Micycle
Share Micycle's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Micycle's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    01 June 2011
  • Last Review
    04 October 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    24 July 2011
  • Last Review Comment
    24 July 2011
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    01 June 2011
  • Last Answer
    04 October 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Micycle's Reviews
 
Chain Cleaner is an active cleaner/degreaser suitable for the chain and drivetrain components. This degreaser is used by several professional teams.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works a treat
Posted04 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Micycle
fromCo Durham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Used this for a full overhaul of my 15 year old mountain bike. Worked a treat on everything aind very safe on plastics. Reccomend it."
Pros: High Quality, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great
Posted01 June 2011
Micycle
fromCo Durham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Never written a review before, but after 500 miles of track/mud and road, these are amazing at the price. Had only one puncture from a sharp piece of steel that looked like a knife blade sticking up out of the ground. Low resistance on-road, on the dirt they dig in nicely. The transition between the two did put me over the handle-bars once, but one bitten.....
Probably the best value all-round tire available. Suitable for forest tracks, railway paths and tarmac - but not quite smooth enough to be the best choice for either all-road use, or rough enough for pure off-road. Not the lightest tire, but as a heavy chap (200lbs) I run mine at 70psi on the rear and 50 psi on the front and they roll great."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Versatile
Cons: heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Micycle's Questions
 
Micycle has not submitted any questions.
 
Micycle's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Hi, Would the Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre 26 x 1.90" / 2.00" fit my current 26x2.2" mountain bike?

Yes. No problem!
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Micycle
Co Durham
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

My rims are 26 x 2.0 will these tyres fit and perform ok?

Yes. No problems.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Micycle
Co Durham
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Tyre size

My current MTB tyres are size 26*2.10. Which size do I need to go for?
The 26 is the important bit - the width doesn't matter so much and is up to you (2.10 inch) You could choose the same or go narrower.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Micycle
Co Durham
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Will the Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre fit my mountain bike wheels? The current off road tyres on my mountain bike read 26 x2.25.

Yes. The width rating isn't so important.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Micycle
Co Durham
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre

My current Tyres RE Schwalbe Smart Sam 26 x 2.125 and I'm looking into the Landcruiser tyre for a C2C run we are doing soon, would they be suitable?
Also which size would you recommend (1.75 or 1.90/2.00) and would I require new inner tubes?
Thanks for your help!
I like these on bridleway paths and tarmac. The central bead is a smooth, fast ride. The grip in softer ground is surprisingly impressive too - and they're also fairly resistant to punctures. 1.75 for a faster but harsher ride (my choice for C2C) or 2.00 for a smoother slightly slower ride (or a muddier one). You shouldn't need to buy new inner tubes - you can use the old ones (2.125) as long as they're not perished. If you shop for inner tubes, you'll notice that 1 tube covers a fairly wide range of widths. That said, if I were doing the C2C I'd put new ones one and keep the old ones for spares!
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Micycle
Co Durham
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Fitting the Schwalbe land cruiser tyres

I' m new to this subject, but I'm kinda lost with the directional tread on these tyres. The tyre has a marking showing front/rear- is this for fitting the tyres??
Yes - and also for making sure your front wheel is put back on the right way around. The tyres are designed to roll best with the FRONT pointing forwards on your bike. Lots of tyres (including many car ones) are directional these days.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Micycle
Co Durham
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

When buying tyres are they pairs or just a single tyre ?

Single - shame I know! These are good though. I use them on the C2C around Chester-le-Street all the time and don't get many punctures.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Micycle
Co Durham
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

My hardtail mtb currently has 26 x 1.95 tyres. I was wondering whether the 26 x 1.75 would fit the rims?

I'm now intending on using the bike for more bridleway / road rides rather than rough terrain. Would the 1.75 suit?
Hi Steve - yes it'll fit & works well on bridleways. Watch out for mud though - the sudden increase in drag when the tyre drops into mud and the sides start to bite put me over the bars when braking! I really rate these tyres, they are quite puncture resistant and not too expensive.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Micycle
Co Durham
 
 TourRide City MTB Tyre
TourRide City MTB Tyre
The TourRide offers everything a real all-round tyre needs.
 

Is this a folding type tyre?

No.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Micycle
Co Durham
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

My fitted tyres are 26 - 1.95 nobbly tread I would like to change to road tyres will the schwalbe land cruiser 26 - 1.90 be ok to fit

Best answer
They will fit perfectly. You'll like them too!
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Micycle
Co Durham