would these take winter overshoes

I've not yet migrated to cleats, preferring to stick with toe straps for the time being but would these, or any of the other similar touring/commuting shoes be Ok to take winter overshoes please?
4 years ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
GrahamA's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
 dhb Professional ASV Lycra Bib Tight
dhb Professional ASV Lycra Bib Tight
The ASV Lycra Bib Tight combines branded, highly technical fabrics and refined striking graphics for the perfect Spring and Autumn training bib tight.
 

What's the construction of this?

Wondering what fabric (normal lycra through to winter-weight material) and whether its full-length to ankles.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Not winter weight (Roubaix) type fleecy backing but somwehere in between a thin summer and thicker winter weight lycra. Good down to 5 degrees in my experience.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
ZERO is the UK’s leading electrolyte sports drink tab. It produces a clean-tasting and highly refreshing drink with zero calories. The tabs contain light natural flavours with no artificial colours or preservatives.
 

Sorbitol?

Is sorbitol listed as an ingredient? Or xylitol?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Had to get the magnifying glass out to read the ingredients!
Sorbitol and Sucralose are listed as the sweeteners.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

How to stop the material being so itchy?

I'm finding the material very itchy, apart from 'man up', how have others solved this?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Personally I haven't found mine itchy at all. It does depend on how you care for them. They need to be washed in a non bio detergent that's designed for easy care at a fairly low temperature and I hand wash mine. But then I do that with all my cycling gear anyway.
Chuck them in the washing machine with your normal washing and detergent and you're likely to experience problems.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

How long-bodied are these?

I find a lot of non-cycling tops ride up and expose the back on the bike.

This top doesn't look especially bike-specific.

Does anyone who knows what I'm talking own one of these and can comment?

Thanks for any help.
Best answer
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Depends on your upper body length I guess. You're right that they aren't bike specific and don't have a dropped tail but I find them reasonably long for me - about down to my hips. Although I'm fairly short in the body anyway. Someone who's taller may experience the problem you've mentioned.
I haven't had any problems when I've used them with normal waisted shorts and tights but mostly I wear with bib tights, so the risk of them riding up is reduced anyway.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Sorry to be crude but with the extra abdominal protection can I relieve myself by pulling them down at the front ie without half undressing?

Best answer
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
A practical question always worth asking with bib tights in my opinion. The front zip allows you easy access for that, so no need to undress. Just be careful when using the zipper!!
2 years ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 

S vs M?

Hi,
173cm height, 82cm waist. 96cm chest.

Size chart seems to suggest small. I'm a medium/Euro3 in Santini, Bontrager, PI and Mavic bibs...

Thoughts?
Best answer
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I'm abut the same size as you, perhaps slightly more round the waist by a cm or two. I got a pair in Small and they are a good fit. Comfortable too.
2 years ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides. Engineered to a streamlined profile.
 

What size?

Chest 88cm Waist 77cm Height 1660mm
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
S if you want a baselayer underneath. XS if you don't.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides. Engineered to a streamlined profile.
 

I am 1.68m tall, chest measurement 1.00m. What size of jacket would recommend?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I'm slightly taller than you at 170cm but with a smaller chest at 96.5cm and the Small is tight. Depends if you want to wear a layer underneath or not. Consider the Medium for a 100cm if you don't want a base layer.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Does this have any windproofing?

Best answer
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No windproofing as such but it's a very close fabric. Coupled with the warm Roubaix backing it's pretty close to being windproof. I've worn this in sub zero (C) temperatures with a cnsiderable wind chill and not felf any wind though them on the legs apart from a slight cooling. The high zip front really helps keeping your waist and belly warm too.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Craft Active Extreme range is designed to keep you dry and fresh in any cold weather workout. The advanced fabric technologies keep you drier, lighter, fresher and warmer.
 

Long at back?

I find base layers ride up at the back. I have the Nike pro combat and the long length and compression means it doesn't. Is this one long at the back?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No extended back length on this baselayer. long enough if you tuck it into to shorts/tights etc but will ride up if you don't I'd say.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK