GrahamA
Top 250 Contributor
Share GrahamA's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GrahamA's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    62
  • Helpfulness Votes
    51
  • First Review
    21 February 2012
  • Last Review
    28 January 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    3 September 2012
  • Last Question
    1 July 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    26
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Answer
    25 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    28 January 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    5
 
 
GrahamA's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
The essential winter riding glove with warm Windstopper® back, fleece-lined palm, and dialed-in fit for great bar feel. Excellent wind resistance and breathability makes this glove your go to glove for all your winter riding.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Impressive
Posted28 January 2017
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Needed a pair of 'winter' gloves for use on milder, dry days that weren't too warm or bulky. Well impressed. Have used these in temperatures two or three degrees below 0C (including standing windchill) and they have kept my hands warm throughout rides of 3hrs or so and help prevent any numbness with the light padding provided.
Sizing was spot on and they fit well without being too tight. Nice velcro closure at wrist and the softshell Windstopper protection extends up the wrist, unlike some that have a knitted cuff. This does sometimes result in slight dampness around the wrist but hands stay dry and not sweaty, unlike my other winter/waterproof gloves.
Been used a dozen times or so and no signs of any stress to the seams or wear. Depending on wind strength and direction it is possible to feel some coolling around the fingers but this isn't uncomfortable and helps with breathability I expect.
Opted for the high viz colour to help with overall visibility. Nice, discreet reflective areas for riding in the dark as well.
Overall very pleased and well worth the money.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Zecto Drive Front Light Y9
Lezyne Zecto Drive Front Light Y9
The Lezyne Zecto Drive Front Light Y9 is a handy little safety light with multiple lighting modes giving an output of up to 120 lumens. The small size makes it perfect for stashing in your bag or your pocket.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bright and useful
Posted2 May 2016
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Great little light I bought to use as a safety light during daytime rides. Bright enough for town use at night probably. Too many modes for my liking but plenty to chose from depending on your needs I guess. Copes with my oval shaped bars reasonably well, although need to adjust up every so often. Easy to fit. Charge lasts ages, certainly as long as advertised. Only niggle I have is the USB port on the light can be a bit flaky in terms of connection every so often andso needs adjusting to make sure it's charging. Doesn't seem to get phased by the wet either. A good all rounder and value for money. "
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, Rugged
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Classic Roubaix is a new improved version of the top-rated Vaeon Roubaix Bib tight. Giving you super snug warmth from their super soft Lombardia Roubaix Lycra.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simply good
Posted5 April 2016
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Bought these to replace a pair of Vaeon Roubaix bibs I trashed when I hit some black ice during the winter (tried patching them but wasn't that successful - but I still have them as a back up).
These are certainly an improved spec. Outer surface sheds the wind well (but aren't windproof) and even with temperatures around zero and below I don't really notice the chilling. Did start to feel some chilling once the rain started but even then it wasn't a big issue. Breath well and don't feel like I'm overheating. I am a chunky 32" waist and 30" inside leg and opted for a Medium (same as my old Vaeon's) and the fit is near perfect. Leg length is fine and any extra is tucked into my winter boots or overshoes anyway.
Some reflective features but not OTT (go for the Flashlight version if you wnat more).
Zip is ideal and works well for comfort breaks. Shoulder straps are comfortable. Level of compression on the legs is about right and not overdone for me and the pad is good for 3hrs in the saddle and more.
I use a lot of dhb kit and these are a well made, quality item. look good on too.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
The definitive cold weather WINDSTOPPER® Soft-Shell jacket. Designed solely for riders who want the ultimate warmth and comfort for long hours in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works well
Posted29 February 2016
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Bought this to replace an ageing winter jacket and after much research this seemed to fit my needs.
Have used in temperatures hovering around 0C and with windchill much lower and have always been warm without overheating. (using a Merino 200 base layer).
Am a stocky 38" chest and 32" waist so went along with the reviews and sizing chart and bought a Large, even though I fit a Small in some other products. Large was fine and there's room enough to get a thicker baselayer/jersey underneath. So could have got away with Medium - just.
Was surprised that this isn't fully fleece backed. Only the black panels have a micro fleece backing. The rest (coloured) are just windstopper fabric so I feel some coolness on the arms but nothing unpleasant. This isn't clear from the product description and I would have preffered a full fleece backing throughout for really cold rides.
Rear pockets are Ok but not massive. The zipped security pocket just about takes my Galaxy S4 Neo smartphone (which is faily long) but can be awkward to get out while wearing the top as the zipper is about an inch down from the top of the pocket.
Would only use the side mesh pockets for items I can jam in. e.g. a gel would probably bounce out.
Arms are nice and long to cover or tuck into gloves.
Niggles: It's not long at the back and although the hem grippers are good, anything bulky will make the jacket gap at the back hem (which does help to stop you back sweating a bit I guess).
Could do with a 'Napoleon' pocket on the chest.
Reflective detail is sufficient although I'd prefer a little more on the back.
Can't make up my mind if this nis a true jacket or a very good jersey.
Rated 4 star because of the above.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Wisp Windproof Jacket
dhb Wisp Windproof Jacket
The dhb Wisp Windproof Jacket is a lightweight top layer which offers wind and light rain protection during variable weather conditions. The minimal construction means it easily packs away into the arm sleeve for portability and storage.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted25 February 2016
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Bought this just as an emergency windproof to stick in a jersey pocket. I'm a stocky 38" chest with 32" waist and as per the advice and sizing guide I opted for Medium when most of my dhb kit is Small. Glad I did. Just fits over a decent thickness jersey. I guess I could also wear under a jacket in an emergency too. Nicely made. A few small reflective features. Vented back between shoulder blades should help ventilation.
Not used for long so can't tell how breathable it is but for me it's emergency use only anyway.
Small stuff pocket in right sleeve with a draw cord that is on the cuff. This could be a niggle for some if it gets in the way.
Only issue I have with it is that it is short. I'm not long in the body and this just about meets my waist. Hence 4 stars only.
Otherwise it's great value.
"
Pros: Attractive, Great Value, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SiS WHEY20 is the latest addition to the SiS Protein range, offering high quality whey protein hydrolysate in a ground breaking format. The yoghurt like texture tastes great and removes the need for a shaker and water post training or a snack on the go.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does the biz
Posted10 February 2016
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Bought some of these to see if they helped reduce muscle soreness after a day's walking and climbing as I often get sore the next day.
Really worked well and no signs of muscle stiffness or soreness so seems to support the idea that taking a decent slug of protein within 30 minutes of ceasing vigorous exercise helps.
Came in a box of mixed Lemon and Strawberry flavours (Lemon gets my vote but both were tasty and little sign of a synthetic flavlour or after taste), has a consistency a bit like yoghourt and goes down easily.
More expensive that using a protein powder shake but then you get the convenience of being able to carry/pack a sachet for use on the move or if you don't want the inconvenience of a tub.
Not tried any other protein 'gels' so can't compare them but will get some of theswe again for cycling.
"
Pros: High Quality, tasty
Cons: Expensive
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Zero Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Zero Padded Bib Tight
dhb’s warmest Winter bib tight, built from the original MITI Thermoroubaix fabric, TEFLON coated, with large wind blocking membrane on legs. (dhb Vaeon Zero - replaces dhb PACE SuperRoubaix Windproof)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent cold weather tights
Posted23 December 2015
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" First wore these when standing windchill was down to -7C (colder on the bike) and the windproofing kept me really warm. Colder spots to the sides on the legs but that helped keep them breathable. Comfortable after 2.5hrs in the saddle. Only niggle for me is the rear reflective strips sat right on the back of my knee but that didn't really feel uncomfortable. Being short legged they did bunch a little at the ankles but liked the foot straps to keep the tights from riding up and exposing cold spots. Front zip went low enough to be OK for a comfort break too. Overall nice and warm.
Have plenty of dhb kit and these tights were up to and above the normal standard and good quality. Great for the price, although could have done with more reflective features as many of my winter rides start in the dark.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Universal 2.0 Leg Warmers
Gore Bike Wear Universal 2.0 Leg Warmers
These Universal Leg Warmers are lightweight and packable. They are perfect to keep your legs warm in cool weather conditions and protected from the sun and UV rays.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice warmers
Posted21 September 2015
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Now the mornings have started to cool down I've begun to use these more. Not tested on really cold mornings (I'll start using full lenth tights by then anyway) but these are ideal for Autumn and Spring when the temps dip down below 10C. Certainly notice the difference in helping to keep my legs warm - but not too warm. I'm a 30" inside leg and around 12st so, as with most Gore kit, I went a size up and ordered Medium. Fit is great. As I'm a short leg they come a decent distance up my thighs and the grippers are firm but not uncomfortable. Only downside is they do bunch a bit at the ankles but that's just my leg length. The ankle grippers stop them riding up and bunching behind the knees is minimal and not uncomfortable. Decent length ankle zips means they are easy to slip off over your shoes when things warm up. Nice reflective surface on the zip and the Gore logo. Only slight niggle is I'd prefer the reflective logo to be on the outside of the leg rather than the inside. Not that keen on the light coloured (reflective??) seam stitching as needs extra effort to make sure they looked lined up correctly but thats more a personal preference. Conveniently marked with L and R to stop you guessing too. "
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
An all over bike-maintenance spray. Protect, preserve and freshen your bike with Muc-Off Bike Spray's incredible water dispersing action.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great stuff
Posted8 September 2015
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Really useful to help keep your bike clean and dry after a wet ride, or after a hosing down. Spray on frame and mech after general drying off to drive out any remaining moisture. Helps bring up the finish on the frame as well and provides all round protection. "
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Xenon Race Bib Shorts
Gore Bike Wear Xenon Race Bib Shorts
A lightweight road cycling bibshort developed for long and demanding rides. The slight compressive fabric as well as the innovative bib construction and the flat bottom hem guarantee optimum fit and avoid any irritation.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Generally good
Posted8 September 2015
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Wanted a pair of bib shorts good enough for long rides and opted for these. Way more expensive than I've ever bought before but have a few bits of Gore kit and been happy with them. These haven't dissappointed. I normally measure up as a Small in size but aware Gore kit tends to need a step up I opted for Medium (I'm a 32inch waist / 38inch chest). Glad I did as these are skin tight. Pull them on and adjust them and can find yourself grabbing flesh as well.
Low enough to be able to answer the call of nature without any drama.
First couple of rides over 3.5hrs I found the uncomfortable but realised it's all in the adjustment. You need to get the pad lined up correctly. Once that's done they were really comfortable.
Nice features, plenty of reflectives and thin for warmer days. Leg length is good too and don't come up too short on a 30inch inside leg. No sign of the leg grippers going baggy as some have reported (wash carefully in non bio detergent and should be OK). They do seem to feel as though they are riding up and down a bit on the leg which could mean the grippers aren't beefy enough for some. No actual sign of movement though and got used to that feeling after a few miles.
Are they any better than my Castelli Velocissimo Due Bib Shorts which were nearly 40 quid cheaper? Probably, but not much in it and are less 'flashy'. I chose the black/red as heard the white panels can go see through if you get them wet/sweaty (My Xenon jersey does suffer from that).
Overall am pleased with them but could be a bit cheaper.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
GrahamA's Questions
 
 Castelli Prologo 4 Short Sleeve Jersey
Castelli Prologo 4 Short Sleeve Jersey
The Castelli Prologo 4 Jersey creates that perfect balance between heritage styling and new construction with all the performance details to make it your favourite jersey. A timeless classic season after season.
 

Size of key pocket

Is the zippered key pocket lickely to be large enough to take a medium sized smartphone?
3 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S II Folding Road Tyre Twin Pack
Continental Grand Prix 4000S II Folding Road Tyre Twin Pack
The Grand Prix 4000S has had a facelift. The 4000S II gets a Vectran breaker for unsurpassed puncture protection and Continentals advanced BlackChili compound for lower rolling resistance and increased grip.
 

Reflective sidewalls?

Does these have reflective print on the sidewall?
3 years, 6 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket - AW14
Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket - AW14
The Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket is extremely durable but also lightweight. Great for colder weather runs providing the wearer with 360° reflectivity for low light conditions and back venting for breathability.
 

Weight?

Can you confirm the weight and approx packed size for this jacket please.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Aluminium Bolt for Cage M5x16mm (4pcs)
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
5 years, 1 month ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
The fighter raises the bar for sport level road shoes with an impressive palette of features from higher up the Northwave range. A ventilated upper with the SBS closure provides a secure fit while NRG carbon reinforced sole gives excellent power transfer
 

Size for a UK8?

Hi. Am a (small) UK size 8. What size would you recommend for this shoe please?
5 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Multi-use sport touring shoe with a Multi-layer stretch resistant synthetic leather and mesh upper and glass fibre reinforced midsole for optimum sole rigidity.
 

Would these take winter overshoes

I've not yet migrated to cleats, preferring to stick with toe straps for the time being but would these, or any of the other similar touring/commuting shoes be Ok to take winter overshoes please?
6 years ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
GrahamA's Answers
<<< 1 2 3 >>>
 
 Craft Active Extreme CN Long Sleeve Base Layer
Craft Active Extreme CN Long Sleeve Base Layer
The Craft Active Extreme range is designed to keep you dry and fresh in any cold weather workout. The advanced fabric technologies keep you drier, lighter, fresher and warmer.
 

