Langers
Share Langers's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Langers's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    23
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    13 January 2010
  • Last Review
    13 January 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    29 December 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    06 November 2010
  • Last Answer
    13 January 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Langers's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Elite Turbo Muin direct drive trainer uses fluid technology which means the trainer is super quiet, very smooth and extremely realistic. With the direct drive, this means there is no slipping and reflects the tension felt when out on the open road.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Super quiet turbo
Posted13 January 2015
Langers
fromEmsworth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"I bought this as an upgrade from a Tacx Genius because reputedly it was quieter and better for hitting high wattages (the Tacx is unreliable at >700W). Out of the box, the build quality is obvious and set up took only a few minutes. The use of a flywheel instead of a standard wheel is a massive advantage and this turbo is super quiet. The software is not as well developed as Tacx trainer but for what I need it's fine. The resistance unit needed to be recalibrated as it was a killer holding 350W which for me is usually no problem but the recalibration was easy to do and it's now running fine. I have no excuses now...."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, very quiet
Cons: Expensive
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The Tritone 5.5 is designed specifically to increase hip rotation & help your performance when in an aerodynamic position on the bike & its 240mm length is compliant with UCI rules. The solid base-design ensures durability & stiffness-to-weight ratio.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
As comfy as they get
Posted07 November 2014
Langers
fromEmsworth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Having tried many TT saddles over the years (including Adamo) this was pretty much a last resort in a bid to reduce the usual saddle discomfort & numbness that accompanies anything longer than an hour on a TT bike. Whilst not perfect, it is much more comfortable than the Adamo and seems to reduce numbness. I have used it extensively on the turbo and if it continues in this vain, the more expensive carbon-railed version will be fitted to the TT bike in time for next season."
Pros: High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Northwave Torpedo Junior Road Shoe
Northwave Torpedo Junior Road Shoe
The Northwave Torpedo Junior road shoe uses technical parts from the adult range so to ensure comfort and performance. The size range is from Euro 32 to 38 and are compatible with SPD pedals.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great product
Posted26 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Langers
fromEmsworth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought these for my son as his first pair of proper bike shoes. Superb quality & fit!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
This KMC X10 gold 10 speed chain is superlight (SL) and features their NON-Directional allowing maximum compatibility, no matter MTB or Race: this chain fits all. Also, the X-Bridge system provides quiet, quicker and smoother shifting every time.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best chain ever
Posted06 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Langers
fromEmsworth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is the only chain I will use. I have snapped 3 shimano chains but never had a problem with KMC. The quick release link is a massive bonus"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SealSkinz Waterproof Beanie AW13
SealSkinz Waterproof Beanie AW13
Essential for severe weather conditions, the SealSkins Beanie is waterproof and windproof and features a highly breathable membrane. Keep your head extremely and comfortable when the air temperature is cold.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does what it says on the tin
Posted20 April 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Langers
fromEmsworth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Waterproof & warm. What else do you need? Fit is a little tight but otherwise this is very high quality"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Ares is designed for Time Trails. It is shaped like the Antares but with a much shorter nose enabling the rider to get the shoulders of the saddle further forward whilst still respecting the UCI ruling for saddles.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best TT saddle
Posted26 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Langers
fromEmsworth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have tried 4 saddles before this for time trialling. This is the only one that hasn't given me any saddle soreness. If you're struggling for comfort in the aero tuck, look no further"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Edge Stem Mount is to be used with the 3T INTEGRA stem (sold separately). Made of durable plastic, this aesthetically attractive mount allows you to take full advantage of all of the robust data that Edge provides, without compromising the ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Icing on the cake
Posted30 December 2012
Langers
fromEmsworth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Purchased this as I have upgraded the bars on my TT bike to 3T & I upgraded the stem to allow this integrated Garmin mount to be fitted. This is a very neat & aero solution & puts my Garmin 500 in a very good position"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, bling
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple, effective trainer
Posted17 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Langers
fromEmsworth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Very easy to set up - took less than 5 mins. Perfect for warming up pre-race which is what it was bought for"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Exposure Flash and Flare Light Set with UK Charger
Exposure Flash and Flare Light Set with UK Charger
The Flash and Flare light set packs a punch and gets you noticed day and night. With the Flash bright enough to see your way home when you get caught out and the Flare pushing out 75 lumens.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
poor contacts
Posted20 November 2012
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Langers
fromEmsworth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I echo what others have written. These lights are very temperamental. When they work they're fantastic, but battery life is not as stated & the contacts are dodgy to say the least. Overall, poor & unreliable."
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, unreliable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Podium TT Tubular Tyre
Continental Podium TT Tubular Tyre
TT stand for time trial. Entire tours are decided in the fight against the clock. This is reason enough to offer particularly fast tyres.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Definitely quicker
Posted29 August 2011
Langers
fromEmsworth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Changed to these from the more expensive 4000GT conti's - they're lighter & allowed me to best my 50 mile TT time by 7.5 mins. Happy days! Think I'll keep them for the drag strip courses though as they're considerably thinner. No idea on wear as this was a first ride."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Langers's Questions
 
The Elite Turbo Muin direct drive trainer uses fluid technology which means the trainer is super quiet, very smooth and extremely realistic. With the direct drive, this means there is no slipping and reflects the tension felt when out on the open road.
 

does this come with all the necessary software etc to run with a laptop?

7 months ago
by
Langers
Emsworth
 
 Carbon 5 Spoke Tubular Front Wheel (Ceramic)
Carbon 5 Spoke Tubular Front Wheel (Ceramic)
Full carbon five spoke road front wheel with NACA profile spokes and Ceramic speed bearings.
 

Is this wheel legal for UK time trials

There are restrictions on wheels usable on uk TTs and I need to know whether or not this wheel complies. Thanks!
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Langers
Emsworth
 
 Prisma 2.0 Road Shoes - Speedplay Cleat
Prisma 2.0 Road Shoes - Speedplay Cleat
The Primsa returns with a Speedplay bolt pattern for a reduced stack height, unmatched adjustment and security. The ATOP closure system, CX carbon sole and ASL Insole combine to make one of the lightest, most comfortable and best looking shoes available.
 

Speedplay cleats & DMT Prisma 2.0

Is it necessary to use the speedplay shim plate with the new DMT Prisma 2.0 Speedplay shoes?
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Langers
Emsworth
 
Langers's Answers
 
The Elite Turbo Muin direct drive trainer uses fluid technology which means the trainer is super quiet, very smooth and extremely realistic. With the direct drive, this means there is no slipping and reflects the tension felt when out on the open road.
 

Elite wireless or Wahoo KICKR?

I usually cycle in the mountains in switzerland and am looking for a trainer to use during winter months to maintain form. I'm preparing for a 6 day stage race later this year.

I'm totally new to turbo trainers but want something that will keep me interested and motivated. Would you recommend Elite or Wahoo?

Which is easier to use?
Do they both work with Garmin Edge 1000?
Do they both have a good selection of apps that can be run with them?

Help please!
The Elite Real series work either with a laptop (the software is included) or with the Elite app for your ipad etc. You don't need a Garmin but you can import courses that you've ridden and you can pre-program a course using the Google Earth plugin. The Elite is a bit more pricey but the build quality is excellent. No idea how good the Wahoo is but I've seen mixed reviews
6 months ago
by
Langers
Emsworth
 
The Elite Turbo Muin direct drive trainer uses fluid technology which means the trainer is super quiet, very smooth and extremely realistic. With the direct drive, this means there is no slipping and reflects the tension felt when out on the open road.
 

freehub

did it come with Shimano 10 speed freehub adapter? It did show on the pic.
The freehub is 9, 10 & 11 speed compatible. There are 2 spacers that you put on before the cassette for 9 & 10 speed
6 months ago
by
Langers
Emsworth
 
The new foot pod (SDM4) is a smaller foot pod that can fit on any laces or under the insoles on certain shoes. It makes your compatible Forerunner® the ultimate year-round, all-weather training tool.
 

is this Ant+?

Yes. Works with my 310XT no problem
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Langers
Emsworth
 
Recommended for use with SRAM's Force and Rival groupsets. The new PowerGlide™ 1070 cassette offers an innovative approach to 10 speed cassette design.
 

SRAM v Shimano

I presently have Shimano Ultegra 6600 groupset with a 12-27 rear cassette which I really like. Shimano have stopped making this casssette.

Will the SRAM cassette 12 - 27 be compatible with my present set up? Is this SRAMs 'equivalent' to ultegra range.

(I don't much want to change to the new Shimano 6700 range 11- 28 casette - too wide - and there is some doubt re compatibility anyway I believe)
Best answer
SRAM & Shimano are compatible across the range. I've just changed to SRAM force for my TT bike - soooo much better than Shimano, which I'd always been happy with before.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Langers
Emsworth
 
 Lightning Bug 2.0 LED Front Light
Lightning Bug 2.0 LED Front Light
Introducing the Lightning Bug this light was designed with the same quality and attention to detail as our high end bike lights.
 

Is it possible to fit these to straight tri bars as i have no room on handlebars ?

I wouldn't fit it to the aero extensions but it fits beautifully under the arm rest on the 'bull bars' on my TT bike. The clip on rubber strap is seriously stretchy but you can't change the rotation of the beam.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Langers
Emsworth
 
 Dispatch 2012
Dispatch 2012
Take a high-performance track racing frame that would be right at home in a classic Six Day velodrome setting, beef it up with some street smarts, and you have Dispatch.
 

What size frame - 58 or 61? I am 6'2" 80kg and 34 inch inside leg.

I'm the same size & have the 58. It's fine.
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Langers