Ragtag
Share Ragtag's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Ragtag's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    23
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    20 February 2012
  • Last Review
    22 January 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    13 October 2012
  • Last Answer
    20 February 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Ragtag's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Top level racing clincher with exceptional winter and wet condition performance with a Duraskin® cut-resistant layer from bead to bead and 2 extra Vectran Breakers help increase puncture protection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The winter tyre
Posted22 January 2016
Ragtag
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"What can you say about this tyre that hasn't been said before. A classic.
I used to use Gatorskins but doing lots of miles on those is, by comparison, painful. If you want a durable and softer tyre, GP 4 seasons is the one for you. Much more feel, especially cornering, compared to Gatorskins and I've not had more punctures."
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Assos Skin Repair gel for relieves discomfort and accelerates the healing of skin damage caused by friction against the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just the trick
Posted22 January 2016
Ragtag
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I was sceptical this would help with preventing saddles sores but it has really worked well. After trying pretty much everything to stop sores, such as different saddles, position, various shorts and a load of lotions and potions, this has sorted me out."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The perfect compliment to a Fizik or Selle Royal saddles featuring the new ICS integral clip in system. The bag features reflective detailing and an LED light loop for added safety.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Looks good but weak
Posted04 September 2015
Ragtag
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Had two of these and the both broke in the same place on the plastic clip. I only put a multi-tool, tube and cash in them so I don't think it is unreasonable that it should be able to carry that sort of weight - especially at the price."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Lizard Skins Headset cover protects the lower headset seal with soft, conformable neoprene. It keeps grit, mud and dust out of the headset, preventing premature wear.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cheap and effective
Posted04 September 2015
Ragtag
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Keeps the dirt out of the bearings and costs next to nothing. Much cheaper than a new headset bearing."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Elite's flagship bottle. The advanced Jossa valve and sealable bottle top make this bottle absolutely leak-proof.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good but can leak
Posted03 September 2015
Ragtag
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Generally a good bottle - fits well in holder and flow is great. However, it can leak a bit if the top is not really tightly screwed on."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Shimano Sport Camera CM-1000 is a ultra light weight HD action cam, great for capturing your rides, adventures and journeys. Safe in the knowledge that this waterproof camera is tough and can be mounted to a variety of surfaces.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great camera but lacking editing software
Posted20 February 2015
Ragtag
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The size and being waterproof is what attracted me to the CM-1000. It sits neatly under the bars out the way. The video quality is all I could ask for.
The one thing it is lacking is editing software, so that when this is paired with your bikes sensors you can produce the overlays. There is a way to do this using the free Garmin Virb software and a Garmin GPX data but it is a little fiddly and could be much improved with dedicated software."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, waterproof
Cons: missing software
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Squirt is a wax based, long lasting dry lube for the use on bicycle chains. It had been developed to give better lubrication, last longer and keep the chain cleaner over extreme distances for both MTB and road cycling. No degreasing is required.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great lube for all year
Posted10 November 2014
Ragtag
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Use exactly as the instructions say. Give the bottle a good shake. First time you apply it, make sure you do it twice. Leave to dry for a while between applications.
No more gritty chain, very quiet gear changes and almost no mess. Bits of dirty lube just fall off. You can use a cloth to give the chain a wipe if you prefer after a ride but never try to wipe the excess off the chain when you apply it.
Quite simply a brilliant lube that makes chain care easy throughout the whole year."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Sportful BodyFit Pro Bib Shorts Limited Edition SS14
Sportful BodyFit Pro Bib Shorts Limited Edition SS14
Signing that contract with Team Tinkoff – Saxo is but for a talented few. So with that in mind Sportful developed BodyFit Pro, the same apparel that Alberto and co wear.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfy and supportive
Posted29 September 2014
Ragtag
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought a Sportful top earlier in the season, which really is nice. So when my Assos shorts faded after 5 months I thought I'd give these a go, especially as they were reduced and heard good things about them.
I'm 5' 8", 67kg and bought a medium which fit great. They are narrow, you can feel that as you pull them over your hips, but once on they feel great. The seatpad is one, if not the best I have used.
The legs are very close fitting, especially compared to Assos, but not uncomfortably so. The compression is very even down the leg, which also means they don't ride up. They also seem to be about standard in length too.
Overall, comfortable shorts that look great too."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Sportful BodyFit Pro Team Jersey SS14
Sportful BodyFit Pro Team Jersey SS14
Classics and Grand Tours are won in training. The Team Jersey is the designed for just that. A medium form fit, comfortable for all day riding. Constructed using Dry Pro fabric throughout for optimal wicking and enhanced breathability,
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice looking and fit
Posted10 July 2014
Ragtag
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Lovely top, fits well. Hardly notice it is on. Worn it for many rides already."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Essential for longer rides, Assos Chamois Creme is formulated to reduce friction, inflammation and discomfort. Applied to the skin, it gives a soothing, cooling effect and applied to the short it helps maintain suppleness, elasticity and freshness.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good stuff
Posted15 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ragtag
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Certainly helps on those longer rides and especially when the weather is warm. Nice cooling feeling and it doesn't gunk up your chamois."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ragtag's Questions
 
Ragtag has not submitted any questions.
 
Ragtag's Answers
 
The Shimano Sport Camera CM-1000 is a ultra light weight HD action cam, great for capturing your rides, adventures and journeys. Safe in the knowledge that this waterproof camera is tough and can be mounted to a variety of surfaces.
 

Software

Any news on editing software for this? It doesn't seem possible to import the .mov file into the free Garmin VIRB software to edit?

Surely Shimano must have software available by now!?
I got a reply from them on Facebook saying that the team in Japan is working on it but it isn't certain that it will be released. Pretty bad to be honest.
11 months ago
by
Ragtag
London
 
 Sportful BodyFit Pro Bib Shorts Limited Edition SS14
Sportful BodyFit Pro Bib Shorts Limited Edition SS14
Signing that contract with Team Tinkoff – Saxo is but for a talented few. So with that in mind Sportful developed BodyFit Pro, the same apparel that Alberto and co wear.
 

size: I'm 5'8, what is best for a very tight fit?

I picked up medium. I'm 5'8 and 67kgs - I don't think I could have got a small on.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Ragtag
London
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

How many can you take in a day?

Does anyone know the maximum tabs you can take in a day? There's no usage section on these so I'm not sure if u can have 2 a day or 10.
Best answer
Depends how thirsty you are and how hot the weather is. The dose is one or two per 750ml bottle. I would only use 2 tabs if the weather was very hot. In the winter I tend to use half as I don't like drinking plain water - find it swills around in my stomach.

Basically, use these while riding/running and then one bottle after exercise.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Ragtag
London