VeloPitshanger
Top 1000 Contributor
Share VeloPitshanger's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
VeloPitshanger's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    29
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    06 July 2009
  • Last Review
    02 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    18 June 2011
  • Last Question
    23 January 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    24 August 2010
  • Last Answer
    03 August 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
VeloPitshanger's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Kask Vertigo Road Helmet - World Champion Stripes 2012
Kask Vertigo Road Helmet - World Champion Stripes 2012
The Vertigo is world renowned as the Helmet of choice of Team Sky. With unsurpassed fit, workmanship and a host of advanced technical features, the Vertigo offers a true competitive advantage and a dose of style riders of all levels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent helmet. Fits beautifully
Posted02 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
VeloPitshanger
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've always used Catlike helmets previously. They fitted me well and looked great. After a recent crash, I needed a new helmet and friends had recommended the Kask. I'm delighted with my Vertigo. It fits perfectly - even better than the Catlike. The padding on the adjuster at the back sits perfectly on the soft bits at the base of the skull and leave plenty of room to wear a head warmer if it's cold. The Vertigo also looks great - especially with the World Champion stripes. It is pricey, so I'm glad I got this one in the sale. But, I'm a convert to Kask now."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Michelin Air Comp Latex Road Inner Tube
Michelin Air Comp Latex Road Inner Tube
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Worth the extra
Posted09 February 2014
VeloPitshanger
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are pricey, but they seem to resist punctures well and make a great sound when you're belting along. I've become a convert"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Fizik PA:K ICS Saddle Bag with Clip - Medium
Fizik PA:K ICS Saddle Bag with Clip - Medium
The perfect compliment to a Fizik or Selle Royal saddles featuring the new ICS integral clip in system. The bag features reflective detailing and an LED light loop for added safety.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good for the price
Posted20 January 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
VeloPitshanger
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The idea of this is great. It clips into a the back of a Fizik saddle thus avoiding any 'leg rub' or ugly straps. But, I'm now on my third one. The first lasted four years, the second under four weeks. On both occasions, the clip broke on one side. At the price, it's reasonable to replace, but a chore. If my third one breaks, I'll have to try a new brand, but I'm hoping my second was just a dud as the first one was great. One area that needs improving is the light loop. It's much too flimsy unlike the Topeak. So - good overall, but could be improved. Given how fantastic other Fizik products are, I'm surprised they haven't improved the loop."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: poor light loop
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Topeak Smarthead Upgrade Kit
Topeak Smarthead Upgrade Kit
An upgrade/replacement pump head and hose featuring Topeak's unique SmartHead connector and long length hose.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very Solid. Good Replacement
Posted17 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
VeloPitshanger
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've had a Topeak Joe Blow Track Pump for about six years. The dual head had started to slip off when pumping, so I needed to replace or repair it. I would have preferred just to replace the damaged parts, but these were not available hence this purchase. I have to say, the Smarthead is much better - feels much more secure. My only gripe is that in seeking to be a universal fit for all pumps (there are several fitting attachments), it wasn't completely straightforward to switch over the hose with the same brand. I wasn't keen to cut the old hose, so I've ended up with an extra long one. No big deal really, but a small irritation. But, fundamentally, the Smarthead is excellent - well worth it."
Pros: High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Viper Active Energy Drink Mix Sachets - 20 x 35g
Viper Active Energy Drink Mix Sachets - 20 x 35g
Simply tear open a Viper Active sachet and mix instantly in a water bottle to create a cutting-edge isotonic sports fuel drink that hydrates, energises, sustains and supports well being during training and events.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tasty - not too sweet
Posted12 May 2013
VeloPitshanger
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I first came across this at a Sportif. I'm glad I did. It tastes great. On long rides, I get fed up with too many sweet things. This tastes like slightly diluted orange juice and is easy to drink and digest. This is my second box and I'd certainly recommend it"
Pros: tastes good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 CherryBomb 1 Watt Rear Light
CherryBomb 1 Watt Rear Light
For much of night riding, the key to survival is not only seeing but also being seen, the CherryBomb addresses the latter.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent, very bright rear light
Posted08 February 2012
VeloPitshanger
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a truly excellent rear light. It is very bright and even more visible, so to speak, in flashing mode. This is the second one I've bought, The first - bought from a shop - had a slightly dodgy swithch. But I think I was just unlucky, which is why I bought a replacement. It's difficult to get excited about rear lights, but I've tried a few and this is the best one I've found"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, very bright
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Power Drive LED Front Light
Power Drive LED Front Light
This powerful road cyclist and commuter light also has an 'off-road capability'. It's compact, lightweight and weighs in at 120g, but pushes out 300 lumens of light.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted07 November 2011
VeloPitshanger
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is my first high-powered light (rather than a cheaper city light), so cannot compare with similar products. However, I am delighted with my purchase. It's the usual Lezyne high quality, is very robust, and doesn't look horribly out of place on either my road bike or single speed (a shallow but important consideration!). The brightest setting is very bright and the other two constant ones are also good. The flashing setting is excellent. So - it cost quite a bit (even with the Wiggle discount), but works very well and looks like it will last.
My only quiblle is the mount. It is tool free, but tightening it properly by hand is a bit fiddly. I'd prefer the option of using a tool. But - you only have to do it occasionally, so not a huge problem."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: fiddly bar mount
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Thule 591 ProRide Locking Upright Cycle Carrier
Thule 591 ProRide Locking Upright Cycle Carrier
The Thule ProRide offers a top-class bicycle carrier for roof mounting.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Roof Carrier
Posted25 August 2011
VeloPitshanger
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a high quality roof carrier. The arm and mechanism make it much easier to load on the roof of a car, as the bke is stable as you tighten the clamp at roof level. It's also lockable (both the clamp and to the roof bars) which is great. The only downsides are: 1) it is set up for a left hand drive car, so if you want the bike on the passenger side, you need to move the mechanism - I haven't risked this, so the bike sits over the driver; 2) the nature of the clamp means that where bikes have cables that run under the downtube, they get compressed against the frame. The solution to this is to put the gears on the most slack setting (small ring, highest rear gear) and fit a small piece of pipe lagging between frame and cables while carrying the bike. This preevents any cable rub or cable stretch.
Else - a great product"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 High5 Zero Electrolyte Drink - 20 Tabs
High5 Zero Electrolyte Drink - 20 Tabs
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good, portable energy drink
Posted03 August 2011
VeloPitshanger
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought a tube of these as they'd featured in a recent sportif. What attracted me was their portability - carrying around a tub and scoop can be a real faff. The drink tastes pretty good and I'll certainly take them on long rides when I need to top up my bottles.
I prefer the taste of Torq drinks, but these are a great compromise between taste and ease of use."
Pros: Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Tyres - Easy to Fit
Posted27 July 2011
VeloPitshanger
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These are my favourite tyres - they perform well, are durable and are easy to fit. They are a bit pricey, but overall, well worth it."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
VeloPitshanger's Questions
 
 Campagnolo Centaur 10 Speed 12-30 Cassette
Campagnolo Centaur 10 Speed 12-30 Cassette
A 10 speed Centaur cassette with a sprocket ratio of 12-30.
 

Which rear mech will work with this?

If older mechs are not suitable for this cassette (see earlier questions), which rear mech is required?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
VeloPitshanger
London
 
 Campagnolo Centaur 10 Speed 12-30 Cassette
Campagnolo Centaur 10 Speed 12-30 Cassette
A 10 speed Centaur cassette with a sprocket ratio of 12-30.
 

Will this work with a medium cage?

I have a 10 speed 2008 Centaur rear mech with a medium cage. I'm currently running a 13-29. Will the mech worth okay with 12-30?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
VeloPitshanger
London
 
 Thule 591 ProRide Locking Upright Cycle Carrier
Thule 591 ProRide Locking Upright Cycle Carrier
The Thule ProRide offers a top-class bicycle carrier for roof mounting.
 

Given that this grips top and bottom of the downtube, is there any problem with stretching the cables that run under the downtube?

3 years, 6 months ago
by
VeloPitshanger
London
 
VeloPitshanger's Answers
 
 High5 Zero Electrolyte Drink - 20 Tabs
High5 Zero Electrolyte Drink - 20 Tabs
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Individually wrapped?

I've had free samples of these where the tablets were individually wrapped - is that the case when they're in a tube? It would be nice to take a few out with me in the event I drain my bidons...
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No, but the tube is small enough to fit in your pocket without taking up much room
3 years, 4 months ago
by
VeloPitshanger
London
 
 Hope Grip Doctor Bar End Plugs
Hope Grip Doctor Bar End Plugs
To match the Hed Doctor we have made these laser engraved, anodised aluminium bar end plugs that do a simple job very well.
 

Can these be used with road bikes?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes - they are adjustable and work well with my drop handlebars
4 years, 3 months ago
by
VeloPitshanger
London