Oggy
Top 250 Contributor
Share Oggy's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Oggy's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    53
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    11 June 2009
  • Last Review
    29 January 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    06 January 2010
  • Last Answer
    30 December 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Oggy's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
 Heavy Duty OSS Shoe Covers
Heavy Duty OSS Shoe Covers
Don't like the feeling of water in your shoes? Heavy Duty OSS overshoes are designed to give the best protection against the cold, rain and spray.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Heavy Duty MYTH
Posted29 January 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Oggy
fromLothians
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Look good, fit well, are warm and relatively waterproof, but heavy duty they are not. I'd holed the ankle of one on the second day on (~50 miles of wear) and the toes have almost warn out after just over a week of commuting. I had Endura covers before and whilst these also wore in similar place it took months to happen, not days.
If you don't have to walk when you're not on the bike then they may be fine, but next time I'd pay the extra and get somehting proper heavy duty.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The best selling lube in the White Lightning range, Epic Ride is the perfect all-year, all-conditions lube that satisfies the demands of road and off-road riders.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
easy to apply and good running time
Posted30 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Oggy
fromLothians
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Brought this on a magazine recommendation and with my riding style in mind. The nozzle allows for a easy flow when applying and the lube sinks in well. Quick wipe shortly after and the jobs well done. Been great on Enduro and marathon events on the MTB and has almost given week long coverage on my hybrid that I commute on (~100 miles a week in all weathers)."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Sora 3400 9 Speed Rear Derailleur 2011
Sora 3400 9 Speed Rear Derailleur 2011
Sora derailleurs feature an advanced light action for low-friction shifting up or down the block
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Affordable rear hanger
Posted01 August 2011
Oggy
fromLothians
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Brought this to replace a 8 year old LX rear mech that had worn out on the commute bike. It is equivalent in design and function, although not as smooth as the STX or XT on my other bikes, but given the price that is not surprising.
A functional, affordable 9 speed Shimano rear derailleur."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Road Inner Tube
Road Inner Tube
Most popular tube for general purpose riding.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
effective and cheap
Posted28 July 2011
Oggy
fromLothians
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"It's an inner tube.
It is a cheap inner tube, but it works and that's what I want it for.
It is not the lightest of inner tubes, but then I don't plan to put it into a race bike.
"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Worth the investment
Posted28 July 2011
Oggy
fromLothians
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is my second one of these and it is well worth the little extra.
I normally get between four to six thousand kilometers out of a tyre before wear or holes results in replacement. The Marathon I have just replaced has done over 12000 km and the other of the pair is stil going strong.
This tyre is hard wearing, but gives good grip and throws off water well.
It does offer superb puncture resistance (only 3 punctures in the last year compared to over 30 in the previous).
Is relatively bomb proof (I did hole the previous one twice on a fallen road sign and a glass shard).
For anyone with a decent commute this is THE tyre."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These stabiliser wheels are suitable for most bikes with 11 to 20 inch wheels diametres and thanks to the slotted bracket, the Adie 200 stabilisers can be fitted to most kid's bikes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Stable rider
Posted28 April 2011
Oggy
fromLothians
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Brought these to fit to a second hand childs bike (12" wheels).
They fitted fine with minimal difficulty and usiong parts contained within the kit. No trouble with the wheels not turning or in getting a good height.
Perhaps a bit pricier than other models, but my son is now reguarly seen zipping round the garden. Job done.
"
Pros: High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The HG53 is designed for use with Shimano Hyperglide (HG) series 9-speed drive-trains and is recommended for Deore and Tiagra drive-trains.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
long lasting quality good
Posted17 March 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Oggy
fromLothians
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"OK, so this is not the lightest or the cheepest chain out there, but having worked my way through similar (sometimes cheeper) alternatives from KMC and Sram in the last few years I have found the Shimano HG53 to last longer thus offering better long term value for money. I have also (as yet) not had it break on me whilst out on the trail, something I can not say for the KMC alternatives I have tried."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The new neoprene mudguard called NeoGuard™ is specifically designed to prevent mud and spray from getting in your face and eyes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Stops the splosh
Posted17 March 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Oggy
fromLothians
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I had seen one of these last year on a few race bikes and asked the riders if they thought they were any good. The response was always a definite 'Yes'. I can now see why.
Two back to back races one within and one without the neoguard this winter and the lack of face and glasses covergin spray was dramatically reduced with the guard in palce (dare I say more so than with just my Crud guard? Probably).
If I had one gripe it would be that even the XS is still a little large for my 100 mm Fox forks. An XXS would possibly shed another couple of grams from the already rediculous 18 g (like I'd notice the difference).
This works and I don't plan to race/ride without one from now on."
Pros: Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices, could be even smaller for 100 mm fox forks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Chain Rivet Extractor
Chain Rivet Extractor
Lifeline chain link extractor tool
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cracking chain splitter
Posted17 March 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Oggy
fromLothians
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This tool was never destined to live in my pack, but actually could, as it is not too large and lacks sharp edges. Despite this it is easy enough to use and apply enough pressure to split and reattached all the chains I have tried it on to date (Shimano and KMC 9 speed) and is by far the most comfortable splitter I have evers used (compared to the other 4 I have owned).
Price was very competitive and the device seems to be very robust.
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Juicy 3 08 Caliper Service Kit
Juicy 3 08 Caliper Service Kit
Caliper Service and Spare Parts kit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
pesky pistons
Posted05 November 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Oggy
fromLothians
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My own neglect led me to this kit, which was one of the last few I could find.
My best advice would be BLEED YOUR BRAKES and DON'T ALLOW THE PISTONS TO EVER BECOME STUCK!
Parts in the kit allow for complete piston replacement to be made in conjunciton witht eh bleed kit."
Pros: has what you need
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Oggy's Questions
 
Oggy has not submitted any questions.
 
Oggy's Answers
 
The dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses are one of our best-selling products - and it's not hard to see why. They offer 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection and have a Hydrophobic lens coating to help repel sweat and water.
 

Do you sell just the frame ?

I have these glasses but the frame snapped durning a crash so wish to buy the frame only.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I asked Wiggle this a few years back when I lost a leg in a crash. They told me then that the frame only was not an option. Don't know if it has changed.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Oggy
Lothians
 
The new neoprene mudguard called NeoGuard™ is specifically designed to prevent mud and spray from getting in your face and eyes.
 

will they fit a cyclocross bike

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Probably not unless your cyclocross bike has suspension or if you have a fork bridge/brace below the top of the legs then it would possbily fit. Needs something to attach to below the crown and above the wheel.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Oggy
Lothians
 
 K.ble SRAM Gear Cable Set
K.ble SRAM Gear Cable Set
For 50 years Transfil has created, developed, tested and manufactured brake and gear systems for your bike in conformity with the leading bike and component manufacturers.
 

Can this set be used on a hybrid bike

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Most definitely. I have been using them on a Boardman Hybrid for 2 years. Cutting the length is a little tricky, but it is worth the effort.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Oggy
Lothians
 
 Service Kit
Service Kit
Contains everything you need to service your Magura Rim or Disc brake.
 

Does the pack have o-rings etc to refurb. the plunger in the brake lever assembly? thanks

Trying to sort a sticking 'plunger' on the lever assy. for a Magura HS 11, any advise? thanks.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No. The kit only has olives and hose fittings for bleeding/refilling and/or fitting new hoses.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Oggy
Lothians
 
 M1 MTB Shoes
M1 MTB Shoes
The dhb M1 shoe is designed for the recreational mountain biker who likes the simplicity of a three strap shoe.
 

Are these shoes compatible with Shimano PD-M540 pedals?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
As long as you've got the cleats then they are compatible. Cleats come with pedals not the shoes, but can be ordered seperately if you've lost them.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Oggy
Lothians
 
Stops slow leaks and punctures. This Solution converts standard (non tubeless) tyres to tubeless. Also works with any tubeless tyre or tubular tyres.
 

I was interested in your answer that you shouldn't use Stans the solution in fusion 2 tubless road tires. Why is that?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
It's recomended for pressures up to 40 PSI. Don't run many road tyres that low, so there may be issues with it sealing at higher pressures.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Oggy
Lothians
 
Stops slow leaks and punctures. This Solution converts standard (non tubeless) tyres to tubeless. Also works with any tubeless tyre or tubular tyres.
 

Tire Sealant Injector / Applicator

Does the bottle include the Injector / Applicator? I cant find it on the web site. Other wise how do you get it in?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Bottle comes with a side volume indicator clear strip, a pouring nozzle and a measuring cup to offer a number of routes into the tyre either from a lifted side wall or through a valve with removable inner.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Oggy
Lothians
 
Stops slow leaks and punctures. This Solution converts standard (non tubeless) tyres to tubeless. Also works with any tubeless tyre or tubular tyres.
 

How do you get the fluid in the Tyre?

Does this bottle come with the measure & tubes to get the liquid in?

Or which is the right kit for a 700x23c Hutchinson Fusion2 Tubeless Tyre fit?

Thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Bottle comes with a nozzle adapter and a pouring cup for a number of fitting options. The bottle also has a measure indicator on the side.
Would be more concerned over the pressure you would be running 700x23 tyres for the suitability of this though as it recomends not exceeding 40 PSI
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Oggy
Lothians
 
 Schwalbe Marathon Plus Smartguard City Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Marathon Plus Smartguard City Tyre 2013
The Marathon Plus will master the challenge of everyday cycling life.
 

Size of these tyres

Hi,

I recently purchased these to replace a 700x28c set of Maxxis Detonators which came with my Boardman Comp Hybrid as I kept getting punctures. (http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_10001_catalogId_10151_productId_502557)

However when I've just tried to fit these they seem very big and I can't get them on.

Any suggestions? Should I exchange for a smaller tyre?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I also had to replace the detonators on my Boardman comp after ~2000 km. If you got the 700x28 then these should fit.

I've been using the Vittoria 700x28 and as replacements they've been fine.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Oggy
Lothians