bumper
Top 1000 Contributor
Share bumper's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
bumper's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    11 June 2009
  • Last Review
    12 September 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    10 September 2009
  • Last Question
    19 December 2009
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    30 December 2009
  • Last Answer
    12 September 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
bumper's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Whether you lead an active lifestyle or an elite sporting career, the Wiggle Hydration Tabs can help you get the most out of your water and optimise hydration. Available in a choice of two great tasting flavours, blackcurrant and lemon.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Taste nice
Posted12 September 2014
bumper
fromStaffordshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"As tabs go these are fairly nice to taste. They are also stronger with 2 tabs in a 750ml bottle than other brands.
The only concern is the warning on the container, max 3 tabs per day. I use 4 in large two bottles. Touring on a very not day I may use more. It may mean a route planned near to toilets!"
Cons: max 3 tabs per day
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The concept of having a bike that is a dedicated all-rounder might seem strange but that’s essentially what the Substance is…
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A perfect all rounder
Posted15 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
bumper
fromStaffordshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This bike is a little gem. It's a perfect all round bike and excellent quality. I've sat on it for 100+ miles without issues! the steel frame is silky smooth even though it's only 520. It's a road bike, cx bike, tourer, audax bike, takes guards, rack, what more could you want? It's miles better value than a cdf or equivalent. The finish is very good on the frame and the colour is even better than the pics. It's not a featherweight bike but it's not heavy either, once riding it it just rolls nicely.
Wiggles service has been outstanding too. Ordered on Sunday night then delivered on Tuesday morning."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
The B15 Swallow is a faithful reproduction of a saddle specifically conceived with the sporting cyclist in mind, the result being a timeless design widely regarded as the precursor of all modern racing saddles.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Looks amazing feels fantastic
Posted15 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
bumper
fromStaffordshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"These are great saddles if they fit your bum. They're a little expensive and heavy but they should last years and years. They look perfect on the right bike too."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable
Cons: heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
In the Brooks tradition, this bar tape is made of natural leather to make it the perfect complement to your Brooks saddle
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Lovely looking tape.
Posted15 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
bumper
fromStaffordshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I always use this tape on my bars because it looks great and is hard wearing. I've never had any problems with any of the rolls but this last lot was full of joins, they're all visible on the bars too.
I think for the cost this tape should be perfect Brooks!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable
Cons: full of joins
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Reflex Roubaix Bib Tight-Pack of 2
dhb Vaeon Reflex Roubaix Bib Tight-Pack of 2
An excellent value pack of 2 roubaix (fleeced) Lycra padded bib tights with enhanced visibility 3M detailing for cold, dark commutes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value bib tights
Posted17 November 2013
bumper
fromStaffordshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"What's not to like? Excellent value, well made, good fit, very warm for early winter rides.
These are great winter tights, the roubaix lining is toasty. The pad is very good for mid-long rides, not as thick as Assos pads but not as expensive either. You can have six pairs of these for one pair of fugu bib tights.
Highly recommended, I've never had any problems with dhb kit."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit, winter warmth
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 Marathon Winter Performance Rigid MTB Tyre
Marathon Winter Performance Rigid MTB Tyre
For a safer journey. You have full control on icy roads with the Marathon Winter.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Why sit on the turbo over winter?
Posted10 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
bumper
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I purchased these to enable me to keep riding outside over winter, the turbo is soul destroying no matter how you try to entertain yourself!
Although heavy, the weight isn't noticed once you're on the move. The carbide studs grip well and inspire confidence on icy roads. I even keep them pumped up to the max on icy roads with no problems, lower than 50 psi and they drag badly, especially on climbs. The make a nice crackly noise, like riding on a freshly gritted road, the noise eases off a little after a few miles as the studs wear in.
My only gripe is the loss of a stud every now and then, I think wiggle and other suppliers of the tyres should sell replacement studs. You can tell when a studs coming out because it makes a sound like a drawing pin in your tyre would."
Pros: High Quality, safer than standard tyres on icey roads
Cons: no spare studs, studs can pop out easily, a little twitchy on fast corners
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Titanium Foldable Solid Fuel Stove
Titanium Foldable Solid Fuel Stove
An ultralight titanium foldable solid fuel stove which is supplied in a meshbag. The Titanium Pot is the ideal companion for this product and is available seperately.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best solid fuel stove
Posted30 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
bumper
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This has turned into my go to stove. I'm a bit of a stove geek and own over thirty different stove types but this has to be my favourite.
People who don't get on with solid fuel tabs aren't using them correctly, this will bring water to a boil within 6 minutes in freezing conditions using the correct amount of fuel and correct amount of water. The only caveat is that you need to use a windshield.
It easily fits inside my Alpkit cup, which then fits into the Alpkit/esbit pot with a lid. This makes for a super lightweight cooking set. I've started using the gelert/highlander fuel tabs because they are easily available and cheap. Two of the tabs fit nicely on the stove a bring enough water to the boil for food, drink and washing up. Any soot created can be washed off or wiped with a tea bag which does a good job!
Now the ice and frost is here get one of these and save your gas and meths for the warmer weather!"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Average
Posted21 August 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
bumper
"I used this on my new fixed gear when I changed the levers. It has to run along the top tube in a single length, retro style. It flexes badly on the rear cable and gives a slightly spongy feel. It also doesn't come with any ferrules.
I won't buy it again, in fact I have since changed it To the lifeline cable outer which is thicker with less flex. The lifeline outer comes with ferrules too!"
Pros: average
Cons: Low Quality, flexy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Alloy Rear Rack
Alloy Rear Rack
Constructed from 10.2mm hollow tubes and designed to fit 26"/700C wheels.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good for the money
Posted07 May 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
bumper
"This rack was purchased as an emergency rack because I broke my last one. I already have the front lifeline rack and think it's great. This one isn't too bad for the money but as others have said the alloy bolts are not very good and it should really come with fixing bolts, even if they charge an extra £1. I've replaced all of the bolts for good quality stainless ones.
Fitting was a bit fiddly compared to other racks I've had. It seems to be set a little bit further forward than most racks, not a major issue unless you've got very large feet."
Pros: Great Value
Cons: should have fitting bolts really, alloy bolts are a cheap compromise
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mini Stove
Mini Stove
Compact camping stove.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great for a day out
Posted06 May 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
bumper
"I've already got a large Trangia set but it's too heavy for a day out or lightweight camping. This is perfect, the Teflon pan is a nice touch. I may even try sausages!! I wish the stand & burner was about 1/4 inch smaller to fit inside a Trangia kettle but that's not a major problem, just stick the pan on top of the pot to help a quicker boil."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Lightweight, Rugged, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
bumper's Questions
 
These are 10mm adaptor nuts for non QR axles for Tacx Trainers.
 

dropout width

Hi,
I can see somone has already asked if these work for fixed/track dropouts and you've said that they don't.

Do you do any nuts/extensions that will enable a track bike to fit a tacx trainer?

Thanks
4 years, 10 months ago
by
bumper
 
 Mares Disc 2009
Mares Disc 2009
Focus bikes are renowned for their cross bikes, with many a world championship being won on them since 2005. Special Offer Price - ends Friday 6th March
 

Mudguard fitting

Hi,
Can you please tell me if there are the holes on the rear and front fork dropouts that let you attach full mudguards.
Thanks
5 years, 1 month ago
by
bumper
 
 Mares 2009
Mares 2009
Focus bikes are renowned for their cross bikes, with many a world championship being won on them since 2005. They offer exceptional pound for pound performance and are an ideal choice for cross or even as a winter hack.
 

Mudguard fitting

Hi,
Can you please confirm that there are the correct holes on the frame dropouts for guards & also on the seat stays for a rack. I can see the ones in the picture on the fork but not the rear.
Thanks
5 years, 1 month ago
by
bumper
 
bumper's Answers
 
The concept of having a bike that is a dedicated all-rounder might seem strange but that’s essentially what the Substance is…
 

Is the hub compatible with 10- and 11-speed cassettes, or only 9-speed?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
10 speed fits fine. Just use the spacer that come with some cassettes.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
bumper
Staffordshire
 
The concept of having a bike that is a dedicated all-rounder might seem strange but that’s essentially what the Substance is…
 

What rear bike racks fit this bike?

I've tried the Tortec Epic Stainless Steel Rear Rack and the Tubus Logo and neither fit the eyelet rack mount. I need a bike rack that can hold 40kg.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I've managed to fit the madison summit stainless rack from my old bike. I don't think they do it any more in stainless, the new version is identical but aluminium rated to 30kg. You may be able to find a stainless version if you hunt around. My tortec fits too but I had to Dremel the rack legs slightly to clear the frame dropout.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
bumper
Staffordshire
 
The concept of having a bike that is a dedicated all-rounder might seem strange but that’s essentially what the Substance is…
 

Is it possible to mount a rack in the fork?

I wonder if it is possible to mount a rack in the fork. In affirmative case, what model would you recommend?

Thank you
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I've fitted a nitto m18 front rack. It comes with various size stainless p clips and is very sturdy. I've had a tent and sleeping bag on it without issues.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
bumper
Staffordshire
 
The concept of having a bike that is a dedicated all-rounder might seem strange but that’s essentially what the Substance is…
 

Are the Sora shifters with or without side thumb shifting function?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
They are the new version without the thumb shifter. They're now like tiagra.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
bumper
Staffordshire
 
The concept of having a bike that is a dedicated all-rounder might seem strange but that’s essentially what the Substance is…
 

Seat tube diameter

Hi can you tell me what diameter seat tube this bike is. I want to change the seatclamp and front mech to a top pull cx.

Many Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It's not 32. My 31.9 clamps are too big.
7 months ago
by
bumper
Staffordshire
 
The concept of having a bike that is a dedicated all-rounder might seem strange but that’s essentially what the Substance is…
 

Seat tube diameter

Hi can you tell me what diameter seat tube this bike is. I want to change the seatclamp and front mech to a top pull cx.

Many Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
To answer my own question, I think it's 29.8mm, which is the standard 520 size.
7 months ago
by
bumper
Staffordshire
 
 Alloy Low Rider Front Rack
Alloy Low Rider Front Rack
A low riding rack for mounting panniers on your forks. The Lifeline Alloy front rack supports loads up to 10kg and features a laser etched logo on a matt black finish. Ideal for touring, shopping and commuting. Fits all standard front pannier bags.
 

Hi, would this low loader fit disc specific forks please

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I fitted them to a disc specific fork on my Singular Peregrine with no problems at all. The brakes are avid BB7 road but I think they'd miss most calipers.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
bumper
 
These are 10mm adaptor nuts for non QR axles for Tacx Trainers.
 

dropout width

Hi,
I can see somone has already asked if these work for fixed/track dropouts and you've said that they don't.

Do you do any nuts/extensions that will enable a track bike to fit a tacx trainer?

Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'll answer my own question Wiggle!!

I purchased a pair and they DO work on a track bike when fitted onto a Tacx trainer.
4 years, 10 months ago
by
bumper