Dassie3
Top 100 Contributor
Share Dassie3's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Dassie3's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    56
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    23 December 2010
  • Last Review
    26 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    20 August 2013
  • Last Question
    20 August 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    36
  • Helpfulness Votes
    10
  • First Answer
    06 January 2012
  • Last Answer
    30 November 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
Dassie3's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
Replacement flip chuck (Road (HP)). The Air Bleed System (ABS) is an in-line air pressure release valve built into Lezyne Flip-Thread Chucks and Flex Hoses.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The missing component from Lezyne floor pumps
Posted26 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Dassie3
fromChichester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I was very impressed with the Lezyne system of screwing the connector to Presta valves. However it had the unfortunate side effect of removing the valve cores when unscrewing the connector.
All this has been fixed by their ABS technology, although it does seem a bit overpriced.
The new chuck is slightly longer than the standard component and doesn't 'park' as well as its predecessor.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Chain Cleaner is an active cleaner/degreaser suitable for the chain and drivetrain components. This degreaser is used by several professional teams.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
An excellent degreaser
Posted30 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dassie3
fromChichester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've used both paraffin and various citrus cleaners in the past but this outperforms all of them."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 ProGel Mitts Short Finger Gloves
ProGel Mitts Short Finger Gloves
Performance cycling gloves with ergonomically positioned gel padding for even pressure distribution and vibration absorption.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A well padded track mitt
Posted19 June 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dassie3
fromChichester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"After my comfortable Endura gloves fell apart, I have been looking for an affordable replacement.
These have even more gel and really absorb the shocks. They feel very light and are easy to remove. 4 months later, I have no regrets.
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
RaceBlades - the innovative new guard for all race bikes. Almost invisible, this new guard system is the problem solution for all road racers looking for a functional but lightweight guard (225g for the complete set front and rear).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A winter solution for low clearance road bikes
Posted19 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Dassie3
fromChichester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"On joining my local road club for winter rides, I realised that I was supposed to fit mudguards out of consideration for my fellow riders. Opinions were split between Crud RoadRacer Mk2 and SKS Race Blades.
The Blades seemed to be a better product although they didn't keep the spray off the front mech like the Cruds. Both systems successfully keep following riders dry and prevent a muddy stripe up your back.
I found the initial fitting was a bit fiddly but once set up they are very easy re-fit. After further fine tuning I have screwed the mudguards to their brackets as recommended.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Heatgear Full Tee AW12
Heatgear Full Tee AW12
New ergonomic fit adds to an overall comfort by reducing abrasion in high impact areasHeatGear® moisture transport ensures fast drying performance that keeps you coolDelivered in our signature compression fit for bolstered muscle support and increased circulation resulting in higher efficiency ...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good, warm light compression tee
Posted17 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dassie3
fromChichester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This kept me warm on the coldest winter days under my dhb jersey. During the cool summer evenings it keeps me comfortable and dry under a skinsuit during time trials."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Winter Sock Bundle - 3 Pack
Winter Sock Bundle - 3 Pack
Heavyweight winter cycling sock, with Thermolite polyester fibers aimed to keep you as warm as possible, in crisp cold conditions. This bundle contains three pairs in each of the different colours so you can match your socks to your kit theme.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good cheap winter socks
Posted17 June 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dassie3
fromChichester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Kept me warm through the winter. Well cushioned and have often used them for running.
They aren't as warm or as light as the dhb Merino sock but what do you expect for the price?
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Turn your bike into more than a fair-weather friend with the help of a Mag trainer. The perfect solution to getting in a ride when it's too cold, wet or dark to go outside, the Mag sets up quickly and easily for on-the-spot spins.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
An excellent entry level turbo
Posted17 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dassie3
fromChichester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is my first turbo and I don't regret opting for the base model without the remote resistance adjuster. I leave it on the level 3 of 5 and simply use my gears.
The initial setup was straight forward despite the obscure instructions, subsequently it only takes a few seconds to change the skewers and fit the bike.
It is solidly made and remains stable even when sprinting, then folds flat for easy storage.
My ancient Garmin Forerunner 50 monitors cadence, speed and heart rate data and a laptop supplies the entertainment.
The wheel size adjustment would let me use my MTB although I would probably need to change the nobbly tyres.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Gel Anti Vibration System is a special shaped padding made of "Technical Gel" which can be placed on the surface of the bars or over the grooves.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
That little extra padding
Posted17 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
Dassie3
fromChichester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I added these to my aero-bars and elbow pads under Cinelli Gel Cork Bar Tape. This has cured the bruised arms on the elbow pads and numb hands on the aero-bars from our appalling 'top dressed' local roads.
I needed to cut the gel pads to fit the elbow pads and was very relieved that they didn't leak.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Versatile
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
More elasticity, more comfort and the highest shock absorbing properties thanks to Vibra Absorb.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A bar tape that really works
Posted17 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dassie3
fromChichester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have successfully added this to my aero-bars on top of Cinelli AVS Gel Pads to prevent numb hands.
I also used this combination to beef up the elbow pads.
I am so impressed that I am going to re-tape my touring bike with this tape over gel pads.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These screw-on end caps provide a secure hold to all tapes when tightened up.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Secure reasonably priced bar-caps
Posted17 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dassie3
fromChichester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I always used this design until they became unobtainable and subsequently I have lost push-on bar caps on a regular basis. Thank you for supplying this excellent product."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Dassie3's Questions
 
 Wiggle White Peak - 84 Miles
Wiggle White Peak - 84 Miles
Stunning Peak District scenery, autumn woodland colours of amber and gold and babbling brooks. Step in!
 

September 13th or October 13th?

Is this September 13th as on Wiggle details or (Sunday) October 13th as on the poster graphic?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Dassie3
Chichester
 
Dassie3's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
Chain Cleaner is an active cleaner/degreaser suitable for the chain and drivetrain components. This degreaser is used by several professional teams.
 

Does the product come with a spray head?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes, mine did. However I prefer to apply it with as brush.
11 months ago
by
Dassie3
Chichester
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

How do i know which inner tube to choose? I have no idea what all these numbers mean other than 700 wheel size. My road bike tyres are 700/23. Thank

Best answer
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
There is only one suitable tyre and it will be the "Presta 42mm 700x20-25 Race 28"
700 refers to your Metric wheel size and 23 means the the rim is 23mm wide thus 700x20-25 will fit a rim between 20mm and 25mm wide.
I believe that the 28 refers to the old imperial wheel size which is the equivalent of 700mm.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Dassie3
Chichester
 
Heavyweight, neoprene, overshoe for deep Winter use. Tough TPU skin means rain won’t penetrate and thick neoprene gives the best level of insulation against the cold.
 

Which size will fit?

I have MTB Sidi shoes of the 42nd size. What size will fit me more better?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I would suggest Medium as recommended by Wiggle for Size 42 because Small fits a Shimano MTB shoe in size 40 very tightly.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Dassie3
Chichester
 
Heavyweight, neoprene, overshoe for deep Winter use. Tough TPU skin means rain won’t penetrate and thick neoprene gives the best level of insulation against the cold.
 

Sizing

i am an 8.5 road sohe. Would i better going for the small or medium fit in the extreme weather DHB overshoes.

Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I would suggest Medium as recommended by Wiggle for Size 8.5 (EU 42) because Small fits size EU40 .
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Dassie3
Chichester
 
The dhb Merino cycling sock has a slim and lightweight feel but offers exceptional warmth to weight ratio.
 

Warmer than the thermo-sock?

I already have a pair of the dhb thermo-socks. Are these merino socks any warmer?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
After reading this, I bought a pack of three Winter Thermo socks. I thought that these were slightly less warm than the Merino socks. This difference was significant when wet.
Merino wool has very poor wear characteristics so I look forward to seeing how much difference the 10% synthetics make to these socks.
 
Products from my answer
 
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Dassie3
Chichester
 
The dhb Merino cycling sock has a slim and lightweight feel but offers exceptional warmth to weight ratio.
 

What's the ankle length?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
12cm from mid-point of the medial maleolus to the top of the sock.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Dassie3
Chichester
 
The Zoggs Predator Goggle provide an excellent degree of visibility to swimmers who demand only the highest performance from their goggle. Featuring a large, ergonomic frame, and a range of cutting edge technology to boost comfort and performance.
 

Which one has the clear lens?

I can't tell from the drop down which refers to a clear frame, or which refers to the clear lens.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Blue/Silver/Clear
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Dassie3
Chichester
 
The Zoggs Predator Goggle provide an excellent degree of visibility to swimmers who demand only the highest performance from their goggle. Featuring a large, ergonomic frame, and a range of cutting edge technology to boost comfort and performance.
 

Which option comes with the blue lens, blue/silver/clear or clear/blue/silver?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I ordered 'Blue/Silver/Clear' and received goggles with blue lenses.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Dassie3
Chichester
 
Great value touring SPD pedal with all new lightweight and stylish body.
 

How to get out?

I like the look of these but how do you twist out of them? Although I am getting these for a trip I would plan on using them for my 6 mile commute t work, and I'm worried that these will be too hard t twist out of in emergencies.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
You can adjust the release tension, but the default setting releases with a simple sideways movement of the heel.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Dassie3
Chichester
 
Great value touring SPD pedal with all new lightweight and stylish body.
 

Single direction release?

I currently have a pair of shimano SPd shoes for my Mtb and looking to add pedals to my recently purchased road bike! Are the cleats supplied single direction release or is it the pedal itself?
I read on a review that someone had to turn their foot toward the frame of the bike rather than away from it which I currently do on my mtb, turning towards the frame doesn't fill me with much confidence in the middle of traffic should i need to put a foot down quickly.

Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
The release is a function of the cleat and not the pedal. All Shimano cleats (SH51,SH52 & SH56) release by twisting your foot outwards (or inwards) but the SH56 allows you to roll your foot as well.
These pedals were supplied with SH51 cleats.
Although theoretically possibly, I do not understand why anybody would want to twist their foot inwards to release.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Dassie3
Chichester