jashe
Share jashe's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
jashe's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    17 September 2010
  • Last Review
    15 October 2010
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    15 February 2011
  • Last Question
    15 February 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    15 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    15 October 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
jashe's Reviews
 
 Mens Short Sleeve Heil Valley Zip Neck SS10
Mens Short Sleeve Heil Valley Zip Neck SS10
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality jersey
Posted15 October 2010
jashe
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is probably the nicest ss cycling top I've ever bought.
It looks fantastic, almost too good for cycling.
The pockets on the back are discreetly hidden so realistically you would never know they were there unless you have stuff in them. I wear it for other sports and you would never know it was a cycling top...I have actually worn it out at night.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses
dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses
The dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses are one of our best-selling products - and it's not hard to see why. They offer 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection and have a Hydrophobic lens coating to help repel sweat and water.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
As good as sunglasses 3 or 4 times the price
Posted15 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
jashe
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"They fit nice and snugly on, feel like decent enough quality and the lenses are nice and clear.
They look somewhere between normal sunglasses and full-on Oakley-style cycling glasses...they're not the sort you would wear if you weren't cycling.
Although the quality feels good, they are a little on the flimsy side...I can't imagine them standing up to a full-on faceplant if you come off MTB-ing.
Small niggle is the size of the case which doesn't make it easy to carry around - it's about the size of a big slice of melon so you won't be slipping it in your jersey pockets.
I have had Oakley's and Bloc's before at around the £100 mark and I would say these are just about as good.
Fantastic value for money!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable
Cons: bulky case, a little bit flimsy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
So glad I finally got one...
Posted17 September 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
jashe
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"OK, so this is the first trainer I've bought and used but after reading lots of reviews about how noisy they are and difficult to set up, etc, I was very pleasantly surprised by the Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer.
There's a very handy youtube review by another Wiggle customer which I watched before buying which helped make my mind up. Please see below.
It is quiet...the bike is actually noisier than the trainer.
Once assembled, it is easy to set up and ride within minutes.
It folds up and stores away extremely compact (my front riser block is actually more cumbersome).
There's not much else to say to recommend it...it just seems to answer all of the questions most people ask of turbo trainers.
Now my personal niggles...these are mostly just down to naivety and will only be relevant to people buying trainers for the first time;
1. Assembly - there's one vital instruction/illustration for connecting the resistance unit to the frame which is confusing. The 2 bolts don't fasten through the 2 really obvious holes...you fasten them through the slots in the base of the unit but the illustration hints in the wrong direction. If you get confused at this point just look at the picture of the assembled trainer on the box for inspiration.
2. You have to change the rear spindle to the one they have supplied so that it slots into the trainer correctly. Not an issue for most people but both my wife and I want to use the trainer and we have very different sized bikes so have to swap the spindle over each time we use it. It's not a real hardship because it is a simple job and only takes about 2mins to change over.
3. Cycle computer - this will be really obvious to people who've used trainers before but not 1st timers. You need a cycle computer that has a detector at the back wheel. My expensive wireless one works 50/50 which is pretty much useless, so you may have to buy a new one which just adds to the price.
4. Rolling resistance - I average about 20mph through London traffic, but it just seems much harder to keep the same average up on this. I reckon it's down to the fact that there's no free-wheeling on turbo-trainers so you simply don't get a break. This definitely isn't a downside to the trainer because in the end it works you harder, but gives you a slightly false impression of the equivalent road speed.
All said though, I am extremely pleased to have bought a trainer and I don't think I could've done better than this one.
PS. you definitely need a front riser block to go with this.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
jashe's Questions
 
 Tour Thermal Padded 3/4 Knicker
Tour Thermal Padded 3/4 Knicker
Thermo Dry Tex (TDTxp) A stretch, brushed on the inside. Designed and produced by sportful. It is outstanding for keeping you warm and dry during moderate to intense activity even in adverse weather conditions. Pre Form Elastic Chamois 3 different thicknesses of padding for the different zones of the saddle guarantees comfort and protection. Bacteriostatic properties provided by Meryl Skinlife with permanent silver ions. 4-way stretch with the tried and tested sportful shape.
 

Size question for 5'11", 30" waist

I am 5'11", 30" waist and something like a 39" chest.
Any idea what size would suit best?
3 years, 10 months ago
by
jashe
London
 
jashe's Answers
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

Does the flywheel stop quickly when you stop pedalling? or does it have some road-like feel

Stops very quickly.
That was the biggst surprise for me (I've never used a trainer before) because it is much harder to keep up a decent average speed as you can essentially never freewheel.
I'd say it takes about 3 or 4 secs from 20mph to stop.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
jashe
London
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

Would I need anything to keep front wheel stable on the Elite Crono Fluid Elastogel Turbo Trainer?

Does the front wheel just remainin position?
Essentially yes although more to level the bike out than for stability.
The biggest issue is that the back wheel is held quite far off the ground so you are in a real head-down position if you don't buy a riser block.
I bought the Cycleops Power Climbing Block (it is much bigger than you realise) which does the job perfectly. Look up a review of the trainer on youtube...the guy uses the same Cycleops block as I do.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
jashe
London
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

Is this turbo trainer suitable for use with a quick release rear wheel?

Yes, however it is supplied with a replacement quick release spindle which you must fit for it to work.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
jashe
London
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

Can you fit a 650 size wheel to it?

As far as I know it will fit any size wheel.
There is a good review on youtube that shows it very clearly being set up.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
jashe
London
 
 Mens Short Sleeve Heil Valley Zip Neck SS10
Mens Short Sleeve Heil Valley Zip Neck SS10
 

Is there enough room for iphone?

Yes, plenty.
The pocket in the back is split in 2 and very discreetly hidden by a flap.
The netted pocket material is a little on the thin side though so I am wary of putting keys in there.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
jashe
London
 
 dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses
dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses
The dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses are one of our best-selling products - and it's not hard to see why. They offer 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection and have a Hydrophobic lens coating to help repel sweat and water.
 

Order availability

On the add to basket section only smoke is available...is this just the frame colour?
The frame is smoke-coloured.
The lenses are clear, mirrored grey and light blue.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
jashe
London