Careful
Top 25 Contributor
Share Careful's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Careful's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    93
  • Helpfulness Votes
    34
  • First Review
    13 June 2009
  • Last Review
    12 January 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    3
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    30 August 2009
  • Last Question
    30 August 2009
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    82
  • Helpfulness Votes
    20
  • First Answer
    25 October 2009
  • Last Answer
    12 January 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    7
 
 
Careful's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 >>>
 
Fenwicks stealth the only road bike lube you will ever need. Ideal for all day and everyday use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Can this be the holy grail of chain lubes?
Posted12 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have tried just about every chain lube out there. The clean ones get washed off in the wet, and the wet ones cover everything in black gunge. This one seems perfect. I followed the instructions, thoroughly cleaned the chain in a bath of degreaser, washed it in water then dried it on a radiator. I also warmed the bottle of lube. You do have to be careful to adjust the bottle dripper so that as you tough each roller with it, a match-head sized droplet is left behind - this takes practice. My chain was still warm from the radiator so it was ready to go in an hour or so. After 200 miles on wet roads (lots of spray) and a few light showers the chain is still shiny clean, silent, and giving smooth gear changes. I bought this for use in winter, but I may also use it to replace summer dry lube."
Pros: very clean, silent chain, doesnt wash off in showers etc
Cons: pricey but a little goes a long way, may not be suitable for long rides in the rain
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Zecto Drive LED light-set, sets the new standard in rechargeable, high-visibility lighting and brings added safety to every cyclist at an affordable price.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The lights to be seen with
Posted12 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I rarely ride in the dark but wanted bright, lightweight lights for use in fog, dusk and other poor daytime visibility conditions. Since I got these I dont need to be economical with batteries, I just put both on in daytime flash mode at all times.
I would say that the claims of up to 7 hours life in flash mode are probably right although I recharge mine after 3 to 4 hours. At this stage the indicators show around half charge.
The rear hooks securely onto a seat bag loop, and the front fits securely to handlebars with the rubber strap. The lights are bright enough even in fog. Inserting the usb cable can be a bit fiddly but you get used to it. Excellent lights and no more worrying about batteries!
"
Pros: Lightweight, High Quality, easy secure fitting, ideal flash mode for daytime
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The professional mechanics' favourite is now tougher and easier to re-use but just as easy to wear for delicate tasks.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dont be put off by the price.
Posted06 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have tried latex and other blue nitrile goves (from discount tool suppliers). Many will tear just from putting them on. These are more expensive but far, far more durable. Sizing is about right - they need to be close fitting. I bought XL which are a slightly roomy, but not loose fit. My hand are 9" around knuckles (not including thumb). Pull gloves off inside-out then blow into them to get them the right way again for re-use over and over again. I also keep a pair in my saddle pack for roadside repairs. A box should last me years!"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Good Fit, great for the workshop, great for roadside repairs, not to be compared with cheap ones
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Insulating road cycling bibtights with a brushed fabric construction. Featuring a Power seat pad for low bulk cushioning over medium to long distances and a back mesh insert for optimum ventilation. Ideal for cold weather rides/training sessions
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Expensive and not that warm
Posted06 January 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Considering these are called "thermo" they are not that warm. Fine down to about 5 deg and just about usable down to zero on a vigorous ride. I am 5ft 11.5", 40" chest, 33" waist. As usual with Gore clothes I need XL for length (especially legs) and L for girth. Since bib-tights are flexible I reckon the length is most important. I find the pad a bit uncomfortable, the legs short, and the ankles baggy. I got these at a discount and I still dont consider them good value considering the lack of features (ankle or chest zips). I will use them only for short rides between 5-12 deg."
Cons: Expensive, not very "thermo", lacking in features, poor pad for the price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Deda patented RHM geometry, round cross section handlebar made from light alloy 6061 (double butted).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Low price but no compromise on comfort or quality
Posted11 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Got these to replace 3t Ergonova bars that were too deep and too long reach for me. These are genuine compact bars with relatively short reach and drop (8.5 & 14 cm respectively). This means I dont have to stretch out too much and can use the drops far more often. Unlike some reviewers I dont detect any flex, and the absence of cable grooves gave me the choice of where to run the cables. These were less than a third the price of the 3T, but for the comfort theyre worth double. Dont be misled by the description - not just for small hands. I can confirm that size 46 cm as listed is 46cm outside to outside."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, a genuine compact bar
