Careful
Top 25 Contributor
Share Careful's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Careful's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    102
  • Helpfulness Votes
    45
  • First Review
    13 June 2009
  • Last Review
    05 January 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    3
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    30 August 2009
  • Last Question
    30 August 2009
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    88
  • Helpfulness Votes
    22
  • First Answer
    25 October 2009
  • Last Answer
    05 January 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    9
 
 
Careful's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 >>>
 
 BBB BTL-11 TurnTable Chain Whip Tool
BBB BTL-11 TurnTable Chain Whip Tool
Effectively holds the sprockets when removing the cassette lock-ring. Also removes freewheel sprockets and is 7, 8, 9 and 10 speed compatible.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Inexpensive, does the job and should last forever.
Posted05 January 2015
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Why pay more. I bought one of these years ago and I expect it will outlast me.
You might find chain whips a bit fiddly at first. Good idea to wear sturdy gloves in case of slips. Facing the wheel drive side, wrap the whip tail around one of the middle or larger sprockets so that the handle is at the 2 o'clock position with the chain on the left. Put the remover wrench at the 10 'o clock position and force the two levers apart until the lockring loosens. Job done.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, does the job well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fits most cassette lockrings including Shimano®. (Note: You must hold freewheel with chain whip tool such as the Park Tool Sprocket Remover SR-1 or SR-2).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Strong and well made
Posted05 January 2015
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The best I can say is that it fits well, does the job and should last for years.
You will also need a large adjustable spanner (wrench) to turn the remover, and a chain whip to stop the cassette from rotating as you unscrew the lockring anti-clockwise. Its best fit the QR skewer knut finger tight to hold the remover in place while you use it.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Complete top-of-the-range gear cable set designed to suit Dura-Ace 9000 gears Fitting new gears or completely overhauling your gear cabling couldn't be easier - everything you need in one pack Includes 1.2 mm Polymer coated inner wires (1 x 2100 mm, 1 x 1800 mm), and SP41 outer casing for a comp...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Expensive, but youll notice the difference.
Posted05 January 2015
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Far smoother and less fragile than the ptfe coated variety. Generous inner and outer cable lengths complete with all fittings including the gunge excluding extended ones. The real benefit is the inners which are coated with a smooth teflon-like coating. Outers are apparently already lubricated, but personally I still use a little silicon (cable magic) out of habit."
Pros: High Quality, very low friction, smooth precise change, all fittings included
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
One of those items you'll get loads of use out of
Posted25 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Top quality medium weight base layer. I often wear it off the bike too. Sizing is spot on from the chart IF you like a snug fit (I do), otherwise size up. The sleeves are a bit short, but that way they dont bunch up under the cuffs of your outer layer. If I could only have one base layer, this would be it."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: size up if you like a looser fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A lightweight superfine merino base layer for thermal regulation and natural performance. Can be worn as the first part of a layering system in cool conditions or as single layer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent lightweight, close fitting base layer
Posted25 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Excellent quality but should be described as "lightweight" for those not familar with different merino weights. Ideal in spring/autumn or as a second base in cold weather. Sizing is spot on if you like a close fit (I do). Otherwise, size up. As others have said, the sleeves are a bit short but that way they dont interfere with your outer layer."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: you'l need something thicker on cold days
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A mid-weight, high performing base layer boxer with a stretch seamless construction, wicking properties and anti-odour treatment.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ideal under padded tights in cold weather
Posted25 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Like most riders, I normally follow the "commando" rule when wearing padded shorts/tights, but a little extra heat insulation is sometimes welcome. These are stretchy and seamless so you dont know they are there. Fairly thin but help keep the chills out (like a thin base layer). Also they dont get sweaty. Size is about right but not critical as they are stretchy."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
The most versatile jersey made by GORE BIKE WEAR®. Made predominantly from WINDSTOPPER® fabric which protects the core from the elements. Works brilliantly by itself or over a baselayer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A regular favourite
Posted25 October 2014
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Most of my riding is in the hills so this provides protection from chilling on descents without boiling on the climbs. I use this as my first choice for in spring & autumn, and on cool summer days. Usual Gore high quality. I am 5' 11" with 40" chest so L fits me well."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit, 3 useful pockets
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Fenwicks Foaming Chain Cleaner 200ml
Fenwicks Foaming Chain Cleaner 200ml
Fenwicks Foaming Chain Cleaner is a wet degreaser designed to stay in place whilst working on the effected areas. Due to its rich foam qualities the degreaser is far less messy to work with when brushing and agitating the product.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great for cleaning cassette.
Posted25 October 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I use other cleaners for my chain etc as most of the foam misses the chain. This stuff is ideal for cassettes though, as the foam does not run into hub bearings like liquids sometimes do. It needs to be left a minute or two, needs a little scrubbing, and sometimes needs a second application. It does the job though."
Pros: less risk to hub bearings
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Clamp chain catcher that works independently of the front mech and can also be used on your cyclo-cross bike.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Very expensive and poorly made
Posted25 October 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I had no other choice as the seat tube of my Bianchi is too chunky for a dog fang etc. The k edge is ok except that the adjuster screw needs a 1.5 mm hex key, which is not included in most hex key sets. The screw was extremely tight so that the hex head stripped. Adjustment can now only be done by rotating the clamp. Does the job but is very dissppointing for the price."
Cons: Expensive, adjuster screw too small & overly tight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Fenwicks Stealth Road Bike Chain Lube 100ml
Fenwicks Stealth Road Bike Chain Lube 100ml
Fenwicks stealth the only road bike lube you will ever need. Ideal for all day and everyday use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Can this be the holy grail of chain lubes?
Posted12 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have tried just about every chain lube out there. The clean ones get washed off in the wet, and the wet ones cover everything in black gunge. This one seems perfect. I followed the instructions, thoroughly cleaned the chain in a bath of degreaser, washed it in water then dried it on a radiator. I also warmed the bottle of lube. You do have to be careful to adjust the bottle dripper so that as you tough each roller with it, a match-head sized droplet is left behind - this takes practice. My chain was still warm from the radiator so it was ready to go in an hour or so. After 200 miles on wet roads (lots of spray) and a few light showers the chain is still shiny clean, silent, and giving smooth gear changes. I bought this for use in winter, but I may also use it to replace summer dry lube."
Pros: very clean, silent chain, doesnt wash off in showers etc
Cons: pricey but a little goes a long way, may not be suitable for long rides in the rain
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Careful's Questions
 
 Ultegra SL 10 Speed Groupset (OE)
Ultegra SL 10 Speed Groupset (OE)
Shimano Ultegra SL Groupset (OE - Original Equipment). Items come without original packaging, but will be delivered packaged.
 

Rear derallier with compact group SS or GS

Which rear mechanism comes with the compact group, is it the short SS or the longer GS? I need a GS as I may want to use it with a 27t sprocket at a later date.
5 years, 7 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
Careful's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 >>>
 
Fits most cassette lockrings including Shimano®. (Note: You must hold freewheel with chain whip tool such as the Park Tool Sprocket Remover SR-1 or SR-2).
 

Will this unlock Centrelock Locknuts

I have an older model of this and does not clear the lock nuts and spaces. Can you confirm that this will clear everything so that I dont have to remove anything else
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The only thing you should need to remove is the QR nut.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
Fits most cassette lockrings including Shimano®. (Note: You must hold freewheel with chain whip tool such as the Park Tool Sprocket Remover SR-1 or SR-2).
 

Does this work on SRAM Red cassettes? Thanks

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
Fits most cassette lockrings including Shimano®. (Note: You must hold freewheel with chain whip tool such as the Park Tool Sprocket Remover SR-1 or SR-2).
 

Is this compatible with Ultegra 6800.

Want to be able to use a torque wrench
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
Complete top-of-the-range gear cable set designed to suit Dura-Ace 9000 gears Fitting new gears or completely overhauling your gear cabling couldn't be easier - everything you need in one pack Includes 1.2 mm Polymer coated inner wires (1 x 2100 mm, 1 x 1800 mm), and SP41 outer casing for a comp...
 

Are these cables compatible with Ultegra 6700 shifters?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

I want to know exact size for me.

I am intrerested in this clothes.
But the sizing guide suggested by you is ambiguious for me.
My height is 170cm.
My chest is 95cm.
What size would you like to recommend for me????
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Just re-considered my answer. Small would be better.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 

I want to know exact size for me.

I am intrerested in this clothes.
But the sizing guide suggested by you is ambiguious for me.
My height is 170cm.
My chest is 95cm.
What size would you like to recommend for me????
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Medium should be fine.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Do I need to change chain length

Looking to swap Tiagra 4600 12-28 to Ultegra 12-30 will this be a straight swap and do I need to adjust change length?
Rear derailleur is Shimano 5701.
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Try putting the chain on the biggest sprocket and the biggest front chainring. If the cage of the derailleur is almost in a straight line with the chain, you may need a longer chain. If the cage/jocky wheels are vertical or at 45 deg, you should have no problem. However it is good practice to fit a new chain when fitting a new cassette (unless your existing cassette has only done a few hundred miles). New chains sometimes "skip" on worn cassettes. You 5701 derailleur should be fine if it is the GS (medium cage) model.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
The Zecto Drive LED light-set, sets the new standard in rechargeable, high-visibility lighting and brings added safety to every cyclist at an affordable price.
 

Can the rear light be attached to a saddle bag?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes if the bag has a loop, a robust hook holds it securely. Otherwise a rubber strap (provided) fits to the hook and could be secured to straps etc.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
The professional mechanics' favourite is now tougher and easier to re-use but just as easy to wear for delicate tasks.
 

What size is best for 22.5 cm palm?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
My palm is 22.5 cm, I find XL to be slightly roomy but not enough to be a problem gripping things. I think a smaller size would be too tight.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
 Gore Bike Wear Power 2.0 Thermo Bibtights Plus AW13
Gore Bike Wear Power 2.0 Thermo Bibtights Plus AW13
Insulating road cycling bibtights with a brushed fabric construction. Featuring a Power seat pad for low bulk cushioning over medium to long distances and a back mesh insert for optimum ventilation. Ideal for cold weather rides/training sessions
 

I'm 6ft 1in, 40" chest, 32" waist. Which size is best for me pl?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am 5 ft 11.5, 40" chest, 33" waist. I found the L were ok for fit but a bit too short especially in the leg. Since bib-tights are stretchy I think length is the most important size. I bought XL and the fit is ok (legs still a little short).
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor