mgable
Share mgable's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mgable's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    10
  • First Review
    01 March 2013
  • Last Review
    27 June 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    14 December 2013
  • Last Question
    14 December 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    21 June 2013
  • Last Answer
    21 June 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
mgable's Reviews
 
 Moser Bikes Speed Sora
Moser Bikes Speed Sora
With a light alloy frame, Shimano Sora components and distinctive Italian styling, the Moser Speed is the ideal introduction to performance road bikes. Perfect for ambitious new riders or experienced cyclists looking for an excellent value training bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent bike and amazing value
Posted27 June 2014
mgable
fromCumbria, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"I could not believe the spec for the price - mind blowing. Light, nippy and comfortable ride. Happy to do long day rides, and saddle fine - no need to buy a new one straight away. Very good level of equipment for the price - other bikes had lower components or for big named brands a very big chunk more for same spec.
Power transfer great - responds immediately to you pushing on the pedals. I have zipped along the flat Gear changes good and it's not a harsh ride like some aluminium bikes give. It felt as comfy a ride as my steel road bike gives me.
Looks a cool bike too
Only issue I have is compact gears and only being able to drop one cog at a time on the rear. Drop from 52 to 34 a massive 18 teeth and I need to change down at least two cogs to maintain comfortable gear and momentum, but as you can only drop one cog at a time you loose momentum by the time you have done a 2nd click to drop two cogs. Not specific to this bike.
I have also changed the cassette to one going up to 32 teeth though to get easier gears - I find most entry level bikes fit gears that are too high for novices who this price range is aimed at. Although not a novice I needed to change it as I live in the lake district and would not have got up the passes I ride over! If I get stronger I can always not use the larger cogs"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight, high spec for the price
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 Garmin Vivofit
Garmin Vivofit
Make every step count with vívofit™. It’s the only fitness band that greets you with a personalised daily goal, tracks your progress 24/7 and reminds you when it’s time to move. vívofit has an easy-to-read display and 1+ year battery life.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
do not buy
Posted30 April 2014
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
mgable
fromCumbria, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I am writing to warn people re this product. Despite the strap making a positive click it does not hold. Being a medium I tried both straps. Neither held and within a few weeks of having it, it is lost. A lot of money down the drain. Not happy.
Also it is not accurate. It told me I had done 7000 steps when in fact I was unwell and not moving about much at all! Other recordings have also been inconsistent with walking activity done in the day.
It does not record activity other than steps so you could use s pedometer and work out your distance through measuring what your pace distance is. Much cheaper!
The warning re inactivity is by a red bar appearing. It would be more helpful to have a sound as unless you look at the watch regularly you don't notice the bar has appeared.
It does look stylish though, I give it that. But that's the only good thing about it."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Poor Fit
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Deboyo Stainless Steel Vacuum Bottle
Elite Deboyo Stainless Steel Vacuum Bottle
Elite's flagship thermal bottle.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
waste of money
Posted25 April 2014
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
mgable
fromCumbria, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Even with pre heating and testing the flask in the house, after an hour the tea was just warm and after 2hrs it was cold. If using the bike cap the red cap comes completely away even pulling lightly on it with your teeth, as you would on a normal bike bottle when riding.
Does not fit bike cage well - almost came out and had to keep pushing it back in the cage to stop it flying off down the road.
Not good enough."
Pros: none
Cons: Poor Fit, Low Quality, does not keep drinks hot!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 LCD Touch BacPac
LCD Touch BacPac
The LCD Touch BacPac is a removable LCD touch screen for GoPro cameras.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
essential bit of kit for gopro 3
Posted21 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
mgable
fromCumbria, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Enables you to see what you are filming, and make quick easy adjustments to any settings you want. You can instantly play back clips/stills and delete and film again if you didn't get the shot you wanted.
Much less faff than messing about with buttons.
But most key is being able to see what you are doing with the camera and what is actually being filmed rather than what you think is being filmed.
worth every penny"
Pros: Lightweight, Good Fit, enables you to see what you are filming
Cons: none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Blade Sunglasses - Polarised Lenses
Blade Sunglasses - Polarised Lenses
Cycle specific sunglasses with Polarised lenses to eliminate glare from reflective surfaces. Featuring an adjustable nose piece and impact resistant lenses with a water repellent treatment for protection, comfort and clarity on high intensity rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant.
Posted03 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
mgable
fromCumbria, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Absolutely no point in paying for high priced shades, as these are as good as ones selling for a couple of hundred.
Polarizing is great - very clear and distinct vision, fit perfectly, and importantly no steaming up, even when going over the lake district passes sweating buckets in 28c for the whole day.
They look good too, which is a bonus for those who like to feel they are wearing good looking as well as good technical kit.
Would recommend to anyone"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit, don't steam up
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Drifter GTX (Gore-Tex) MTB Shoes
Drifter GTX (Gore-Tex) MTB Shoes
High technology all terrain shoes with a gore tex membrane and a vibram sole for comfort and grip in challenging conditions.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
do not buy!
Posted14 August 2013
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
Width
Narrow
Wide
Wide
mgable
fromCumbria, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"This shoe is not waterproof as claimed - the minute there is light rain I get soaked and water puddle and it's not coming from my socks, as my waterproof trousers go all the way down too and over the shoes protecting them from this issue. My non waterproof shoes are drier than these.
Adjustability - there is none in terms of cleat/foot position. The cleat plates are sealed into the base of the shoe (presumably to stop water ingress that way), so you only have the option of putting the cleat into either of the two holes in the cleat - you cannot move the cleat plate forward and back. This means if you foot does not fit perfectly into those options, you are riding with your foot in an incorrect position. Result of this can be knee injuries through incorrect alignment
I have very wide feet, but found these to be overly roomy, which is a first for me!
Basically these are not used at all as can't afford knee issues and can't cope with how much water comes into the shoe, and I am better off wearing my non waterproof ones and keeping drier!
Big waste of money"
Pros: none
Cons: Low Quality, Poor Fit, not waterproof as claimed, not adjustable and risk of injury as a result
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great spd pedals
Posted21 June 2013
mgable
fromCumbria, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I have used these for decades, including overseas. They just don't wear out even after thousands of miles. They can take lots of use and abuse,on road and off road and still run as smooth as they day I got them. They are a great price, and I really can't see the benefit of paying a lot more for the higher models Shimano offer, unless you are completely obsessed about a few grams weight difference."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, work forever!
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Camelbak Podium 710ml Water Bottle
Camelbak Podium 710ml Water Bottle
The revolutionary Podium is the squeezable bottle for the 21st century.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great water bottle
Posted21 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
mgable
fromCumbria, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Good size and no plastic taste, plus device on lid to close off to avoid spills - great if having to put it in something other than your bottle cage. can't ask for any more than that from a standard bottle."
Pros: High Quality, no horrible plastic taste
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses
dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses
The dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses are one of our best-selling products - and it's not hard to see why. They offer 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection and have a Hydrophobic lens coating to help repel sweat and water.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
ok if on a tight budget - does the job
Posted01 March 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
mgable
fromCumbria, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"ok if want just a basic set - expected better after seeing great reviews for them. After reading these I was very 'underwhelmed' by the product.
But if just wanting a basic set with changeable lenses as a starter then good value price wise.
Come in good solid case-ideal if transporting and concerned re knocks
Steamed up every time I stopped and took a little while to clear once on the move."
Pros: Versatile, Good Fit, great for those on budget or as first purchse
Cons: steam up too easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
mgable's Questions
 
 SRAM PC951 9 Speed Chain Twin Pack
SRAM PC951 9 Speed Chain Twin Pack
Two PC-951 chains which are Sram's economical PowerChain but still allow accurate shifting, excellent wear resistance, and superior durability. Like all PowerChain II chains, the PC-951 uses Chrome Hardened rivet pins for increased durability.
 

compatibility with shimano slx shadow 9 speed rear mech

Can younus this chain with the above rear mech, and if so will it fit both the medium and long cage mechs?
1 year ago
by
mgable
Cumbria, UK
 
mgable's Answers
 
 Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

one size fits all?

Are there any technical differnces between white/grey/black colours.
no - they are just different colours
1 year, 6 months ago
by
mgable
Cumbria, UK