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Excellent protection against everyday corrosion and wear.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Easy to apply, excellent winter chain lube
Posted08 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is my second winter using this lube and it works well. Start with a clean, dry chain and use the excellent drip applicator to apply accurately onto each inside roller. Spin a few times, wipe away excess - easy.
I prefer to use dry lube in summer, as this, like everything else I've tried does go black. I dont commute or ride long distances in heavy rain, but this will survive the odd showery or drizzly ride without getting washed off, and keeps the transmission quiet.
"
Pros: great applicator, withstands a bit of rain
Cons: turns black - dont they all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ERGONOVA sets a new standard in comfort riding. The top of the bar is egg-shaped in section - the longer radius provides a wider top surface for the hands.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Well made but poor shape.
Posted09 November 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Well made bars with good features but despite numerous adjustments I cant get a comfortable position with them. With the tops approximately horizontal, the drops slope so steeply that it feels like my hands will slip off the ends of the bars. The angle of the drops is a lot steeper than it appears to be in the photo."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: poor shape
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Oxygen WINDSTOPPER Short Sleeve Jersey
Oxygen WINDSTOPPER Short Sleeve Jersey
Windchill protection with a close, free moving fit. With WINDSTOPPER Softshell panels combined with soft jersey fabric, the Oxygen Short sleeve jersey is the perfect mid or outer later for endurance road riding on crisp, early spring mornings.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for early starts or mild but breezy days
Posted18 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have loads of long and short sleeved jerseys but most of the short sleeved ones are quite thin. This one avoids the need for a gillet etc, Ideal for conditions between 8-15 deg especially if windy. Also ideal on hilly rides when most jerseys are warm ascending, and leave you freezing on the descents. The jersey breathes very well but prevents the chill on the chest when descending or in coolish breeze. On colder mornings a pair of arm warmers gives complete versatility.
Four pockets are useful and the jersey is the usual Gore high quality. As with most Gore, I come between X and XL. 6 ft and 154 lbs. This is a bit stretchy so L is ideal.
"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit, avoids the need for a gillet
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
LX HollowTech II chainset with sleek cap free design offers smooth and reliable performance at an affordable price point.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great if you want a chainguard - works on 10 speed
Posted17 April 2013
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought this to replace an old Shimano 105 triple on a 10 speed system. I use the bike for hilly local rides and shopping etc as well as the occasional tour. I wanted lower gears than the 105, so 26-36-48 was ideal. The chainguard is ideal for the shopping trips but It can be removed.
The chainset comes complete with bearings and a selection of plastic spacers to accomodate different bottom bracket widths. There were no insructions with these so you need to be familiar with chain-line issues etc. My frame is a road frame with 68mm wide bottom bracket . I just used one 2mm spacer on the non-drive side so that the crank could be tightened against the bearing. Not using spacers on the other side kept the middle ring reasonably in line with the middle of the cassette.
A great chainset that works well, even with my non-standard set-up.
"
Pros: High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
dhb’s warmest Winter bib tight, built from the original MITI Thermoroubaix fabric, TEFLON coated, with large wind blocking membrane on legs. (dhb Vaeon Zero - replaces dhb PACE SuperRoubaix Windproof)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good from 0 to about 8 deg
Posted17 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
Careful
fromExmoor
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have various dhb bibtights and find them generally good value and well made. These are a good fit and I like the waterproof ankles (though you have to be a little careful not to rip the stitching when pulling them over feet). Mustnt just tug at the upper leg as I usually do!
At 5' 11", 34 waist, 11 st I find the L is just long enough and they are a snug fit as they are very stretchy I could probably have got away with XL too.
Below about 2 deg I find them barely warm enough and opt for my Gore Xenon windproofs in preference (windproof all over). The Vaeon pad is comfortable although I did have a saddle sore after my first ride. I think this was because I failed to follow the instruction to wash them before first use - possibly irritation from chemicals.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, good value, good quality, good pad for the money
Cons: wash them before first use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Careful's Questions
 
