GrahamA
Top 250 Contributor
Share GrahamA's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GrahamA's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    52
  • Helpfulness Votes
    35
  • First Review
    21 February 2012
  • Last Review
    10 August 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    01 July 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Answer
    25 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    07 December 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    5
 
 
GrahamA's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
A light and ventilating summer jersey designed to keep you cool on high intensity rides in hot conditions. Strategically placed mesh vents provide fresh airflow and the close anatomic fit helps dispel moisture and improve aerodynamics.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ideal for warm days
Posted10 August 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Wanted a quality (been let down by ba cheaper product), lighweight top for warm/hot rides that had a decent sized security zipped pocket (not many of the more expensive brands do - possibly as it spoils the look?).
This is ideal. Nice mesh features down the back and underarms to aid breathability. Also some decent reflective areas as well which is unusual for summer tops. No grips on the arm hems but they are quite short and don't seem to ride up (on me). Gripper on hem at back is OK but it does ride up a little when pockets are full.
As with other reviews, the white panels do turn see through when wet from rain/sweat so chose wisely. Followed the size guide and ordered a Large which is bang on in terms of the fit for me (38in chest, 32in waist and 5ft 7in tall). Other brands I normally come up small so do take care when ordering.
Looks good and very pleased overall.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices, no arm grippers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Universal Headband
Gore Bike Wear Universal Headband
This headband is designed to be worn under your helmet to help when you are cycling in extreme sun as it's sweat absorbent and cooling.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted13 July 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Didn't want to wear a cap under my helmet for warm/hot days but needed something to keep the sweat out of my eyes.
This is ideal and works well, even though the absorbent section seems quite thin.
This section fits across the forehead and the rest of the band is a lightweight mesh material and is comfortable to wear. Don't even know I've got it on.
Doesn't help to keep the helmet pads dry but then I'd need a cap for that I guess.
Washes well and dries quickly.
Only slight niggle is the ever present brand / washing/care label but it doesn't really get in the way or detract from the band's performance.
Nice touch is the reflective log on the front.
Bit cheaper and it would have got a five star rating.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Zelos Windproof Jacket is a running essential, offering wind shielding, breathabilty where you need it most with strategically placed ventilation and hidden pockets which feature an internal laser cut earphone port.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The business
Posted11 July 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Wanted a windproof top for hillwalking and scrambling rather than running. Have quite a bit of dhb kit so opted for this as had all that I needed.
Wore it on and off all week in N Wales this Spring with high winds, a few showers and some quite hot weather too and wasn't disappointed. Sheds the wind very well, feels comfortable, fits well and doesn't flap. Ordered a Small as i do wirth most dhb kit (am a 38" chest, 32" waist and 5ft 7" tall) and was room enough for a decent thickness baselayer underneath.
Breathable and the mesh vents certainly help to keep you cool when pushing the pace a bit. The back mesh panel is great to keep your back from sweating too much with a rucksack on.
Side pockets are useful for small items although the one on the top of the sleeve could have been a bit larger to take a smartphone.
Overall very pleased.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Offering exceptional performance, the Aeron Pro Jersey offers regular and professional cyclists an extremely lightweight and breathable technical top for warm summer rides.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Disappointing
Posted11 July 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Wanted a nice lightweight summer top and opted for the Aeron Pro based on the fact I have more than a few bits of dhb kit plus the Customer Reviews seemed positive.
On delivery I spotted a small hole on the seam next to the mesh insert where the stitching had missed. Overall the finish of the top seemed poor with stray thread ends in a few places. Fabric was very light as you'd' expect but zips felt flimsy. No zip garage at the neck either which for a top of this standard should have been included.
I wear a Small in all my dhb kit, including tops (38" chest, 32" waist and 5ft 7" tall) but this was just too small. The sleeves were so tight I round the biceps (and I'm not that muscular) I couldn't have worn it even if it wasn't faulty. Also came up quite short in length.
Didn't want to risk another one so sadly returned and ordered something with hopefully better quality (with of course a higher price). Not up to dhb's usual quality standards unfortunately.
"
Pros: Great Value, Versatile
Cons: Low Quality, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Altura Aistream Long Sleeve Jersey will keep you warm on evening rides and everything between. Features 3 large rear pockets to stash your essentials. Made from a breathable high wicking fabric keeping you warm but dry when the weather turns cooler
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Average
Posted09 July 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Wanted a medium weight top for Spring / cool early Summer lunchtime training rides that had a decent sized phone pocket (although there is no sweatproof backing) and long sleeves. Normally avoid Altura products after being let down with a pair of their winter gloves a while ago but thought I'd give them a shot.
All I can say is that it does the job I wanted it too but I can't get excited about it. I find it a relaxed fit. Followed the size guide and ordered a Medium but could have got away with a Small (I'm 5ft 7in with 38 chest and 32 in waist). So not a close fitting item so it has some flapping in the wind.
There are plenty of reflective features for darker mornings/evenings and the material is thick enough to keep out cool breezes.
This replaced a cheap Deko top which had a similar spec (although no zip pocket) and that was nearly half the price of this one.
"
Pros: Versatile
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices, Low Quality, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The GatorSkin Folding is the UK's favourite training tyre (formerly known as Ultra GatorSkin). With its DuraSkin™-anti-cut fabric and PolyX Breaker® also makes it suitable for commuting through to sportives as well as training.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great allrounder
