GrahamA
Top 250 Contributor
Share GrahamA's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GrahamA's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    62
  • Helpfulness Votes
    51
  • First Review
    21 February 2012
  • Last Review
    28 January 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    3 September 2012
  • Last Question
    1 July 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    26
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Answer
    25 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    28 January 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    5
 
 
GrahamA's Reviews
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >>>
 
 Northwave Sonic Short Sleeve Jersey
Northwave Sonic Short Sleeve Jersey
The Sonic short sleeve jersey designed for those spring/summer rides in the saddle. The garment is light and features excellent softness and elasticity properties thanks to the Light Tech fabrics used.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice top
Posted9 June 2014
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Finally the weather is warm enough to wear a summer top!
I have a number of short sleeved tops and this is by far the best in terms of value for money and features.
The close weave fabric on the front panel and the full length zip baffle helps to reduce chill from wind (although not windproof) while the mesh arms and side panels ventilate well.
Rear pockets are a reasonable size and the zipped security pocket on the back is large enough to take my Galaxy SIII. Time will tell if the zip itself lasts well as looks a little flimsy.
Limited reflective features but I don't plan on riding in the dark on long summer days.
Comes up small though. I'm a chunky 38inch chest /32 inch waist so went for the Medium and it's a snug fit . Only slight gripe is the arm cuffs feel a bit tight. I don't have massive biceps but anyone with big guns might find them slightly restrictive. But they don't really ride up as a result.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb 14cm Light Weight Sock Bundle - 3 Pack
dhb 14cm Light Weight Sock Bundle - 3 Pack
Get kitted out with the newest 14cm unisex cycling socks from dhb. This bundle contains three pairs in each of the three colours so you can match your socks to your kit theme.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfortable and good value
Posted9 June 2014
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Can't get over excited about socks but am very happy with these. Although some other colours would be welcome but that's a personal preference. Red/yellow cuff perhaps?
They fit well and so far haven't gone baggy; no blisters or rucking inside my shoes. Certainly help keep your feet from becoming sweaty, although haven't worn these inside overshoes on wet rides so can't really tell for sure.
Seem to wear well and multiple washes hasn't washed out the colour or their robustness so far.
Fit well round my ankles too and don't really leave a mark.
Three pairs for the price I felt was a good buy and certainly better than my old sports socks.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good performers
Posted1 June 2014
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Finally the weather is kind enough to get back into shorts.
I wanted a pair with a seat pad that was man enough for a reasonable time in the saddle and these didn't disappoint.
Comfortable for 3hrs at least (not tried for longer yet). Good lightweight breathable fabric and the bib is low enough to not need to slip out of the shoulder straps when you need to p.
Wasn't sure of sizing but opted for a Small which is spot on for me; a stocky 11 3/4 stone with a 32" waist and 30" inside leg. Straps were nice and comfortable and didn't cut in to my shoulders, mesh back helped with breathability, the leg grippers were not too tight and didn't cut into my thighs.
Not much in the way of reflectives but for the lighter spring/summer days that's not needed. As usual with dhb products these are excellent value!
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good protective top
Posted27 April 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Bought the hi viz version so I could be seen in rainy and overcast weather but could do with a little more reflective detail ideally.
Worn for the first time in driving rain cycling into a 20mph headwind for 10 miles with temperature around 10 degrees C. Kept me dry and was only slightly clammy on the inside although my jersey underneath was damp (but then it normally is damp with sweat anyway). So from a waterproof and breathabilioty perspective this is performs well.
It's a close fit so minimal flapping from the fabric and keeps the wind out well.
Am a stocky 38" chest and bought the Medium which fits well over a thick winter jersey (DhB Windslam) without being too restrictive. Arm length is good and not too long. Fits in a standard central rear pocket OK using the stuff sack.
Only slight niggles are that the back length could be a little longer, a zip pocket for a phone would be good and the fabric tends to mark easily from road dirt and the mesh in the stuff sack.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features, fabric marks easily
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
The Windslam Roubaix Jersey offers effective windchill defence, added warmth and all the features you need whilst out on your bike, making it the perfect layer for those cold Autumn/Winter road rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great bit of kit
Posted24 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Needed a jersey for spring and autumn and thought the extra windproofing would be ideal.
Have worn a few times now in varying temperatures. first time was round 12C with a chilly headwind. Felt comfortable and didn't overheat into the wind but soon sweated up on hill sections. However, using the front zip was great at avoiding overheating.
Second time was when temps were hovering just above 0C and with wind chill it was around -2C. I usually wear a merino baselayey and windproof softshell for cold rides but thought I'd try the Windslam with no baselayer. Bit chilly to start from side panels but once I got going it was great, comfortable and I didn't get too warm.
If you want to wear a baselayer then get a size up as this comes in very snug. I'm a 38inch chest and 32inch waist and a small (recommended by size guide) is tight - especially on the waist; but that's what I wanted.
It's short but even with rear pockets stuffed full of kit it didn't ride up.
Neck collar is higher than some which is good to keep the cold out but it did snag on my helmet straps a bit (but I have a short neck!).
Only real niggle I have is the rear pockets could do with being a little deeper - which in turn could increase the back length. And the zip pocket (takes my Galaxy S3) could do with an allround waterproof membrane.
Otherwise this is a great allrounder and brilliant value.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: shallow rear pockets
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 BBB BCB-90B 5mm CableWrap Frame Protectors
BBB BCB-90B 5mm CableWrap Frame Protectors
Rubber cable covers to protect the frame from the cables marking the headtube. Suitable for 5mm brake cables.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted14 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" I can't understand why all bikes don't come with this sort of frame protection built it.
A well made and quality product which does the job it's designed for to stop the gear and brake cables marking my carbon frame.
I guess I could have made myself something similar for a lot less but these were easy to fit and the sizes were spot on. Just hope they don't get lost at this price!
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A package combination of the Swan Road (rear) and Croozer Road (front) mudguards for road/hybrid bikes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Useful mudguard set
Posted6 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Bought these to keep some of the crud off when winter road riding.
Wasn't expecting much from them as they're not a full winter set but I wanted something that I could pop on and off relatively easily and which afforded some protection.
Simple to fit. My seat post was just long enough to fit the rear clamp and keep my saddlebag fitted above it. Takes a little fiddling to line up the rear guard and get it a sensible height above the back wheel and it keeps my back dry from road spray well enough. It does waggle alarmingly over rough roads and can 'slap' the back wheel when you hit a hump if you fit it too close.
Front guard straps under the down tube and again, takes some lining up to get in the best position. But when you have it right it keeps crud off the bottom bracket fairly well. Rubber straps do seem a bit flimsy and would struggle to fit any bike with a really oversized down tube I expect. Fits my Trek Domane 4.3 OK. It has a chunky but not massive down tube and the straps have a notch or two spare. How long these will last only time will tell but I'll leave on over winter.
More reflective surface on the rear guard would be handy.
All in all a good set which, as long as you don't have too many expectations, works well.
"
Pros: Great Value, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer (M_200)
dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer (M_200)
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Useful base layer
Posted6 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Not my first Merino base layer but a good one . Have worn these things every day for a week on extended winderness backpacking trips with none of the normal smell you get from synthetics. This one is no different.
Doesn't give the impression of warmth when you first put it on but with wind protection you soon warm up and it keeps you warm even when soaked in sweat on hard rides. So an ideal Spring/Autumn/Winter base layer when under a shell or softshell.
Only gripe I have is it comes up very body hugging. I'm a 38" chest and 32" waist and it's comfortable on the torso without being too restrictive but the arms and shoulders are a little too tight for comfort at the moment. Anyone who is really muscular in that area could potentially struggle. Experience tells me they do losen up after a while so may become more comfortable over time. Take care with washing them and they'll last ages. No sign of any poor stitching that others have reported.
The back length could be better as it's on the short side. I'd class myself as stocky and it's just about OK to tuck in to tights or under a bib without riding up and creating cold spots.
Short zip ideal for ventilation and the zip 'garage' works well to keep your chin comfortable.
Apart from that a great item.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice comfortable bib tight
Posted17 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Used these for the first time in the cold (dry) on a 33 mile ride and they stayed warm and comfortable all the way, with no need to take a rest from the saddle. I'm 5ft 7in, 12st, 32 in waist, 30in inside leg and 38in chest and the Medium is an ideal fit. Enough length in the leg for taller people I expect. Didn't notice the shoulder straps and so much more comfortable than waist tights. Kept my back warm without too much sweat, although I did notice a little chill on the thighs but the temperature with wind chill was around 0C. So at least I didn't overheat. Front zip a great addition too. Quality looks very good, although time will tell. Seat pad was very comfortable although the only slight niggle I have is the padding for the bony bit between your legs doesn't seem that thick. Having said that I didn't suffer ay discomfort (noticeable on cheaper tights). Good reflective features front and back. Opted for the red/black for increased visibility. All in all very pleased and good value when compared with more expensive tights. "
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted30 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Bought a pair for my new bike and didn't want to break the bank with a carbon set so I guess these are average in price.
Looks good and adjustable to fit.
Takes my 750cl bottles OK but are a tight fit. Better with 500cl bottles.
Not experienced any bottles jumping out on rough roads so far.
Good choice of coulours and seem well made.
"
Pros: Attractive, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
GrahamA's Questions
 
 Castelli Prologo 4 Short Sleeve Jersey
Castelli Prologo 4 Short Sleeve Jersey
The Castelli Prologo 4 Jersey creates that perfect balance between heritage styling and new construction with all the performance details to make it your favourite jersey. A timeless classic season after season.
 

Size of key pocket

Is the zippered key pocket lickely to be large enough to take a medium sized smartphone?
3 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S II Folding Road Tyre Twin Pack
Continental Grand Prix 4000S II Folding Road Tyre Twin Pack
The Grand Prix 4000S has had a facelift. The 4000S II gets a Vectran breaker for unsurpassed puncture protection and Continentals advanced BlackChili compound for lower rolling resistance and increased grip.
 

Reflective sidewalls?

Does these have reflective print on the sidewall?
3 years, 6 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket - AW14
Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket - AW14
The Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket is extremely durable but also lightweight. Great for colder weather runs providing the wearer with 360° reflectivity for low light conditions and back venting for breathability.
 

Weight?

Can you confirm the weight and approx packed size for this jacket please.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Aluminium Bolt for Cage M5x16mm (4pcs)
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
5 years, 1 month ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
The fighter raises the bar for sport level road shoes with an impressive palette of features from higher up the Northwave range. A ventilated upper with the SBS closure provides a secure fit while NRG carbon reinforced sole gives excellent power transfer
 

Size for a UK8?

Hi. Am a (small) UK size 8. What size would you recommend for this shoe please?
5 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Multi-use sport touring shoe with a Multi-layer stretch resistant synthetic leather and mesh upper and glass fibre reinforced midsole for optimum sole rigidity.
 

Would these take winter overshoes

I've not yet migrated to cleats, preferring to stick with toe straps for the time being but would these, or any of the other similar touring/commuting shoes be Ok to take winter overshoes please?
6 years ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
GrahamA's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
The essential winter riding glove with warm Windstopper® back, fleece-lined palm, and dialed-in fit for great bar feel. Excellent wind resistance and breathability makes this glove your go to glove for all your winter riding.
 

Are they touch screen compatible? ¿Son compatibles con pantallas táctiles?. Thanks. Gracias.

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No. There are no conductive pads on the fingers.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Professional ASV Lycra Bib Tight
dhb Professional ASV Lycra Bib Tight
The ASV Lycra Bib Tight combines branded, highly technical fabrics and refined striking graphics for the perfect Spring and Autumn training bib tight.
 

What's the construction of this?

Wondering what fabric (normal lycra through to winter-weight material) and whether its full-length to ankles.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Not winter weight (Roubaix) type fleecy backing but somwehere in between a thin summer and thicker winter weight lycra. Good down to 5 degrees in my experience.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
ZERO is the UK's leading electrolyte sports drink tab. It produces a clean-tasting and highly refreshing drink with zero calories. The tabs contain light natural flavours with no artificial colours or preservatives.
 

Sorbitol?

Is sorbitol listed as an ingredient? Or xylitol?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Had to get the magnifying glass out to read the ingredients!
Sorbitol and Sucralose are listed as the sweeteners.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

How to stop the material being so itchy?

I'm finding the material very itchy, apart from 'man up', how have others solved this?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Personally I haven't found mine itchy at all. It does depend on how you care for them. They need to be washed in a non bio detergent that's designed for easy care at a fairly low temperature and I hand wash mine. But then I do that with all my cycling gear anyway.
Chuck them in the washing machine with your normal washing and detergent and you're likely to experience problems.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

How long-bodied are these?

I find a lot of non-cycling tops ride up and expose the back on the bike.

This top doesn't look especially bike-specific.

Does anyone who knows what I'm talking own one of these and can comment?

Thanks for any help.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Depends on your upper body length I guess. You're right that they aren't bike specific and don't have a dropped tail but I find them reasonably long for me - about down to my hips. Although I'm fairly short in the body anyway. Someone who's taller may experience the problem you've mentioned.
I haven't had any problems when I've used them with normal waisted shorts and tights but mostly I wear with bib tights, so the risk of them riding up is reduced anyway.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 

Sorry to be crude but with the extra abdominal protection can I relieve myself by pulling them down at the front ie without half undressing?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A practical question always worth asking with bib tights in my opinion. The front zip allows you easy access for that, so no need to undress. Just be careful when using the zipper!!
4 years ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 

S vs M?

Hi,
173cm height, 82cm waist. 96cm chest.

Size chart seems to suggest small. I'm a medium/Euro3 in Santini, Bontrager, PI and Mavic bibs...

Thoughts?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm abut the same size as you, perhaps slightly more round the waist by a cm or two. I got a pair in Small and they are a good fit. Comfortable too.
4 years ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides. Engineered to a streamlined profile.
 

What size?

Chest 88cm Waist 77cm Height 1660mm
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
S if you want a baselayer underneath. XS if you don't.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides. Engineered to a streamlined profile.
 

I am 1.68m tall, chest measurement 1.00m. What size of jacket would recommend?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm slightly taller than you at 170cm but with a smaller chest at 96.5cm and the Small is tight. Depends if you want to wear a layer underneath or not. Consider the Medium for a 100cm if you don't want a base layer.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 

Does this have any windproofing?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No windproofing as such but it's a very close fabric. Coupled with the warm Roubaix backing it's pretty close to being windproof. I've worn this in sub zero (C) temperatures with a cnsiderable wind chill and not felf any wind though them on the legs apart from a slight cooling. The high zip front really helps keeping your waist and belly warm too.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK