matchstickwarrior
Share matchstickwarrior's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
matchstickwarrior's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    23 June 2009
  • Last Review
    15 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    19 January 2011
  • Last Question
    17 March 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    20 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    04 January 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
matchstickwarrior's Reviews
 
 Token Valve Caps
Token Valve Caps
Make your bike blinging with these Alloy CNC Valve Caps.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Better than rubbish plastic ones
Posted15 March 2014
matchstickwarrior
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Why did tube manufacturers stop supplying tubes with proper caps?
Solves the problem of cheap, rubbish plastic caps that always break, split, and let air out (presta valves are not perfect!).
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 KMC X8-93 8 Speed Chain
KMC X8-93 8 Speed Chain
Bulls-Eye pin: The unique KMC bulls-eye pin riveting provides unsurpassed side plate retention. X-SP treatment: KMC's extreme stretchproof treatment of pins and plates makes this chain less susceptible to wear caused by sand or other exterior material invading into the chain bearings. Drasticall...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
It's a chain.
Posted15 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
matchstickwarrior
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Pretty good, seems to have a little less tendency to stretch than the HG40 and HG50 chains I used to get."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shorty Side Light
Shorty Side Light
The ultimate safety Light. Fibre Flare uses the latest super-bright fibre optic technology in a flexible tube with multiple attachment options. Versatile design allows this product to be mounted on seat posts, chainstays, bags or clothing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Handy light
Posted04 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
matchstickwarrior
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I originally ordered one of these from the USA before they were available over here - I had it as a flashing light on my offside pannier as the clips lined up perfectly with the straps. Flashing yellow light in this position tends to make drivers give me more room at night. However, this is a position where it took a bit of battering over 3 years, and finally would only work when bent double.
So I got this to replace a brilliant product that had served its time well.
Also makes a handy light when I stop as my main lights are on a dynamo.
Well worth the money, and the yellow is a colour people see.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Not bad.
Posted03 May 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
matchstickwarrior
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this to replace my Altura jacket as the waterproof lining had started to fail.
I got the meduim, same as my Altura. The fit is good, but it is no longer at the front than is standard, contrary to what the description says, in fact is slighter shorter than the Altura jacket.
Pockets are handy, and the storm flap is good especially when Scotland unleashes the odd spate of bad weather.
I especially like the velcro cuffs as they have used a piece of flexible plastic for the "hooky" side of the velcro instead of the usual fabric, giving the impression that it will last a bit longer than normal velcro.
My only gripe is that there is no wicking liner (that my old jacket had for the same money), so the cold surface of the jacket is directly on your skin, but it gets quite warm in the jacket after a while anyway, making the pit zips a useful addition that the old Altura jacket lacked.
"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: no interior liner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Drybag MTX Trunk Bag
Drybag MTX Trunk Bag
A QuickTrack compatible trunkbag featuring DryBag technology to keep the contents dry.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Not bad
Posted20 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
matchstickwarrior
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have to admit, it's a little small for what I need, but it will do the job until it wears out. I used to have the old MTX trunk bag and needed a replacement fairly urgently when it gave up after 3 years of faithful service.
This new bag keeps everything dry just fine (in Edinburgh weather) but getting an A4 file inside is a tight fit.
The side pockets are large, but because of the way the bag is made it can be difficult to get things in and out. I also miss having the bungees on the top that my old bag had, as I used to keep my waterproof trousers in them.
Overall, very good for keeping your lunch dry, but not a lot else, which is a bit of a sad state of affairs for the normally very practical people at Topeak.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: Unadjustable, small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye TL-LD610 LED Rear Light
Cateye TL-LD610 LED Rear Light
A must-have for urban night riding. The new TL-LD610 is slimmer and brighter than its predecessor, with five LEDs and three modes that maximize your visibility.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good light
Posted23 June 2009
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
matchstickwarrior
"Very bright with good all round visibility. Opticube tech gives good results, especially at a distance.
It can activate in your bag accidentally if you're not using it, which is a bit annoying.
"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
matchstickwarrior's Questions
 
 dhb C1.0 Commuter/Touring Cycling Shoe
dhb C1.0 Commuter/Touring Cycling Shoe
Whether you are pounding across town on your daily commute and need a shoe for both cycling and walking or your using the shoe for weekend touring, the C1.0 is an incredibly robust shoe, which benefits from shock absorbing, high traction Vibram sole.
 

I find Shimano shoes impossibly narrow and use Northwave due to their wide fitting. How do the dhb shoes measure up compared to these two?

1 year, 8 months ago
by
matchstickwarrior
Edinburgh
 
 Cateye HL-EL340G RC LED Rechargeable Front Light
Cateye HL-EL340G RC LED Rechargeable Front Light
Ecology meets Economy in the CatEye Econom Rechargeable head light. ROL™ (Reverse Offset Lens) technology produces a whopping 1,000 candlepower in this powerful package.
 

Does this product come with the charger?

 
Products related to my question
Cateye HL-EL340G RC LED Rechargeable Front Light
3 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 10 months ago
by
matchstickwarrior
Edinburgh
 
matchstickwarrior's Answers
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

How do you re-waterproof the jacket?

1. is it necessary to rewaterproof?

2. How often?

3. what product would you recommend?

Thanks
1. When it needs it - when the water stops beading on the surface the outer fabric is wetted out, so the inner coating is now doing all the work to keep you dry, so will wear out sooner.

2. Depends how often you use the jacket and what kind of abrasion it suffers. If you wear a back pack or a messenger bag, the water resistant capabilities of the back outer of your jacket will most likely only last for one trip. If you use panniers or a rack bag the jacket takes only minimal punishment - remember to check how water beads on the surface.

3. I use Grangers or Nikwax. If they're good enough for my Goretex 3in1 jacket and Gore trousers, they're good enough for this.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
matchstickwarrior
Edinburgh
 
 Shorty Side Light
Shorty Side Light
The ultimate safety Light. Fibre Flare uses the latest super-bright fibre optic technology in a flexible tube with multiple attachment options. Versatile design allows this product to be mounted on seat posts, chainstays, bags or clothing.
 

Are blue or green road legal?

I thought you were only meant to use such coloured lights if you're a response vehicle or doctor respectively.
Blue is the only restricted colour, and only on motorised vehicles even when switched off according to the Road Traffic Act. Though I am pretty sure the police will stop you anyway for having a blue flashing light on.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
matchstickwarrior
Edinburgh
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

Does the jacket come with a mesh lining?

No. This is it's only let down compared to others.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
matchstickwarrior
Edinburgh
 
 Drybag MTX Trunk Bag
Drybag MTX Trunk Bag
A QuickTrack compatible trunkbag featuring DryBag technology to keep the contents dry.
 

Inside the bag

Item description says "divided centre compartment". Is this divider able to be removed so its 1 big space?
Divider has velcro bits on it, so you can take it out. Given the inside it pretty small, I don't see the point of the divider anyway.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
matchstickwarrior
Edinburgh
 
 Drybag MTX Trunk Bag
Drybag MTX Trunk Bag
A QuickTrack compatible trunkbag featuring DryBag technology to keep the contents dry.
 

Can this bag be used with non-Topeak racks? If so how would it attach?

Nope.
Some of the other bags have velcro straps, but this one doesn't.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
matchstickwarrior
Edinburgh