VforMDad
Share VforMDad's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
VforMDad's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    25 October 2010
  • Last Review
    14 December 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    14 December 2012
  • Last Answer
    14 December 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
VforMDad's Reviews
 
 Heritage Bobet Thermo Bib Tights
Heritage Bobet Thermo Bib Tights
With a career spanning 1947 to 1959, Frenchman Louis Bobet became one of cycling's legends with 3 consecutive Tour de France wins and a host of other Accolades. Campagnolo pay tribute to him with a subtly styled thermal short for winter riders
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Smart Campag, little light weight
Posted14 December 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
VforMDad
fromWest Midlands, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I'd wanted a winter tight. Last week (December ) they were not not fully adequate with cold knees. But good fit however surprised how slippery they were in the csaddle."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great jersey, good quality and value
Posted14 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
VforMDad
fromWest Midlands, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Everything good about this, including fit. Does bring into question how much mark up there is on some named products"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves
SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves
Wind and Waterproof cycling gloves with a light, breathable construction. Featuring a 3-layer membrane fabric assembly, 3D pre-curved fingers and silicone contact points for protection, feel and dexterity on the roads and trails - whatever the weather.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice gloves, expensive
Posted14 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
VforMDad
fromWest Midlands, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Great looking and comfortable glove. Not as suitable for winter as I'd hoped."
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 TG System Thermo Txn Waterproof Overshoes
TG System Thermo Txn Waterproof Overshoes
Waterproof overshoes with a scotchlite treatment to keep the autumn winter spray off your shoes.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Great Campag look, small fitting
Posted14 December 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
VforMDad
fromWest Midlands, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Great Campag, bit pricy, not solid winter weather nor fully robust. Fir on the small size"
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Earnley Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey
Earnley Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey
The Earnley range - quality kit at unbeatable prices
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good value
Posted25 October 2010
VforMDad
"Nice top, does what it needs and does not have silly price tag because you are advertising someone elses product or having to pretend you are a superstar."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Velocity Compression Tights
Velocity Compression Tights
Linebreak are the Official Suppliers of Compression Base Layers to British Triathlon Gareth Thomas - WRU, Cardiff Blues Rugby Lions RFC Blind Dave - & Magnificent Marathons Karl Harris - British Superbikes
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant
Posted25 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
VforMDad
"Great piece of kit. Have worn during exercise as well as after, they do make a difference."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Road Air 2 Mini Road Pump
Road Air 2 Mini Road Pump
How about a really small, light weight hand pump? Here it is.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
cheap and lightweight
Posted25 October 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
VforMDad
"Havn't used in action yet but my son has and survived. Its ideal to put in back pocket and cheap enough to afford one for each of the family and save Dad having to blow everybodys tyres up!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Windtex Coloured Skull Cap
dhb Windtex Coloured Skull Cap
Enhanced thermal protection from cold wind for your head.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
colder riding
Posted25 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
VforMDad
"Fit nicely under helment, keeping head and ears warm- ideal. Need to get used to reduced hearing, but warmth makes up for that. Not sure I can wear without a helmet on top though!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Universal Under Gloves
Universal Under Gloves
Versatile single-layer under-gloves for additional insulation in deep winter conditions. Universal Under-gloves feature a high-wicking thermo-stretch fabric construction for a close, comfortable fit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great purchase
Posted25 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
VforMDad
"Spent what seemed like hours going through wriggle gloves looking for value for money inexpensive gloves for autumn/spring cycling and running. These arrived better than in the pictures and description, they were exactly what I'd been looking for, lightweight, comfortable and not silly colour."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 MerinoFusion Trekker Socks
MerinoFusion Trekker Socks
The Bridgedale MerinoFusion Trekker is a universal sock designed for day-long protection and next-to-skin comfort. Bridgedale construction ensures a dry environment for comfortable and healthy feet.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
comfortable
Posted25 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
VforMDad
"These socks do what they say on the box. Pleasantly pleased with the comfort, fit and looks. Good v for m."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
VforMDad's Questions
 
VforMDad has not submitted any questions.
 
VforMDad's Answers
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 

This or Windslam Robaix for winter?

Looking for a winter jacket/jersey for cycling in London and I don't know whether to go for this or the dhb Long Sleeve Windslam Roubaix? It sounds that this jacket is warm but it's doesn't claim to block the wind like the Windslam and in my experience it's the icy wind in Winter that really leads to cold limbs.

Hence I'm leaning toward the Windslam Roubaix but want to double-check my assumptions?
Yes, wind protection is disappointing. I had to don a wind proof jacket on top
1 year, 10 months ago
by
VforMDad
West Midlands, UK
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 

M or L?

I'am 177cm, my chest is 90cm or 35 inches and my waist is 78cm or 30 inches
Best answer
M I reckon
1 year, 10 months ago
by
VforMDad
West Midlands, UK
 
 Fusion WINDSTOPPER Softshell MTB Gloves
Fusion WINDSTOPPER Softshell MTB Gloves
Extreme thermal protection for deep winter. Fusion Softshell gloves feature a removable finger cover, gel padded palm and insulated forearm to fight off the chill in windy, sub-zero conditions. Essential for dedicated and daring road riders.
 

How do these fair in wet weather?

Good, but cuffs little short
1 year, 10 months ago
by
VforMDad
West Midlands, UK
 
Designed to protect your feet against cold and wet conditions, HardWear overshoes feature a Neoskin waterproof layer on top of 3mm neoprene which offers the best protection against the cold and rain.
 

Suitable temperature range?

I've got a pair of new Shimano MT71 shoes which have a Gore-Tex liner, however as I recently found out cycling home in heavy rain, this liner does nothing to stop water coming in through the top of your shoes and soaking your socks.

I really need something that is durable and water proof that will stop water coming into the shoe from where my ankles are. Reflectivity is also a big bonus for those stormy, dark commutes home.

I am mainly cycling in temperatures around 8-14 degrees C during Winter when rain is more likely and I'll need the protection. I read some comments that these trap a lot of heat in, which is great if you are in frosty conditions, but considering these shoes are quite warm already due to the waterproof liner I am worried that this lack of ventilation will result in extremely warm and sweaty feet. What's the verdict? Go or no?

I've considered waterproof pants, however it seems that they are generally too stuffy and hot which results in sweat issues. There's a few out there that are 3/4 length to address this issue but this still exposes the top of my shoes to water getting in!
Probably ok for road but not MTB. I'd wanted something similar, these are not robust enough
1 year, 10 months ago
by
VforMDad
West Midlands, UK
 
Designed to protect your feet against cold and wet conditions, HardWear overshoes feature a Neoskin waterproof layer on top of 3mm neoprene which offers the best protection against the cold and rain.
 

Suitable for toe clips?

Would like to wear these in zero Centigrade with toeclips on mountain bike, riding road.
Thanks,
Brad.
No
1 year, 10 months ago
by
VforMDad
West Midlands, UK
 
Designed to protect your feet against cold and wet conditions, HardWear overshoes feature a Neoskin waterproof layer on top of 3mm neoprene which offers the best protection against the cold and rain.
 

What size should I get for EU46 Specialized MTB shoe.

Have decided these are the overshoes I want but just wondered if I'd be better going for the 47/48 size because I use an MTB shoe as opposed to a road shoe or will the 45/46 be big enough? Any help appreciated.
Cheers
Stu
They comeup small especially for MTB. Built for slim road shoes
1 year, 10 months ago
by
VforMDad
West Midlands, UK