Posted09 July 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Needed to replace my factory fitted Bontrager RaceLites as they'd started to go thin and puncture more often than I'd like after 3000 miles. So looked for something that had good puncture resistance while offering some tread in the wet and also had good reviews. These have a wider profile and feel more comfortable in the saddle as a result.
Took a little while to feel confident on them after a bit of a slip in the wet (put it down to white line syndrome) but they have been fine ever since and have shruigged off the flints well with much less instances of cuts visible (I now check for embedded flints after every ride). They have withstood a hard, wet winter riding on rough country lanes and show little signs of wear as yet. Easy to get on too and fitted with little effort.
Only feature that would be a 'nice to have' is reflective detail on the sidewalls, which isn't available on this particular model.
If they last me as long as the Racelites then I'll be well pleased.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Rugged
Cons: Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Clip is an excellent value mid-level jersey which is ideal for sportives and training rides. It has been constructed from an Italian stretch fabric and finished with an antibacterial treatment to keep you feeling fresh and comfortable.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice top for cool days
Posted09 July 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought this for cooler early Summer days when short sleeves weren't an option. Had to wait a while this year in the UK for decent weather to arrive but am happy with the result. The Clip is a great top, wicks sweat well and keeps the cool breezes out. Not used as a base layer but expect it will be just as good. Normally go for dhb tops these days as they are one of the few that usually have a decent sized rear pocket (for my smartphone). Why other brands don't offer this so much seems odd. Maybe it spoils the clean lines. Well made, fits well. I'm a chunky 5ft 7in with a 38inch chest and 32in waist and like most dhb gear a Small fits fine. Bit long in the arms but then mine are short anyway.
Only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is the lack of any reflective features. I sometimes ride early mornings before sunrise so it can come in handy, although the red/white stands out quite well. As usual, very pleased with dhb kit.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices, Not Enough Features
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
The Lezyne Macro drive duo is the ultimate combo light with 400 lumen of front power and 5 lumen in the integrated rear light. The Intelligent Power Indicator button allows the user to check the power level at any time.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good backup
Posted05 January 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this to replace a small helmet safety light as I'd nearly overshot bends on dark country lanes a few times. Had a search round and very few decent helmet lights with the front/rear config together, so this suited my needs. Don't know why more brands don't have them.
Very pleased so far. Fitting is a little fiddly if your helmet vents are close together on top but otherwise it's easy and the excess velcro tape can be tucked up into the vent so it's out the way.
Beam gives an almost 180 degree spread at base so you can easily see bike computers etc on your bars and has a broad coverage with a brighter pinpoint that lights ahead for around 50 metres. Not the brightest and would recommend a stronger light on your bars for dark roads/lanes, although could be sufficient on it's own depending on light conditions. But I only use this as a backup so didn't need a bright beam.
Picks out reflective surfaces (e.g. road signs) at well over 500 metres so should be visible to other road users at similar distances.
Light enough that you don't know it's on top and burn times are as detailed, if not slightly better. Good combination of modes to chose from depending on where you're riding.
Charges via USB mini connection to your computer by unscrewing rear lense and plugging it in. Charge times seem fairly quick too.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Professional ASV Lycra Bib Tight
dhb Professional ASV Lycra Bib Tight
The ASV Lycra Bib Tight combines branded, highly technical fabrics and refined striking graphics for the perfect Spring and Autumn training bib tight.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Versatile and comfortable
Posted07 December 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"It wasn't the 'Professional' athletic fit of these that caught my eye but the Wiggle sale price. I wanted a pair of bib tights for 'shoulder' seasons of Autumn and Spring but didn't want to break the bank.
A very comfortable pad (only ridden for 2-3hrs in these so far and no problems).
Have warn in temperatures as high as 15 degrees C and they just start to get too warm and down to around 5 degrees when the cold wind starts to be noticed on my thighs. The double thickness on the knees however continues to keep them warm.
Normally I take a Small in size for most dhb kit bit took the Wiggle advice and went a size up (was slightly confused as the chart is actually the standard dhb sizing chart on this product). I could have got away with a small probably but only just and they would have probably been unconfortable.
I can't be considered a typical slim and tall cyclist. Currently weigh 12st; 5ft 7in tall, 32in waist and 30inch inside leg and the Medium is just about right apart from the leg length. They do wrinkle behind the knees a little but it's not unfomfortable and that, along with the slight bunching round the ankles is probably due to my short legs rather than the design of the product.
Compression feels tight as you pull them on but once on I hardly notice I'm wearing anything (alarmingly!). Construction looks good and no problems to-date.
Overall a great value tight.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Corsa 550ml Water Bottle
LifeLine Corsa 550ml Water Bottle
A 550ml water bottle with a three function lid; a push pull mouthpiece for hydration on the move, screw off lid for refill and fast thirst quenching and a safety "pop open" feature. Featuring measuring guide markings and LifeLine graphics.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
It's a bottle!
Posted03 October 2014
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Not that exciting. Wanted a bottle to mix my recovery drink in and leave it sealed in the fridge the night before.
So this does the job admirably. Sturdy and lightweight and the scale and clear strip on the side let you measure out exactly how much fluid you have.
The cap works well and dispenses a decent amount of the contents.
Not overly keen on the colours but given the price and it's not seen in public I'm OK with that.
A good buy.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
GrahamA's Questions
 
The Castelli Prologo 4 Jersey creates that perfect balance between heritage styling and new construction with all the performance details to make it your favourite jersey. A timeless classic season after season.
 

Size of key pocket

Is the zippered key pocket lickely to be large enough to take a medium sized smartphone?
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Grand Prix 4000S has had a facelift. The 4000S II gets a Vectran breaker for unsurpassed puncture protection and Continentals advanced BlackChili compound for lower rolling resistance and increased grip.
 

Reflective sidewalls?

Does these have reflective print on the sidewall?
5 months, 1 week ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket is extremely durable but also lightweight. Great for colder weather runs providing the wearer with 360° reflectivity for low light conditions and back venting for breathability.
 

Weight?

Can you confirm the weight and approx packed size for this jacket please.
6 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Aluminium Bolt for Cage M5x16mm (4pcs)
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
The fighter raises the bar for sport level road shoes with an impressive palette of features from higher up the Northwave range. A ventilated upper with the SBS closure provides a secure fit while NRG carbon reinforced sole gives excellent power transfer
 

Size for a UK8?

Hi. Am a (small) UK size 8. What size would you recommend for this shoe please?
2 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Multi-use sport touring shoe with a Multi-layer stretch resistant synthetic leather and mesh upper and glass fibre reinforced midsole for optimum sole rigidity.
 

Would these take winter overshoes

I've not yet migrated to cleats, preferring to stick with toe straps for the time being but would these, or any of the other similar touring/commuting shoes be Ok to take winter overshoes please?
2 years, 11 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
GrahamA's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
 dhb Professional ASV Lycra Bib Tight
dhb Professional ASV Lycra Bib Tight
The ASV Lycra Bib Tight combines branded, highly technical fabrics and refined striking graphics for the perfect Spring and Autumn training bib tight.
 

What's the construction of this?

Wondering what fabric (normal lycra through to winter-weight material) and whether its full-length to ankles.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Not winter weight (Roubaix) type fleecy backing but somwehere in between a thin summer and thicker winter weight lycra. Good down to 5 degrees in my experience.
8 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Sorbitol?

Is sorbitol listed as an ingredient? Or xylitol?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Had to get the magnifying glass out to read the ingredients!
Sorbitol and Sucralose are listed as the sweeteners.
10 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

How to stop the material being so itchy?

I'm finding the material very itchy, apart from 'man up', how have others solved this?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Personally I haven't found mine itchy at all. It does depend on how you care for them. They need to be washed in a non bio detergent that's designed for easy care at a fairly low temperature and I hand wash mine. But then I do that with all my cycling gear anyway.
Chuck them in the washing machine with your normal washing and detergent and you're likely to experience problems.
10 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

How long-bodied are these?

I find a lot of non-cycling tops ride up and expose the back on the bike.

This top doesn't look especially bike-specific.

Does anyone who knows what I'm talking own one of these and can comment?

Thanks for any help.
Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Depends on your upper body length I guess. You're right that they aren't bike specific and don't have a dropped tail but I find them reasonably long for me - about down to my hips. Although I'm fairly short in the body anyway. Someone who's taller may experience the problem you've mentioned.
I haven't had any problems when I've used them with normal waisted shorts and tights but mostly I wear with bib tights, so the risk of them riding up is reduced anyway.
10 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Sorry to be crude but with the extra abdominal protection can I relieve myself by pulling them down at the front ie without half undressing?

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A practical question always worth asking with bib tights in my opinion. The front zip allows you easy access for that, so no need to undress. Just be careful when using the zipper!!
11 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
dhb’s bestselling bib short for serious sessions in the saddle. Don’t believe us? Check out the 1700+ customer review recommendations.
 

S vs M?

Hi,
173cm height, 82cm waist. 96cm chest.

Size chart seems to suggest small. I'm a medium/Euro3 in Santini, Bontrager, PI and Mavic bibs...

Thoughts?
Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm abut the same size as you, perhaps slightly more round the waist by a cm or two. I got a pair in Small and they are a good fit. Comfortable too.
11 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides. Engineered to a streamlined profile.
 

What size?

Chest 88cm Waist 77cm Height 1660mm
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
S if you want a baselayer underneath. XS if you don't.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides. Engineered to a streamlined profile.
 

I am 1.68m tall, chest measurement 1.00m. What size of jacket would recommend?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm slightly taller than you at 170cm but with a smaller chest at 96.5cm and the Small is tight. Depends if you want to wear a layer underneath or not. Consider the Medium for a 100cm if you don't want a base layer.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Does this have any windproofing?

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No windproofing as such but it's a very close fabric. Coupled with the warm Roubaix backing it's pretty close to being windproof. I've worn this in sub zero (C) temperatures with a cnsiderable wind chill and not felf any wind though them on the legs apart from a slight cooling. The high zip front really helps keeping your waist and belly warm too.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Craft Active Extreme range is designed to keep you dry and fresh in any cold weather workout. The advanced fabric technologies keep you drier, lighter, fresher and warmer.
 

Long at back?

I find base layers ride up at the back. I have the Nike pro combat and the long length and compression means it doesn't. Is this one long at the back?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No extended back length on this baselayer. long enough if you tuck it into to shorts/tights etc but will ride up if you don't I'd say.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK