Uberdude
Top 500 Contributor
Share Uberdude's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Uberdude's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    52
  • Helpfulness Votes
    14
  • First Review
    13 June 2009
  • Last Review
    18 April 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    02 April 2010
  • Last Answer
    29 May 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Uberdude's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
The Arena Cobra Mirror goggle is packed with features and technology to help you reach your maximum potential in the water. Designed to protect your eyes against chlorine, UV rays, and even the kicks of other swimmers.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Effective enough
Posted18 April 2017
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Although these goggles do the job, they are my back-up currently as my main ones (Fastskin) are simply more comfortable to me. When you're swimming over long time periods, you don't want to be reminded that you're wearing goggles! These have a fantastic colour skew when you enter the pool - they will definitely brighten up your swim, everything simply looks better! The downside is that they can be a little tight on the eyes. The quality is great, can't fault them for that but they tend to steam up a little quicker / more often than expected too. Good enough but I think I'll stick to the comfort vs the 0.00000000001 second speed advantage! Always good to have a spare pair of goggles with you though!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Get the best angle on the action with the Garmin Chest Strap Mount for VIRB X & VIRB XE. Elasticated adjustable straps make it easy to get the perfect fit every time.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
does the job
Posted18 April 2017
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I opted for this accessory over that of using the helmet mounts due to the position and control you can have. Obviously, you're not limited to wearing a helmet doing various activities with one of these. I find it easy enough to get on and off, clip in and out the camera (after pre-mounting). It is fairly robust in the build and when it's on, it stays where it is, not a lot of bouncing around - unless you've got it loose.
There are a couple of downsides but not a real issue. One is that the straps can come free from the 'hooks' they are mounted on - easy enough to put back on though and do stay in place while on, it's more when trying to get it on and it's twisted! The other is that the plastic mount at the front seems a little bigger than necessary, but if it wasn't it may bounce around, very hard to tell. Overall it was definitely worth it, use it a lot just for commuting and the shots are quite decent - not too much movement, especially as the Ultra has stabilisation.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Good Fit, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
K-EDGE GO BIG Handlebar Mount is designed to lock your GoPro™ camera securely on your handlebars with rock solid reliability.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good quality, solid build
Posted18 April 2017
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought to attach my Virb Ultra 30 to the Road Bike. Does the job, just about managed to sneak it underneath the tri bars too, although the footage shows my brake cables! Anyhow, plenty of scope for handlebar size and plenty of thread to accommodate this. These are not cheap items but are good quality, I feel it will last a long time, certainly gives you more confidence in it being metal instead of some plastic cheaper options. Holds the camera steady, any vibration is from the road / bike etc, not in from the construction of this. Just hope they build some more in the future where you can have better adjustments for the camera i.e. rotation or taller / longer stems that are interchangeable etc so you can get a better overall camera position."
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Speedo Fastskin3 Elite Mirror Goggle 2016
Speedo Fastskin3 Elite Mirror Goggle 2016
Maximum comfort, a hydrodynamic profile and wide peripheral vision with less head movement make the Elite Goggle a key weapon in the armoury of the serious swimmer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best, most reliable goggles I've owned
Posted11 October 2016
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is my second pair of these goggles. The only reason I buy quite a lot of goggles is that I'm constantly scratching them / general wear and tear from not looking after them properly really. BUT, these have been faithful, I've looked after them - great anti-fog properties even after months worth of abuse, various triathlons and everyday dossing with the kids in the pool. The best feature about these is the comfort factor, they fit me well and never seem too tight on the eyes. I'll be purchasing some more soon no doubt!"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Northwave Sonic SRS Road Shoes
Northwave Sonic SRS Road Shoes
Perfect for the enthusiast, the Sonic SRS is packed with professional technology to give you that extra edge. Reinforced carbon sole for improved stiffness and the S.R.S Ratchet system for increased rider comfort all make for a shoe that delivers.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Slippy!
Posted29 May 2015
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"After using SPD's for all my bikes, I gave these a try - great lightweight shoe, comfortable, easy to adjust but there are 2 main points to be aware of:
1 - very slippy shoes on smooth surfaces - i.e. laminate wood, concrete floors, tiles etc - avoid !
2- similarly, if you don't get your foot clipped in the pedal first time, expect your foot to slip right off and expect a wobble!!
So, they are good but when setting off at lights etc, ensure you set off with enough impetus to give you time to get your foot in!!!
I'm a standard size 8 in all my other footwear, these fit perfect and the label inside say EUR 42 / UK 8.5 / US 9.5 / CM 27.3 ."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Look Keo Easy Pedals
Look Keo Easy Pedals
The Look Keo Easy pedal is for anyone looking for a simple, reliable system. Great for starting out on Clipless pedals as they are easy to get in and out of.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Basic but suitable
Posted29 May 2015
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've always used SPD's to cross over for my MTB and road bike, but with a bit of spare birthday cash I decided to go the Look route.
So, my first experience of them = certainly nowhere near as easy as SPD's that are double sided, no need to look down! Takes a lot of getting used to having to get your foot in the exact position to slot in - the pedals may not hang at the perfect angle and due to the shoes / cleats I have too, makes it difficult to set off - if you miss the first time, my particular shoes (Northwaves - another review) will slip off and I'll be all over the road - not good when setting off in traffic! Takes a lot of getting used to but once clipped in you're fine, not sure how long they will last as they aren't as tough as metal spds, bound to get scratched all over, but otherwise value for money.
"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
 
