MarkySparks
Share MarkySparks's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
MarkySparks's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    1 November 2009
  • Last Review
    29 August 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    29 August 2016
  • Last Answer
    29 August 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
MarkySparks's Reviews
 
The Wahoo ELEMNT is a real game changer. With integrated GPS and so many features, it shouldn't be this easy to use. Just download the free ELEMNT app, pair with your smartphone in seconds and you're ready to ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best GPS bike computer I've owned
Posted29 August 2016
fromEssex, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Really pleased I purchased this, having struggled with Garmin and Mio devices I was ready to give up and just use my iPhone on the bike (not ideal due to short battery life). Very easy to set up using the smartphone app and I think its a good idea to let RidewithGPS or your smartphone do the route planning (and then sync the route to the Elemnt) as Garmin always seemed to struggle with this. The screen is a revelation, easy to see in any light conditions so much better than a colour display which surprised me. Just did a 100km ride with turn by turn directions (route planned on RWGPS) and it worked perfectly. Using the LEDs to indicate left or right turns (as well as the instruction on the screen) is a brilliant idea. Also nice not having to use a touchscreen which is fine in the summer but a pain in the winter with full finger gloves. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Dura Ace or XTR 9 Speed Chain
Shimano Dura Ace or XTR 9 Speed Chain
Shimano's CN-7701 Hyperglide (HG) series 9-speed compatible chain is recommended for XTR and Dura-Ace drivetrains
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Reliable
Posted10 March 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromClacton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
" Easy to fit and reliable. Just a bit on the expensive side..... "
Pros: Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 S2 Wetsuit
S2 Wetsuit
Exclusive to Wiggle - excellent value!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good basic Tri wetsuit - lots of sizes!
Posted2 December 2009
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromClacton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Originally I purchased an Aquasphere Pursuit wetsuit. I found this quite restrictive when swimming even though I was using the large size (probably because I have large shoulders and chest). So I ordered the S2 and this feels much better.
I think the S2's main advantage (apart from the low price) is the great range of sizes offered. Size 9 fitted me perfectly (86kg - 5ft 11 - chest 42) - and I can zip it up by myself without the zip getting stuck in the neoprene zip flap. "
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ironman Pursuit Competitor Series Wetsuit AW09
Ironman Pursuit Competitor Series Wetsuit AW09
Designed for the weekend warrior and beginner triathlete looking for a good value tri suit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good suit - if it fits you!
Posted1 November 2009
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
fromClacton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" As others have already said - this is an excellent value tri-wetsuit. The only caveat I would add is with regards to sizing and fit. I'm 42" chest, short and stocky build. Ordered the large size but it feels to restrictive when swimming.
The Orca S2 has a greater range of size options and may be more suitable for those of us with a stocky build.
If you have a relatively slight/medium build I would recommend this suit (but order a size larger than you think you need) otherwise I would go for the Orca S2 "
Pros: Attractive, Great Value
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
MarkySparks's Questions
 
MarkySparks has not submitted any questions.
 
MarkySparks's Answers
 
The Wahoo ELEMNT is a real game changer. With integrated GPS and so many features, it shouldn't be this easy to use. Just download the free ELEMNT app, pair with your smartphone in seconds and you're ready to ride.
 

Do you NEED to use the app to use this?

I have a Windows Phone and it does not support the companion app. Will I be able to use this device without the app by connecting it to my computer only?
No not really. One reason this device is so easy to setup is that the companion app removes the need to have loads of menus and hidden settings on the device itself. You could ask wahoo if they intend to release a Windows Phone version of the companion app, I'm sure they would if there was enough demand but i suspect this may not be the case......
2 years, 2 months ago
by
MarkySparks
Essex, UK