crask
Share crask's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
crask's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    16 May 2010
  • Last Review
    30 January 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    18 April 2015
  • Last Question
    18 April 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    13 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    08 September 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
crask's Reviews
 
The Aeron Short features a premium Italian stretch fabric, refined fit and is equipped with a high spec Veloce CyTech Elastic Interface chamois perfect for medium distance rides.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
OK at first, then pretty painful!
Posted30 January 2015
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
crask
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"So these seemed like decent quality for the price at first. First two rides were good - comfy pad, good fit, seems like decent quality fabric.
Unfortunately they have sewn a very scratchy label into the seam of the shorts, the corner of which protrudes from the seam on the inside of the shorts and rubs against my skin, which scratched my lower back repeatedly on the 3rd ride. Normally with scratchy labels you can pick them out without damaging the garment but this is properly sewn in, so no luck there. I don't understand why a manufacturer of a close fitting garment designed for sport (so therefore movement) would think that a stiff label against one's skin would be anything other than painful. And so a bit of Orange is sticking out of the short?
Other than that the shorts seem decent quality for the three times I have worn them but having quality on my legs doesn't make up for the scratches on my back so I'll be contacting wiggle to return them for a refund, and until the labels are sorted (i.e. removed on all future DHB shorts) I won't be buying any more."
Cons: scratchy label
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
A durable track pump with a high volume steel piston, a barrel mounted pressure gauge and a dual purpose head for presta and schraeder valves. Essential for high mileage road and mountain bike riders.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Stop thinking about it - just buy it!
Posted31 December 2014
crask
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is a fabulous quality pump for the price. I dithered for ages deciding whether to get this to replace a cheaper one with no pressure gauge. So glad I bought this. Easy to attach/detach. Smooth action. Feels And looks very durable. Can't believe I spent so long using a cheap plastic floor pump with no gauge. Idiot.
Don't be as daft as I was, if you don't already have a good floor pump just buy this one. Now."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Not just a great off-road pedal system, Speedplay Frog pedals are ideal for road riders who prefer a recessed, walkable cleat.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
No more knee pain
Posted25 November 2014
crask
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought these for my road bike after the more popular Shimano SPDs wouldn't work with my slightly dodgy knees. These have given me no problems at all, and I think the non-centered float really is the key to this. I have used clipless pedals with centering spring-loaded float mechanisms (like Shimano) and non-centered mechanisms (e.g. Onza HO) in the past, and it is pretty clear that the centering is the issue for me. So glad I spent the money on these now.
These pedals are also easy to get in and out of compared to others I've used.
I'd have given these 5 stars but as they don't have sealed bearings they are higher maintenance than other pedals, and need greasing once every few weeks. For me, at this price, that's worth a star."
Pros: Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, non-centred float, easy to clip out of
Cons: not a sealed unit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Compact dual sided SPD pedal designed for day to day use
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great quality but no good for dodgy knees
Posted04 September 2013
crask
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a fine pedal, with good solid clip in and out. Great price and great service from Wiggle as always.
However...
If you have anything other than perfectly aligned knees which have never suffered any form of injury I would advise against them. After one short 12 mile ride my knees were hurting. After a second ride (thought I'd give them the benefit of the doubt in case it was something else) the same pain in the same place. My knees have given me some problems in the past (though not when cycling), but I have used Onza HO pedals with non-centred float for years with no issues, until they fell apart.
Unfortunately you can't get Onza HOs anymore so I had to spend a lot more to get a non-shimano clip-in pedal with non-centred float (also available from Wiggle). The result? No pain whatsoever.
In summary, a great pedal at a great price if your knees are in great nick. But if in doubt don't put your knees at risk."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: not enough float & it's centred
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ready for 2012, For Goodness Shakes has been re-engineered to provide Gold Standard Sports Recovery nutrition to athletes after the toughest race or training session. The new PROCOVERY formula delivers world class performance as well as world class taste
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best tasting recovery drink
Posted20 May 2013
crask
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is the only recovery drink I've tried that is not really powdery, and is also the only one which has never made me feel sick (it claims to be gentle on the stomach and this seems to be born out). Have tried SiS and Torque recovery. Sure they work, but why drink something that tastes horrible when you can have this?
Vanilla and Superberry are the best flavours. Banana and Choc ok but not as good."
Pros: tasty, not powdery like other brands, easy to carry, easy to mix
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Now available in a choice of three lens options, the dhb Ultralite Sunglasses are comfortable, lightweight and versatile.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
As good as it gets for the money
Posted05 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
crask
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These sunglasses are great, they fit really securely, look more expensive than they are and keep the sun, wind, and flies (except the really annoying ones that somehow still find a way through to your eyeball when going downhill at 30mph approaching a corner) out of your eyes.
I have quite a small face and sometimes find it difficult to find glasses to fit, so these are a great buy for me."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 HR102 Heart Rate Monitor
HR102 Heart Rate Monitor
Set your heart rate zone limits - and you're protected with audible and visual alarm.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Heart Rate Monitor
Posted13 July 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
crask
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is an excellent HRM for the price. It uses a chest strap which is not uncomfortable once adjusted properly, and it does get picked up on some of the machines in the gym, which is nice. Best thing about this is that you can attach it to your bike really easily so you don't have to take your hands off the bars to confirm how unfit you are half way up a technical climb!
The only things it lacks is calorie counting & avg HR functions, but for the price you can't really complain about that."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable, Versatile, bike attachment
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 750ml Water Bottle
750ml Water Bottle
With a combination of a big mouth opening, soft fast jet flow value and a high quality soft (easy squeeze) construction we believe this is the best water bottle on the market.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
No leakage water bottle
Posted16 June 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
crask
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"All my other water bottles leak. Either they leak or the mouthpiece doesn't work properly so you get as much air in your mouth as water.
The Nuun water bottle does not leak. The mouthpiece is airtight and only delivers what you want. And it has useful knobbly grips so you're less likely to drop it if you go over a bump when drinking.
This is the best water bottle I have ever bought."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, doesn't leak
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Dual compound, no-slip Kraton rubber grips that are ergonomically designed.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Grippy but not comfy
Posted16 May 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
crask
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought these to replace my old grips which had started to break. They're easy enough to get on and don't move around, and they grip well. My only complaint is on long and/or bumpy rides, the 'anatomical' bulge causes some discomfort as it puts pressure on a very small area of my hand, rather than spreading the load. Maybe it's the way I hold it..."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive
Cons: uncomfortable on long rides
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
crask's Questions
 
