fnegroni
Share fnegroni's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
fnegroni's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    18
  • Helpfulness Votes
    12
  • First Review
    23 July 2009
  • Last Review
    08 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    16 October 2009
  • Last Question
    29 March 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    21 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    08 July 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
fnegroni's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Vittoria Diamante Pro Pista (Track) Clincher Tyre
Vittoria Diamante Pro Pista (Track) Clincher Tyre
Diamante Pro Pista is a convenient, all black racing track clincher tyre for sustained speed on indoor and outdoor tracks. This 220 TPI tyre is the ultimate clincher for track racing and training. No puncture-resistant belt and very light weight.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good clincher for training and racing
Posted08 July 2014
fnegroni
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Weight as advertised. Used together with Vittoria racelight butyl tubes.
I train and race at Herne Hill Velodrome, an outdoor velodrome in London, UK.
I have used this tyre during winter training, summer training and track league racing, rain or shine.
After a few hundred miles it is starting to show wear on the right side of the tread due to being used on a Tarmac outdoor facility.
But I never punctured, including on the open road in the couple of miles to/from the velodrome.
I keep it inflated at 120psi front and 130 psi rear for racing but can get lower than that during training over the course of a week, yet have not had any issues with grip.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Vredestein Fortezza TriComp Slick Folding Tyre
Vredestein Fortezza TriComp Slick Folding Tyre
All weather super-fast competition tyre with a specific tread and side wall compound that guarantees the best grip and lowest rolling resistance in all weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fits Easton EA50 SL wheels
Posted09 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fnegroni
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought these as a replacement for a heavier set of Vittoria Open Pave CG.
The Vittoria weigh 250 grams. These, 180 grams (verified). Combined with a latex inner tube (Michelin makes one that weighs 80 grams yet reasonably priced), the performance difference is quite evident.
They are slick, but I have today (9 Nov) been for a very wet and cold ride (7'C) and they performed absolutely fine without any handling issues at high speeds.
More importantly, they are actually fairly easy to mount on a set of Easton EA50 SL which are renowned for being a difficult wheel to fit tyres on, especially Continental's.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Miche Seat Post Clamp
Miche Seat Post Clamp
Lightweight anodised alloy seat clamp fitted with a special nickel-plated steel screw and cylindrical nut.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fits Kiron Scandium
Posted09 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fnegroni
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought this as the only suitable replacement for a Kiron Scandium. It fits perfectly, performs as expected, and looks good too."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Torq Bars - Box of 24 45g Bars
Torq Bars - Box of 24 45g Bars
TORQ bar has been painstakingly formulated to produce a food that is ultra high in carbohydrate, very low in fat and with ingredients wide-ranging in glycaemic index for immediate and sustained glucose release.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Agrees with my stomach
Posted09 November 2013
fnegroni
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have been using a variety of gels/bars/energy drinks over the last few years.
Torq is the only one that agrees with my intestines, allowing me to absorb the energy very quickly and their 'unit' system, whereby each bar gel or 500ml drink is 1 Torq unit, means it is very easy to figure out the energy requirements and plan for a long effort.
I use them at the gym or when out on my bike.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Sportful Windstopper Pursuit Tech Glove
Sportful Windstopper Pursuit Tech Glove
This midweight glove won't inhibit dexterity, for free braking and shifting. Velcro closed cuff keeps heat in and the chill out. With a close but non restrictive fit, this key piece of kit will be useful from autumn to spring.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fits like, erm, a glove?
Posted13 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fnegroni
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Whether this item will fit your hands or not it will be down to personal preference.
If though, it does fit your hands for size and shape, then the overall construction will please those looking for a glove that is fairly well insulated, yet provides great dexterity.
I opted for these for three reasons: I wanted a glove that would match my other Sportful items, was not bulky yet provided wind insulation, and had a Velcro fasterner.
I had previously used a pair of Specialized Deflect (my2009) which were excellent in terms of dexterity and durability, but lacked insulation somewhat.
The most recent Specialized Deflect model (my2014) are nowhere near as comfortable, being quite rigid in the palm and thumb area.
These Sportful gloves are exactly what I was looking for, even though a bit on the expensive side.
Surprisingly though, they are cheaper than the similarly constructed GORE own Windstopper gloves, which do not have a Velcro strap; I got those instead for my wife since the Gore and Dhb ranges seem to fit her better than the Sportful range.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit, velcro strap
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Kids Tater Cycle Helmet
Kids Tater Cycle Helmet
Built using the revolutionary OneStep fit system, the Tater brings worry-free simplicity to fitting kids helmets. With a tough construction, vibrant colours and a comfortable fit, the Tater is perfect for learning to ride, through to family outings.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quick to fit
Posted11 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fnegroni
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The one thing children hate is the time it takes to buckle up a helmet, let alone the fact that most helmets require a lengthy set up to fit properly.
This helmet is both quick to buckle up, and the straps are immediately correctly adjusted for small children.
