RCRC
Share RCRC's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
RCRC's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    26 March 2010
  • Last Review
    18 August 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    19 June 2010
  • Last Question
    02 October 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    19 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    06 June 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
RCRC's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
A thick moisturising solution for comfort and reduced friction on endurance road rides. Apply to your seatpad on shorter rides or apply to both your skin and seatpad on epic sportives and stage races.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Are You Brylcreem in Disguise?
Posted18 August 2011
RCRC
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Ignoring the fact that this smells exactly like me Granda's old hair product, it's definitely doing the job. I haven't ridden quite as much as I was before I bought it, but certainly no soreness to report.
Have seen other reviews say it's like E45, which I've used relatively successfully before, but on comparing the ingredients, there's a huge difference.
By far the best value, so bought a tub to use at home and another to leave at work.
It took me two years to decide this wasn't an unnecessary extravagance - dunno why I waited/suffered so long...
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, good size
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 21 Function Metallic Multi Tool
21 Function Metallic Multi Tool
Cr-V Metallic multi tool.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
My first multitool...
Posted06 June 2011
RCRC
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"... so nothing to compare it with, really. Not had to use it in anger yet, but looks good quality. A bit heavy maybe, but that's a necessary evil...
Not hugely impressed with the tyre levers (really short) but they may work perfectly well for all I know. Top section also seems to slide off fairly easily - ie when not intended, which could be something to watch out for.
"
Pros: Rugged, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Ultra Race Folding Road Tyre
Continental Ultra Race Folding Road Tyre
Seriously fast tyre. Nimble and quick for the ambitious road racer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
lovin' it
Posted06 June 2011
RCRC
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"They took a helluva long time to arrive (months, but I was in no rush) due to stock or production problems but they were well worth waiting for. They're my first foldies, which is maybe why they're also the first tyres I've been able to fit without using tyre levers - which is always a bonus.
Only done 200 miles or so on them so far due to holidays, business trips etc, but no punctures yet. And those faster times I've been setting ever since - do these have anything to do with that? :-)"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Sport Contact has a rolling resistance comparable to some of our road bike tyres, it's THAT fast! Those in a hurry will benefit from the new features which make the tyre more resistant to punctures than the old Avenue Semi Slick.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great for using MTB on tarmac
Posted06 June 2011
RCRC
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought these so I could commute with the MTB when the trails are too muddy, and the roads too wet/potholed for my delicate, fair-weather road bike. Due to a variety of reasons, however, only got them used for a 100 or so miles before switching back to knobblies, so only limited experience with them.
Nevertheless, nice and strong - no punctures - and speeds up an MTB nicely on tarmac
"
Pros: Rugged, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Knog Frog Strobe LED Rear Light
Knog Frog Strobe LED Rear Light
Water-resistant, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting. Visible up to 600 metres. 12 HOT colours (look out for random special colour releases).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A tentative 5 stars
Posted06 June 2011
RCRC
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not had to use this yet due to lighter evenings, but if it's anywhere as near as good as the front variety, then it'll be amazing.
Have fitted it to seatpost - it's light enough to leave on in case it's needed - saves me having to lug the bulkier CatEye everywhere. A test shows it's bright too - would probably feel safe enough if this was all I had to rely on, although the CatEye will be added as evenings close in...
Will be very instinctive to use too - ie switch on/off while on the move without having to look behind to see what you're doing"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit, good colour choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 TL-SL100 Compact LED Safety Rear Light
TL-SL100 Compact LED Safety Rear Light
The new SL-100 compact safety light is the ideal back up rear led for cycling, running or any other activity where it pays to be seen.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Not too bad
Posted06 June 2011
RCRC
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Can't give best review as I bought a Knog rear LED right after this, which is my main additional light if that makes sense. However, I have attached this one to my rucsac instead, and it's hung on despite 200 miles or so of bumpy tracks.
Not needed to use it in anger though, but seems easy enough to use.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 TL-LD610 LED White Lens Rear Light
TL-LD610 LED White Lens Rear Light
A must-have for urban night riding. The new TL-LD610 is slimmer and brighter than its predecessor, with five LEDs and three modes that maximize your visibility.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Brilliant
Posted06 June 2011
RCRC
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"An astonishing light for the price I paid for it. Bought if for the MTB, but compared it one night with my bigger and bulkier CatEye with eight(?) LEDs on the road bike. Couldn't spot any difference in output - and got a headache while trying - so it's bound to get you noticed. Not as noticeable from the side as my other one though, which has end-mounted LEDs.
Only niggle is that the on/off button isn't obvious enough - so if you're trying to switch on/off while on the move, it's hard to do so without lots of looking behind you."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Knog Frog Strobe LED Front Light
Knog Frog Strobe LED Front Light
Water-resistant, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting. Visible up to 600 metres. 12 HOT colours (look out for random special colour releases).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Outstanding
Posted06 June 2011
RCRC
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Fantastic light - in both senses of the word. Bought one for road bike and one for MTB due to low price - perfect to leave on over summer when you don't expect to need them, but you never know... Really bright - bound to get you noticed!
When the evenings draw in and it's time to mount the big gun lights on the two bikes, these will be staying on just to make sure...
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit, good colour choice
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Basic Bottle Cage
Basic Bottle Cage
One piece injection moulded construction bottle cage
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bargain
Posted06 June 2011
RCRC
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Think i paid £2.50 for this so no complaints at all. I don't agree with the poor construction comments (maybe you overtightened it?) but it looks good, is lighter than my old alloy versions, and holds a Lucozade style bottle much better than the standard design (I don't like putting flavoured drinks in my bidons).
I bought two for the road bike, and one for the MTB - true, I have to transfer the Lucozade bottle into the rucsac when hurtling down a bumpy track, but that's true for any (ie probably all) cage that isn't designed for them."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Tyre Levers
Tyre Levers
Set of three handy LifeLine Tyre Levers. A must have essential for any cyclist, easy to use.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bargain
Posted06 June 2011
RCRC
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I can never resist a bargain, so spent £1 to have ANOTHER set of tyre levers. They're a (little) bit heavier than the ones I carry with me, so am keeping these for use at home. They're a decent length, really tough and easy to use - absolute bargain."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
RCRC's Questions
 
 dhb Prudential RideLondon-Surrey 100 Bib Short
dhb Prudential RideLondon-Surrey 100 Bib Short
The Official Prudential RideLondon-Surrey 100 Bib Short 2014 features an Italian Action 205 Lycra fabric construction and high performance Cytech Endurance seatpad. The perfect apparel to ride the hills of Surrey and beyond.
 

Size chart doesn't tally with options

Theres no xxxl on the size share but it's an option, and there's no xl as an option but it's on the size chart. So is what you're selling as extra extra large actually just the xl?
3 weeks, 1 day ago
by
RCRC
 
Unyielding performance and powerful braking are the hallmarks of the Racer kit. Designed specifically for road bikes the Racer kit will provide consistent & smooth shifting and amazingly powerful braking.
 

Cutting outer cable

Has a pair of cable cutters been invented yet that are able to a) cut through the outer housing and b) do that without leaving it so rough that the ferrule won't slide over the end? Because I am fast running out of patience as well as cable, despite having bought a pair of cutters especially for the job. Which cutters are people using successfully for this hardest substance known to man?
1 month, 4 weeks ago
by
RCRC
 
A thick moisturising solution for comfort and reduced friction on endurance road rides. Apply to your seatpad on shorter rides or apply to both your skin and seatpad on epic sportives and stage races.
 

Any good for preventing nipple rash?!

3 years, 2 months ago
by
RCRC
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Individually wrapped?

I've had free samples of these where the tablets were individually wrapped - is that the case when they're in a tube? It would be nice to take a few out with me in the event I drain my bidons...
3 years, 3 months ago
by
RCRC
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

Free jersey?

Question for Wiggle guru - if I buy this, do I get the free Garmin jersey too:
http://www.garmin.com/garmin/cms/site/uk/free
4 years, 4 months ago
by
RCRC
 
RCRC's Answers
 
 TL-LD610 LED White Lens Rear Light
TL-LD610 LED White Lens Rear Light
A must-have for urban night riding. The new TL-LD610 is slimmer and brighter than its predecessor, with five LEDs and three modes that maximize your visibility.
 

the Cateye TL LD610W has a clear lens. Are the LEDS red or white?

Yep, they're red - and bright too...
3 years, 4 months ago
by
RCRC
 
 TL-LD610 LED White Lens Rear Light
TL-LD610 LED White Lens Rear Light
A must-have for urban night riding. The new TL-LD610 is slimmer and brighter than its predecessor, with five LEDs and three modes that maximize your visibility.
 

What is the length of this light and is it easy to mount on the seat post?

It's approx 3in wide (from memory). Easy fit to seat post too
3 years, 4 months ago
by
RCRC
 
 Earnley Padded Under Shorts
Earnley Padded Under Shorts
The Earnley range - quality kit at unbeatable prices
 

What are these meant to be used for/as?

Is this "under shorts" a piece of underwear, or do you wear it in addition to normal padded cycling shorts? If they are underwear, does this mean they've got less padding than normal cycling shorts?
I think they're officially supposed to be used as padded shorts under trackie bottoms, but I wear them in addition to the usual shorts, in place of regular underwear. They make the world of difference...
4 years, 5 months ago
by
RCRC