Odnis
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Odnis's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Odnis's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    28
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    23 June 2009
  • Last Review
    25 May 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    2
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    30 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    18 September 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Odnis's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Complete set of bushings for different shifting systems equipped with special internal lubricant system.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
For the price - go for it.
Posted25 May 2014
Odnis
fromSorø
Country : Denmark
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Jockey wheels like these rolls well with the chain for a couple of months but they wear out fast. Don't expect more than 2-3 months life during winter. If you don't take care of them suddenly you will be running with tooth picks on your bike. Lots of slack, Lots of play and not much chain control. But as long as the bearings are new and te teeth are okay these jockey wheel are okay"
Pros: Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Not Enough Features, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good but expensive tyres
Posted25 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Odnis
fromSorø
Country : Denmark
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I have ridden these tyres on dirt and rocks, wet and dry, grass and roots. Sizes 2.25"(rear) and 2.35" (rear). I have used them for XC marathon training/races. For me they work best as a rear tyre as the front tyre tend to slip in curves. They have excellent traction in the rear end. I noticed a strong tendency in the front tyre to slip "politely" on the side knobs - both on grass and dirt. They are a bit heavy, but on the other hand I haven't had punctures with them - which is a super plus in my book. They seal up very well on a No Tubes Crest 29" rim, using different kinds of sealant."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Chrome Steel BB30 replacement cartridge bearings.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
No can do
Posted18 September 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Odnis
fromSorø
Country : Denmark
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought a Niner Jet9 RDO e in January 2012 which was pre-installed w. BB30 press fit bearings. In just one season I used 2 sets of chrome steel and 1 ceramic bearings on a XC carbon hardtail. 1) BB30 is hard to mount precisely and you have to use special tools plus a hammer AND expert skills to get old parts out and news parts into the BB. 2) The life span of this product is ridiculous. It's designed for pro riders with mechanics and big sponsors. Weekend warriers look elsewhere it's not for us.
I ended up mounting my bike with an adaptor to run old school threaded BSA and it's so much better than BB30.
"
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The original, totally waterproof, windproof and breathable, close-fitting stretch knit gloves, incorporating SealSkinz's patented StretchDry technology. These gloves give excellent grip control and dexterity for a range of activities.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good quality, but not for winter rides
Posted18 September 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
Odnis
fromSorø
Country : Denmark
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Really nice autumn/ spring gloves which comes a bit big to my XL hand (1/2 size, surprise!). Excellent quality which will last a long time and can take a lot of dirt, washing and more dirt. I like hi-wiz colours but it's a matter of taste."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Welcome our new Gutter Seal Technology! Gutter drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Very short life span
Posted18 September 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Odnis
fromSorø
Country : Denmark
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I ride XC, no jumping, no DH. This set was mounted on a carbon 29er hardtail. After just 2000K's the bearings was loose. After 2500 K's the looseness in the bearings was noticeable when pedalling and the set finally came off. Compared to Shi. Hollowtech II this seems a little too short life span for a GXP BB cup. It's cheap, though. GXP (non pressfit, old school BSA) is very easy to install and runs smoothly when new."
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Luggit Blok 18L Messenger Bag
dhb Luggit Blok 18L Messenger Bag
Fully featured messenger shoulder bag swallows gear. Stabilizing strap controls the load. Numerous pockets to keep you organized.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Handy performer
Posted14 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Odnis
fromSorø
Country : Denmark
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I use this a tool for carrying post, books from the library and - sometimes - a little shopping from supermarkets. It holds a lot for it's size and sits well on my back. Lots of different pockets (from cell phone pocket to. large room which will hold a notebook plus charger. it was fairly cheap but I think it will perform well over a long periode of time. I have used it for plus 2 months and it keeps it's shape niceliy and though it is made of soft nylon fabric it haven't lost it's original shape."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 PDW Dangerzone Rear Light
PDW Dangerzone Rear Light
The Danger Zone™ rear light keeps you visible and safe when the sun sets. It uses two 0.5 watt Japanese LEDs to blast powerful light beams into the night.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
It's a WOW light
Posted11 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Odnis
fromSorø
Country : Denmark
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I have used more rear lights than I care to remember. This one is by far the strongest and most impressive light I have had. To put it a phrase: YOU WILL BE SEEN WITH THIS ON YOUR BIKE.
The on/off button is a little hard to find when you wear the light on your back, using the clip, but for MTB it's not wise to mount the rear light on the seat stay b/c of mud and dirt: It covers the light.
The plastic looks exactly as cheap as any other chinese light - but this is supposed to be an american design - and I am a little concerned about how good it will withstand my (ab)use during long winter rides. I bought it with a discount, otherwise it's a little expensive, I think.
Three light modes: Changing flash and INZANE and steady.
"
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Merino Longsleeve Roundneck Baselayer M_150
Merino Longsleeve Roundneck Baselayer M_150
This ultra fine merino wool is comfortable and smooth next to the skin.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Cheap but not worth it
Posted10 December 2012
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Odnis
fromSorø
Country : Denmark
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Having ridden quite a lot af DHB gear I expected a solid performer when I ordered this merino wool base layer. However, after just one washing I had to conclude that this piece af apparal will not last long: It lost it's shape and shrinked. The fabric is crimbled and the colour is fading.
I have only washed the base layer on 30 degrees C using detergent for colourful clothing.
It is small for a size L, too.
"
Pros: cheap
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 NiteRider Stinger 0.5 Watt Taillight
NiteRider Stinger 0.5 Watt Taillight
The Stinger Taillight operates of a powerful 1/2 watt LED, allowing you to be seen from a half mile away.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
See the light
Posted10 January 2012
Odnis
fromSorø
Country : Denmark
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great little tail light. Impressive light output. Due to it's shape it's mainly for road racing as it picks up quite a lot of off road debris from mtb rear tyre. Also, it's a little difficult to clean at the circumference of the lens which serves as light contact, too. It sits bomb proof on the saddle tube w. silicone strap. If design matters this is really a nice device which do not subtract from the good looks of your pride and joy."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: pick up dirt easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Connex 10S8 10 Speed Chain
Connex 10S8 10 Speed Chain
All plates are coated with a high-grade nickel layer for reliable protection against corrosion.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Über chain
Posted11 October 2011
Odnis
fromSorø
Country : Denmark
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"To me Connex is the best there is. Their connector link is perfect and can be saved for others chains (it doesn't wear out easily like similar products). Furthermore, the connector link never freezes or gets stuck. I use this chain on a 2X9 Shimano 7700 road bike and it has really raised the bar with regards to shiftings performance: Precise and crisp shifting."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Versatile
 
