GrahamA
Top 250 Contributor
Share GrahamA's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GrahamA's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    28
  • Helpfulness Votes
    19
  • First Review
    21 February 2012
  • Last Review
    24 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    03 September 2012
  • Last Question
    25 July 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    25 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    24 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
GrahamA's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Windslam Roubaix Jersey offers effective windchill defence, added warmth and all the features you need whilst out on your bike, making it the perfect layer for those cold Autumn/Winter road rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great bit of kit
Posted24 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Needed a jersey for spring and autumn and thought the extra windproofing would be ideal.
Have worn a few times now in varying temperatures. first time was round 12C with a chilly headwind. Felt comfortable and didn't overheat into the wind but soon sweated up on hill sections. However, using the front zip was great at avoiding overheating.
Second time was when temps were hovering just above 0C and with wind chill it was around -2C. I usually wear a merino baselayey and windproof softshell for cold rides but thought I'd try the Windslam with no baselayer. Bit chilly to start from side panels but once I got going it was great, comfortable and I didn't get too warm.
If you want to wear a baselayer then get a size up as this comes in very snug. I'm a 38inch chest and 32inch waist and a small (recommended by size guide) is tight - especially on the waist; but that's what I wanted.
It's short but even with rear pockets stuffed full of kit it didn't ride up.
Neck collar is higher than some which is good to keep the cold out but it did snag on my helmet straps a bit (but I have a short neck!).
Only real niggle I have is the rear pockets could do with being a little deeper - which in turn could increase the back length. And the zip pocket (takes my Galaxy S3) could do with an allround waterproof membrane.
Otherwise this is a great allrounder and brilliant value.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: shallow rear pockets
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Rubber cable covers to protect the frame from the cables marking the headtube. Suitable for 5mm brake cables.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted14 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I can't understand why all bikes don't come with this sort of frame protection built it.
A well made and quality product which does the job it's designed for to stop the gear and brake cables marking my carbon frame.
I guess I could have made myself something similar for a lot less but these were easy to fit and the sizes were spot on. Just hope they don't get lost at this price!
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A package combination of the Swan Road (rear) and Croozer Road (front) mudguards for road/hybrid bikes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Useful mudguard set
Posted06 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought these to keep some of the crud off when winter road riding.
Wasn't expecting much from them as they're not a full winter set but I wanted something that I could pop on and off relatively easily and which afforded some protection.
Simple to fit. My seat post was just long enough to fit the rear clamp and keep my saddlebag fitted above it. Takes a little fiddling to line up the rear guard and get it a sensible height above the back wheel and it keeps my back dry from road spray well enough. It does waggle alarmingly over rough roads and can 'slap' the back wheel when you hit a hump if you fit it too close.
Front guard straps under the down tube and again, takes some lining up to get in the best position. But when you have it right it keeps crud off the bottom bracket fairly well. Rubber straps do seem a bit flimsy and would struggle to fit any bike with a really oversized down tube I expect. Fits my Trek Domane 4.3 OK. It has a chunky but not massive down tube and the straps have a notch or two spare. How long these will last only time will tell but I'll leave on over winter.
More reflective surface on the rear guard would be handy.
All in all a good set which, as long as you don't have too many expectations, works well.
"
Pros: Great Value, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation with a soft next-to-skin feel. With a high collar and zip neck for extended coverage, the dhb Merino long sleeve is a warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece for cold weather workouts.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Useful base layer
Posted06 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Not my first Merino base layer but a good one . Have worn these things every day for a week on extended winderness backpacking trips with none of the normal smell you get from synthetics. This one is no different.
Doesn't give the impression of warmth when you first put it on but with wind protection you soon warm up and it keeps you warm even when soaked in sweat on hard rides. So an ideal Spring/Autumn/Winter base layer when under a shell or softshell.
Only gripe I have is it comes up very body hugging. I'm a 38" chest and 32" waist and it's comfortable on the torso without being too restrictive but the arms and shoulders are a little too tight for comfort at the moment. Anyone who is really muscular in that area could potentially struggle. Experience tells me they do losen up after a while so may become more comfortable over time. Take care with washing them and they'll last ages. No sign of any poor stitching that others have reported.
The back length could be better as it's on the short side. I'd class myself as stocky and it's just about OK to tuck in to tights or under a bib without riding up and creating cold spots.
Short zip ideal for ventilation and the zip 'garage' works well to keep your chin comfortable.
Apart from that a great item.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice comfortable bib tight
