Broonster
Share Broonster's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Broonster's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    14 December 2009
  • Last Review
    18 December 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    18 December 2012
  • Last Answer
    18 December 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Broonster's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Knog Blinder 4 Standard LED Rear Light
Knog Blinder 4 Standard LED Rear Light
The Knog Blinders pack into a very small and bright package. Over 7 years of research, design and plain hard work make a deceptively simple light that packs a heavy technical punch.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great product, but battery life??
Posted18 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Broonster
fromSouth Lanarkshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a superb little light - really, really bright with lots of different flashing options. It also has very flexible, secure fixings and looks very discreet when on.
For me the only downside is the battery life. It's claimed at 3 hours on constant and up to 50 hours on flash (Eco-Flash mode). I've been lucky to get around 4 hours out of it, although that wasn't on 'Eco-Flash' but on the normal flashing mode. Still, given the claims for the constant mode v the Eco-Flash mode, you'd expect somewhere in the middle of those figures, even something like 10 hours. But not a chance!
A great light, but with questionable claims on battery life."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: Expensive
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Wedge Drybag with Quickclip - Medium
Wedge Drybag with Quickclip - Medium
Protect your gear while riding in wet conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant Bag
Posted22 February 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Broonster
fromSouth Lanarkshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This is a must for anyone not wanting to carry an abundance of tools & kit on your back, either in jersey pockets or in a daysack/hydration pack.
It is a perfect fit for my Fizik saddle. It actually looks good when, more often than not, I tend to find saddle bags look a bit naff on bikes.
I did consider the Fizik specific bag, which clips straight into the saddle itself, but it did look as if it stuck out too far at the back and, as I said above, looks pretty naff! However, the Topeak Wedge, with Quickclip, clicks into place just as quick and looks 10 times better (in my opinion) and keeps your kit dry. It tucks in nicely uinder the saddle and doesn't stick out at the sides (so it doesn't interfee with cycling motion). It's also secured to the seat post by a neat little velcro strap that stops it moving around when you're cycling.
And, most importantly, the bag keeps everything nice & dry. I can get stacks of stuff in mine: a couple of innner tubes, 3 CO2 canisters (+ inflator), a multi-tool and there's still a bit of space left.
Brilliant bit of kit & well recommended."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Trigger Drive Inflator with CO2 Cartridge
Trigger Drive Inflator with CO2 Cartridge
Lezyne Smart-Thread assembly threads directly to Presta or Schrader valves.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Compact piece of loveliness!
Posted18 February 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Broonster
fromSouth Lanarkshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I haven't had the pleasure of actually using this as yet - it's just sat happily enough in my back pocket for the past few weeks. I'm not complaining (yet) though - no punctures is a good thing, yes?!
Anyway, I'm more than certain that this will do the job when called into action, but what I can say is that it seems to be very well manufactured, is light and very, very compact."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Rear Mudguard
Rear Mudguard
Designed and engineered using state of the art technology to deliver the ultimate mudguard. Constructed using a fusion of CycraFlex composite polymers for the ultimate strength and durability in all weather conditions!
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Bracket Made of Cheese?!
Posted13 November 2010
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Broonster
fromSouth Lanarkshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If the bracket WAS made of cheese, I'd be a bit happier - at least I could have made use of it. As it stands, it came out of the packaging, I faffed around trying to fit it and, shortly afterwards, it found a new home in my wheelie bin. Biggest waste of money spent on my bike yet.
I'm sure if it had actually made it onto my bike it may have possibly been of some use in keeping mud/spray off my back. But the bracket is shocking. Seriously, was it designed by a 5 year old?!
If you're looking for something that fits quickly & easily onto your bike and is easily adjustable, I'd suggest looking elsewhere.
Wish I'd bought a Crud Catcher now....."
Cons: Poor Quality, Unadjustable, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mars 3.0 LED Safety Rear Light
Mars 3.0 LED Safety Rear Light
Named after a bright red planet visible from afar, the Mars 3.0 rear light has seven super-bright red LEDs inside a sleek water-resistant case, and has a no-quibble lifetime warranty.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Value & Very Bright!
Posted27 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Broonster
fromSouth Lanarkshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this to continue with evening/night training rides during the winter months and it's so far been excellent.
Only gripe would be that it's fiddly to switch on/off or change modes whilst cycling, as the on/off switch is recessed - not great when you're wearing (thick, winter) cycling gloves.
My wife uses the same light and it's blindingly BRIGHT when I'm cycling behind her on the roads!
The light clips in/out of a separate bracket which mounts to the seat post, or similar, and is very secure indeed. Can't comment on the durability of the light yet, but I wouldn't envisage any problems with it to be honest.
Well worth the money."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Minima Jacket
Minima Jacket
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable MINIMA rain shell Jacket.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great Value Jacket
Posted27 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Broonster
fromSouth Lanarkshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you're looking for a top-performing jacket, buy something more expensive. BUT, if you're looking for a decent jacket, at an excellent price and will do the job more than adequately, buy this jacket!
I bought it, in hi-viz colour, to wear on evening rides to be seen in the dark winter months. It does the job very well indeed, keep the rain off and the wind out. Not the most breathable, by then what would you expect at this price?
My only gripe is that it rides up at the waist a bit on me, but I am quite tall (6' 3") and have the size large (33" waist, 40" chest).
Other than that, it's a fantastic buy at this kind of price. You really can't argue with the value for money on this."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ventura Multi-Fit Overshoes
Ventura Multi-Fit Overshoes
For the coming season the PRO overshoe range has been completely revamped and is bigger and better than ever. Innovative features, great designs, and excellent media reviews make PRO overshoes the obvious choice.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Quality
Posted19 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Broonster
fromSouth Lanarkshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is my first pair of overshoes, bought after having freezing cold feet in my SPD shoes (mesh panels!). Have to say, they are a bit of a struggle to get on, but it does get easier with a bit of technique.
Once on, and when out riding, they are very,. very comfortable. They block the wind and cold air out very well indeed and shed the water well. I use mine on my MTB, although I haven't yet used them in really muddy conditions - they look too good for that! So it's mainly on-road training rides which I use them, which is what I was after really.
Nice micro-fleece lining too, which keeps the feet nice & toasty.
I'm a size 12 shoe, and use them over my MTB shoes which tend to be bulkier than road shoes, so I went for an XXL size. They are a perfect fit really.
Top marks from me!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Contest II SO WINDSTOPPER Jacket - AW11
Contest II SO WINDSTOPPER Jacket - AW11
A breathable windproof soft shell jacket with a slim fit in the cycling position. The contest II is a versatile all-rounder that suits the high mileage commuter, road rider or cross country mountain biker.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Worth Investing In
Posted15 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Broonster
fromSouth Lanarkshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've previously ignored purchasing Gore Bike Wear kit, simply due to it's high price. I got this Contest II Windstopper jacket in the sale and I'd have to say, going by the quality & functionality of it, I'd be more than happy to pay full whack for similar Gore products in future (And I already have!).
I've been out on the bike regualrly coming into the colder months, when there are sharp frosts in the morning, cool winds and a bit of nip in the air during the evening and this has really been a revelation. Previously a couple of layers was my clothing of choice: a thick baselayer and a lightweight fleece top or similar. However, after working up a sweat the cold air/wind just cuts through the fabric and really bites into your skin. Not with this jacket though - it really cuts that 'biting' through the fabric part out.
I still sweat in it, but the wind/cold air just isn't a factor any more - the fabric just blocks it. It also sheds light rain too, meaning less of a need to carry a lightweight waterproof.
I've since bought some other Gore products and I am a converted believer in the saying 'You get what you pay for'.
This really is a top notch piece of kit."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Team Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey - 2010
Team Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey - 2010
Performance fit Altura Team replica jersey, perfect for long days in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant Value!
Posted02 August 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Broonster
fromSouth Lanarkshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is an excellent piece of kit for the price (I got mine in the sale). I bougt a size L and am probably around a 40" chest, 6' 3" tall and a 35" waist. The fit is perfect for me, although it fits more like a 'roadie' top than an MTB top, but that's what I wanted. If you're similar in size to me, and you want a bit more comfort or looser fitting, than you might want to go up to XL.
I've worn it on all-day rides, including an MTB marathon, and all I can say is that it was fine - never noticed anything negative about it, which is all you can ask for; it does it's job.
It looks ace, the fit is excellent and I'd definitely buy another, especially at this price level. (Maybe some more designs though?!)"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 MX165 MTB Shoes
MX165 MTB Shoes
Any terrain. Any weather. Any day off road cycling shoes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great Value - Beginner Shoes
Posted07 March 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Broonster
fromSouth Lanarkshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Having spent years on flat pedals, I decided to take the plunge and step into the murky world of clipped in pedals / shoes!
At this kind of price, these shoes are a prefect starter model for me. I didn't want to spend a fortune (and didn't on pedals either), so they were just what I was looking for. The colours are maybe a bit 'disco', but once they're a bit mucky, you won't notice anyway.
I'm a standard size 12 and they fit fine, although if you wanted to use in the winter with thicks socks and/or Sealskinz, you want want to size up. Saying that, I'd question whether they are 'all weather' - they have mesh panels in the side!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Broonster's Questions
 
Broonster has not submitted any questions.
 
Broonster's Answers
 
 Knog Blinder 4 Standard LED Rear Light
Knog Blinder 4 Standard LED Rear Light
The Knog Blinders pack into a very small and bright package. Over 7 years of research, design and plain hard work make a deceptively simple light that packs a heavy technical punch.
 

Will this lamp fix to a saddlebag loop?

It probably would, depending on how the loop is orientated, but it would be a bit...umm...floppy I reckon and probably not as stable & effective. It's much better to have it fixed to something rigid like the seat post, which is which I reckon it's designed for.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Broonster
South Lanarkshire