Uberdude
Top 500 Contributor
Share Uberdude's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Uberdude's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    40
  • Helpfulness Votes
    10
  • First Review
    13 June 2009
  • Last Review
    30 September 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    02 April 2010
  • Last Answer
    13 September 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Uberdude's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
 TYR Warmwear Swim Cap
TYR Warmwear Swim Cap
Constructed from elastic polyurethane for durability and comfort. Ideal for Triathletes, Open water and fitness swimmers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Did the job!
Posted30 September 2014
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"First Open water swim this year was pretty cold - and a shock to a newbie, however this kept my head visible and warm enough. Once you get over the cold water shock, you warm up with the swim movement. Even in warmer temperatures, this is fine, you're not likely to sweat but it simply provides that extra protection you need in cold water. Cold start to the year was 10 degrees - fine for that! Fit was fine too, bit thinner than I expected but if you're unsure, stick another cap on too!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Pack of 5 inner tubes. The Vittoria road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels. Medium weight road inner tube with 2 valve length choices, 42mm or 51mm for deeper section rims.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
top quality, lightweight
Posted30 September 2014
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Simply great value for money, lightweight inner tubes."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
EXCLUSIVE TO WIGGLE! The TRN Thermo sets a new standard for Orca and the industry in the entry level triathlon and open water swim wetsuit range.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Why pay more?
Posted30 September 2014
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great starter wetsuit - and without knowing what a stupidly expensive one can offer, I can't fault this one, it did the job for my open water swims - the first one being in 10 degree water, perfectly fine (hands and feet get cold obviously!) but what a great piece of kit for the price. The fit was perfect too - I'm 5'9" , athletic build, and this is great - size 6. All I can recommend is to get an anti-chaffe stick too - my neck was raw after the first use!!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Zaffiro Pro Folding Tyre (Twin Pack)
Zaffiro Pro Folding Tyre (Twin Pack)
Zaffiro (Twinpack) is recognised everywhere as the training tyre for the serious rider.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
quality and value
Posted13 October 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
User submitted photo
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"On special offer, pack of two tyres from the Vittoria range under £20 is great value.
My previous tyres were the rubino pro's but I managed to get a gash in one. For a lower thread count and marginal increase in weight, at half the price I couldn't say no! Going off the quality of the previous ones, I thought I'd give these a try. Not had an issue with them so far and I'm guessing I won't be disappointed as they are nearly identical otherwise - I did buy these in white though to pimp my ride a little, but white really isn't a great colour choice if you're lazy like me and don't clean your bike too often! They appear off-white rather than bright white, but still good enough! No need to pay extortionate amounts on tyres - these will do fine for basic road riding requirements in various weather conditions."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This adjustable strap is designed to improve patellar tracking and elevation by applying mild pressure on the tendon below the kneecap. This helps reduce the effects caused by frequent running and jumping and provides relief from chondromalacia.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Wasn't for me
Posted13 September 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"After suffering from knee issues (as a lot of people who reviewed this do) I tried it, felt fine during my run, but as soon as I'd taken it off, excruciating pain in the kneecap - this is what I'd had before I had surgery 18 months ago, clearly shifting the patella to an extent that didn't do me any favours - so I can't really say it worked - this just shows the range of knee problems that can occur - take note, it may not work for you! Worth a try though!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 SealSkinz Performance Road Cycle Glove
SealSkinz Performance Road Cycle Glove
An exceptionally designed and styled waterproof, breathable and windproof glove providing all round protection from the weather.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Needs a bit more thought
Posted02 March 2012
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Ok, waterproof, not a problem.
They are good gloves, but like most serious outdoors people, I've been through a lot of pairs trying to find the right ones for the right occasion.
These simply aren't good enough for really cold winter sessions, even with lining gloves the wind pierces them more than I would have expected. No binding for the cuffs to tighten is a little annoying too. Grip and comfort / fit is fine, however, getting them off is awkward too, need to grip the fingers to ensure you don't pull them inside out - I've done this with previous other gloves and it was impossible to get them back to normal.
They would be ok if a lot cheaper, sealskinz have good products but this is a little under par versus some of the others they have done."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Not Enough Features, Limited Color Choices
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
 