Thumbs up from my 2 year old daughter.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Ice Spiker Performance Rigid MTB Tyre
Schwalbe Ice Spiker Performance Rigid MTB Tyre
Free riding in the snow! Why not?
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Worth it
Posted16 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
User submitted photo
fnegroni
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"If like me you depend on your bike for the daily commute, or the weekly trip to the shops, this tyre will allow you to ride safely and comfortably through the coldest winter days and nights.
What do they feel like to ride: you get a sort of slip-grip effect when on sheet ice. Once you get used to it, the ride becomes positively reassuring. On dry tarmac they are very noisy.
Although studded tyres for cars or trikes might be overkill they are a must for bicycles when riding on compacted snow and ice.
Of course you can ride on regular fatter tyres, slowly, sometimes very slowly, and hope you don't fall, but that would make your commute at least impractical.
With studded tyres, you can achieve the same average speeds as usual, without ever worrying about falling.
If when braking hard the front tyre locks up, it will still track straight, and won't slip from under you. It is a huge safety benefit.
If you can afford two sets of studded tyres, get these and the Schwalbe Marathon Winter. Use the Marathons on paved roads, and keep these for when the conditions demand it.
But if like me, you can only afford one set, and can't decide, get these.
This it is an off road tyre, but it will roll fine on tarmac. The 50 TPI carcass gives reasonable rolling resistance on dry tarmac. Much better than cheap knobbly tyres.
And when the weather conditions ask you to ride those back roads or cycle paths covered in fresh snow, you will be pleased.
They are expensive but they pay themselves over a few rides: the alternative would be either a car with snow tyres, or public transport. Neither of which is cheap.
I have done approx 150 miles on these (mounted on a spare wheel set), mostly on tarmac, and I don't regret it at all.
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, heavy, noisy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Seamless Liner Glove
Seamless Liner Glove
Perfect as a glove liner in extreme cold or on their own for light protection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great in combination with windproof gloves
Posted20 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fnegroni
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I recently purchased these liner gloves in preparation for this winter commuting season.
I own a pair of Specialized Deflect windproof gloves, which although suitable for spring, struggle in colder late autumn/winter weather.
The Sportful liner gloves fit very close to the skin, and provide the additional warmth required when the temperatures drop below 8C. Yet they allow you to wear thinner gloves which give added sensitivity and control.
My palm measuring 9 inches, I purchased both sizes and decided to keep the larger (2). The smaller size (1) fitted ok but was a bit tight and I was concerned that might have restricted blood circulation and provided less protection from the cold.
The left hand liner comes with a Sportful logo to make it easier to recognise in the dark, for example if you need to put them on half way on a late night commute.
I wore them on my commute this morning (just under an hour at 4C) and they performed very well, keeping my hands warm but not sweaty."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Sticks like glue on wet roads
Posted21 July 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
fnegroni
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I currently use a set of Continental GP4000S on my race bike.
I recently had a series of punctures to the same tyre in short succession. The first puncture happened when the tyre was mounted on the back just before 2k miles.
At the 2k miles mark, I decided to swap front and rear.
Unfortunately, shortly afterward I got a puncture to the same tyre, now at the front. Fortunately this happened on a quiet bit of road.
Three punctures to the same tyre suggest something is not right. After 2k miles, the tread wear indicators didn't seem to indicate the tyre needed replacing.
But the cause of the repeat punctures was to be traced back to a hole in the centre of the tread.
Whatever caused the hole, was able to penetrate the tyre and vectran belt and puncture through to the inside casing:
I decided to replace the tyre with yet another GP4000S due to its performance, especially in the wet, up to that point.
I must admit though that these tyre are not the most comfortable when run at their recommended pressure.
For future reference, the tyre circumference when new is 2122mm.
That's the number you should tap into your bicycle computer.
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, excellent in the wet
Cons: not comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Forte Road Helmet - 2011
Forte Road Helmet - 2011
A cool, comfortable, lightweight helmet with striking styling and robust protection.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Only 230 grams
Posted20 July 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
fnegroni
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The MET Forte is an exceptionally light helmet for the price: only 230 grams with all the accessories.
It features large apertures at the front, which channel the air over the head and towards the back of the head.
It is wholly made in Italy according to the literature, and the craftsmanship is on par with the other helmets.
The most important thing when looking for a helmet is that it fits well.
This helmet comes in only one size: 52 to 59 cm.
I am between 57 and 58 cm depending on my hair style and whether I wear a cap during the winter.
That means this helmets fits me perfectly well and is close enough to my scalp to ensure greater safety on impact yet allow the air channels to function properly.
It is also the right shape and there are no protruding parts inside.
On the contrary, I found all the Giro and Bell helmets in the same (and higher) price range to be uncomfortable, due to either their shape or the sizing mechanism at the back.
The shape is certainly modern (it is a 2010 model) and gives an aggressive racer look. It does not come with a visor option. It sits low enough on the forehead yet does not interfere when tucked in to an aero position.
The Safe-T light adjustment at the back is not as good as the Limar's, but it is a tried and tested option which I know won't break as easily.
It also sits lower round the back, which fits my head shape better.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
fnegroni's Questions
 
 Surly Long Haul Trucker Touring Forks
Surly Long Haul Trucker Touring Forks
Classically styled long haul touring forks.
 

What's the widest tyre in 26" size you can fit?

Are knobby tyres a problem with this fork?
Will the narrowest MTB SKS mudguards fit these?
4 years, 8 months ago
by
fnegroni
Wokingham
 
 Surly Long Haul Trucker Touring Forks
Surly Long Haul Trucker Touring Forks
Classically styled long haul touring forks.
 

Are the cantilever studs compatible with v-brakes?

4 years, 8 months ago
by
fnegroni
Wokingham
 
 Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Especially for those who cycle all year round, in every kind of road and weather conditions, including pavé and heavy rain, Vittoria decided to improve one of its most traditional models, the "CG", and raise it to the EVO level.
 

Is this the new model with K320 casing?

Your item description says 240TPI, and was wondering if you could source the new 320TPI casing model, as seen on Vittoria's website.
http://www.vittoria.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=12311&Itemid=116
4 years, 10 months ago
by
fnegroni
UK
 
 Corrente Courier 2010
Corrente Courier 2010
Leave your car in the drive and tank up on fresh air! With the comfortable, dynamic and extremely good looking Focus fitness bikes it couldn’t be easier.
 

Does the front fork have mudguard eyelets?

 
Products related to my question
Corrente Courier 2010
4.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
5 years, 2 months ago
by
fnegroni
 
fnegroni's Answers
 
 Vittoria Diamante Pro Pista (Track) Clincher Tyre
Vittoria Diamante Pro Pista (Track) Clincher Tyre
Diamante Pro Pista is a convenient, all black racing track clincher tyre for sustained speed on indoor and outdoor tracks. This 220 TPI tyre is the ultimate clincher for track racing and training. No puncture-resistant belt and very light weight.
 

Are these a direct "sticker change" replacement for the Diamante pro lite?

We've been using the Vittoria Diamante Pro Lite as our preferred/recommended tyre for indoor (wooden) velodrome training and racing with our sprint group, and the pro lite is no longer available? If so, does this tyre use the same compound as the pro lite?
These don't have a puncture protection belt at all. But I believe it has the same compound as the pro lite, and indeed suitable for indoor use.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
fnegroni
Wokingham
 
 Vittoria Diamante Pro Pista (Track) Clincher Tyre
Vittoria Diamante Pro Pista (Track) Clincher Tyre
Diamante Pro Pista is a convenient, all black racing track clincher tyre for sustained speed on indoor and outdoor tracks. This 220 TPI tyre is the ultimate clincher for track racing and training. No puncture-resistant belt and very light weight.
 

Are these suitable for outdoor track

By track only does this include outdoor track as well as velodrome
Yes this are suitable for outdoor track (Tarmac/asphalt or concrete)
5 months, 1 week ago
by
fnegroni
Wokingham
 
 Torq Bars - Box of 24 45g Bars
Torq Bars - Box of 24 45g Bars
TORQ bar has been painstakingly formulated to produce a food that is ultra high in carbohydrate, very low in fat and with ingredients wide-ranging in glycaemic index for immediate and sustained glucose release.
 

Are these really 65g bars?

I ask because I have ordered before and the bars I received are marked 45g. This, coupled with the fact that every other website shows them to be 45g bars has caused me to query the size.
They are 45 grams. The 65 grams bars are no longer in production.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
fnegroni
Wokingham
 
 Miche Seat Post Clamp
Miche Seat Post Clamp
Lightweight anodised alloy seat clamp fitted with a special nickel-plated steel screw and cylindrical nut.
 

Correct way to install the clamp

I am using a Syntace P6 AL seatpost with a titanium frame. So I'm guessing the sleeve should be pointing at Classic.

Then am I supposed to align the clamp slot & the seat tube slot? Or align the sleeve slot with the seat tube slot?

Thanks for the help.
You shouls align all slots so that you can see the seat post through the slot in the frame, in the collar and in the thin metal sleeve.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
fnegroni
Wokingham
 
 Dryline 56 Rear Panniers
Dryline 56 Rear Panniers
The Dryline range is perfect for touring, commuting or leisure use with a unique lightweight waterproof construction. Altura's Dryline's are made with a durable, two-layer construction, which creates a waterproof layer inside a tough, Cordura outer.
 

Do these panniers fit any rack?

I have a very old bike, with a rack not designed specifically for modern pannier attachment systems, so I want to be sure it fits regardless.
The mount clips at the top can be adapted to fit different tubing sizes (8/10/13 mm) via a plastic tab inside the clip.
They also feature an addtional sideways tab lower down to grip onto the rack side rails.
I use these in combination with a Tortec Expedition rack which will offset them back a bit more to give heel clearance, but that's because of the geometry of my bike.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 year, 2 months ago
by
fnegroni
Wokingham
 
 Dryline 56 Rear Panniers
Dryline 56 Rear Panniers
The Dryline range is perfect for touring, commuting or leisure use with a unique lightweight waterproof construction. Altura's Dryline's are made with a durable, two-layer construction, which creates a waterproof layer inside a tough, Cordura outer.
 

Do these panniers have hooks for a strap?

Yes they do!
1 year, 2 months ago
by
fnegroni
Wokingham
 
 Pro Bike Display Stand
Pro Bike Display Stand
Fast and simple bike parking solution, Durable and rigid design, Fits all bike designs including models with disc brakes
 

Is this bike stand sturdy enough to support bike with child seat (& child attached) ?

Need stand for getting child into seat rather than putting bike up against wall / car which ends up not being very secure
No, this will NOT support a bike with a passenger, even a small child, on it. It is only used to support the bike when parked.
If you want a stand to support the bike with a child seat and child at the same time, you are better off investing in a dual legged centre kick stand.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
fnegroni
Wokingham
 
 Schwalbe Ice Spiker Performance Rigid MTB Tyre
Schwalbe Ice Spiker Performance Rigid MTB Tyre
Free riding in the snow! Why not?
 

how much road riding can you do before you wear the studs off?

I did just under 150 miles so far this winter and the studs are still intact.
I know someone did around 400 miles before a losing a couple of studs.
4 years ago
by
fnegroni
Wokingham
 
 

Are these 330 tpi (threads per inch) - 3ply + Vectran the same as the GP triathlon tyre?

Continental's literature rates these at 330 tpi, as in 110tpi per ply times three plies.

They are not 330tpi per ply.

Victoria makes 320tpi per ply clincher tyres, called Open tubulars.

They also make regular clinchers in 120, 150 and 220 TPI per ply.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
fnegroni
Wokingham