S1m0
Share S1m0's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
S1m0's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    04 January 2010
  • Last Review
    14 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    28 July 2012
  • Last Answer
    28 July 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
S1m0's Reviews
 
 Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Cheap SPDs
Posted14 December 2013
S1m0
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"Value for money. They're Shimano, so they're going to work. I've had a couple of pairs now that have had developed issues with the bearings. I binned one pair. The other pair developed a creak which I eliminated by squirting lube into the pedal.. You can buy a tool to strip and grease them, but at this price it's simpler to get a new set."
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Deda Dog Fang
Deda Dog Fang
This component is installed on most professional riders bikes and keeps the chain from falling in case of an over-shift, can be a race saving product.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
simple but effective
Posted14 December 2013
S1m0
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"Fit it and forget it. Stops the chain getting jammed between inner chainwheel and frame. Bit pricey."
Pros: functional
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cyclus Shimano Cassette Lockring Remover
Cyclus Shimano Cassette Lockring Remover
Shimano cassette removal tool
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Cheap but wrong material
Posted28 July 2012
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
S1m0
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"This is a cheap tool that should work well but is let down by being made from the wrong stuff. Shimano recommend 40Nm torque to tighten the lock ring on my rear cassette; at about 30Nm, the teeth on this remover started to shear off. Luckily no damage to the bike was done. I guess the reason it's so cheap is that it's made from easily machined aluminium instead of steel. Next time I think I'll spend the extra cash and get a pricier one."
Cons: Wears Out Easily
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Gravity Mitt Short Finger Cycling Gloves
Gravity Mitt Short Finger Cycling Gloves
Padded cycling mitt for essential hand protection and additional grip.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good value gloves
Posted17 June 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
S1m0
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"These gloves are well made from good materials, fit well, and are reasonably priced. I'm very pleased with them."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 CycleOps Mag Trainer
CycleOps Mag Trainer
Turn your bike into more than a fair-weather friend with the help of a Mag trainer. The perfect solution to getting in a ride when it's too cold, wet or dark to go outside, the Mag sets up quickly and easily for on-the-spot spins.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good winter training
Posted04 January 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
S1m0
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I wanted an entry level turbo and was not disappointed. The machine is set up easily enough, although the instructions are a bit light, and attaching the resistance unit was a bit fiddly. Quality and build appear good, although I have done less than 5 hours on it so far. I was pleased that there is more than enough resistance for me, so that I can use the bike gears to vary my workout between warmup/down to hard intervals without finding any limits. I expected some noise and vibration from a cheaper machine, and there is some - I use it in my garage, but wouldn't want to put it in a bedroom or an apartment without additional vibration damping such as a thick mat."
Pros: Rugged, reasonable value
Cons: noise & vibration
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
S1m0's Questions
 
S1m0 has not submitted any questions.
 
S1m0's Answers
 
 CycleOps Classic Mag Turbo Trainer
CycleOps Classic Mag Turbo Trainer
Best value magnetic trainer on the market.
 

Do I need to use the trainer skewer, can't I just pop my bike on?

The lever end of the skewer fits in a slot on the trainer. So unless your bike skewer lever is the same shape, you need to use the skewer. But it's easy enough to swap over, leave the wheel in the bike and just slide the skewer out & replace.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
S1m0
 
 Cyclus Shimano Cassette Lockring Remover
Cyclus Shimano Cassette Lockring Remover
Shimano cassette removal tool
 

What size spanner do you need for this?

Best answer
24mm
2 years, 3 months ago
by
S1m0