Uberdude
Top 500 Contributor
Share Uberdude's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Uberdude's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    45
  • Helpfulness Votes
    10
  • First Review
    13 June 2009
  • Last Review
    17 January 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    02 April 2010
  • Last Answer
    13 September 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Uberdude's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
Featuring revolutionary IQ Fit Technology, based on global head scanning data, Speedo Aquapure Goggles have been designed to deliver precision fit, ultimate comfort and maximum leak-resistance, affording you total confidence in your performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great pair of updated goggles
Posted17 January 2015
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've been using Speedo's since day one, now it took a while to find a pair that actually fitted my head comfortably and didn't leak every time I turned my head! So, I've been using either speedsockets or aquasockets which have been perfect. Time for a change, speedos, new fitting tech, why not? Admittedly I thought they looked a little chunky when I opened them, never a good look, but on the head, they look perfectly fine. Never had white before either, so a bold change for myself. Straight into the pool, they are great, no leaks, no fogging (as expected with new goggles) and even better, they didn't leave half as much rings around my eyes after 45 mins of swimming. My only issue is with the strap adjustment - although a great new feature (previously had chopped down the extra strap flapping about), there is only enough tension to keep them stuck in place - if you remove them say during sets, you may have to re-tighten / adjust back to a tighter fit; they seem to come slightly undone when ou take them off your head. Other than that, a great new pair of goggles for the foreseeable future at a decent price too."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Hilly Photon Anklet is a mid-weight cushioned training anklet. Highly visible design with CoolMAX technology to improve ventilation and flexibility.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
super bright, good sock, not for all
Posted17 January 2015
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have a few pairs of Hilly's and these are my latest addition. Typically good fit, but slightly thicker than anticipated, so similar to another pair I've just purchased, I would suggest not to be used in summer. I've worn these in the Gym on the treadmill and they are ok, some may find them too warm. I have one gripe with these, that is the top part, where the hole is - it isn't elasticated to a great extent and you really have to shove your foot in. All the other ones I have are fine but this is quite annoying as far as socks go!"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Unadjustable, Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Hilly Cushion Anklet is a cushioned, wicking, thermocool anklet. With superior underfoot cushioning this sock helps to prevent blisters, absorb shocks and provide ventilation and breathability.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
quality as usual
Posted17 January 2015
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"good basic running sock - definitely for out door use. Slightly thicker than a couple of previous mono skins I have purchased but will no doubt last. These will keep your feet in good condition and warm during spring / autumn / winter runs but they will be far too warm for indoor or summer use. A great basic sock for anyone who runs."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Stretch Polyester Roubaix (fleece) glove with Silicone print detail on the palm helps to keep you warm and maintains excellent dexterity.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
soft and warm!
Posted17 January 2015
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not tried them out fully in the depths of the ice age we are having but I always use a pair of these style gloves under chunkier ones when its freezing wind. They are a very nice fit, very soft and warm regardless. My only gripe is the finger tips are a little square where they are stitched together - my older pair of other gloves don't have this shape and are slightly nicer but no-one seems to stock those any more. Good price thought and will do the job."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Designed to last longer, Endurance®+ is an exclusive Speedo fabric which is 100% chlorine-resistant, resists snagging, and is 20 times more fade resistant than any other swim fabric. Featuring 4 way stretch technology for added softness and comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent as always
Posted17 January 2015
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Having had a few pairs of speedo jammers previously I required a fresh pair, no nonsense, good fit and last very well indeed. I'm a 30 to 32" waist and these at 30" are a perfect snug fit."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Showcasing silicone coated Lycra® fabrication, thi Swim Cap provides cold weather protection from the elements. Engineered to combat the damaging effects of chlorine and increase speed, the Warmwear Cap is more than just a fashion statement.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Did the job!
Posted30 September 2014
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"First Open water swim this year was pretty cold - and a shock to a newbie, however this kept my head visible and warm enough. Once you get over the cold water shock, you warm up with the swim movement. Even in warmer temperatures, this is fine, you're not likely to sweat but it simply provides that extra protection you need in cold water. Cold start to the year was 10 degrees - fine for that! Fit was fine too, bit thinner than I expected but if you're unsure, stick another cap on too!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Pack of 5 inner tubes. The Vittoria road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels. Medium weight road inner tube with 2 valve length choices, 42mm or 51mm for deeper section rims.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
top quality, lightweight
Posted30 September 2014
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Simply great value for money, lightweight inner tubes."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
EXCLUSIVE TO WIGGLE! The TRN Thermo sets a new standard for Orca and the industry in the entry level triathlon and open water swim wetsuit range.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Why pay more?
Posted30 September 2014
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great starter wetsuit - and without knowing what a stupidly expensive one can offer, I can't fault this one, it did the job for my open water swims - the first one being in 10 degree water, perfectly fine (hands and feet get cold obviously!) but what a great piece of kit for the price. The fit was perfect too - I'm 5'9" , athletic build, and this is great - size 6. All I can recommend is to get an anti-chaffe stick too - my neck was raw after the first use!!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Zaffiro Pro Folding Tyre (Twin Pack)
Zaffiro Pro Folding Tyre (Twin Pack)
Zaffiro (Twinpack) is recognised everywhere as the training tyre for the serious rider.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
quality and value
Posted13 October 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
User submitted photo
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"On special offer, pack of two tyres from the Vittoria range under £20 is great value.
My previous tyres were the rubino pro's but I managed to get a gash in one. For a lower thread count and marginal increase in weight, at half the price I couldn't say no! Going off the quality of the previous ones, I thought I'd give these a try. Not had an issue with them so far and I'm guessing I won't be disappointed as they are nearly identical otherwise - I did buy these in white though to pimp my ride a little, but white really isn't a great colour choice if you're lazy like me and don't clean your bike too often! They appear off-white rather than bright white, but still good enough! No need to pay extortionate amounts on tyres - these will do fine for basic road riding requirements in various weather conditions."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This adjustable strap is designed to improve patellar tracking and elevation by applying mild pressure on the tendon below the kneecap. This helps reduce the effects caused by frequent running and jumping and provides relief from chondromalacia.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Wasn't for me
Posted13 September 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Uberdude
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"After suffering from knee issues (as a lot of people who reviewed this do) I tried it, felt fine during my run, but as soon as I'd taken it off, excruciating pain in the kneecap - this is what I'd had before I had surgery 18 months ago, clearly shifting the patella to an extent that didn't do me any favours - so I can't really say it worked - this just shows the range of knee problems that can occur - take note, it may not work for you! Worth a try though!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Uberdude's Questions
 
Uberdude has not submitted any questions.
 
Uberdude's Answers
 
This adjustable strap is designed to improve patellar tracking and elevation by applying mild pressure on the tendon below the kneecap. This helps reduce the effects caused by frequent running and jumping and provides relief from chondromalacia.
 

Does the strap fit a child?

I have an 11 year old boy that I think would benefit from this strap but I need to know if it wold fit.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
An 11 year old with knee issues should really be seeing a medical professional - not a good idea to try something like this at that age, not fully developed etc. Could do more harm than good.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 

Is there a weight limit for this turbo trainer?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'm sure there would be, but I bet it is robust enough if you can take your bike out and that can handle it.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester
 
The popular all-rounder Rubino Pro has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres are robust and have a 150 TPI nylon casing, & a technical tread pattern + a long life tread compound.
 

What does folding mean?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
As far as I'm aware, its the way in which its stored, although it can have a wire rim in it, it is flexible enough to be folded - you'll see this on ordering one, some people like to carry spare tyres around for some reason (Maybe if touring) so a folding tyre is of great benefit versus one that can't be folded.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester
 
 Sirius Soft Gel Folding Magnetic Turbo Trainer
Sirius Soft Gel Folding Magnetic Turbo Trainer
Tacx launches a new innovation! The Sirius is a striking cycletrainer featuring a "silent" action.
 

tacx sirius trainer

I'm confused about when I should be using the plastic extension parts. One part of instructions says it's to do with the wheel diameter while the other part says they're used with hybrid/MYB tyres.
Can anyone clarify please. Do I need to use the extensions with a standard 700 road wheel?
Thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No, should clip right in, mine does. Any extensions are for other types of bikes, not the standard road bike.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester
 
 Mens Comp Tri Short SS10
Mens Comp Tri Short SS10
A versatile 2XU garment suited to all swim, bike and run disciplines. Fine gauge SBR SKIN for speed through water and quick drying convenience. A contoured fit provides muscle support while seams and fabric stretch offer freedom of movement. SENSOR MESH X ventilation panels promote airflow in ...
 

Do these have a rear pocket?

The 2xu website states that this model has a rear pocket (but no side pockets).

http://www.2xu.com/triathlon/nhrange/mt1626b.html

However one of your reviewers states that these shorts have no pockets.

Can you clarify the pocket situation for me please.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No pockets.
5 years ago
by
Uberdude
Manchester