Camposkull
Share Camposkull's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Camposkull's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    15 December 2010
  • Last Review
    23 December 2010
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    15 December 2010
  • Last Answer
    15 December 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Camposkull's Reviews
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great shoes
Posted23 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Camposkull
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I must have done about 2000 miles on these shoes now and will probably do plenty more - have no need to upgrade as they're plenty good. They look the part, fit well (although if you're often in between sizes, definitely go for the lower one) and give good power transference for the price.
The only gripes I have are that there is some loose metal in both soles that very occasionally rattles when walking (part of the cleat attachment mechanism I assume, and doesn't affect performance) and that I can't wear my overshoes when walking because the mini studs at the front rub on the road and damage the neoprene."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mini Master Blaster Pump with Gauge
Mini Master Blaster Pump with Gauge
A powerful multi purpose dual action mini pump includes an in-line guage.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Small but mighty(ish)
Posted23 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Camposkull
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've not actually had much need to use this over the year since I bought it, but on the odd occasion it's worked absolutely fine. It's good and small on the frame, and I quite often find myself just leaving it at the bottom of my bag because it's so unobtrusive (mostly me being lazy and not wanting to keep de/re-attaching it when I lock my bike up outside).
Because it's little you are never going to get full road tyre pressure out of it, but is plenty good to get you home to a proper pump.
Oh, and like the fact it's got a pressure meter."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Representing unbeatable value for money, the strong blaster coil lock combines the 14mm thick, flexible cable of the Millennio phantom with the rugged lock body of the steel-o-flex 860. It also features a self locking mechanism for ease of use.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Decent secondary lock
Posted23 December 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Camposkull
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I actually leave this lock attached to one of the bike loops under a bridge, where I lock my bike every day for work. Probably a good thing as is quite bulky if you wanted to carry it around with you. I only use it to lock the front wheel as I have a much more heavy duty one for the frame and read wheel - and for this job it's fine.
A couple of things to note though...
After being left outside for a year or so, the locking/unlocking action isn't as smooth as it once was, but suppose you would expect some degradation. It still works but can take a few extra seconds my ice cold fingers would prefer it not to.
Also, it's quite cumbersome to use because it's coiled tight and likes to spring back. If you're not careful the heavy end can jump back and ding your frame. Done it a couple of times when wearing gloves and always makes me wince.
And it's not long enough to do both front and back wheels at the same time, unless you want to put what I would consider too much stress on the lock and your wheels.
But still, like I said, works fine as a secondary lock. And was cheap enough that I don't mind leaving it outside."
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Bulky
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
What Mountain Bike's Gold Award winner, Green Oil wet chain lube is suitable for all riding conditions, whether riding over rocks, or just to the shops. Destroy limits, not nature!
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Decent enough if you want to go green
Posted23 December 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Camposkull
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I tend to prefer buying more environmentally friendly products when the option is there so had a punt on this oil. In normal use it works well enough, but needs more frequent reapplications than other oils I've used, and I ended up with a lot of cack to clean out of my cassette when I finally manned up and did it. Obviously can't blame this entirely on the oil, but think it played a part, as I've switched back to a teflon product and am not suffering nearly the same amount of build up despite riding in the same conditions."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Performance 650ml/22oz Water Bottle
Performance 650ml/22oz Water Bottle
Runners, cross trainers or athletes can now drink more easily with CamelBak's Performance bottle. Produced from TruTaste polypropylene, the squeezable sides and internal straw allow you to drink fast without having to tip the bottle up. Including a lockable self sealing bite valve and transparent fuel gauge, Performance bottles are also top rack dishwasher safe.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good solid water bottle
Posted23 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Camposkull
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've got a couple of these now and can just about fit them both on to my road bike frame (56). I like the fact you don't have to tilt your head back to drink so never have to take your eyes off the road or the person in front of you. The handle also makes it easy to pull out of your bottle holder - it needs this as is really quite a tight fit.
The downside is its length - it makes it hard to get out of a holder on the vertical tube, so I usually switch the bottles over when not moving after I've finished the first one. But then that's not a massive issue in normal use and standard bottles aren't that much easier to get out.
It's also missing any markings on the side for making up your psp or whatever (not that anyone actually pays any attention to this stuff really).
Oh, and they look good, which is obviously massively important on your sexy bike."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality
Cons: Bulky, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Streamer Tube Insulator
Streamer Tube Insulator
An insulating lining for deuter streamer hydration tubes to guard against freezing in extreme cold conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Struggles when seriously cold
Posted15 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Camposkull
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this for snowboarding and it definitely helps stop my hydration pack tube from icing up under normal use. The main problems start because I do a lot of freestyle and if you land on you back and force water down the tube without noticing, it can quickly freeze up the zip mech so you can't get into it - or if you've left it slightly open (it is thirsty work) the nozzle on the tube freezes.
But having said that, can't think of anything that would stop this, and I keep using it. In other words, perfect for more chilled out riders, and just about ok for us others than tend to push it harder and therefore fall over a lot. Know we're likely to be in the minority so only docked one star on performance."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Analysis, inspiration and innovation are the key words behind the development of the Tao, the Tacx superlight streamlined bottle cage. The shape of the bike and its technical components inspired the designers.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works a charm
Posted15 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Camposkull
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Very lightweight (without being carbon) and looks the part on my black road bike - and has lasted two years now with regular use. You do need to be a bit careful when unpacking and installing as it is really quite easy to bend, but as long as you don't have giant oaf hands you should be fine."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Camposkull's Questions
 
Camposkull has not submitted any questions.
 
Camposkull's Answers
 
Analysis, inspiration and innovation are the key words behind the development of the Tao, the Tacx superlight streamlined bottle cage. The shape of the bike and its technical components inspired the designers.
 

Suitable for mountain biking?

All references I've seen for this bottle are related to road bikes. Has anyone used them for mountain biking? I'm wondering they'll grip the bottle tight enough on rough trails.
User submitted photo
I've got a camelback bottle and it grips it plenty tight - you'd probably have to jump off a cliff to dislodge it by accident.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Camposkull
London