The PC-951 9 speed chain is SRAM's most economical PowerChain while still maintaining their high standards of quality. Like all PowerChain II chains, the PC-951 uses chrome hardened rivet pins for increased durability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
always trustworthy
Posted29 May 2015
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Been using SRAM chains for years now and never had an issue, can't fault them."
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Featuring revolutionary IQ Fit Technology, based on global head scanning data, Speedo Aquapure Goggles have been designed to deliver precision fit, ultimate comfort and maximum leak-resistance, affording you total confidence in your performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great pair of updated goggles
Posted17 January 2015
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've been using Speedo's since day one, now it took a while to find a pair that actually fitted my head comfortably and didn't leak every time I turned my head! So, I've been using either speedsockets or aquasockets which have been perfect. Time for a change, speedos, new fitting tech, why not? Admittedly I thought they looked a little chunky when I opened them, never a good look, but on the head, they look perfectly fine. Never had white before either, so a bold change for myself. Straight into the pool, they are great, no leaks, no fogging (as expected with new goggles) and even better, they didn't leave half as much rings around my eyes after 45 mins of swimming. My only issue is with the strap adjustment - although a great new feature (previously had chopped down the extra strap flapping about), there is only enough tension to keep them stuck in place - if you remove them say during sets, you may have to re-tighten / adjust back to a tighter fit; they seem to come slightly undone when ou take them off your head. Other than that, a great new pair of goggles for the foreseeable future at a decent price too."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Hilly Photon Anklet is a mid-weight cushioned training anklet. Highly visible design with CoolMAX technology to improve ventilation and flexibility.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
super bright, good sock, not for all
Posted17 January 2015
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have a few pairs of Hilly's and these are my latest addition. Typically good fit, but slightly thicker than anticipated, so similar to another pair I've just purchased, I would suggest not to be used in summer. I've worn these in the Gym on the treadmill and they are ok, some may find them too warm. I have one gripe with these, that is the top part, where the hole is - it isn't elasticated to a great extent and you really have to shove your foot in. All the other ones I have are fine but this is quite annoying as far as socks go!"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Unadjustable, Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Hilly Cushion Anklet
Hilly Cushion Anklet
The Hilly Cushion Anklet is a cushioned, wicking, thermocool anklet. With superior underfoot cushioning this sock helps to prevent blisters, absorb shocks and provide ventilation and breathability.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
quality as usual
Posted17 January 2015
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"good basic running sock - definitely for out door use. Slightly thicker than a couple of previous mono skins I have purchased but will no doubt last. These will keep your feet in good condition and warm during spring / autumn / winter runs but they will be far too warm for indoor or summer use. A great basic sock for anyone who runs."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Uberdude's Questions
 
Uberdude has not submitted any questions.
 
Uberdude's Answers
 
 Look Keo Easy Pedals
Look Keo Easy Pedals
The Look Keo Easy pedal is for anyone looking for a simple, reliable system. Great for starting out on Clipless pedals as they are easy to get in and out of.
 

Are these pedals suitable for recovery following ankle ligament damage?

I recently had surgery for broken ankle after coming off my road bike. I had plate and screws inserted and also tore the ligaments off the inside of my ankle and damaged the tendons. My surgeon says I can go back on my bike once cast off but not to use clip in pedals as ligaments won't be strong enough. I'm not enthusiastic about using trainers! I wonder if these pedals are easy enough to come out of without putting pressure on damaged tissue?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Most clip in pedals have some degree of adjustment, as do these, the tension in the spring can be reduced so it takes less pressure to twist your ankle to get out. As to how much they can be reduced for your comfort - You are the only person who will be able to tell what's right - personally if I were to be in your position, I'd simply consider using your stronger leg for taking out when having to pause / stop while leaving one (weaker) foot clipped in. Then when you're done - assuming your ankle isn't aching anyway, use your hand to pull / assist the shoe out! carry on until your ankle is back to normal!
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester
 
 

Does the strap fit a child?

I have an 11 year old boy that I think would benefit from this strap but I need to know if it wold fit.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
An 11 year old with knee issues should really be seeing a medical professional - not a good idea to try something like this at that age, not fully developed etc. Could do more harm than good.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 

Is there a weight limit for this turbo trainer?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'm sure there would be, but I bet it is robust enough if you can take your bike out and that can handle it.
5 years, 2 months ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester
 
 Vittoria Rubino Pro Folding Clincher Tyre
Vittoria Rubino Pro Folding Clincher Tyre
The popular all-rounder Rubino Pro has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres are robust and have a 150 TPI nylon casing, & a technical tread pattern + a long life tread compound.
 

What does folding mean?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
As far as I'm aware, its the way in which its stored, although it can have a wire rim in it, it is flexible enough to be folded - you'll see this on ordering one, some people like to carry spare tyres around for some reason (Maybe if touring) so a folding tyre is of great benefit versus one that can't be folded.
5 years, 7 months ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester
 
 Sirius Soft Gel Folding Magnetic Turbo Trainer
Sirius Soft Gel Folding Magnetic Turbo Trainer
Tacx launches a new innovation! The Sirius is a striking cycletrainer featuring a "silent" action.
 

tacx sirius trainer

I'm confused about when I should be using the plastic extension parts. One part of instructions says it's to do with the wheel diameter while the other part says they're used with hybrid/MYB tyres.
Can anyone clarify please. Do I need to use the extensions with a standard 700 road wheel?
Thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No, should clip right in, mine does. Any extensions are for other types of bikes, not the standard road bike.
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester
 
 Mens Comp Tri Short SS10
Mens Comp Tri Short SS10
A versatile 2XU garment suited to all swim, bike and run disciplines. Fine gauge SBR SKIN for speed through water and quick drying convenience. A contoured fit provides muscle support while seams and fabric stretch offer freedom of movement. SENSOR MESH X ventilation panels promote airflow in ...
 

Do these have a rear pocket?

The 2xu website states that this model has a rear pocket (but no side pockets).

http://www.2xu.com/triathlon/nhrange/mt1626b.html

However one of your reviewers states that these shorts have no pockets.

Can you clarify the pocket situation for me please.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No pockets.
7 years, 1 month ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester