LimitingFactor
Share LimitingFactor's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
LimitingFactor's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    18
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    30 June 2009
  • Last Review
    29 July 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    26 December 2010
  • Last Question
    26 December 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    15 April 2011
  • Last Answer
    29 July 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
LimitingFactor's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Shimano SPD MTB Cleats: Available options are SH51, SH52 and SH56 to fit the vast majority of SPD pedals.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
They work, with the odd squeak
Posted29 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
LimitingFactor
fromMidlands
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I like these because they release more easily than the standard cleat. I've not had any problems with unclipping when I didn't want to, and engagement is nice and positive. Easy release and generous float means they'd probably be good for a first time clipless user. I use them with Shimano pedals so general operation is reliable, as you'd expect. Only issue is a persistent squeak, in spite of greasing the pedals and cleats regularly. Not exactly a major issue; maybe my pedals are wearing out."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A versatile multi-purpose trail, touring and leisure SPD shoe. Ideal for off-road riding or great as mixed commute shoe thanks to a comfortable walking sole and relaxed casual looks.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good basic touring or commuting shoe
Posted29 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
LimitingFactor
fromMidlands
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Good basic shoe for recessed SPD cleats. Fit is good-to-small, if in doubt aim a size up. Ventilation is better than I expected; this caught me out in the rain, so you will need overshoes when it's wet! They are good for touring or commuting where you don't need ultimate performance. And you can walk in them without looking like a duck - bonus! I've had them for over a year now, and they've been soaked through, covered in mud and they are still fine. If you want light weight then maybe look elsewhere, but otherwise they're great."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Close ratio Mega-9 HG50 cassette, ideal for road/touring use.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good basic cassette
Posted29 December 2011
LimitingFactor
fromMidlands
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this to go on my touring bike's winter commuting wheels. So, weight not an issue. Basically it just needs to last and keep the back wheel turning, which it does perfectly well. Those seeking lower weight will need to look further up the range, but for the money, this really isn't bad. A good, no-nonsense cassette which does the job."
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Time will tell!
Posted17 September 2011
LimitingFactor
fromMidlands
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Very pleased with these so far. Low rolling resistance, grippy and very low weight. Being folding tyres, there were a few kinks on unpacking, but they seated well on the rims and, once under pressure, they are nice and true with no high spots.
Too early to say how wear resistant they are; I will report back. OK after 30 miles :)
One thing - they were a very tight fit on my rims (DRC ST17s) - not as bad as Marathons, but they definitely need levers to get them on."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This Shimano compatible MTB brake kit was developed in order to optimise the operation of your Shimano equipment.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Basic and effective
Posted16 April 2011
LimitingFactor
fromMidlands
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Not much to say about these - they do the job well with no fancy features. Fitting was easy but you need to do the cable cutting yourself, so get some proper cutters. Only thing is, it would be nice if they were available in white.
I can't wax lyrical about how good my braking is now, since I am using these on a 1980s singlespeed conversion with horrible spongy sidepulls. It's not the cables which are letting the side down!
I would be happy to use these on a road bike up to around Tiagra or 105 - no point in spending more on exotica at this equipment level."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
For 50 years Transfil has created, developed, tested and manufactured brake and gear systems for your bike in conformity with the leading bike and component manufacturers.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Gets the job done.
Posted16 April 2011
LimitingFactor
fromMidlands
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I am running these on my road bike as replacements for the original cables after they got too full of gunge. They work fine and were quite easy to fit (you'll need proper cable cutters though).
Nothing fancy here. The cable sleeves are lined with Teflon and shifting is nice and smooth on my Tiagra setup. they are about the right price and quality for use with Tiagra-level stuff; I guess if you have Ultegra etc you might want something a little higher spec.
I did notice that the outer diameter of the sheath is relatively narrow, suggesting that the outers don't have all that much "beef" in them for the cables to pull against, but this doesn't seem to be an issue in practice.
I wasn't that keen on the plastic ferrules to cover the cable ends; to be honest I'd prefer metal but the placcy ones have been working fine for 2 years now.
For cable replacement on basic setups, I'd be happy to recommend these."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The spoon saddle is the perch of choice for all XC, Enduro or Road riders.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent saddle and great value
Posted16 April 2011
LimitingFactor
fromMidlands
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"At this price, I'd say buy a Spoon now if you don't already have one! This is a very comfortable saddle, not too wide and not too narrow, and works very well with padded shorts. I've been running Spoon saddles on my road and touring bikes for years now - many 1000s of miles - with no comfort problems at all. I run mine fractionally nose-down; this is a very individual thing and won't work for everyone, but I find this gives me the best comfort and also lets me sit back against the saddle when climbing seated.
They are also hard wearing, showing very little signs of rubbing or fraying on the sides even after several years hard use. I really can't think of any gripes with this saddle, they really are brilliant. No need to spend more!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 New Classic Multi-Fit Overshoes
New Classic Multi-Fit Overshoes
PRO overshoes include their revolutionary Optimal Panel Construction. The principal behind this design is use as few seams as possible and use the natural characteristics of the material to improve comfort and fit. By relocating the main seam to the inside of the foot, PRO have managed to improve the fit and remove the top seam for increased water resistance. The latest range of PRO overshoes take the O.P.C. design even further and are sleeker and more aerodynamic then ever before. New graphics, Kevlar protection, reversed zips and sealed seams make these overshoes state-of-the-art. Multi-Fit overshoes feature an open sole design with an adjustable Velcro strap and can be used with a wide variety of shoes for road, MTB or commuting use.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value, effective overshoe
Posted16 April 2011
LimitingFactor
fromMidlands
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've used these for a while now, including during the recent very cold weather. They have been very good and are effective at keeping feet warm and dry in all sorts of vile weather. The fixings are secure, though I do occasionally find the heels ride up a bit. Doesn't stop them doing the job though; it's probably because I use them with MTB shoes so the shoe is quite large.
They are not really a summer overshoe; they will keep the rain off but you will get boil-in-the-bag feet 'cos of that lovely thick neoprene. OK for a commute in the rain, but a wet summer sportive would require something lighter.
If, like me, you commute in MTB shoes for walkability, then you'll need to buy a size larger than you think. To be fair, the size guide is accurate, but I was surprised to need an XL to fit my size 42s!
Check the size first and you'll have no problems."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Improved bracket - should ship with Cateye lights!
Posted16 April 2011
LimitingFactor
fromMidlands
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is a good replacement for the much less effective bracket which comes with Cateye handlebar-mounted lights. It grips well and the threaded tensioner is very effective (far more so than the lever-based tightening thingy which comes with the basic light).
So, I'd recommend this if you have a Cateye front light and constantly find it pointing towards the ground! Only thing is, I think Cateye should provide this version when you buy the light, rather than as an additional option. Whine over - if you have a Cateye front light, then get one of these!"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Allows for derailleur adjustments from the handlebars and works on Shimano road shifters.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Useful for on-ride fettling
Posted16 April 2011
LimitingFactor
fromMidlands
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I used these to replace a pair of (broken) Tiagra adjusters, and they do the job nicely. they work well and don't stick out from the shifters as far as the Tiagra ones did. They would also be fine used in a downtube-mounted gear cable receptacle, which is probably what they are really intended for.
Only minor gripe is the front mech one slowly unscrews with road buzz, so the front mech goes out of adjustment (I run a triple, so the adjustment is important to keep the chain on the middle ring and maintain quality of shift). Easily tweaked while riding, and a lot better than no adjustment at all. Could be improved by making the quarter turn dimples a bit deeper, but this is a really minor issue."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
LimitingFactor's Questions
 