Long at back?

I find base layers ride up at the back. I have the Nike pro combat and the long length and compression means it doesn't. Is this one long at the back?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No extended back length on this baselayer. long enough if you tuck it into to shorts/tights etc but will ride up if you don't I'd say.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
A package combination of the Swan Road (rear) and Croozer Road (front) mudguards for road/hybrid bikes.
 

Will the clamp fit on an aero shaped seat post?

I have the Giant Avail composite which has an aero seat post, will the rear mud guard clamp fit securely without turning?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
This crossed my mind when I was fitting my clamp and I have a standard seat tube. The clamp seems to be shaped as though it would fit an aero tube as it has a slightly narrower profile to the back edge.
There didn't seem to be much slack in the clamp though so it might struggle with an aero shape.
Hopefully someone with an aero tube will have tried it and can advise better.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Vaeon Padded Waist Tights
dhb Vaeon Padded Waist Tights
Cool weather padded waist tight suited to Autumn training rides. (dhb Vaeon - previously dhb PACE)
 

Medium or Small?

I'm 29-30" waist and 32" inseam.
Will a size Small be a good fit or I should try Medium instead?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I am a 30" inside leg and 32" waist and the Small fits me fine, although slightly long in the leg.
So you should have no problem with a Small.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 

Falling between S and M

Hi,

If I'm a 36" (S) chest, a 31" (S) waist and 5'7" height (M)...AND...I find the similarly-sized Aeron Pro bib shorts in S on their limit (but perhaps a little too tight around the thights), would a M be OK, or a touch on the baggy side everywhere else?

Cheers,
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Hard call. Am same height as you with a 38" chest and 32" waist and a Medium fits me brilliantly. Although they are quite well fitting on the thigh I get the impression there is a fair amount of stretch.
A small would probably be just on it's limit I expect .
I'd opt for the Medium and I expect Wiggle will swap them if they don't fit.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
A package combination of the Swan Road (rear) and Croozer Road (front) mudguards for road/hybrid bikes.
 

Could you fit these to a Trek Madone 2.1 road bike

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Depends on the diameter of your down tube I guess. I have a Domane 4.3 and the the tube at it's widest is 19cm and the front muguard fits fine. Rear guard just clamps to your seatpost which should be fairly standard diameter, so as long as you have plenty of height in the seat tube (if you also hang a saddlebag or light off it) then it will fit OK.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
A package combination of the Swan Road (rear) and Croozer Road (front) mudguards for road/hybrid bikes.
 

Will front guard fit my bike?

I am looking for a set of easily detachable mud guards for my Claud Butler road bike that I use in winter/for turbo training. It has external cabling. Can this front guard be fitted to the down tube of my bike or will the cables be in the way?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The front guard is raised off the surface of the down tube by a couple of moulded lugs which sit in between the cables. Have external cables on my bike and it fits fine.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
New Trainer using the V-Arion's tough thermoplastic frame but without the intertial resistance unit. The rollers also come fitted with a step to aid the rider in easier mounts and dismounts.
 

Does it fold away?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
They fold in half across trhe mid line. Not completely flat as one section doesn't fold inside the other.
5 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
The fighter raises the bar for sport level road shoes with an impressive palette of features from higher up the Northwave range. A ventilated upper with the SBS closure provides a secure fit while NRG carbon reinforced sole gives excellent power transfer
 

do we have to buy cleats seperatly? or do they come with shoes?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
They don't come with cleats. You'll need to buy separately.
5 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
The fighter raises the bar for sport level road shoes with an impressive palette of features from higher up the Northwave range. A ventilated upper with the SBS closure provides a secure fit while NRG carbon reinforced sole gives excellent power transfer
 

What size would you recommend?

Hi. Am a UK size 7, US 8 and EU41. What size would you recommend for this shoe please?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
They come up small. Am a UK 8 and would normally take a 42 or 43 shoe. Wiggle advised 41 which were a perfect, although snug, fit.
So you'll need to go small.
5 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
The Topeak Aero Wedge provides convenient under the saddle storage in a durable, sleek and aero-constructed design. Carry your riding essentials like spare tools, tubes, snacks, cash, keys, a mini pump, and anything else with confidence.
 

What is the best rear light to get with this?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I use a PDW Radbot 1000 1 Watt LED Rear Light . As the bag took up all the available seat tube I've slung it on the strap at the back of the back which is OK as the radbot clip is quite secure. BUT don't rely on it and get something to stop it jumping out (as others have mentioned). e.g another thin velcro strap or elastic straps.
5 years, 9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK