Careful
Top 25 Contributor
Share Careful's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Careful's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    99
  • Helpfulness Votes
    39
  • First Review
    13 June 2009
  • Last Review
    25 November 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    3
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    30 August 2009
  • Last Question
    30 August 2009
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    84
  • Helpfulness Votes
    22
  • First Answer
    25 October 2009
  • Last Answer
    25 November 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    9
 
 
Careful's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 >>>
 
 dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
One of those items you'll get loads of use out of
Posted25 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Top quality medium weight base layer. I often wear it off the bike too. Sizing is spot on from the chart IF you like a snug fit (I do), otherwise size up. The sleeves are a bit short, but that way they dont bunch up under the cuffs of your outer layer. If I could only have one base layer, this would be it."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: size up if you like a looser fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Merino Long Sleeve Base Layer M_150
dhb Merino Long Sleeve Base Layer M_150
A lightweight superfine merino base layer for thermal regulation and natural performance. Can be worn as the first part of a layering system in cool conditions or as single layer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent lightweight, close fitting base layer
Posted25 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Excellent quality but should be described as "lightweight" for those not familar with different merino weights. Ideal in spring/autumn or as a second base in cold weather. Sizing is spot on if you like a close fit (I do). Otherwise, size up. As others have said, the sleeves are a bit short but that way they dont interfere with your outer layer."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: you'l need something thicker on cold days
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Seamless Base Layer Boxer
dhb Seamless Base Layer Boxer
A mid-weight, high performing base layer boxer with a stretch seamless construction, wicking properties and anti-odour treatment.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ideal under padded tights in cold weather
Posted25 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Like most riders, I normally follow the "commando" rule when wearing padded shorts/tights, but a little extra heat insulation is sometimes welcome. These are stretchy and seamless so you dont know they are there. Fairly thin but help keep the chills out (like a thin base layer). Also they dont get sweaty. Size is about right but not critical as they are stretchy."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Softshell Short Sleeve Jersey
Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Windstopper Softshell Short Sleeve Jersey
The most versatile jersey made by GORE BIKE WEAR®. Made predominantly from WINDSTOPPER® fabric which protects the core from the elements. Works brilliantly by itself or over a baselayer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A regular favourite
Posted25 October 2014
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Most of my riding is in the hills so this provides protection from chilling on descents without boiling on the climbs. I use this as my first choice for in spring & autumn, and on cool summer days. Usual Gore high quality. I am 5' 11" with 40" chest so L fits me well."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit, 3 useful pockets
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Fenwicks Foaming Chain Cleaner 200ml
Fenwicks Foaming Chain Cleaner 200ml
Fenwicks Foaming Chain Cleaner is a wet degreaser designed to stay in place whilst working on the effected areas. Due to its rich foam qualities the degreaser is far less messy to work with when brushing and agitating the product.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great for cleaning cassette.
Posted25 October 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I use other cleaners for my chain etc as most of the foam misses the chain. This stuff is ideal for cassettes though, as the foam does not run into hub bearings like liquids sometimes do. It needs to be left a minute or two, needs a little scrubbing, and sometimes needs a second application. It does the job though."
Pros: less risk to hub bearings
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 K-Edge Road Clamp Chain Catcher
K-Edge Road Clamp Chain Catcher
Clamp chain catcher that works independently of the front mech and can also be used on your cyclo-cross bike.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Very expensive and poorly made
Posted25 October 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I had no other choice as the seat tube of my Bianchi is too chunky for a dog fang etc. The k edge is ok except that the adjuster screw needs a 1.5 mm hex key, which is not included in most hex key sets. The screw was extremely tight so that the hex head stripped. Adjustment can now only be done by rotating the clamp. Does the job but is very dissppointing for the price."
Cons: Expensive, adjuster screw too small & overly tight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Fenwicks Stealth Road Bike Chain Lube 100ml
Fenwicks Stealth Road Bike Chain Lube 100ml
Fenwicks stealth the only road bike lube you will ever need. Ideal for all day and everyday use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Can this be the holy grail of chain lubes?
Posted12 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have tried just about every chain lube out there. The clean ones get washed off in the wet, and the wet ones cover everything in black gunge. This one seems perfect. I followed the instructions, thoroughly cleaned the chain in a bath of degreaser, washed it in water then dried it on a radiator. I also warmed the bottle of lube. You do have to be careful to adjust the bottle dripper so that as you tough each roller with it, a match-head sized droplet is left behind - this takes practice. My chain was still warm from the radiator so it was ready to go in an hour or so. After 200 miles on wet roads (lots of spray) and a few light showers the chain is still shiny clean, silent, and giving smooth gear changes. I bought this for use in winter, but I may also use it to replace summer dry lube."
Pros: very clean, silent chain, doesnt wash off in showers etc
Cons: pricey but a little goes a long way, may not be suitable for long rides in the rain
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Zecto Drive LED Light Set
Lezyne Zecto Drive LED Light Set
The Zecto Drive LED light-set, sets the new standard in rechargeable, high-visibility lighting and brings added safety to every cyclist at an affordable price.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The lights to be seen with
Posted12 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I rarely ride in the dark but wanted bright, lightweight lights for use in fog, dusk and other poor daytime visibility conditions. Since I got these I dont need to be economical with batteries, I just put both on in daytime flash mode at all times.
I would say that the claims of up to 7 hours life in flash mode are probably right although I recharge mine after 3 to 4 hours. At this stage the indicators show around half charge.
The rear hooks securely onto a seat bag loop, and the front fits securely to handlebars with the rubber strap. The lights are bright enough even in fog. Inserting the usb cable can be a bit fiddly but you get used to it. Excellent lights and no more worrying about batteries!
"
Pros: Lightweight, High Quality, easy secure fitting, ideal flash mode for daytime
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Park Tools Box Of 100 Nitrile 2 Mechanics Gloves
Park Tools Box Of 100 Nitrile 2 Mechanics Gloves
The professional mechanics' favourite is now tougher and easier to re-use but just as easy to wear for delicate tasks.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dont be put off by the price.
Posted06 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have tried latex and other blue nitrile goves (from discount tool suppliers). Many will tear just from putting them on. These are more expensive but far, far more durable. Sizing is about right - they need to be close fitting. I bought XL which are a slightly roomy, but not loose fit. My hand are 9" around knuckles (not including thumb). Pull gloves off inside-out then blow into them to get them the right way again for re-use over and over again. I also keep a pair in my saddle pack for roadside repairs. A box should last me years!"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Good Fit, great for the workshop, great for roadside repairs, not to be compared with cheap ones
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Power 2.0 Thermo Bibtights Plus AW13
Gore Bike Wear Power 2.0 Thermo Bibtights Plus AW13
Insulating road cycling bibtights with a brushed fabric construction. Featuring a Power seat pad for low bulk cushioning over medium to long distances and a back mesh insert for optimum ventilation. Ideal for cold weather rides/training sessions
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Expensive and not that warm
Posted06 January 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Considering these are called "thermo" they are not that warm. Fine down to about 5 deg and just about usable down to zero on a vigorous ride. I am 5ft 11.5", 40" chest, 33" waist. As usual with Gore clothes I need XL for length (especially legs) and L for girth. Since bib-tights are flexible I reckon the length is most important. I find the pad a bit uncomfortable, the legs short, and the ankles baggy. I got these at a discount and I still dont consider them good value considering the lack of features (ankle or chest zips). I will use them only for short rides between 5-12 deg."
Cons: Expensive, not very "thermo", lacking in features, poor pad for the price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Careful's Questions
 
 Ultegra SL 10 Speed Groupset (OE)
Ultegra SL 10 Speed Groupset (OE)
Shimano Ultegra SL Groupset (OE - Original Equipment). Items come without original packaging, but will be delivered packaged.
 

Rear derallier with compact group SS or GS

Which rear mechanism comes with the compact group, is it the short SS or the longer GS? I need a GS as I may want to use it with a 27t sprocket at a later date.
5 years, 3 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
Careful's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 >>>
 
 dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

I want to know exact size for me.

I am intrerested in this clothes.
But the sizing guide suggested by you is ambiguious for me.
My height is 170cm.
My chest is 95cm.
What size would you like to recommend for me????
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Just re-considered my answer. Small would be better.
3 weeks, 2 days ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
 dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
dhb Merino Zip Neck Base Layer M_200
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

I want to know exact size for me.

I am intrerested in this clothes.
But the sizing guide suggested by you is ambiguious for me.
My height is 170cm.
My chest is 95cm.
What size would you like to recommend for me????
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Medium should be fine.
3 weeks, 2 days ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6700 10 Speed Cassette
Shimano Ultegra 6700 10 Speed Cassette
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Do I need to change chain length

Looking to swap Tiagra 4600 12-28 to Ultegra 12-30 will this be a straight swap and do I need to adjust change length?
Rear derailleur is Shimano 5701.
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Try putting the chain on the biggest sprocket and the biggest front chainring. If the cage of the derailleur is almost in a straight line with the chain, you may need a longer chain. If the cage/jocky wheels are vertical or at 45 deg, you should have no problem. However it is good practice to fit a new chain when fitting a new cassette (unless your existing cassette has only done a few hundred miles). New chains sometimes "skip" on worn cassettes. You 5701 derailleur should be fine if it is the GS (medium cage) model.
11 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
 Lezyne Zecto Drive LED Light Set
Lezyne Zecto Drive LED Light Set
The Zecto Drive LED light-set, sets the new standard in rechargeable, high-visibility lighting and brings added safety to every cyclist at an affordable price.
 

Can the rear light be attached to a saddle bag?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes if the bag has a loop, a robust hook holds it securely. Otherwise a rubber strap (provided) fits to the hook and could be secured to straps etc.
11 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
 Park Tools Box Of 100 Nitrile 2 Mechanics Gloves
Park Tools Box Of 100 Nitrile 2 Mechanics Gloves
The professional mechanics' favourite is now tougher and easier to re-use but just as easy to wear for delicate tasks.
 

What size is best for 22.5 cm palm?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
My palm is 22.5 cm, I find XL to be slightly roomy but not enough to be a problem gripping things. I think a smaller size would be too tight.
11 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
 Gore Bike Wear Power 2.0 Thermo Bibtights Plus AW13
Gore Bike Wear Power 2.0 Thermo Bibtights Plus AW13
Insulating road cycling bibtights with a brushed fabric construction. Featuring a Power seat pad for low bulk cushioning over medium to long distances and a back mesh insert for optimum ventilation. Ideal for cold weather rides/training sessions
 

I'm 6ft 1in, 40" chest, 32" waist. Which size is best for me pl?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am 5 ft 11.5, 40" chest, 33" waist. I found the L were ok for fit but a bit too short especially in the leg. Since bib-tights are stretchy I think length is the most important size. I bought XL and the fit is ok (legs still a little short).
11 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
 Gore Bike Wear Power 2.0 Thermo Bibtights Plus AW13
Gore Bike Wear Power 2.0 Thermo Bibtights Plus AW13
Insulating road cycling bibtights with a brushed fabric construction. Featuring a Power seat pad for low bulk cushioning over medium to long distances and a back mesh insert for optimum ventilation. Ideal for cold weather rides/training sessions
 

Are these really good enough for zero temperatures?

These are called thermo tights but are they as effective against the cold as Windstopper tights?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Not the warmest out there but just about ok at zero. In my experience, the ones with windtopper on the front of the legs are warmer, but their reduced flexibility makes pedalling a bit harder.
11 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
 Deda RHM01 Black Road Handlebar
Deda RHM01 Black Road Handlebar
Deda patented RHM geometry, round cross section handlebar made from light alloy 6061 (double butted).
 

Reach and drop?

What's the reach and drop of these bars please?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
reach (centre to centre) 8.5 cm, drop 14cm (centre to centre at bar ends).
1 year ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
 Deda RHM01 Black Road Handlebar
Deda RHM01 Black Road Handlebar
Deda patented RHM geometry, round cross section handlebar made from light alloy 6061 (double butted).
 

Is the measurement CTC or OTO??

The description and some comments say the measurement is outside to outside, but the reply to "Which part of the handlebar?" question says the measurement is centre to centre. Which one is it!?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
These are definately measured outside to outside at the bar ends.
1 year ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
 dhb Vaeon Zero Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Zero Padded Bib Tight
dhb’s warmest Winter bib tight, built from the original MITI Thermoroubaix fabric, TEFLON coated, with large wind blocking membrane on legs. (dhb Vaeon Zero - replaces dhb PACE SuperRoubaix Windproof)
 

What size to purchase

I am 5'11'' tall
Chest 42''
Waist 39''
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am about your size and found the XL fitted best especially if, like me you have long legs for your height. It is especially important to tend to size up a tad with the zero and other windproof tights. This is because the front upper of the legs is a little less flexible due to the windproof material. Get them too small and it adds noticeably to pedalling resistance.
1 year ago
by
Careful
Exmoor