Products related to my review
Bel Air RL Saddle with Titanium Rails
4.8 out of 5(45)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Odnis's Questions
 
Odnis has not submitted any questions.
 
Odnis's Answers
 
Welcome our new Gutter Seal Technology! Gutter drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag.
 

Is it OK to swap a square taper 68mm bb for a GXP (with sram crankset)?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, you can, as long as BB is threaded. But you need to use the extra shims for SRAM /Truvativ chainset which comes as part of the package.
1 year ago
by
Odnis
Sorø
 
 Platinum Pro ISIS Bottom Bracket
Platinum Pro ISIS Bottom Bracket
Forged hollow chromoly spindle for ISIS Drive, with integrated bearing design. Cold forged aluminium cups, composite anti-creak sleeve, new improved external water seals and chromoly self-extracting crank bolts (M-15).
 

What is E-Fit?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Some frames don't have front derailleur braces and no room for FD bands. E-fit is made for those frames and is a metal piece w. attachment for FD. It is tightened to the right (drive) side of the BB.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Odnis
Sorø
 
 Plug 2010
Plug 2010
Charge's Plug is a courier inspired single-speed, which takes track bike heritage and mixes it with messenger style to produce a bike that is as dependable as it is fast.
 

Can you fit mudguards to this bike?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I've mounted Crud Road Racer Mudguard Set on a size small frame. I had to downsize the tyres from 28C to 23C to do this. The only issue now is the tip of the front mud guard which cannot run freely on the tyre. I had to neglect this part but this is really not a problem ;-)
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Odnis
Sorø
 
 Plug 2010
Plug 2010
Charge's Plug is a courier inspired single-speed, which takes track bike heritage and mixes it with messenger style to produce a bike that is as dependable as it is fast.
 

Gearing and set-up?

I'm after a free-wheel set-up and brakes across front and back. How easy is this bike in switching between a fixed gear and single speed set-up? Something a novice could do with minimal fuss?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes. You only need a 15mm wrench key. But remember to practice fixie-style before you venture into high speed riding.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Odnis
Sorø
 
 Plug 2010
Plug 2010
Charge's Plug is a courier inspired single-speed, which takes track bike heritage and mixes it with messenger style to produce a bike that is as dependable as it is fast.
 

Best tyres for city use? (but not kenda)

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Vittoria Rubino 23C
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Odnis
Sorø
 

How stretchy are these

The circumference of my chainstay is 9cm. Will the Jumbo size fit?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes jumbo size will fit as it is quite flexible. Good quality too!
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Odnis
Sorø, Denmark