 Ultegra SL 10 Speed Groupset (OE)
Ultegra SL 10 Speed Groupset (OE)
Shimano Ultegra SL Groupset (OE - Original Equipment). Items come without original packaging, but will be delivered packaged.
 

Rear derallier with compact group SS or GS

Which rear mechanism comes with the compact group, is it the short SS or the longer GS? I need a GS as I may want to use it with a 27t sprocket at a later date.
4 years, 11 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
Careful's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 >>>
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Do I need to change chain length

Looking to swap Tiagra 4600 12-28 to Ultegra 12-30 will this be a straight swap and do I need to adjust change length?
Rear derailleur is Shimano 5701.
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Try putting the chain on the biggest sprocket and the biggest front chainring. If the cage of the derailleur is almost in a straight line with the chain, you may need a longer chain. If the cage/jocky wheels are vertical or at 45 deg, you should have no problem. However it is good practice to fit a new chain when fitting a new cassette (unless your existing cassette has only done a few hundred miles). New chains sometimes "skip" on worn cassettes. You 5701 derailleur should be fine if it is the GS (medium cage) model.
7 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
The Zecto Drive LED light-set, sets the new standard in rechargeable, high-visibility lighting and brings added safety to every cyclist at an affordable price.
 

Can the rear light be attached to a saddle bag?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes if the bag has a loop, a robust hook holds it securely. Otherwise a rubber strap (provided) fits to the hook and could be secured to straps etc.
7 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
The professional mechanics' favourite is now tougher and easier to re-use but just as easy to wear for delicate tasks.
 

What size is best for 22.5 cm palm?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
My palm is 22.5 cm, I find XL to be slightly roomy but not enough to be a problem gripping things. I think a smaller size would be too tight.
7 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
Insulating road cycling bibtights with a brushed fabric construction. Featuring a Power seat pad for low bulk cushioning over medium to long distances and a back mesh insert for optimum ventilation. Ideal for cold weather rides/training sessions
 

I'm 6ft 1in, 40" chest, 32" waist. Which size is best for me pl?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am 5 ft 11.5, 40" chest, 33" waist. I found the L were ok for fit but a bit too short especially in the leg. Since bib-tights are stretchy I think length is the most important size. I bought XL and the fit is ok (legs still a little short).
7 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
Insulating road cycling bibtights with a brushed fabric construction. Featuring a Power seat pad for low bulk cushioning over medium to long distances and a back mesh insert for optimum ventilation. Ideal for cold weather rides/training sessions
 

Are these really good enough for zero temperatures?

These are called thermo tights but are they as effective against the cold as Windstopper tights?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Not the warmest out there but just about ok at zero. In my experience, the ones with windtopper on the front of the legs are warmer, but their reduced flexibility makes pedalling a bit harder.
7 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
Deda patented RHM geometry, round cross section handlebar made from light alloy 6061 (double butted).
 

Reach and drop?

What's the reach and drop of these bars please?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
reach (centre to centre) 8.5 cm, drop 14cm (centre to centre at bar ends).
8 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
Deda patented RHM geometry, round cross section handlebar made from light alloy 6061 (double butted).
 

Is the measurement CTC or OTO??

The description and some comments say the measurement is outside to outside, but the reply to "Which part of the handlebar?" question says the measurement is centre to centre. Which one is it!?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
These are definately measured outside to outside at the bar ends.
8 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
dhb’s warmest Winter bib tight, built from the original MITI Thermoroubaix fabric, TEFLON coated, with large wind blocking membrane on legs. (dhb Vaeon Zero - replaces dhb PACE SuperRoubaix Windproof)
 

What size to purchase

I am 5'11'' tall
Chest 42''
Waist 39''
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am about your size and found the XL fitted best especially if, like me you have long legs for your height. It is especially important to tend to size up a tad with the zero and other windproof tights. This is because the front upper of the legs is a little less flexible due to the windproof material. Get them too small and it adds noticeably to pedalling resistance.
8 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
 Castelli Gabba Windstopper Rain Jersey
Castelli Gabba Windstopper Rain Jersey
A fully protective wind and waterproof jersey built from the latest innovation in fabric technology; Windstopper X-Lite Plus. Tested and developed by the Cervelo Test Team, the Gabba jersey is a breakthrough in comfort and wet weather protection.
 

Size

Usually a small pretty much everything, rapha, santini, champ sys etc. But I've read quite a few people saying to size up with Castelli, anyone got an opinion?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Confirming what others have said. I am 100 cm chest. so the chart shows me as L. However, I ordered L and XL. As with other Castelli stuff, I could get away with the L, but it was tight especially around the shoulders. The XL allows room for a merino base when needed and is definately not flappy. I find the same with all Castelli jersey sizing. Incidentally - a brilliantly versatile jacket in these autumn conditions especially when paired up with nanoflex arms. The yellow colour is also reassuring on misty rides!
10 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor
 
 Orbit MX Assorted Colours 1 1/8 Aheadset
Orbit MX Assorted Colours 1 1/8 Aheadset
Headsets are a surprising technical component. Bicycles owe their stability and their sensitive steering dynamics to their unique design. The headset is the critical element to ensuring performance.
 

Can this used on a road bike?

I have an ageing road bike and the stem fits into the frame as oppose to the top of the fork. Would this type of headset work with type of system?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
An ageing road bike is likely to have a screw type headset (probably 1" dia) as opposed to this 11/8" dia 'A' headset. These were used in conjuction with a stem secured by a central expander bolt instead of two side-clamping bolts. If so, then no, this headset will not fit.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Careful
Exmoor