GrahamA
Top 250 Contributor
Share GrahamA's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GrahamA's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    62
  • Helpfulness Votes
    51
  • First Review
    21 February 2012
  • Last Review
    28 January 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    3 September 2012
  • Last Question
    1 July 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    26
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Answer
    25 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    28 January 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    5
 
 
GrahamA's Reviews
<<< 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 >>>
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good clamp
Posted13 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" I needed a mount to attach my non Lezyne pump behind my bottle cage.
The size is exactly right and it fits neatly behind the cage and appears good quality.
One problem though is the velcro webbing strap that holds the pump securely into the mount is really not long enough if you're using a 26mm diameter pump. Strap could be another cm longer. It's long enough to engage the velcro to hold the pump in place but only just.
Having said that it hasn't fallen off yet.
"
Pros: Durable, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Section Short Sleeve Jersey
dhb Section Short Sleeve Jersey
A great value jersey with a full feature set. Constructed from high wicking fabrics with a soft finishing treatment, the Section Jersey features mesh vent panels, a silicone hem gripper and a slim fit. Ideal for sportives, training and leisure cycling.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good lightweight summer top
Posted29 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Nice looking top. Am a chunky 38inch chest but ordered the small in line withe with the size chart, so it's a snug fit.
It doesn't hold in the wobbly bits so if you have any they will show unless you get a much larger size. (good motivation to lose more weight and get trim).
Nice cooling side panels and overall very breathable. Dosn't 'wet out' with sweat.
Few minor niggles as per other reviews:
- Silicon gripper is only to back hem of shirt. Could have done
with being all round, although doesn't seem to ride up at front.
- Neck zip a bit too short - but that's my preference.
- Could do with more reflective features (not all summer rides
are in daylight)
- Central back phone pocket (great waterproof/resistant lining
though, which many don't have) is only just large enough to
take a Galaxy smartphone (without a protective case).
- Would have preferred a slightly longer length as scooped back
hem isn't that deep. But again it hasn't ridden up.
- Only worn a few times or shortish rides so can't vouch for the
quality or functionality issues over longer distances but no
problems so far.
Overall good value as usual for dhb products. "
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High5 Energy Drink is a new generation sports drink for use during exercise. It contains key electrolytes and a carbohydrate formulation of maltodextrin and fructose in a ratio of 2:1.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A good allrounder
Posted16 July 2013
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Does what it says on the tin. Keeps you hydrated and energised on long rides.
A little sweet for me personally but it's palatable enough and what I do like is that it doesn't leave any aftertaste.
Seems to be kind on the stomach as well. Haven't experienced any bloating or unpleasant side affects.
Mixing is easy enough and directions provided. Does take some shaking to get the all the powder to disolve.
Bought the 2.2kilo tub so value for money is competitive with other products too.
"
Pros: Great Value, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
The fighter raises the bar for sport level road shoes with an impressive palette of features from higher up the Northwave range. A ventilated upper with the SBS closure provides a secure fit while NRG carbon reinforced sole gives excellent power transfer
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Comfortable road shoe
Posted12 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Needed to replace a pair of cheap hand-me-downs and deliberated long and hard what to buy (thanks Wiggle for the great Review feature on your products).
A carbon insert sole for what was I felt to be a sensible price (this is my first 'proper' pair of road shoes) swung it for me.
The SBS buckle adjuster is great and was one of the features I wanted to ensure a good fit) and can be used when in the saddle for micro adjustments.
I take a UK size 8 (42 or 43 in trainers) but have a slim foot so Wiggle advised on a size 41. On trying them on I was initially worried they would be too tight but after having ridden for 40 miles in them with a few shorter rides of 10-12 miles I don't have any problems at all. Very comforable and provide a decent level of 'feel' and feedback from the pedals.
Improved power transfer is very noticeable and helps on the hills.
Seem to be well built and no issues with the quality.
Walking takes some getting used to as they only have a hard rubber heel tab and don't have the usal front posts at the toes to help protect the cleats. So wouldn't want to walk far in them and some surfaces could be a bit slippery.
Not over ventilated either in the sole unit (no obvious vents in toes or heels) so ideal for cooler UK days although may not be so good for warmer climates.
Overall am very pleased with the purchase so far.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Trasparente Due Wind Jersey
Castelli Trasparente Due Wind Jersey
A lightweight cycling jacket with a jersey fit. The Trasparente Due features a WINDSTOPPER® X-Lite Plus Fabric front panel for breathable weather protection with a high-wicking rear panel for cooling when your route starts to climb.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Excellent jersey
Posted26 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Great bit of kit. Ideal for cooler, windy rides although expect it might be too warm if temperature rises above 16 degrees.
I am a chunky 38/39 chest with 32inch waist and the Medium fits me perfectly, although slightly long in the arms.
Keeps the wind out with the front panels and I haven't got too hot in it yet. Ideal for Spring/Autumn and as I ride early in the morning, probably good for the UK summers too!
Only a couple of niggles for an item of this quality:
- chest pocket (large enough to take a Galaxy 3 smartphone) is mesh and so no protection of the contents from sweat.
- front zip doesn't have a wind baffle behind it (although that helps keep the air flowing).
- the front zip doesn't have a chin guard at the neck, although seems to be reasonably comfortable for me.
3 good sized rear pockets are handy and the materials aren't too heavy or bulky.
On balance a great product. Well designed, good quality and a nice trim fit and at tghe Wiggle special price, excellent value for money.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Padded Waist Tights
dhb Vaeon Padded Waist Tights
Cool weather padded waist tight suited to Autumn training rides. (dhb Vaeon - previously dhb PACE)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great cool weather tight
Posted11 June 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" I needed a pair of tights for cooler days/early mornings during Spring and Autumn (and at this rate Summer as well!). Despite other reviews commenting on the odd sizing I went ahead and ordered a Small (I have the Roubaix Winter version in small and they fit perfectly). I am a 32inch waist and 29inch inside leg. Legs are plenty long enough, almost too long and yes, due to the lighter weight fabric they do tend to feel baggy around the waist and bottom (and I'd consider myself chunky, not slim). I could have got away with the XS I think. Not sure what the issue is here; maybe too much fabric around the hips/bottom as they pull up quite high. A draw cord at the waist or a more compressing material in the hips/bottom might help.
Otherwise they're fine. Well padded and look good with nice touches on reflective ankle zips etc.
"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Multipower Iso Drink 735g
Multipower Iso Drink 735g
Iso Drink is an isotonic drink mix with a special carbohydrate matrix, l-carnitine, minerals and BCAAs for optimum hydration and energy supply.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value for money
Posted28 May 2013
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Pleasant tasting (Lemon) and not too sweet. Does take some care to mix thoroughly. I fill a bottle half full, add the powder, shake vigorously and gthen top the bottloe up. Also give it a goods shake before drinking to make sure nothign has settled.
Does leave a slightly biyter after taste but that doesn't last long.
Keeps me well hydrated on long rides.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
TORQ energy has been painstakingly formulated so that it delivers a unique blend of carbohydrate and electrolytes to the working muscles through a drink that is lightly flavoured, refreshing and most importantly natural.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does what it says on the tin
Posted5 May 2013
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Nice tasting, not sickly sweet and kind on the stomach at a sensible price. Taking a few gluggs of these every half an hour on 2.5hr rides see me through without the normal performance dip after 1.5-2hrs.
Recommemded.
"
Pros: High Quality, tasty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Continental quality road long valve inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good allrounder
Posted14 March 2013
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Bought these as replacement and emergency tubes. Bit alarmed when I inflated one of them to check for leaks and see how much they deformed but seems this can happen. Still, seems to work OK although I did have a bit of problem re-seating the tyre, but I suspect this was the rim/tyre rather than the tube that caused this.
Quality of the rubber does seem a bit thin though when compared with the Specialized it replaced.
No problems so far.
"
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Thermal Performance Road Cycle Glove
Thermal Performance Road Cycle Glove
An exceptionally designed and styled insulated, thermal, waterproof, breathable and windproof glove. Invaluable performance and protection on long autumn winter road rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good all rounder
Posted11 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromKent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Bought these to replace my Altura Nevis gloves which, in heavy rain, filled with water and left me riding with two water filled plastic bags on my hands. I haven't tried these Sealskinz in heavy rain yet but in sub-zero temperatures, light rain, sleet and wind they keep my digits toasty. Fit is good and were on the mark in terms of the size chart and they ooze quality. Not the most dexterous but they are a winter glove and work well. I can manage all the controls on my bike without problem. Good grip without having too much cushioning. Only con I have is they do get a bit sweaty and you need to take care when taking them off to grip the fingers at the ends otherwise you pull the fleece lining out and it's a job to get it all back in. Drying afterwards by standing them on a radiatior sorts them out though. "
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: not that breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
GrahamA's Questions
 
 Castelli Prologo 4 Short Sleeve Jersey
Castelli Prologo 4 Short Sleeve Jersey
The Castelli Prologo 4 Jersey creates that perfect balance between heritage styling and new construction with all the performance details to make it your favourite jersey. A timeless classic season after season.
 

Size of key pocket

Is the zippered key pocket lickely to be large enough to take a medium sized smartphone?
3 years, 5 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S II Folding Road Tyre Twin Pack
Continental Grand Prix 4000S II Folding Road Tyre Twin Pack
The Grand Prix 4000S has had a facelift. The 4000S II gets a Vectran breaker for unsurpassed puncture protection and Continentals advanced BlackChili compound for lower rolling resistance and increased grip.
 

Reflective sidewalls?

Does these have reflective print on the sidewall?
3 years, 8 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket - AW14
Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket - AW14
The Under Armour Storm Anchor Jacket is extremely durable but also lightweight. Great for colder weather runs providing the wearer with 360° reflectivity for low light conditions and back venting for breathability.
 

Weight?

Can you confirm the weight and approx packed size for this jacket please.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Aluminium Bolt for Cage M5x16mm (4pcs)
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
5 years, 4 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
Northwave Fighter SBS Road Shoes 2012
The fighter raises the bar for sport level road shoes with an impressive palette of features from higher up the Northwave range. A ventilated upper with the SBS closure provides a secure fit while NRG carbon reinforced sole gives excellent power transfer
 

Size for a UK8?

Hi. Am a (small) UK size 8. What size would you recommend for this shoe please?
5 years, 5 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Shimano MT33 SPD Leisure Shoes 2013
Multi-use sport touring shoe with a Multi-layer stretch resistant synthetic leather and mesh upper and glass fibre reinforced midsole for optimum sole rigidity.
 

Would these take winter overshoes

I've not yet migrated to cleats, preferring to stick with toe straps for the time being but would these, or any of the other similar touring/commuting shoes be Ok to take winter overshoes please?
6 years, 3 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
GrahamA's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Sportful Essential Windstopper Gloves
Sportful Essential Windstopper Gloves
The essential winter riding glove with warm Windstopper® back, fleece-lined palm, and dialed-in fit for great bar feel. Excellent wind resistance and breathability makes this glove your go to glove for all your winter riding.
 

Are they touch screen compatible? ¿Son compatibles con pantallas táctiles?. Thanks. Gracias.

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No. There are no conductive pads on the fingers.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Professional ASV Lycra Bib Tight
dhb Professional ASV Lycra Bib Tight
The ASV Lycra Bib Tight combines branded, highly technical fabrics and refined striking graphics for the perfect Spring and Autumn training bib tight.
 

What's the construction of this?

Wondering what fabric (normal lycra through to winter-weight material) and whether its full-length to ankles.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Not winter weight (Roubaix) type fleecy backing but somwehere in between a thin summer and thicker winter weight lycra. Good down to 5 degrees in my experience.
4 years ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
ZERO is the UK's leading electrolyte sports drink tab. It produces a clean-tasting and highly refreshing drink with zero calories. The tabs contain light natural flavours with no artificial colours or preservatives.
 

Sorbitol?

Is sorbitol listed as an ingredient? Or xylitol?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Had to get the magnifying glass out to read the ingredients!
Sorbitol and Sucralose are listed as the sweeteners.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

How to stop the material being so itchy?

I'm finding the material very itchy, apart from 'man up', how have others solved this?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Personally I haven't found mine itchy at all. It does depend on how you care for them. They need to be washed in a non bio detergent that's designed for easy care at a fairly low temperature and I hand wash mine. But then I do that with all my cycling gear anyway.
Chuck them in the washing machine with your normal washing and detergent and you're likely to experience problems.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

How long-bodied are these?

I find a lot of non-cycling tops ride up and expose the back on the bike.

This top doesn't look especially bike-specific.

Does anyone who knows what I'm talking own one of these and can comment?

Thanks for any help.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Depends on your upper body length I guess. You're right that they aren't bike specific and don't have a dropped tail but I find them reasonably long for me - about down to my hips. Although I'm fairly short in the body anyway. Someone who's taller may experience the problem you've mentioned.
I haven't had any problems when I've used them with normal waisted shorts and tights but mostly I wear with bib tights, so the risk of them riding up is reduced anyway.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 

Sorry to be crude but with the extra abdominal protection can I relieve myself by pulling them down at the front ie without half undressing?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A practical question always worth asking with bib tights in my opinion. The front zip allows you easy access for that, so no need to undress. Just be careful when using the zipper!!
4 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 

S vs M?

Hi,
173cm height, 82cm waist. 96cm chest.

Size chart seems to suggest small. I'm a medium/Euro3 in Santini, Bontrager, PI and Mavic bibs...

Thoughts?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm abut the same size as you, perhaps slightly more round the waist by a cm or two. I got a pair in Small and they are a good fit. Comfortable too.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides. Engineered to a streamlined profile.
 

What size?

Chest 88cm Waist 77cm Height 1660mm
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
S if you want a baselayer underneath. XS if you don't.
4 years, 8 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 dhb Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides. Engineered to a streamlined profile.
 

I am 1.68m tall, chest measurement 1.00m. What size of jacket would recommend?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm slightly taller than you at 170cm but with a smaller chest at 96.5cm and the Small is tight. Depends if you want to wear a layer underneath or not. Consider the Medium for a 100cm if you don't want a base layer.
4 years, 8 months ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK
 
 

Does this have any windproofing?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No windproofing as such but it's a very close fabric. Coupled with the warm Roubaix backing it's pretty close to being windproof. I've worn this in sub zero (C) temperatures with a cnsiderable wind chill and not felf any wind though them on the legs apart from a slight cooling. The high zip front really helps keeping your waist and belly warm too.
5 years ago
by
GrahamA
Kent, UK