GrahamA
Top 250 Contributor
Share GrahamA's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GrahamA's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    35
  • Helpfulness Votes
    22
  • First Review
    21 February 2012
  • Last Review
    01 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    03 September 2012
  • Last Question
    25 July 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Answer
    25 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    24 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
GrahamA's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
A versatile mountain bike short with a high stretch fabric construction.Featuring a S.100 seatpad for low bulk cushioning over long distances and waist adjustment tabs to ensure a perfect fit.Ideal for challenging single track routes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Useful summer short
Posted01 July 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Wanted to replace my old Madison water resistant shorts as they were too restrictive on the legs and felt like a corset round the waist.
So opted for these after a long search (wanted a cargo pocket and not too expensive either). Impressions so far are that they are comfortable, cool and do what I want of them for my summer lunchtime road training rides of around 15 miles. How good the padded liner would be on high mileage I wouldn't know. I'd wear normal lycra shorts for longer rides with more substantial pads for that.
Opted for the lime green (lotus?) trim and they match the hoops on my dhb socks nicely (LOL).
Some niggles however:
Tags that hold the inner in place are stitched in, no press studs to release. If you're like me and prefer to use different padded liners from time to time then you'll need to cut the tags off.
Mine came with one of the legs of the liner stitched to the tag in the wrong place so I nearly fell over when trying to put them on! Unpicked the stitching and they were fine.
They are baggy though. I know they are really MTB/commuting shorts but I'm a short, 30" inside leg and they don't do me any favours. They reach down to my knees. I'm not skinny either and the shorts do flap a bit in a head wind. But that helps to keep you cool. Material is lighweight for summer use unless you wear tights underneath for colder temperatures.
Pockets are cavernous, although I would prefer zip fastenings for all; only the two side pockets have them, the cargo and rear pockets just have a press stud closure.
Velcro waist adjustment is on the inside but this does ruck up the waist band at the back a bit if you pull them in. I'm a 32-33" waist and opted for a medium. They fit Ok but I had to pull in the straps a bit to stop them slipping down. Bit too high in the waist for my preference.
Could have got away with a small I expect.
No reflective areas but I don't ride in the dark at this time of year.
All in all they are OK for the money.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Heavyweight, neoprene, overshoe for deep Winter use. Tough TPU skin means rain won’t penetrate and thick neoprene gives the best level of insulation against the cold.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great overshoe
Posted28 June 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Have a few sets of overshoes but all of them seem to let in some rain or road spray and I always end up with wet feet. Got these over a year ago and one way of the other I never used them; probably as I always tried to ride in the dry.
They had a few outings last winter when it seemed to be wet and/or cold so often and each time I was left with warm and dry feet. Ok, Some road spray can creep in around the cleat cutouts but my shoes coped well with that.
Most neoprene overshoes aren't fully waterproof I've found. However, these have a waterproof outer surface which works well to keep your feet dry and warm. Am a size 8 shoe and opted for a medium which is an exact fit for me. haven't worn them a massive amount but they seem to be wearing well. Build quality seems good too.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Useful bracket
Posted28 June 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Needed a new one as somehow I managed to lose the spare I had.
I wanted to be able to transfer my Cateye HL-EL520 front light from my road bike to my hybrid when I wanted to without moving the bracket as well.
Had been some time since I bought the light so was slightly concerned that a new bracket might not fit. Needn't have worried as it was an exact match for the original.
Robust, easy to fit and adjust. Only thing to watch out for is the small screw that adjusts the up/down angle can work loose and drop out; so keep a check on it. But if it does it's easy to find one that will fit.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Sonic short sleeve jersey designed for those spring/summer rides in the saddle. The garment is light and features excellent softness and elasticity properties thanks to the Light Tech fabrics used.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice top
Posted09 June 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Finally the weather is warm enough to wear a summer top!
I have a number of short sleeved tops and this is by far the best in terms of value for money and features.
The close weave fabric on the front panel and the full length zip baffle helps to reduce chill from wind (although not windproof) while the mesh arms and side panels ventilate well.
Rear pockets are a reasonable size and the zipped security pocket on the back is large enough to take my Galaxy SIII. Time will tell if the zip itself lasts well as looks a little flimsy.
Limited reflective features but I don't plan on riding in the dark on long summer days.
Comes up small though. I'm a chunky 38inch chest /32 inch waist so went for the Medium and it's a snug fit . Only slight gripe is the arm cuffs feel a bit tight. I don't have massive biceps but anyone with big guns might find them slightly restrictive. But they don't really ride up as a result.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb 14cm Light Weight Sock Bundle - 3 Pack
dhb 14cm Light Weight Sock Bundle - 3 Pack
Get kitted out with the newest 14cm unisex cycling socks from dhb. This bundle contains three pairs in each of the three colours so you can match your socks to your kit theme.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfortable and good value
Posted09 June 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Can't get over excited about socks but am very happy with these. Although some other colours would be welcome but that's a personal preference. Red/yellow cuff perhaps?
They fit well and so far haven't gone baggy; no blisters or rucking inside my shoes. Certainly help keep your feet from becoming sweaty, although haven't worn these inside overshoes on wet rides so can't really tell for sure.