Etixx impact support with added vitamin C plus a blend of nutrients including glucosamine and chondroitin. This supplement is used for supporting joints, cartilage and connective tissue of the joints.
 

why does this say it's vegetarian?

How can this be classed as vegetarian if the first listed ingredient is 'from the shells of crustaceans'? My girlfriend is vegetarian and would not eat prawns or snails, obviously, but might take this before realising as its listed as vegetarian friendly. I think you need to check this.
3 days ago
by
crask
Glasgow
 
crask's Answers
 
 Drifter GTX (Gore-Tex) MTB Shoes
Drifter GTX (Gore-Tex) MTB Shoes
High technology all terrain shoes with a gore tex membrane and a vibram sole for comfort and grip in challenging conditions.
 

Stock Availability

Looking for a pair that are UK size 9. Would this be a 42 or a 43 for this shoe? And, will there be any new stock of this size? thx
This would officially be 43, but I bought 42 which are labelled UK8.5. They were closer to 7.5 in fact, so if you do buy these I'd recommend going a size up and getting a 44.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
crask
Glasgow
 
Now available in a choice of three lens options, the dhb Ultralite Sunglasses are comfortable, lightweight and versatile.
 

Is there any way to find out before buying, if they'll fit me?

I could measure my head if needed, but I don't want to buy glasses that are too big for me... and I have a problem finding the right size (smaller models are okay).
I also have problems finding glasses small enough for me. Too small a face for most glasses but not so small that I can wear kids size. I find these DHB glasses are a pretty good fit - better than most other models I've tried. They stay secure on my face and don't look ridiculous. And remember Wiggle will take them back if they turn out to be a poor fit.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
crask
Glasgow
 
 HR102 Heart Rate Monitor
HR102 Heart Rate Monitor
Set your heart rate zone limits - and you're protected with audible and visual alarm.
 

Oregon Scientific HR102 Heart Rate Monitor

Is the chest belt also provided?
Yes it is - also comes with an attachment to fit to your handlebars. All in a pretty red case!
4 years, 9 months ago
by
crask
Glasgow