greycyclist
Share greycyclist's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
greycyclist's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    01 January 2012
  • Last Review
    14 December 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    24 August 2009
  • Last Question
    18 April 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    01 January 2012
  • Last Answer
    01 January 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
greycyclist's Reviews
 
Produced in CAB as Chromoplastics these mudguards are highly resistant to corrosion and ultra violet radiation resulting in great flexibility and a virtually unbreakable product.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A good buy considering the weather this year.
Posted14 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
greycyclist
fromGrantham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Before buying these mudguards I had Racing Blades but found them to not very good this year following the bad weather on country lanes. I still got dirty feet and a muddy frame. These mudguards overcome this problem. They were fiddly to fit and as others have said the stays needed cutting with a hacksaw. I found it useful to do a dry run on fitting the stays into the clips and then not adding the rubber caps until I had cut the to length. Without the rubber caps.it was easier to adjust the stays length. Also the bracket by the brake had to be fitted between the brake and the frame due to design on my TREK 1000. The blocks needed adjusting."
Pros: Durable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: poor fitting instructions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nevis Waterproof Cycling Jacket
Nevis Waterproof Cycling Jacket
The Nevis is now produced in a more vibrant blue and with a xxxl size option with new features including a water repel front zip and increased tail reflectivity.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted24 October 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
greycyclist
fromGrantham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Being 6'3" tall of slight build I was concerned about the fit. I purchased a Large as the XL was too baggy round the chest. Basically the jacket was a good fit apart from the sleeves being slightly short. I liked the draw cord at the waist as a loose fitting in this area has been a problem with other jackets/jerseys I have bought. The draw cord at the neck is also a good feature. I like the small pocket on the front as this suitable for keys etc."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit, good apart from slightly short sleeves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
dhb Long sleeved Windslam Roubaix Jersey
Posted01 January 2012
greycyclist
fromGrantham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Having followed the Size Guide I ordered a Large but being 6 ft 3 inches tall I was concerned about body and sleeve length. I need not have worried as it is a good fit, and the waist band is effective. I do find the neck a little stiff and high so I often ride with the zip down an inch or so."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Good Fit
Cons: back pocket access high
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
greycyclist's Questions
 
Versatile multi-sport tights, ideal for cycling, walking or as a layering piece in cold conditions.
 

What size?

I have a 34 " waist and 34" inside leg and are 'thin'. What size is best?
11 months ago
by
greycyclist
Grantham
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

SRAM red 12-28 cassette

I currently have 12-27 and would like to change to a 12-28, to make it easier for going up hill. Can I fit the 10 speed Ultegra 6700 or will I have to change the rear mechanism.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
greycyclist
Grantham
 
 Cayo 105 2010 Ltd Edition
Cayo 105 2010 Ltd Edition
The Focus Cayo was the bike that launched Focus onto the UK cycling scene with a bang in 2006.
 

Focus Cayo 105 I am 6'3'' tall with a 34" inside leg. What size bike would you suggest.Thanks

4 years ago
by
greycyclist
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
Racing 7 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
Essentially unchanged from the technical point of view compared to the 2009 version, the Racing 7 wheels sport the new Fulcrum graphics that have been applied to the whole Fulcrum Road range. The message is immediate: Speed and Competition. Two concepts that match perfectly with the DNA and the unparalleled sports successes of Fulcrum. Racing7 wheels have an aluminium rim with a height of 24 mm and aerodynamic profile and machined braking surfaces with wear indicator. Hubs are oversize, flanged, and turning on sealed cylindrical bearings. Twenty 2mm spokes are radially laced on the front wheel to improve the bike's aerodynamics. The rear wheel, on the other hand, has 24 spokes laced according to Fulcrum's renowned 2:1 Two-to-One™ geometry to improve transmission of the athlete's power.
 

Fulcrum 7racing wheels set 2008-2009

Are these suitable for a Shimano cassette with 8 cogs?
Regards
4 years, 7 months ago
by
greycyclist
 
greycyclist's Answers
 
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 

Hi, Im 6ft 4, 34in waist, arm length is usally short, what size would you recommend? as tight a fit as possible. X or XL?

I am 6ft 3 with 34 ins waist and found Large was a good fit. No problems with arm length. Rear pockrt access is high.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
greycyclist
Grantham