GrahamA
Top 250 Contributor
Share GrahamA's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GrahamA's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    57
  • Helpfulness Votes
    42
  • First Review
    21 February 2012
  • Last Review
    10 February 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    14 January 2016
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Answer
    25 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    07 December 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    5
 
 
GrahamA's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
SiS WHEY20 is the latest addition to the SiS Protein range, offering high quality whey protein hydrolysate in a ground breaking format. The yoghurt like texture tastes great and removes the need for a shaker and water post training or a snack on the go.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does the biz
Posted10 February 2016
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought some of these to see if they helped reduce muscle soreness after a day's walking and climbing as I often get sore the next day.
Really worked well and no signs of muscle stiffness or soreness so seems to support the idea that taking a decent slug of protein within 30 minutes of ceasing vigorous exercise helps.
Came in a box of mixed Lemon and Strawberry flavours (Lemon gets my vote but both were tasty and little sign of a synthetic flavlour or after taste), has a consistency a bit like yoghourt and goes down easily.
More expensive that using a protein powder shake but then you get the convenience of being able to carry/pack a sachet for use on the move or if you don't want the inconvenience of a tub.
Not tried any other protein 'gels' so can't compare them but will get some of theswe again for cycling.
"
Pros: High Quality, tasty
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Zero Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Zero Padded Bib Tight
dhb’s warmest Winter bib tight, built from the original MITI Thermoroubaix fabric, TEFLON coated, with large wind blocking membrane on legs. (dhb Vaeon Zero - replaces dhb PACE SuperRoubaix Windproof)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent cold weather tights
Posted23 December 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"First wore these when standing windchill was down to -7C (colder on the bike) and the windproofing kept me really warm. Colder spots to the sides on the legs but that helped keep them breathable. Comfortable after 2.5hrs in the saddle. Only niggle for me is the rear reflective strips sat right on the back of my knee but that didn't really feel uncomfortable. Being short legged they did bunch a little at the ankles but liked the foot straps to keep the tights from riding up and exposing cold spots. Front zip went low enough to be OK for a comfort break too. Overall nice and warm.
Have plenty of dhb kit and these tights were up to and above the normal standard and good quality. Great for the price, although could have done with more reflective features as many of my winter rides start in the dark.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These Universal Leg Warmers are lightweight and packable. They are perfect to keep your legs warm in cool weather conditions and protected from the sun and UV rays.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice warmers
Posted21 September 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Now the mornings have started to cool down I've begun to use these more. Not tested on really cold mornings (I'll start using full lenth tights by then anyway) but these are ideal for Autumn and Spring when the temps dip down below 10C. Certainly notice the difference in helping to keep my legs warm - but not too warm. I'm a 30" inside leg and around 12st so, as with most Gore kit, I went a size up and ordered Medium. Fit is great. As I'm a short leg they come a decent distance up my thighs and the grippers are firm but not uncomfortable. Only downside is they do bunch a bit at the ankles but that's just my leg length. The ankle grippers stop them riding up and bunching behind the knees is minimal and not uncomfortable. Decent length ankle zips means they are easy to slip off over your shoes when things warm up. Nice reflective surface on the zip and the Gore logo. Only slight niggle is I'd prefer the reflective logo to be on the outside of the leg rather than the inside. Not that keen on the light coloured (reflective??) seam stitching as needs extra effort to make sure they looked lined up correctly but thats more a personal preference. Conveniently marked with L and R to stop you guessing too."
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An all over bike-maintenance spray. Protect, preserve and freshen your bike with Muc-Off Bike Spray's incredible water dispersing action.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great stuff
Posted08 September 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Really useful to help keep your bike clean and dry after a wet ride, or after a hosing down. Spray on frame and mech after general drying off to drive out any remaining moisture. Helps bring up the finish on the frame as well and provides all round protection."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Xenon Race Bib Shorts
Gore Bike Wear Xenon Race Bib Shorts
A lightweight road cycling bibshort developed for long and demanding rides. The slight compressive fabric as well as the innovative bib construction and the flat bottom hem guarantee optimum fit and avoid any irritation.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Generally good
Posted08 September 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Wanted a pair of bib shorts good enough for long rides and opted for these. Way more expensive than I've ever bought before but have a few bits of Gore kit and been happy with them. These haven't dissappointed. I normally measure up as a Small in size but aware Gore kit tends to need a step up I opted for Medium (I'm a 32inch waist / 38inch chest). Glad I did as these are skin tight. Pull them on and adjust them and can find yourself grabbing flesh as well.
Low enough to be able to answer the call of nature without any drama.
First couple of rides over 3.5hrs I found the uncomfortable but realised it's all in the adjustment. You need to get the pad lined up correctly. Once that's done they were really comfortable.
Nice features, plenty of reflectives and thin for warmer days. Leg length is good too and don't come up too short on a 30inch inside leg. No sign of the leg grippers going baggy as some have reported (wash carefully in non bio detergent and should be OK). They do seem to feel as though they are riding up and down a bit on the leg which could mean the grippers aren't beefy enough for some. No actual sign of movement though and got used to that feeling after a few miles.
Are they any better than my Castelli Velocissimo Due Bib Shorts which were nearly 40 quid cheaper? Probably, but not much in it and are less 'flashy'. I chose the black/red as heard the white panels can go see through if you get them wet/sweaty (My Xenon jersey does suffer from that).
Overall am pleased with them but could be a bit cheaper.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Xenon 2.0 Jersey
Gore Bike Wear Xenon 2.0 Jersey
A light and ventilating summer jersey designed to keep you cool on high intensity rides in hot conditions. Strategically placed mesh vents provide fresh airflow and the close anatomic fit helps dispel moisture and improve aerodynamics.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ideal for warm days
Posted10 August 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Wanted a quality (been let down by ba cheaper product), lighweight top for warm/hot rides that had a decent sized security zipped pocket (not many of the more expensive brands do - possibly as it spoils the look?).
This is ideal. Nice mesh features down the back and underarms to aid breathability. Also some decent reflective areas as well which is unusual for summer tops. No grips on the arm hems but they are quite short and don't seem to ride up (on me). Gripper on hem at back is OK but it does ride up a little when pockets are full.
As with other reviews, the white panels do turn see through when wet from rain/sweat so chose wisely. Followed the size guide and ordered a Large which is bang on in terms of the fit for me (38in chest, 32in waist and 5ft 7in tall). Other brands I normally come up small so do take care when ordering.
Looks good and very pleased overall.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices, no arm grippers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This headband is designed to be worn under your helmet to help when you are cycling in extreme sun as it's sweat absorbent and cooling.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted13 July 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Didn't want to wear a cap under my helmet for warm/hot days but needed something to keep the sweat out of my eyes.
This is ideal and works well, even though the absorbent section seems quite thin.
This section fits across the forehead and the rest of the band is a lightweight mesh material and is comfortable to wear. Don't even know I've got it on.
Doesn't help to keep the helmet pads dry but then I'd need a cap for that I guess.
Washes well and dries quickly.
Only slight niggle is the ever present brand / washing/care label but it doesn't really get in the way or detract from the band's performance.
Nice touch is the reflective log on the front.
Bit cheaper and it would have got a five star rating.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Zelos Windproof Run Jacket - AW14
dhb Zelos Windproof Run Jacket - AW14
The Zelos Windproof Jacket is a running essential, offering wind shielding, breathabilty where you need it most with strategically placed ventilation and hidden pockets which feature an internal laser cut earphone port.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The business
Posted11 July 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Wanted a windproof top for hillwalking and scrambling rather than running. Have quite a bit of dhb kit so opted for this as had all that I needed.
Wore it on and off all week in N Wales this Spring with high winds, a few showers and some quite hot weather too and wasn't disappointed. Sheds the wind very well, feels comfortable, fits well and doesn't flap. Ordered a Small as i do wirth most dhb kit (am a 38" chest, 32" waist and 5ft 7" tall) and was room enough for a decent thickness baselayer underneath.
Breathable and the mesh vents certainly help to keep you cool when pushing the pace a bit. The back mesh panel is great to keep your back from sweating too much with a rucksack on.
Side pockets are useful for small items although the one on the top of the sleeve could have been a bit larger to take a smartphone.
Overall very pleased.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Aeron Pro Short Sleeve Jersey
dhb Aeron Pro Short Sleeve Jersey
Offering exceptional performance, the Aeron Pro Jersey offers regular and professional cyclists an extremely lightweight and breathable technical top for warm summer rides.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Disappointing
Posted11 July 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Wanted a nice lightweight summer top and opted for the Aeron Pro based on the fact I have more than a few bits of dhb kit plus the Customer Reviews seemed positive.
On delivery I spotted a small hole on the seam next to the mesh insert where the stitching had missed. Overall the finish of the top seemed poor with stray thread ends in a few places. Fabric was very light as you'd' expect but zips felt flimsy. No zip garage at the neck either which for a top of this standard should have been included.
I wear a Small in all my dhb kit, including tops (38" chest, 32" waist and 5ft 7" tall) but this was just too small. The sleeves were so tight I round the biceps (and I'm not that muscular) I couldn't have worn it even if it wasn't faulty. Also came up quite short in length.
Didn't want to risk another one so sadly returned and ordered something with hopefully better quality (with of course a higher price). Not up to dhb's usual quality standards unfortunately.
"
Pros: Great Value, Versatile
Cons: Low Quality, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Airstream Long Sleeve Summer Jersey
Altura Airstream Long Sleeve Summer Jersey
The Altura Aistream Long Sleeve Jersey will keep you warm on evening rides and everything between. Features 3 large rear pockets to stash your essentials. Made from a breathable high wicking fabric keeping you warm but dry when the weather turns cooler
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Average
Posted09 July 2015
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Wanted a medium weight top for Spring / cool early Summer lunchtime training rides that had a decent sized phone pocket (although there is no sweatproof backing) and long sleeves. Normally avoid Altura products after being let down with a pair of their winter gloves a while ago but thought I'd give them a shot.
All I can say is that it does the job I wanted it too but I can't get excited about it. I find it a relaxed fit. Followed the size guide and ordered a Medium but could have got away with a Small (I'm 5ft 7in with 38 chest and 32 in waist). So not a close fitting item so it has some flapping in the wind.
There are plenty of reflective features for darker mornings/evenings and the material is thick enough to keep out cool breezes.
This replaced a cheap Deko top which had a similar spec (although no zip pocket) and that was nearly half the price of this one.
"
Pros: Versatile
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices, Low Quality, Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
GrahamA's Questions
 
The Altura Etape Gilet is a versatile layer that’s ideal for cold dry days when you want to be out as long as you can. It has a stretch mesh rear panel for maximum breathability and reflective detail to keep you visible.
 

Front material?

Can you advise the type of material on the front please. Is it just a thin nylon windstopper shell or is there a microfleece backing?
4 weeks, 1 day ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Castelli Prologo 4 Jersey creates that perfect balance between heritage styling and new construction with all the performance details to make it your favourite jersey. A timeless classic season after season.
 

Size of key pocket

Is the zippered key pocket lickely to be large enough to take a medium sized smartphone?
7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Grand Prix 4000S has had a facelift. The 4000S II gets a Vectran breaker for unsurpassed puncture protection and Continentals advanced BlackChili compound for lower rolling resistance and increased grip.
 

Reflective sidewalls?

Does these have reflective print on the sidewall?
10 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket - AW14
Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket - AW14
The Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket is extremely durable but also lightweight. Great for colder weather runs providing the wearer with 360° reflectivity for low light conditions and back venting for breathability.
 

Weight?

Can you confirm the weight and approx packed size for this jacket please.
11 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Aluminium Bolt for Cage M5x16mm (4pcs)
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
2 years, 6 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
The fighter raises the bar for sport level road shoes with an impressive palette of features from higher up the Northwave range. A ventilated upper with the SBS closure provides a secure fit while NRG carbon reinforced sole gives excellent power transfer
 

Size for a UK8?

Hi. Am a (small) UK size 8. What size would you recommend for this shoe please?
2 years, 7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Multi-use sport touring shoe with a Multi-layer stretch resistant synthetic leather and mesh upper and glass fibre reinforced midsole for optimum sole rigidity.
 

Would these take winter overshoes

I've not yet migrated to cleats, preferring to stick with toe straps for the time being but would these, or any of the other similar touring/commuting shoes be Ok to take winter overshoes please?
3 years, 5 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
GrahamA's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
 dhb Professional ASV Lycra Bib Tight
dhb Professional ASV Lycra Bib Tight
The ASV Lycra Bib Tight combines branded, highly technical fabrics and refined striking graphics for the perfect Spring and Autumn training bib tight.
 

What's the construction of this?

Wondering what fabric (normal lycra through to winter-weight material) and whether its full-length to ankles.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Not winter weight (Roubaix) type fleecy backing but somwehere in between a thin summer and thicker winter weight lycra. Good down to 5 degrees in my experience.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Sorbitol?

Is sorbitol listed as an ingredient? Or xylitol?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Had to get the magnifying glass out to read the ingredients!
Sorbitol and Sucralose are listed as the sweeteners.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

How to stop the material being so itchy?

I'm finding the material very itchy, apart from 'man up', how have others solved this?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Personally I haven't found mine itchy at all. It does depend on how you care for them. They need to be washed in a non bio detergent that's designed for easy care at a fairly low temperature and I hand wash mine. But then I do that with all my cycling gear anyway.
Chuck them in the washing machine with your normal washing and detergent and you're likely to experience problems.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

How long-bodied are these?

I find a lot of non-cycling tops ride up and expose the back on the bike.

This top doesn't look especially bike-specific.

Does anyone who knows what I'm talking own one of these and can comment?

Thanks for any help.
Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Depends on your upper body length I guess. You're right that they aren't bike specific and don't have a dropped tail but I find them reasonably long for me - about down to my hips. Although I'm fairly short in the body anyway. Someone who's taller may experience the problem you've mentioned.
I haven't had any problems when I've used them with normal waisted shorts and tights but mostly I wear with bib tights, so the risk of them riding up is reduced anyway.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Sorry to be crude but with the extra abdominal protection can I relieve myself by pulling them down at the front ie without half undressing?

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A practical question always worth asking with bib tights in my opinion. The front zip allows you easy access for that, so no need to undress. Just be careful when using the zipper!!
1 year, 5 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
dhb’s bestselling bib short for serious sessions in the saddle. Don’t believe us? Check out the 1700+ customer review recommendations.
 

S vs M?

Hi,
173cm height, 82cm waist. 96cm chest.

Size chart seems to suggest small. I'm a medium/Euro3 in Santini, Bontrager, PI and Mavic bibs...

Thoughts?
Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm abut the same size as you, perhaps slightly more round the waist by a cm or two. I got a pair in Small and they are a good fit. Comfortable too.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides. Engineered to a streamlined profile.
 

What size?

Chest 88cm Waist 77cm Height 1660mm
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
S if you want a baselayer underneath. XS if you don't.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides. Engineered to a streamlined profile.
 

I am 1.68m tall, chest measurement 1.00m. What size of jacket would recommend?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm slightly taller than you at 170cm but with a smaller chest at 96.5cm and the Small is tight. Depends if you want to wear a layer underneath or not. Consider the Medium for a 100cm if you don't want a base layer.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Does this have any windproofing?

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No windproofing as such but it's a very close fabric. Coupled with the warm Roubaix backing it's pretty close to being windproof. I've worn this in sub zero (C) temperatures with a cnsiderable wind chill and not felf any wind though them on the legs apart from a slight cooling. The high zip front really helps keeping your waist and belly warm too.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Craft Active Extreme range is designed to keep you dry and fresh in any cold weather workout. The advanced fabric technologies keep you drier, lighter, fresher and warmer.
 

Long at back?

I find base layers ride up at the back. I have the Nike pro combat and the long length and compression means it doesn't. Is this one long at the back?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No extended back length on this baselayer. long enough if you tuck it into to shorts/tights etc but will ride up if you don't I'd say.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK