CeeDee
Top 1000 Contributor
Share CeeDee's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
CeeDee's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    23 October 2009
  • Last Review
    08 September 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    11 October 2011
  • Last Answer
    08 September 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
CeeDee's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
A compact, convenient tyre inflator supplied with 2 cartridges. With an angled neck to reach obstructed valves and a head to fit both Presta and Schrader valve types, The LifeLine CO2 inflator is essential for on-the-go tube changes and puncture repair.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great little inflator
Posted08 September 2014
CeeDee
fromTring
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Have tried it just once and it worked well inflating the tyre to the desired pressure in one shot. Small and light so convenient to carry and saves a lot of effort with a pump."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Close ratio Mega-9 HG50 cassette, ideal for road and touring use in combination with compact chainsets.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value cassette
Posted28 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
CeeDee
fromTring
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Excellent for getting up steep hills and found it easy to fit"
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Lycra Arm Warmers
dhb Vaeon Lycra Arm Warmers
The anatomic dhb Vaeon Arm Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great arm warmers
Posted03 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CeeDee
fromTring
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"What can I say, they do the job and are small enough to fit in my jersey pocket. I am 6' 1" and slim so the medium fit like a glove, as they are very stretchy probably best to err on the slightly smaller size so that they do not slip off your upper arm unless you are very muscular."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The ideal vest for mild conditions, the Primavera is made of breathable material which is also wind and waterproof. With an anatomic fit for extra comfort, this is a great way to ride in comfort through spring.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb Gilet
Posted17 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CeeDee
fromTring
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Was uncertain whether this would be suitable for folding into a jersey back pocket as it has three layers. The layers are thin though and you can roll it up nicely. Great quality from this Italian brand and will keep you warm. I am 6' 1.5", 80kg and 38-39 chest and the Large fits like a glove."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A super bright LED bike light set with high grade lenses and precision CNC machined aluminium bodies. With continuous and flashing modes, simple operation and tool-less mounting, The professional LED light is essential for night riding and commutes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great lights for when you get caught out at night
Posted12 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CeeDee
fromTring
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are superb lights, good quality and appear very durable. Bright and easy to operate, very happy with my purchase and can highly recommend them"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fully adjustable, durable, scratch resistant handlebar mirror its also superlight at only 30g.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good mirror but too big
Posted18 February 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
CeeDee
fromTring
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I use this on my winter bike, it does a good job of letting me know what is coming up behind, easy to fit, adjustable and cheap compared to many rear review mirrors on the market. The downside is it does not look too pleasing on a road race bike, much bigger than it needs to be and occasionally fouls my hands when reaching for the drops, however on roads these days safety is important and I prefer to have an easy way of seeing traffic behind me."
Pros: Great Value, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Excellent bib shorts
Posted30 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CeeDee
fromTring
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I am 6ft 1.5 inches tall and weigh 80kg, waist 34 inches and decided after reading the reviews to go for Large. These are an excellent fit for me, if you have very thick thighs you might find them a little tight at the bottom of each leg, I don't think the next size up would make much difference as the material conforms well to body shape. I went on a 20 mile ride at the weekend and found them very comfortable, hardly noticed I had them on, the best shorts I have at the moment and can highly recommend them. The only downside is if you need to go to the toilet, there is no zip at the front."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Airstream Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey
Altura Airstream Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey
A versatile cycling jersey with a multi-panel construction and a close, fitted feel. Featuring a light, quick drying fabric assembly and a long front zip, the Airsteam Jersey is an excellent value summer jersey for road cycling and XC mountain biking.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great summer jersey
Posted15 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CeeDee
fromTring
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Comfortable well fitting jersey for the summer at a good price, what more can I say"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Seamgrip
Seamgrip
Seamgrip is ideal for sealing tent seams/repairs and comes with an easy brush applicator. Made from a flexible urethane formula which is both waterproof and permanent.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
repaired a ripped goretex jacket
Posted27 June 2013
CeeDee
fromTring
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Used this to do the repair in conjunction with the patches from the same company. I was hoping to get a completely invisible repair but it was probably asking a lot when using a liquid adhesive which spreads a little between the outer of the jacket and the gaffer tape holding the two edges of the rip together. However, as my repair was on black in a not very visible section I am happy with it and it looks durable enough. I used the patches on the inside of the jacket for good measure."
Pros: Durable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These screw-on end caps provide a secure hold to all tapes when tightened up.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Secure end plugs
Posted28 May 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
CeeDee
fromTring
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Lost a push on end plug on my bike and decided I needed something more secure, these are cheap and so far have done the job and look ok."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
CeeDee's Questions
 
CeeDee has not submitted any questions.
 
CeeDee's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
A compact, convenient tyre inflator supplied with 2 cartridges. With an angled neck to reach obstructed valves and a head to fit both Presta and Schrader valve types, The LifeLine CO2 inflator is essential for on-the-go tube changes and puncture repair.
 

Does it fill the puncture hole

This may be a stupid question: but do you put a new inner tube in or mend the puncture first?

Or does this product somehow seal a puncture hole at the same time?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No it doesn't its just an inflator
2 weeks, 1 day ago
by
CeeDee
Tring
 
Close ratio Mega-9 HG50 cassette, ideal for road and touring use in combination with compact chainsets.
 

Changing cassette without changing v. large chain ring

I bought my road bike second hand (with paperwork from the seller to prove he ordered it new rather than stole it) and according to that paperwork it has:

- Tiagra double 4500 9 speed chainset 170 39/52 on the front; and

- Tiagra 9 speed hg50 12-23 on the back.

I was aware at the time that this was highly geared setup and it is fine for my commute but if I go to the hills on the weekends I am finding that I get into my lowest gear far too quickly (even accounting for the fact I need to do more training).

My questions are:

1. I understand that an 11-30 cassette would be too big for a road bike or I would at least have to a larger rear mech cage - Is that right?

2. If I change to a 12-27 would I have to change: (a) the rear mech cage anyway? and/or (b) the chain?

3. If I change to a 12-27, is a low ratio of 1.44 low enough for a weekend rider to enjoy riding in the hills (box hill etc.) or do I need to bite the bullet and change the chainset? (I would rather not at this stage if I can avoid it given that a new cassette plus tools to fit it myself is about £30 vs over £100 for the chainset and I probably couldn't fit it myself).

Grateful for any input.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I fitted a 30 tooth rear cassette on both mine and my wife's bike (from 25 tooth) both fitted with low end Shimano group sets and did not have any problem with the cage clearance, I did not even need to make an adjustment to the mech. Made a huge difference in the climbs around the Chilterns. A 30 is the absolute limit and in some cases may not fit, you need to try it. A 27 tooth should be no problem. I would say though that if you do fit a 30 then make sure you don't use it in the big rings front and back as the cage will be pulled forward a lot if you don't fit a slightly longer chain
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
CeeDee
Tring
 
The ideal vest for mild conditions, the Primavera is made of breathable material which is also wind and waterproof. With an anatomic fit for extra comfort, this is a great way to ride in comfort through spring.
 

Is this vest thin enough to put it in the backpocket of your jersey?

I am very interested in this product. But I would like to know if it is thin enough to put it in your backpocket of your cyclingjersey. For example wear this vest over your jersey in the morning or on a downhill and put it in your backpocket in the afternoon?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, you can roll it up gently and it will fit most jersey back pockets.
6 months ago
by
CeeDee
Tring
 
A super bright LED bike light set with high grade lenses and precision CNC machined aluminium bodies. With continuous and flashing modes, simple operation and tool-less mounting, The professional LED light is essential for night riding and commutes.
 

Are these brighter or dimmer than the Lezyne Femto Drive LED Light Pair?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
They seem to have a similar brightness, I have both and these are the best in my opnion
6 months ago
by
CeeDee
Tring
 
A feature packed wireless cycle computer with a heart rate monitor, speed sensor and cadence sensor. The V3N provides all the data you need to measure your performance and get the most out of every ride.
 

Is the heart rate monitor suitable for women?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, it's a standard heart rate monitor on an elastic strap that fits around the lower chest, it's not critical from my experience
1 year, 4 months ago
by
CeeDee
Tring
 
A feature packed wireless cycle computer with a heart rate monitor, speed sensor and cadence sensor. The V3N provides all the data you need to measure your performance and get the most out of every ride.
 

Does this computer come with a mount? Is there anything else which has to be purchased to allow me to install it on my bike and have cadence and

heart rate displayed while riding?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, this comes with a mount to allow installation either on the stem or the handlebars. The heart rate is displayed while riding and you can also display average and maximum
1 year, 4 months ago
by
CeeDee
Tring
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 

im 180cm 100cm waist 94cm chest 100cm what size you think fit best with one base layer.

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I have a 100cm chest and bought the medium, it's a stretchy garment anyhow and I don't want it flapping about when I ride. I shall be using a thermal shirt underneath it when it gets colder, it isn't going to make a big difference to the fit.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
CeeDee
Tring
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 

Which base layer to go with this?

Firstly can you wear this with nothing underneath?
And then when it's colder, any base layer recommendations?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, I wear this with nothing underneath, comforatable and warmer than a conventional jersey. When it gets colder I shall be using a conventional thermal undershirt from Helly Hansen
1 year, 11 months ago
by
CeeDee
Tring
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 

Size question

I've got a 30" waist and a 39" chest thinking medium will fit?
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'm a 40 chest and got the medium, it was a good fit on me
1 year, 11 months ago
by
CeeDee
Tring
 
The supremely compact 8 function Cateye Strada is now available with a valuable cadence function for those riders wanting to monitor their training more accurately.
 

Will the Cateye Cadence work on a spin bike?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
If all you want is the cadence function then as long as you can get the magnet on the crank arm and mount the static sensor so that the magnet is sweeping closely past it every revolution it should work.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
CeeDee
Tring