Seem to wear well and multiple washes hasn't washed out the colour or their robustness so far.
Fit well round my ankles too and don't really leave a mark.
Three pairs for the price I felt was a good buy and certainly better than my old sports socks.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good performers
Posted01 June 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Finally the weather is kind enough to get back into shorts.
I wanted a pair with a seat pad that was man enough for a reasonable time in the saddle and these didn't disappoint.
Comfortable for 3hrs at least (not tried for longer yet). Good lightweight breathable fabric and the bib is low enough to not need to slip out of the shoulder straps when you need to p.
Wasn't sure of sizing but opted for a Small which is spot on for me; a stocky 11 3/4 stone with a 32" waist and 30" inside leg. Straps were nice and comfortable and didn't cut in to my shoulders, mesh back helped with breathability, the leg grippers were not too tight and didn't cut into my thighs.
Not much in the way of reflectives but for the lighter spring/summer days that's not needed. As usual with dhb products these are excellent value!
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good protective top
Posted27 April 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought the hi viz version so I could be seen in rainy and overcast weather but could do with a little more reflective detail ideally.
Worn for the first time in driving rain cycling into a 20mph headwind for 10 miles with temperature around 10 degrees C. Kept me dry and was only slightly clammy on the inside although my jersey underneath was damp (but then it normally is damp with sweat anyway). So from a waterproof and breathabilioty perspective this is performs well.
It's a close fit so minimal flapping from the fabric and keeps the wind out well.
Am a stocky 38" chest and bought the Medium which fits well over a thick winter jersey (DhB Windslam) without being too restrictive. Arm length is good and not too long. Fits in a standard central rear pocket OK using the stuff sack.
Only slight niggles are that the back length could be a little longer, a zip pocket for a phone would be good and the fabric tends to mark easily from road dirt and the mesh in the stuff sack.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features, fabric marks easily
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The Windslam Roubaix Jersey offers effective windchill defence, added warmth and all the features you need whilst out on your bike, making it the perfect layer for those cold Autumn/Winter road rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great bit of kit
Posted24 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Needed a jersey for spring and autumn and thought the extra windproofing would be ideal.
Have worn a few times now in varying temperatures. first time was round 12C with a chilly headwind. Felt comfortable and didn't overheat into the wind but soon sweated up on hill sections. However, using the front zip was great at avoiding overheating.
Second time was when temps were hovering just above 0C and with wind chill it was around -2C. I usually wear a merino baselayey and windproof softshell for cold rides but thought I'd try the Windslam with no baselayer. Bit chilly to start from side panels but once I got going it was great, comfortable and I didn't get too warm.
If you want to wear a baselayer then get a size up as this comes in very snug. I'm a 38inch chest and 32inch waist and a small (recommended by size guide) is tight - especially on the waist; but that's what I wanted.
It's short but even with rear pockets stuffed full of kit it didn't ride up.
Neck collar is higher than some which is good to keep the cold out but it did snag on my helmet straps a bit (but I have a short neck!).
Only real niggle I have is the rear pockets could do with being a little deeper - which in turn could increase the back length. And the zip pocket (takes my Galaxy S3) could do with an allround waterproof membrane.
Otherwise this is a great allrounder and brilliant value.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: shallow rear pockets
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Rubber cable covers to protect the frame from the cables marking the headtube. Suitable for 5mm brake cables.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted14 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I can't understand why all bikes don't come with this sort of frame protection built it.
A well made and quality product which does the job it's designed for to stop the gear and brake cables marking my carbon frame.
I guess I could have made myself something similar for a lot less but these were easy to fit and the sizes were spot on. Just hope they don't get lost at this price!
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A package combination of the Swan Road (rear) and Croozer Road (front) mudguards for road/hybrid bikes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Useful mudguard set
Posted06 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought these to keep some of the crud off when winter road riding.
Wasn't expecting much from them as they're not a full winter set but I wanted something that I could pop on and off relatively easily and which afforded some protection.
Simple to fit. My seat post was just long enough to fit the rear clamp and keep my saddlebag fitted above it. Takes a little fiddling to line up the rear guard and get it a sensible height above the back wheel and it keeps my back dry from road spray well enough. It does waggle alarmingly over rough roads and can 'slap' the back wheel when you hit a hump if you fit it too close.
Front guard straps under the down tube and again, takes some lining up to get in the best position. But when you have it right it keeps crud off the bottom bracket fairly well. Rubber straps do seem a bit flimsy and would struggle to fit any bike with a really oversized down tube I expect. Fits my Trek Domane 4.3 OK. It has a chunky but not massive down tube and the straps have a notch or two spare. How long these will last only time will tell but I'll leave on over winter.
More reflective surface on the rear guard would be handy.
All in all a good set which, as long as you don't have too many expectations, works well.
"
Pros: Great Value, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
GrahamA's Questions
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
11 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Fighter SBS Road Shoes
Fighter SBS Road Shoes
The fighter raises the bar for sport level road shoes with an impressive palette of features from higher up the Northwave range. A ventilated upper with the SBS closure provides a secure fit while NRG carbon reinforced sole gives excellent power transfer
 

