MafiaIllustrations
Share MafiaIllustrations's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
MafiaIllustrations's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    22 June 2009
  • Last Review
    25 May 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    09 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    24 June 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
MafiaIllustrations's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Ritchey Pro Road Bar Tape
Ritchey Pro Road Bar Tape
A great feel and grippy bar tape.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic
Posted25 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
User submitted photo
MafiaIllustrations
fromBirmingham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Bought this to replace the white tape on my boardman team carbon 2012 as it had faded and didn't fit my new colour scheme of yellow and black.
I'd never replaced bar tape before so after a few youtube tutorials i decided to have a go. The in-box instructions are easy to follow, the tape is of good quality with some sticky to hold it in place as you wrap and the length is perfect.
The bar ends that lock-in are a nice touch and the tape itself is smooth and comfortable soaking up a lot of the bumps and judders of the road.
The only complaint i'd have is that they don't give you enough PVC tape to secure it properly once you're finished but as long as you've got some handy you shouldn't have any problems.
Great tape for the money that comes in a variety of vibrant colours and is very fit for purpose. One happy customer.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: need more tape
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Zaffiro is recognised everywhere as the training tyre for the serious rider.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant
Posted13 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MafiaIllustrations
fromBirmingham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Bought these to replace my white wall Vittoria Rubino's that had been from Lands End to John O Groats with me plus all of my training runs so the rubber had started to deteriorate.
I had originally wanted yellow Rubino's but these were the same price and they'd sold out of Rubino's.
So far they seem to be proving fit for purpose. I've taken them on 2 30 mile training runs with no problems (weather's been rubbish).
They fit VERY tight to the rim, look fantastic, hold the road well, don't make that annoying 'zzzzzzz' noise that some tyres do and don't shift about as you shift your weight.
The range of colours are fantastic and they're very vibrant and bright offering a nice compliment to the yellow inside my forks on my boardman carbon team 2012.
The only issue i had with them was getting them on. I had some issues putting my Rubino's on initially but they proved easy as pie compared to these stubborn tyres. Worth it though, they look great and are still in the same price range as the Rubino's.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Night Vision windproof glove offers a highly reflective trim on the side and the reflective Night Vision logo across the front of the glove.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great for the price
Posted28 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MafiaIllustrations
fromBirmingham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Took these out in minus temperatures for about 3 hours over 40 miles and i'm pretty pleased with them. I never expected to be able to wear them on their own to keep the cold out but they are a slightly baggy fit so it's possible to wear another pair of gloves underneath them.
They did me proud keeping the wind at bay and my fingers nice and toasty for the first 2 hours until it began to rain and they got wet which coupled with the wind chill, made my fingers pretty frosty pretty quickly.
They look great and are good quality with the night vision reflectors and bright colours being a massive plus particularly if you're riding down roads with no street lighting and need to be certain that motorists can see your hand signals. None of the padding is in awkward positions and they're very cmfortable to wear over long distances. If you're looking for an all weather glove then look elsewhere but for a decent pair of gloves in a decent price range you can't go wrong with these.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
An outstanding value road cycling shoe with a sleek, minimal upper for cooling comfort and a stiff glass reinforced nylon sole for efficient pedalling action. The R1.0 is the perfect introduction to performance cycle footwear.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Couldn't be happier
Posted24 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MafiaIllustrations
fromBirmingham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I needed some shoes to go with my mavic pro pedals and given the price-range and DHB reputation they seemed to fit the bill nicely. I'm a UK size 11 so i bought the 46 size pair in white. Since attaching my cleats to them they haven't shifted at all and the shoes themselves are very well made, comfortable and fit well with no rubbing. I've done over 250 miles in them in all manner of weather conditions and my feet have stayed dry and ventilated the whole time. These are my first pair of proper cycling shoes and i can't see any reason to buy any higher in the price range other than for weight reasons. They're not heavy and they do a fine job of reducing fatigue in your legs as you pedal but they're not carbon fibre and may be too weighty for some riders."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Altura team replica jersey, perfect for fast road rides in with race inspired styling.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The tuxedo of jerseys
Posted14 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MafiaIllustrations
fromBirmingham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this Jersey to add to my collection for my planned ride from Lands-end to John o Groats in the summer. Mainly bought it because of the price but also because of the Altura brand as i've had some things from them before and never had any problems. This is no exception. I've been out on 2 long rides since buying it and overall am impressed. It doesn't ride-up as you cycle like some other jerseys are prone to do and the quality is great so you feel like the zip might break or freeze on you or that the stitching might come undone. It does it's job of keeping you cool and ventilated well and looks fantastic while you ride. The fit unfortunatley isn't amazing. I bought the large because of my height (6'3") and chest size (41') and whilst it fits in the length department it's a little baggy on my chest so it flaps about a bit during long descents. Great Jersey for the price though"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Tao Ultralight with Free 500ml Water Bottle
Tao Ultralight with Free 500ml Water Bottle
Buy the Tao Ultralight bottle cage and receive the Shiva 500ml water bottle free. No excuse now to go on that ride without a drink.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant
Posted11 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MafiaIllustrations
fromBirmingham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I bought this as i've recently started to do some serious mileage on my roadbike and needed more than just a bottle of something in my backpack. I was a little worried about the size of it when it arrived as i feared it might chafe against my legs as i rode but i experienced no such problems during it's maiden 100 mile run to Ross on Wye and back. Despite getting very sticky because i'd filled it with energy drink, the cage and bottle performed beautifully with no drips or fears that it might slip from the cage during the ride. Highly recommended for people like me who just like things to do their job and do it well. Suprisingly light and very well made for the price-bracket."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Velo Wireless has a great new look regarding the screen and body. The screen is enlarged making it easier to view the display and with one button control makes this computer very easy to use.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great bit of kit
Posted10 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MafiaIllustrations
fromBirmingham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've had this computer for a while now and originally bought it to replace my old one that i bought for roughly the same price. To be honest, the older one had more features such as a heart monitor and a backlight but this computer does exactly what it says on the tin and is extremely easy to use, install and the large display is a very welcome addtion to my rides. the little pace arrow is useful aswell as you get real-time feedback on whether you should be going faster or not. These computers never include a description of whether they do kph, mph or both so here and now anyone who's looking to buy this computer it gives you a choice of either kph or mph."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The popular all-rounder Rubino has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres are robust 60 TPI nylon casing, have a technical tread pattern and long life tread compound.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
What more do you need?
Posted09 May 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MafiaIllustrations
fromBirmingham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought these tyres because I needed some tyres that're able to cope with the minefield of potholes that is Britains road system and look good.
These seemed to fit the bill so i bought them and havn't been disappointed so far. I'm really happy with how they look and they have a good tread on them so cornering doesn't result in a side slip when you get caught in the rain. Perfect for those weekend rides and the commute to work. Wouldn't recommend them for racing though as they're a bit heavy duty.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Long Finger Cycling Gloves
Elite Long Finger Cycling Gloves
Lightweight second skin glove
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
No probs
Posted05 February 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MafiaIllustrations
fromBirmingham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great looking glove with thick padding where it's needed. Brilliant fit too. Recommended."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pro Road Lubricant 120ml Bottle
Pro Road Lubricant 120ml Bottle
Breakthrough ceramic bonding technology that coats your chain to prevent wear and corrosion and then cushions it with cushions it with a blanket of pure synthetic racing oil.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
No problems
Posted22 August 2009
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MafiaIllustrations
fromBirmingham, UK
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I think i might have put a bit too much of this onto my chain as after a few rides i noticed a thick black spatter over my frame by the cassette so use it sparingly but i've had no problems with it other than that and it seems to hold out well during a downpour."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
MafiaIllustrations's Questions
 
MafiaIllustrations has not submitted any questions.
 
MafiaIllustrations's Answers
 
An outstanding value road cycling shoe with a sleek, minimal upper for cooling comfort and a stiff glass reinforced nylon sole for efficient pedalling action. The R1.0 is the perfect introduction to performance cycle footwear.
 

I am a UK size 10 - Do you suggest a 46 or 46? Is the sizing generally a little small/large? thanks

I'm a UK 11 and bought the 46 size. They fit perfectly with a little room to move your feet if you've been on the bike a while and just want to shuffle your feet about in them so i'd recommend a size down from the 46 if you're a size 10.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
MafiaIllustrations
Birmingham, UK
 
 Tao Ultralight with Free 500ml Water Bottle
Tao Ultralight with Free 500ml Water Bottle
Buy the Tao Ultralight bottle cage and receive the Shiva 500ml water bottle free. No excuse now to go on that ride without a drink.
 

Does the Tacx Tao Ultralight come with the bolts to secure to the frame

Yes it does come with bolts but i didn't use them as all bikes have them on the frame as standard anyway i've found.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
MafiaIllustrations
Birmingham, UK
 
The Velo Wireless has a great new look regarding the screen and body. The screen is enlarged making it easier to view the display and with one button control makes this computer very easy to use.
 

does cateye velo computer record in kilometers

Best answer
You get the choice of either mph or kph with this :)
2 years, 6 months ago
by
MafiaIllustrations
Birmingham, UK
 
The popular all-rounder Rubino has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres are robust 60 TPI nylon casing, have a technical tread pattern and long life tread compound.
 

IS THE PRICE FOR TWO TYERS

Price is per tyre.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
MafiaIllustrations
Birmingham, UK