 Powersprint Placement Panel Jammer
Powersprint Placement Panel Jammer
Designed to last longer, Endurance®+ is an exclusive Speedo fabric which is 100% chlorine-resistant, resists snagging and fading 20 times longer than any other swim fabric. This also features 4 way stretch technology for added softness and comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Another good purchase
Posted02 March 2012
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Been looking for a while to find another pair of jammer shorts, my previous speedo's are still perfectly fine, but I certainly required another pair.
Looking about, there didn't seem to be a lot that appealed with the same previous, plain(ish) design I was after.
The fit is exactly the same, and they are just right for what I need. I'd love a pair off the LZR line but I couldn't justify it, so these are about the best value for money I could find. I don't mind trying new brands / products, but all I wanted was a simple replacement / spare pair, and these are every bit as good as the last ones - they have lasted for a long while (>2 years), so I expect these to do the same.
Very pleased."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A full spectrum recovery product for periods of intense training. Use immediately after exercise to help your body adapt to increased training demands and strengthen as quickly as possible.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good product, mixes well
Posted06 October 2011
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Not the best protein recovery drink I've had, but the flavour is pretty good compared to some. Not too sweet either, quite chocolaty but not a pure choc taste. It mixes quite well but some grains are left in if you are prone to chewing your drinks!
I prefer to use slightly less water to achieve a gloopy consistency. Quite good, but a little on the expensive side compared to some alternatives with better flavours, whether one is better than the other technically its pretty much impossible to evaluate, but I prefer to have a drink after my workouts that should provide some nutritional benefit to nothing!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 1W LED Front Light
1W LED Front Light
The Lifeline 1 Watt LED provides you with a simple solution to night time illumination, bright enough to be seen in city traffic, or used as a back up to your high power rechargeable systems.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple and effective
Posted06 October 2011
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great piece of basic kit. Only using for road commuting on short trips. Easy to set up and adjust, however the quick release clamp may be difficult to fit on some handlebars and your cables may be in the way a little. The only down side is that you can't point it in the exact direction you want - i.e. my MTB handlebars are slanted so the light is at an angle and not pointing in the direction of travel. A great little light though."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Water-resistant, superslim, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting, directional LEDs. Low battery warning indicator. Visible up to 600 metres.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great compact safety!
Posted06 October 2011
User submitted photo
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Just simply a great piece of essential kit for winter riding. Great price too, and I assume it will fit somewhere acceptable on most bikes, the wrap around style mount is a bit dubious at first but its hanging in there perfectly! Not had loads of hours of use out of it yet so can't comment on battery life but I'll assume its pretty good. I may buy another just for the fun of it as its such a great complimentary piece of kit."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Uberdude's Questions
 
Uberdude has not submitted any questions.
 
Uberdude's Answers
 
This adjustable strap is designed to improve patellar tracking and elevation by applying mild pressure on the tendon below the kneecap. This helps reduce the effects caused by frequent running and jumping and provides relief from chondromalacia.
 

Does the strap fit a child?

I have an 11 year old boy that I think would benefit from this strap but I need to know if it wold fit.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
An 11 year old with knee issues should really be seeing a medical professional - not a good idea to try something like this at that age, not fully developed etc. Could do more harm than good.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 

Is there a weight limit for this turbo trainer?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'm sure there would be, but I bet it is robust enough if you can take your bike out and that can handle it.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester
 
The popular all-rounder Rubino Pro has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres are robust and have a 150 TPI nylon casing, & a technical tread pattern + a long life tread compound.
 

What does folding mean?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
As far as I'm aware, its the way in which its stored, although it can have a wire rim in it, it is flexible enough to be folded - you'll see this on ordering one, some people like to carry spare tyres around for some reason (Maybe if touring) so a folding tyre is of great benefit versus one that can't be folded.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester
 
 Sirius Soft Gel Folding Magnetic Turbo Trainer
Sirius Soft Gel Folding Magnetic Turbo Trainer
Tacx launches a new innovation! The Sirius is a striking cycletrainer featuring a "silent" action.
 

tacx sirius trainer

I'm confused about when I should be using the plastic extension parts. One part of instructions says it's to do with the wheel diameter while the other part says they're used with hybrid/MYB tyres.
Can anyone clarify please. Do I need to use the extensions with a standard 700 road wheel?
Thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No, should clip right in, mine does. Any extensions are for other types of bikes, not the standard road bike.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester
 
 Mens Comp Tri Short SS10
Mens Comp Tri Short SS10
A versatile 2XU garment suited to all swim, bike and run disciplines. Fine gauge SBR SKIN for speed through water and quick drying convenience. A contoured fit provides muscle support while seams and fabric stretch offer freedom of movement. SENSOR MESH X ventilation panels promote airflow in ...
 

Do these have a rear pocket?

The 2xu website states that this model has a rear pocket (but no side pockets).

http://www.2xu.com/triathlon/nhrange/mt1626b.html

However one of your reviewers states that these shorts have no pockets.

Can you clarify the pocket situation for me please.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No pockets.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester