UltraChris
Share UltraChris's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
UltraChris's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    14 April 2011
  • Last Review
    30 September 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    14 April 2011
  • Last Answer
    14 April 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
UltraChris's Reviews
 
 High5 Energy Gel Sachets - Buy 1 Box Get 1 Box Free
High5 Energy Gel Sachets - Buy 1 Box Get 1 Box Free
Buy one box and get one box FREE. An ultra concentrated sports fuel for instant energy. Race proven in the World's toughest events; it delivers fast energy to endurance athletes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Digestable
Posted30 September 2013
UltraChris
fromChippenham, Wiltshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Very liquid gel. I wouldn't describe it as a gel but more of a drink. No need to stop running or consume lots of water with it. With buy-one-get-one-free you can't go wrong. I wouldn't buy at the full price though. Packs in a tad less calories/carbos than a tradtional thick gel, but you can easily consume more of these gels without getting sick."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
TORQ energy has been painstakingly formulated so that it delivers a unique blend of carbohydrate and electrolytes to the working muscles through a drink that is lightly flavoured, refreshing and most importantly natural.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The most digestable energy drink
Posted11 September 2013
UltraChris
fromChippenham, Wiltshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The grapefruit powder mixes well so long as your water bottle is filled half way and shaken before topping up. I bought some single servings which are in handy light weight re-usable tins with screw top lids, that can be taken on race day to throw in to the water bottle once topped up an aid stations. The drink just seemed to mix on the run with natural running movement. On the taste front it is very mild and better than plain water. Far better than plain electrolyte drinks which have no calories. I found 2 scoops in a bottle containing 175 calories very digestible on a sustained basis (every hour). However the instructions indicate 3 scoops max can be used with practice if not running at maximum effort (eg. ultra runs). The only very minor downside is that any drips are sticky and can atract bees."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, digestable, tastes good, mixes easily, calorie boost, mild taste
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Energy (& Super) Gel Racer 500ml Bottle Refiller
Energy (& Super) Gel Racer 500ml Bottle Refiller
Refill your Squeezy Racer 4 times with this 500ml bottle, save money and the planet!
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Great idea in principle
Posted07 September 2013
UltraChris
fromChippenham, Wiltshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Liked the idea of not having lots of gel wrappers and also just being able to take a small swig instead of having to finish a gel. Unfortunately whenever I experimented I got stomache upsets and had to rush in to the woods. Could just be me but haven't had this problem with other gels."
Pros: convenient
Cons: not easily digestable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Trail Running Backpack
Trail Running Backpack
Durable lightweight water repellent fabric.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Poor design
Posted16 January 2012
UltraChris
fromChippenham, Wiltshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"On features, this pack seemed to excell and was value for money, coming with bit a bladder (which often needs to be separately purchased separately), and two water bottles which fit to lower sides.
This is the first time I have felt the need to write a negative review of a product, and the following are all factual rather than subjective.
I have now done a 20 mile and 30 mile trail run and feel I've found most of the faults.
Both water bottles leak from day 1. I tried overly tightening lids but even this did not assist, so chucked these.
Tried adjusting straps to make it hang lower on the back, purely so water bottles could be reached, but it swayed around like nobodies business and still couldn't reach bottles, so totally impractical in this configuration. With top straps shortened to a standard fit, the bag still shakes around more than would be expected. Thus the water bottles cannot be reached without undoing chest and waist straps and slinging bag over one shoulder. To overcome this limitation I use a large handheld bottle which I top up from the bottle in the carrier (but need to stop to do so).
The back pocket is of a good size, but spoiled by the verical zip all the way down the back pocket. It is a good idea, but of such poor quality that it rides downwards on it's own after just a minute or two of running. I lost some kit this way, so needs to be tied - I now use a quick-releasable cable tie on all teh zips - luckily they can hook on to the coat hanger at the top of the bag in this way, but it does waste time when accessing the bag.
There are two hard plastic components in the top of the shoulder straps which can't be removed and don't seem to serve any purpose other than potentially causing discomfort (although they haven't had this effect to date). Well I suppose they must be for some external component to be clipped on.
I haven't tried the bladder but based on the overall quality wouldn't have much confidence in it.
The rain cover is great but not removable which I would be preferable in order to minimise kit in dry weather.
The chest strap is far too long even when pulled to it;s shortest length, and would only fit a 13 stone plus size.
The straps are particularly narrow - would have thought a more comfortable waste strap would have been incorporated so that some weight could be shifted to it. However even with the jumping around of the bag it didn't cause any discomfort.
Due to the inaccessibility I found it necessary to use a bum bag in addition for essestials on the move, which incidently just tucks below without effecting the backpack.
I will still use this bag until I see an alternative one from a different manufacturer incorporating the bottle carriers (as I don't get on with bladders) and possibly a small bag/pocket on the front of the waste strap.
In summary, poor fit and quality lets it down, as does the inaccessible water bottle locations which should have been slung lower and angled more."
Pros: Lightweight, cheap
Cons: Low Quality, Poor Fit, poor access
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
Pronounced 'noon' this handy little tube is a revelation in hydration. Whether you're biking, running, swimming or generally building up a sweat, it's important to stay properly hydrated. Supplied in a box of 8 tubes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great product
Posted27 April 2011
UltraChris
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Good for water bottles as you just pop one in. Can get a bit powdery or totally disintegrate towards bottom of tube. Not ideal for hydration packs, but manageable, due to the large amounts of gas produced when initially add the tablets, however if you can afford not to seal for five minutes it will be ok. Taste is quite mild making it easy to digest, and in my opinion easier to digest than pure water. The banana flavour is good, but I found the others not so palatable. Another benefit of these are that no agitation is required to disolve the tablets - it does it itself by just fizzing away very quickly, and no horrible bits left in the drink!"
Pros: Lightweight, easy to carry, mixes very well
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A fast digesting high quality whey protein, perfect for meeting the nutritional demands of intense training. Zip-Pro’s amino acid profile is almost identical to muscle, making it an extremely valuable supplement for recovery and muscle repair.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted14 April 2011
UltraChris
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I first used a food mixer and threw in a bannana and milk. The result was a consistency of thick mud and was ineddible. I found the best solution was to mix it with just milk with fork. The product doesn't mix that easily and there are always a tens of tiny lumps left in it, but it is drinkable. Not the most pleasant of tastes but ok. I was recommended to use this by quite an accomplished ultra and marathon endurance runner who has run for Wales. I follow his guidelines to use it immediately after a long exhausting run, and I don't use it any other times as I feel all the protein and carbos etc are naturally digested in a normal diet. Supposedly they help muscle recovery which is always crucial when training almost daily."
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Pronounced 'noon' this handy little tube is a revelation in hydration. Whether you're biking, running, swimming or generally building up a sweat, it's important to stay properly hydrated.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great product
Posted14 April 2011
UltraChris
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I initially bought just one tube of these, as I read on a forum that they assisted in staying hydrated. I found them very easy to use and digest. The taste is very mild and infact made the water mix easier to drink than natural water. I found I didn't feel so exhausted towards the end of 20 mile training runs. They have all the natural salts and composition natural in the body (so the wrapper says), and I suppose this is the reason they are effective. I have yet to use them in a hydration back pack and have heard the gas produced can be a bit of a problem - especially as they make my water bottles buldge. I'm sure a quick release of the gas will sort it by making up the drink well before my run. The only fault I have found is that the spring mechanism in the lid forces the tablets down the tube, and the last two or three either get completely wedged in or turn to powder. It is a shame they don't come in packs of mixed flavours when multiple tubes are purchased. I only use them on long runs as that is when problems can potentially occur without proper re-hydration. I've read all the negative stuff on normal sports drinks relating to too much glucose that cannot be absorbed in to the blood stream - this is from top endurance athelites such as Ranolph Fiennes and Dr Mike Stroud, so this solution is a dream come true. The other advantage is that you only need take a handfull of these with you and mix them at race water stops, so no extar weight involved."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
UltraChris's Questions
 
UltraChris has not submitted any questions.
 
UltraChris's Answers
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Can I add these to a CamelBak water bladder without any issues?

I've read on a forum that someone has used these in a water bladder and that a lot of gas is initially released, so I suppose the answer is yes. I intend to use them in this way. I can imagine excess pressure when you bite on the valve the very first time so would probably avoid problems by squeezing with fingers and aiming it away - some liquid will of course be wasted in this way. The other alternative would be to only fill the bladder say two thirds full so that the pressure can be taken up within the bladder. Sorry all this is only theory.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
UltraChris