MK's superb EZY removable pedal system has been improved for 2009.
 

Are the adaptors included?

Hi - are the threaded adaptors (to go on the crank arms) included, as suggested by the photo, or do they have to be purchased separately?
3 years, 3 months ago
by
LimitingFactor
Midlands
 
LimitingFactor's Answers
 
The spoon saddle is the perch of choice for all XC, Enduro or Road riders.
 

Would this saddle do OK on a racer?

The shape is definitely right, I like the look of it and the pressure relief groove.

I ride long sweaty trips on a racer, dressed up with bib(padded shorts) and stuff like that. It is absolutely vital that the surface is slick, or the saddle will be torture (rubbing, heat).

Is the surface slick?
It's not totally slick as there is a slightly textured nature to the surface. But I ride on a Spoon with bib shorts with no issues at all; in fact it's so comfortable I bought another one for my touring bike.

Cheap too - nothing to better it at this price!
8 months ago
by
LimitingFactor
Midlands
 
Close ratio Mega-9 HG50 cassette, ideal for road/touring use.
 

Would this fit a M:Wheel Shimano Deore/Mavic A319 Rear Road Bike Wheel?

Also would it be compatible with a Shimano Sora 3400 9 Speed Rear Derailleur?
It will fit the wheel but you'd need to check the capacity of the rear mech to make sure it will cope with 32 teeth. Most road rear mechs may struggle with 32 teeth owing to the size of the sprocket; a lot of touring bikes use mountain bike rear mechs for this reason. If it's a long cage mech, there's no harm in giving it a try, and if it won't play, swapping the mech for a basic Deore one wouldn't be expensive and the indexing will still work..
2 years, 3 months ago
by
LimitingFactor
Midlands
 
This bar is made from precision drawn 6061 alloy, double butted which means it's thicker inthe most stressed zones, thinner in the non stressed zones and is less weight with additional strength.
 

where are the width measurements taken from ?

is it from the end of the centre of the drop ends or is it to the outer edges
Best answer
The Ribble site is more explicit: the width is measured from the outside edges of the bar. So, a 44 (Deda size) is 42cm centre to centre.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
LimitingFactor
Midlands
 
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 

Do they have any puncture protection?

Also, could these replace my sleek 700 x 20c? I would like a good puncture protection.
Can't say how good the puncture protection is but yes, they do have some. They are not going to be puncture proof at this low weight though.

Re replacing a 20c - if your rims are 13mm internal width (standard road bike) then a 28c is the absolute largest you can fit - if they clear the frame! They'll work and be comfortable, but they won't be as quick. Worth doing if you are into distance / audax, for the comfort.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
LimitingFactor
Midlands
 
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 

What tube

Would it be ok if I were to put a 700x23 tube inside these tyres?
Check the tube size limits. Most will go one size beyond what is stated, so a tube which fits 23 to 25 tyres will do a 28, but if the max size quoted is 23 then it's pushing it a bit too far and I'd recommend using a larger tube.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
LimitingFactor
Midlands
 
 Vision 2 LED Endurance Front Light
Vision 2 LED Endurance Front Light
The all NEW LED light - boasts some impressive features. Beautifully machined, this tiny light packs a big punch with it's twin high power 5w LED's pushing out 480 lumens. Endurance version includes 2 x 2 cell battery packs.
 

about frequency

Does the frequency of this charger correspond to 60Hz?
(Western area of my country is 60Hz.)
Yes - it's universal input so 50-60Hz 100-240V. you'll just need a plug adaptor to suit your sockets.
3 years ago
by
LimitingFactor
Midlands
 
The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

Do the presta versions of these tubes have removable valve cores?

They sure do - one of mine came out when I unscrewed the cap :)

Easily fixed!
3 years ago
by
LimitingFactor
Midlands