Posted17 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Used these for the first time in the cold (dry) on a 33 mile ride and they stayed warm and comfortable all the way, with no need to take a rest from the saddle. I'm 5ft 7in, 12st, 32 in waist, 30in inside leg and 38in chest and the Medium is an ideal fit. Enough length in the leg for taller people I expect. Didn't notice the shoulder straps and so much more comfortable than waist tights. Kept my back warm without too much sweat, although I did notice a little chill on the thighs but the temperature with wind chill was around 0C. So at least I didn't overheat. Front zip a great addition too. Quality looks very good, although time will tell. Seat pad was very comfortable although the only slight niggle I have is the padding for the bony bit between your legs doesn't seem that thick. Having said that I didn't suffer ay discomfort (noticeable on cheaper tights). Good reflective features front and back. Opted for the red/black for increased visibility. All in all very pleased and good value when compared with more expensive tights."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted30 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought a pair for my new bike and didn't want to break the bank with a carbon set so I guess these are average in price.
Looks good and adjustable to fit.
Takes my 750cl bottles OK but are a tight fit. Better with 500cl bottles.
Not experienced any bottles jumping out on rough roads so far.
Good choice of coulours and seem well made.
"
Pros: Attractive, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good clamp
Posted13 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I needed a mount to attach my non Lezyne pump behind my bottle cage.
The size is exactly right and it fits neatly behind the cage and appears good quality.
One problem though is the velcro webbing strap that holds the pump securely into the mount is really not long enough if you're using a 26mm diameter pump. Strap could be another cm longer. It's long enough to engage the velcro to hold the pump in place but only just.
Having said that it hasn't fallen off yet.
"
Pros: Durable, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A great value jersey with a full feature set. Constructed from high wicking fabrics with a soft finishing treatment, the Section Jersey features mesh vent panels, a silicone hem gripper and a slim fit. Ideal for sportives, training and leisure cycling.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good lightweight summer top
Posted29 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Nice looking top. Am a chunky 38inch chest but ordered the small in line withe with the size chart, so it's a snug fit.
It doesn't hold in the wobbly bits so if you have any they will show unless you get a much larger size. (good motivation to lose more weight and get trim).
Nice cooling side panels and overall very breathable. Dosn't 'wet out' with sweat.
Few minor niggles as per other reviews:
- Silicon gripper is only to back hem of shirt. Could have done
with being all round, although doesn't seem to ride up at front.
- Neck zip a bit too short - but that's my preference.
- Could do with more reflective features (not all summer rides
are in daylight)
- Central back phone pocket (great waterproof/resistant lining
though, which many don't have) is only just large enough to
take a Galaxy smartphone (without a protective case).
- Would have preferred a slightly longer length as scooped back
hem isn't that deep. But again it hasn't ridden up.
- Only worn a few times or shortish rides so can't vouch for the
quality or functionality issues over longer distances but no
problems so far.
Overall good value as usual for dhb products."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High carbohydrate drinks mix for sustained energy.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A good allrounder
Posted16 July 2013
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Does what it says on the tin. Keeps you hydrated and energised on long rides.
A little sweet for me personally but it's palatable enough and what I do like is that it doesn't leave any aftertaste.
Seems to be kind on the stomach as well. Haven't experienced any bloating or unpleasant side affects.
Mixing is easy enough and directions provided. Does take some shaking to get the all the powder to disolve.
Bought the 2.2kilo tub so value for money is competitive with other products too.
"
Pros: Great Value, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The fighter raises the bar for sport level road shoes with an impressive palette of features from higher up the Northwave range. A ventilated upper with the SBS closure provides a secure fit while NRG carbon reinforced sole gives excellent power transfer
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Comfortable road shoe
Posted12 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GrahamA
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Needed to replace a pair of cheap hand-me-downs and deliberated long and hard what to buy (thanks Wiggle for the great Review feature on your products).
A carbon insert sole for what was I felt to be a sensible price (this is my first 'proper' pair of road shoes) swung it for me.
The SBS buckle adjuster is great and was one of the features I wanted to ensure a good fit) and can be used when in the saddle for micro adjustments.
I take a UK size 8 (42 or 43 in trainers) but have a slim foot so Wiggle advised on a size 41. On trying them on I was initially worried they would be too tight but after having ridden for 40 miles in them with a few shorter rides of 10-12 miles I don't have any problems at all. Very comforable and provide a decent level of 'feel' and feedback from the pedals.
Improved power transfer is very noticeable and helps on the hills.
Seem to be well built and no issues with the quality.
Walking takes some getting used to as they only have a hard rubber heel tab and don't have the usal front posts at the toes to help protect the cleats. So wouldn't want to walk far in them and some surfaces could be a bit slippery.
Not over ventilated either in the sole unit (no obvious vents in toes or heels) so ideal for cooler UK days although may not be so good for warmer climates.
Overall am very pleased with the purchase so far.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
GrahamA's Questions
 
Token Aluminium Bolt for Cage M5x16mm (4pcs)
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
8 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The fighter raises the bar for sport level road shoes with an impressive palette of features from higher up the Northwave range. A ventilated upper with the SBS closure provides a secure fit while NRG carbon reinforced sole gives excellent power transfer
 

Size for a UK8?

Hi. Am a (small) UK size 8. What size would you recommend for this shoe please?
9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Multi-use sport touring shoe with a Multi-layer stretch resistant synthetic leather and mesh upper and glass fibre reinforced midsole for optimum sole rigidity.
 

Would these take winter overshoes

I've not yet migrated to cleats, preferring to stick with toe straps for the time being but would these, or any of the other similar touring/commuting shoes be Ok to take winter overshoes please?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
GrahamA's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides.
 

What size?

Chest 88cm Waist 77cm Height 1660mm
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
S if you want a baselayer underneath. XS if you don't.
3 weeks, 4 days ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides.
 

I am 1.68m tall, chest measurement 1.00m. What size of jacket would recommend?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm slightly taller than you at 170cm but with a smaller chest at 96.5cm and the Small is tight. Depends if you want to wear a layer underneath or not. Consider the Medium for a 100cm if you don't want a base layer.
3 weeks, 4 days ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Does this have any windproofing?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No windproofing as such but it's a very close fabric. Coupled with the warm Roubaix backing it's pretty close to being windproof. I've worn this in sub zero (C) temperatures with a cnsiderable wind chill and not felf any wind though them on the legs apart from a slight cooling. The high zip front really helps keeping your waist and belly warm too.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Craft zero extreme range is designed to keep you dry and fresh in any cold weather workout. The advanced fabric technologies keep you drier, lighter, fresher and warmer.
 

Long at back?

I find base layers ride up at the back. I have the Nike pro combat and the long length and compression means it doesn't. Is this one long at the back?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No extended back length on this baselayer. long enough if you tuck it into to shorts/tights etc but will ride up if you don't I'd say.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
A package combination of the Swan Road (rear) and Croozer Road (front) mudguards for road/hybrid bikes.
 

Will the clamp fit on an aero shaped seat post?

I have the Giant Avail composite which has an aero seat post, will the rear mud guard clamp fit securely without turning?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
This crossed my mind when I was fitting my clamp and I have a standard seat tube. The clamp seems to be shaped as though it would fit an aero tube as it has a slightly narrower profile to the back edge.
There didn't seem to be much slack in the clamp though so it might struggle with an aero shape.
Hopefully someone with an aero tube will have tried it and can advise better.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Cool weather padded waist tight suited to Autumn training rides. (dhb Vaeon - previously dhb PACE)
 

Medium or Small?

I'm 29-30" waist and 32" inseam.
Will a size Small be a good fit or I should try Medium instead?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I am a 30" inside leg and 32" waist and the Small fits me fine, although slightly long in the leg.
So you should have no problem with a Small.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Falling between S and M

Hi,

If I'm a 36" (S) chest, a 31" (S) waist and 5'7" height (M)...AND...I find the similarly-sized Aeron Pro bib shorts in S on their limit (but perhaps a little too tight around the thights), would a M be OK, or a touch on the baggy side everywhere else?

Cheers,
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Hard call. Am same height as you with a 38" chest and 32" waist and a Medium fits me brilliantly. Although they are quite well fitting on the thigh I get the impression there is a fair amount of stretch.
A small would probably be just on it's limit I expect .
I'd opt for the Medium and I expect Wiggle will swap them if they don't fit.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
A package combination of the Swan Road (rear) and Croozer Road (front) mudguards for road/hybrid bikes.
 

Could you fit these to a Trek Madone 2.1 road bike

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Depends on the diameter of your down tube I guess. I have a Domane 4.3 and the the tube at it's widest is 19cm and the front muguard fits fine. Rear guard just clamps to your seatpost which should be fairly standard diameter, so as long as you have plenty of height in the seat tube (if you also hang a saddlebag or light off it) then it will fit OK.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
A package combination of the Swan Road (rear) and Croozer Road (front) mudguards for road/hybrid bikes.
 

Will front guard fit my bike?

I am looking for a set of easily detachable mud guards for my Claud Butler road bike that I use in winter/for turbo training. It has external cabling. Can this front guard be fitted to the down tube of my bike or will the cables be in the way?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The front guard is raised off the surface of the down tube by a couple of moulded lugs which sit in between the cables. Have external cables on my bike and it fits fine.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
New Trainer using the V-Arion's tough thermoplastic frame but without the intertial resistance unit. The rollers also come fitted with a step to aid the rider in easier mounts and dismounts.
 

Does it fold away?

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
They fold in half across trhe mid line. Not completely flat as one section doesn't fold inside the other.
9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK