Saintjohn
Share Saintjohn's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Saintjohn's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    19 June 2009
  • Last Review
    26 August 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    06 September 2010
  • Last Question
    06 September 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    23 February 2010
  • Last Answer
    16 August 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Saintjohn's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
A Swiss product, Swissstop offers the best braking performance in all conditions for all types of bike. High performance compound for carbon wheels. Excellent stopping power wet and dry with superior modulation and low pad wear rates.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Definite improvement in performance on carbon rims
Posted26 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Saintjohn
fromLancaster
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you have carbon wheels with a carbon braking surface then these blocks are definitely worth considering. Given that you've probably shelled out over a grand for your wheels these don't seem so ridiculously overpriced if they help you extract that extra bit of performance from your ride. they are quiet, braking is smooth and progressive and definitely stronger breaking than the carbon specific blocks supplied with my wheels."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Compatto Rain Vest - 2012
Compatto Rain Vest - 2012
An ultralight wind and waterproof vest with a breathable Gore Windstopper Vega Fabric construction. The Compatto Lite is the most compact full protection jacket in the Castelli collection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great lightweight rain gilet
Posted03 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Saintjohn
fromLancaster
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Castelli always come up with great looking garments and this one is no exception. Fit is definitely for skinny cyclist types: go up at least one size unless you are pro cyclist thin.
I wore this all day in 6 hours of rain on a recent sportive and it kept my core dry. The tail fits over you jersey pockets nicely though the snugness of the fit makes accessing pockets a little tricky. Unlike other gilets it has a fabric back, not mesh back so is better on those marginal days when you think you might wear a full waterproof.
Over I was really impressed with the performance of this jacket on a foul day out in the Lakes."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Warm breathable Knee warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. NanoFlex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
More stylish but not as warm as you'd hope
Posted03 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Saintjohn
fromLancaster
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These leg warmers fit very snugly and the stretch of the fabric provides quite a degree of compression so maybe go one size up to what you expect. Although the fabric is fleece lined they are not as warm as other fleece arm and leg warmers I've used. Light rain beads up nicely on the surface but don't expect them to keep you dry in extended rain. Once soaked they dry quickly after the rain has stopped but because of the snugness of the fit you notice a distinct cooling effect from the evaporation of water. This makes them less than ideal for really cold weather.
They look great and have Castelli style but not warm enough for below 10 degrees C."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Warm breathable Arm warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. Nano Flex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Not as warm as you expect
Posted03 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Saintjohn
fromLancaster
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These arm warmers fit very snugly and the stretch of the fabric provides quite a degree of compression so maybe go one size up to what you expect. Although the fabric is fleece lined they are not as warm as other fleece arm and leg warmers I've used. Light rain beads up nicely on the surface but don't expect them to keep you dry in extended rain. Once soaked they dry quickly after the rain has stopped but because of the snugness of the fit you notice a distinct cooling effect from the evaporation of water. This makes them less than ideal for really cold weather.
They look great and have Castelli style but not warm enough for below 10 degrees C."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SL Race Team Edition Saddle
SL Race Team Edition Saddle
A padded saddle to meet the requirements of the active cyclist.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Useful budget SLR
Posted05 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Saintjohn
fromLancaster
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this saddle for a hybrid bike. The saddle that it came with was cheap and nasty so I wanted to replace it with a similar shaped saddle as the lightweight SLR on my race bike. As you'd expect from Selle Italia it's finish quality is excellent and although it's not a light saddle it's ideal as a budget saddle on a training bike or hybrid if you like the SLR saddle shape."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Clif Shot takes a streamlined approach to performance nutrition – delivering only what your body needs most while training and racing. The organic ingredients help provide clean essential energy and hydration, plus fast muscle recovery.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best tasting gel on the market
Posted30 January 2012
Saintjohn
fromLancaster
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having tried just about every brand of gel over the years, I think these new Clif Shots are by far the most palatable gels available. I've tried raspberry (very similar to raspberry jam), Chocolate and double espresso. The double espresso is my favourite - a real coffee treat. It does have a high caffeine kick though, so won't suit all. They also seem to be pretty easy on the stomach, too.
One last feature is the attached tear off which means that wrapper and tear off stays together making disposal much easier."
Pros: High Quality, tasty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Are you a serious roadie? Roll up your pant legs, and let's find out. If you're a real roadie, you shave your legs. What's more, you measure what you eat, you obsess about your training regimen, you read everything you can about cycling.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quiet and smooth
Posted21 January 2012
Saintjohn
fromLancaster
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've had this trainer for a month and it's easily the best trainer I've ridden. Onceyou've adjusted the pressure of the roller on your rear wheel it feels solid and doesn't slip at all. The roller is so smooth that your pedalling action is as close to riding on the road as you're going to get. Simply shift gears to change the resistance. Really good quality product. Recommended. The extras are definitely worth having in the kit, durable mat, and 2 risers with 3 positions and a thong to protect your bike from the sweat. No hesitation in recommending this kit."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Recovery Powder - 12 x 72g
Recovery Powder - 12 x 72g
The UK's No.1 Recovery brand now in powders. The first to combine world class performance with world class taste. Fast & Slow Protein and Carbohydrate Formula.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Shaken not stirred
Posted16 August 2011
Saintjohn
fromLancaster
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having been a long time user of the bottled form of the recovery shake I was always going to try the powdered version. My first go was to mix it in a glass. Not very nice, gritty and unpleasant texture. Second go was to mix it in a bottle and give it a really good shake. Complete transformation, barely discernible difference between the powdered version and the bottled version. I'll be using the powdered from now on as it's cheaper and packaged in a more environmentally friendly way."
Pros: Great Value, tasty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Softshell Winter Cycling Gloves
Softshell Winter Cycling Gloves
The update to our best selling Gavia glove, the Softshell glove is ideal for most winter conditions. Insulated and windproof, this glove is a must have for any committed winter athlete.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great winter glove
Posted23 February 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Saintjohn
fromStockport
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have small hands so the first thing to say about these gloves is that they are quite snug. If you wear lining gloves you may want to order a size larger than normal. I wear a small glove and found the fit perfect without lining gloves. These are well made, fleecy warm and comfortable. I found the seams at the finger tips let a little cold in on the most extreme days. The cuffs of these gloves are quite narrow and if you wear a stopwatch or wrist heart rate monitor you'll find it awkward to get the cuff over it.
Overall a great winter glove except for the coldest of days."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: awkward for watch wearers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 R900 Carbon Road Handlebars
R900 Carbon Road Handlebars
Road cyclists around the world understand that the most critical requirement for optimum performance is proper positioning on the bike. Handlebars are one of the three contact points between you and your bike, a new set can make a major difference to your riding. Proper positioning allows you to ...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb Swiss quality
Posted23 February 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
User submitted photo
Saintjohn
fromStockport
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The first thing I wanted to know was whether investing in a carbon roadbar was anything other than vanity – these bars do certainly look beautifully made. On longer rides I have been prone to getting numbed little fingers probably from 20 years of rock-climbing abuse to elbows I suspect, so i was hoping that the damping effect of carbon bars would improve this. My first ride with them was to be 76 miles from Hazel Grove to Morecambe via Nick o’ Pendle and the Trough of Bowland, just the sort of tough ride that would provoke these symptoms. Setting off through town I noticed very little difference. Maybe the bars felt a bit stiffer than the alu bars I was used to, but nothing too noticeable. However, when I came to a really long fast descent then I was in for a real surprise. The downhil from Dunnockshaw into Burnley on the A 682 is one of those “as fast as you dare” hills, but is often exposed to cross winds. Normally my descending is pretty shaky, but these bars made a huge difference. The whole front end seemed more stable and predictable and I can only put this down to the bars soaking up a lot more of the vibrations that my alu framed Principia fed through to the bars. Every downhill stretch thereafter I grew in confidence, and I’m hoping this feeling persists! After almost six hours in the saddle there was no sign of numb fingers. The bars are a real hit with me: Thoroughly recommended."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Saintjohn's Questions
 
 Mares 2010
Mares 2010
Focus bikes are renowned for their cross bikes, with many a world championship being won on them since 2005. They offer exceptional pound for pound performance and are an ideal choice for cross or even as your winter hack.
 

What material is the Focus Mares seat pillar made of?

3 years, 10 months ago
by
Saintjohn
Chorley
 
Saintjohn's Answers
 
Mount your iPhone 4S/4/3GS on your bikes handlebars or stem in a protective and water-resistant case that features built-in ANT+ adapter that wirelessly connects your iPhone to any ANT+ sensor including bike speed and cadence, bike power and heart rate.
 

does this kit come with the speed and cadance sensors

No, they must be purchased separately.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Saintjohn
Lancaster
 
Are you a serious roadie? Roll up your pant legs, and let's find out. If you're a real roadie, you shave your legs. What's more, you measure what you eat, you obsess about your training regimen, you read everything you can about cycling.
 

How many riser blocks come with the cycleops fluid pro trainer package

So if you wanted to have two riser blocks to raise the front wheel higher, would you need to buy an extra riser block ??
Best answer
It comes with 2 blocks, a decent quality mat and a thong. Haven't watched the vid.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Saintjohn
Lancaster
 
 Aksium Black Clincher Wheelset
Aksium Black Clincher Wheelset
Entry level at Mavic doesn't mean low end. This wheelset provides you with top Mavic technologies.
 

Will these fit 126mm rear and can I fit single speed?

My frame is 126mm and I have HOPE QR.
Also need to fit 37mm 700c tyres - thx
These are road bike 700x25c wheels designed for Shimano or Campag cassettes, not single speed. You can buy conversion kits to put a single cassette onto wheels designed for 10 speed cassettes, but if buying new, better to go for a proper singlespeed wheelset with aflip-flop hub
Won't fit 37mm tyres either -dangerous to try, they are likely to pop off the rim.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Saintjohn
Lancaster
 
 Aksium Black Clincher Wheelset
Aksium Black Clincher Wheelset
Entry level at Mavic doesn't mean low end. This wheelset provides you with top Mavic technologies.
 

Will this be compatible with a shimano 10 speed? thanks

Yes, just make sure you order the Shimano freehub version.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Saintjohn
Lancaster
 
 XTR M972 9 Speed OE Rear Derailleur
XTR M972 9 Speed OE Rear Derailleur
Speeds: 9 , Spring Type: Top-Normal, Max Front Difference: 22T , Total Capacity: 33T/45T, Max Rear Sprocket: 34T, Min. Rear Sprocket: 11T, Direct Attachment: Yes, Fluoric Coated Link Bushings: 4 , Sealed Bearing Tension Pulley: Yes, 11T Pulley: Yes , Pulley Bolt Retainer: Yes , Bracket Body Material/Finish: Aluminum/Painted , Plate Body Material/Finish: Aluminum/Painted, Outer Link Material/Finish: Aluminum/Anodized, Inner Link Material/Finish: Aluminum/Anodized, Outer Plate Material/Finish: Carbon, Inner Plate Material/Finish: Carbon
 

What is the difference between the 972 and the 972 OE ?

OE stands for "original equipment", i.e. kit that has been sold to bike companies to build bikes with rather than sell on. The actual kit is identical but will come unboxed and sometimes without instructions etc. It can be a great way to pick up a bargain if a company has over ordered a model of kit that has been superseded.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Saintjohn
Stockport
 
 Vai Road Stem
Vai Road Stem
The AL 6061 T6 alloy and hi-tech forging provide an excellent weight-performance ratio. The front plate is personalised with a logo "crystal flex".
 

How do I know what size my bars are?

I measured them (roughly - with a tape measure) at 85mm circumference - that suggests a diameter of 27mm I reckon. I assume that means they are standard size, but I don't want to order the wrong one, and have to return it
Based on your measurements you are looking at the narrow rather than oversized handlebar diameters i.e.28.6mm - for an oversized set you would have measured a circumference of around 100mm.
 
Products from my answer
R700 Road Handlebars
5 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
R900 Carbon Road Handlebars
5 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Saintjohn
Stockport
 
 Aksium Black Clincher Wheelset
Aksium Black Clincher Wheelset
Entry level at Mavic doesn't mean low end. This wheelset provides you with top Mavic technologies.
 

sram

what is the best match for a10speed sram campag or shimano version
A Shimano freehub will take a SRAM cassette, a Campag won't.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Saintjohn
Stockport
 
 Zonda 2-Way Fit Road Bike Wheelset 2012
Zonda 2-Way Fit Road Bike Wheelset 2012
The new Zonda wheels with the 2-Way Fit configuration are immediately recognisable by their aggressive graphics, but what's really impressive is their weight - 1580 grams!
 

Do these wheels work with Shimano Ultegra 6700 cassette?

And is this price for both front and rear wheel?
Yes, as long as you order the Shimano freehub version.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Saintjohn
Stockport