Size for a UK8?

Hi. Am a (small) UK size 8. What size would you recommend for this shoe please?
1 year ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Multi-use sport touring shoe with a Multi-layer stretch resistant synthetic leather and mesh upper and glass fibre reinforced midsole for optimum sole rigidity.
 

Would these take winter overshoes

I've not yet migrated to cleats, preferring to stick with toe straps for the time being but would these, or any of the other similar touring/commuting shoes be Ok to take winter overshoes please?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
GrahamA's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides.
 

What size?

Chest 88cm Waist 77cm Height 1660mm
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
S if you want a baselayer underneath. XS if you don't.
3 months, 4 weeks ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides.
 

I am 1.68m tall, chest measurement 1.00m. What size of jacket would recommend?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm slightly taller than you at 170cm but with a smaller chest at 96.5cm and the Small is tight. Depends if you want to wear a layer underneath or not. Consider the Medium for a 100cm if you don't want a base layer.
3 months, 4 weeks ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Does this have any windproofing?

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No windproofing as such but it's a very close fabric. Coupled with the warm Roubaix backing it's pretty close to being windproof. I've worn this in sub zero (C) temperatures with a cnsiderable wind chill and not felf any wind though them on the legs apart from a slight cooling. The high zip front really helps keeping your waist and belly warm too.
7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Craft Active Extreme Long Sleeve Base Layer
Craft Active Extreme Long Sleeve Base Layer
The Craft zero extreme range is designed to keep you dry and fresh in any cold weather workout. The advanced fabric technologies keep you drier, lighter, fresher and warmer.
 

Long at back?

I find base layers ride up at the back. I have the Nike pro combat and the long length and compression means it doesn't. Is this one long at the back?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No extended back length on this baselayer. long enough if you tuck it into to shorts/tights etc but will ride up if you don't I'd say.
7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
A package combination of the Swan Road (rear) and Croozer Road (front) mudguards for road/hybrid bikes.
 

Will the clamp fit on an aero shaped seat post?

I have the Giant Avail composite which has an aero seat post, will the rear mud guard clamp fit securely without turning?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
This crossed my mind when I was fitting my clamp and I have a standard seat tube. The clamp seems to be shaped as though it would fit an aero tube as it has a slightly narrower profile to the back edge.
There didn't seem to be much slack in the clamp though so it might struggle with an aero shape.
Hopefully someone with an aero tube will have tried it and can advise better.
7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Cool weather padded waist tight suited to Autumn training rides. (dhb Vaeon - previously dhb PACE)
 

Medium or Small?

I'm 29-30" waist and 32" inseam.
Will a size Small be a good fit or I should try Medium instead?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I am a 30" inside leg and 32" waist and the Small fits me fine, although slightly long in the leg.
So you should have no problem with a Small.
7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Falling between S and M

Hi,

If I'm a 36" (S) chest, a 31" (S) waist and 5'7" height (M)...AND...I find the similarly-sized Aeron Pro bib shorts in S on their limit (but perhaps a little too tight around the thights), would a M be OK, or a touch on the baggy side everywhere else?

Cheers,
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Hard call. Am same height as you with a 38" chest and 32" waist and a Medium fits me brilliantly. Although they are quite well fitting on the thigh I get the impression there is a fair amount of stretch.
A small would probably be just on it's limit I expect .
I'd opt for the Medium and I expect Wiggle will swap them if they don't fit.
7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
A package combination of the Swan Road (rear) and Croozer Road (front) mudguards for road/hybrid bikes.
 

Could you fit these to a Trek Madone 2.1 road bike

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Depends on the diameter of your down tube I guess. I have a Domane 4.3 and the the tube at it's widest is 19cm and the front muguard fits fine. Rear guard just clamps to your seatpost which should be fairly standard diameter, so as long as you have plenty of height in the seat tube (if you also hang a saddlebag or light off it) then it will fit OK.
7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
A package combination of the Swan Road (rear) and Croozer Road (front) mudguards for road/hybrid bikes.
 

Will front guard fit my bike?

I am looking for a set of easily detachable mud guards for my Claud Butler road bike that I use in winter/for turbo training. It has external cabling. Can this front guard be fitted to the down tube of my bike or will the cables be in the way?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The front guard is raised off the surface of the down tube by a couple of moulded lugs which sit in between the cables. Have external cables on my bike and it fits fine.
7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
New Trainer using the V-Arion's tough thermoplastic frame but without the intertial resistance unit. The rollers also come fitted with a step to aid the rider in easier mounts and dismounts.
 

Does it fold away?

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
They fold in half across trhe mid line. Not completely flat as one section doesn't fold inside the other.
1 year ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK