Newtocommuting
Share Newtocommuting's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Newtocommuting's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    21 December 2009
  • Last Review
    31 May 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    08 November 2012
  • Last Answer
    08 November 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Newtocommuting's Reviews
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Keeps me warm in the cold
Posted31 May 2014
Newtocommuting
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"I wanted a pair of tights I could use in the winter and these fit the job. If the weather is very cold I use non-padded tights also.
Would buy again."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vaeon Roubaix Knee Warmers
Vaeon Roubaix Knee Warmers
A pre-contoured construction offering a superior fit made from super stretch, brushed Italian Fabric. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Roubaix Knee Warmers.)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for the job
Posted13 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Newtocommuting
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"I feel the cold too easily as I get older so knew that I'd need knee warmers that had some 'body' to them. These do the just job! I wore them on the commute home on the day they arrived and my knees thanked me!
Might need to get another pair as I can see me wearing them through til March!"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Get off road with the very sturdy mountain bike shoe from dhb. The M1.0 features a Simple 3-strap closure and a rubber outsole with internal glass reinforced Nylon structure for excellent traction and great power delivery.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MTB shoe
Posted18 May 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Newtocommuting
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : New to sport
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this shoe as my other DHBs bought last year was a size too big, even with insoles and I wanted a pair that was a better fit.
I love the colour red so when I saw the colour on these shoes I HAD to buy them. I got a size 5 which is fine width ways but is a tad long, but not enough to cause a problem. Maybe a different brand might fit better but these do the job fine. I love the stiff sole and now realise stiff soles work better for me than slightly softer ones. Velcro fastening is far better than laces, so these tick the box in that area.
I've used these on rides up to 96 miles and my feet have been fine. I would recommend these shoes.
My 'con' is not a complaint. I thought it best to highlight it as I've mentioned the fit above. As I use these shoes everyday I'm ok with the fit."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The introduction of the Ladies Gel Flow saddle marked the end of men's saddles 'adapted' to suit female requirments.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Not for me
Posted10 March 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Newtocommuting
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : New to sport
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this saddle to replace tthe stock one that came with my SS. I know finding the 'perfect' saddle takes time, money and fettling position so I wasn't expecting it to 'fit' from the beginning.
Unfortunately, despite tweaking the position fore/aft, up and down over 2 weeks, I've come to the conclusion that this saddle is not for me. I was very uncomfortable on it, even for short journeys.
Hopefully others will have better luck!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mid Thermal Merino Waterproof Socks
Mid Thermal Merino Waterproof Socks
More stretchy and breathable
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
SealSkinz Mid Thermal Merino Waterproof Socks
Posted12 October 2011
Newtocommuting
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : New to sport
Gender : Female
Budget : Cheap as possible
"I bought these as a replacement. They fit great and keep my feet warm, which is a good thing cos I suffer with circulation problems.
I wish there was a knee-length version though!"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Unadjustable, Not Enough Features, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Single Bolt Seat Post Clamp With Rack Mount
Single Bolt Seat Post Clamp With Rack Mount
Allows you to mount a four point rear carrier onto bikes without braze-ons.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great bit of kit
Posted19 January 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Newtocommuting
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : New to sport
Gender : Female
"I'd bought a rack and it was connected to the bike in such a way that it was 'off balance'. My LBS didn't have the right attachment so when this was suggested I went for it.
Simple but effective."
Pros: Good Fit, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Toe Clips
Toe Clips
Another pedigree product from Zefal. Their heritage shines through on the toe clips and straps (sold seperately).
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted21 December 2009
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Newtocommuting
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : New to sport
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"I bought one pair but couldn't get on with it so bought a different style in a small. Excellent! Less faffing around overall. Now just need to get up the courage to go clipped."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Newtocommuting's Questions
 
Newtocommuting has not submitted any questions.
 
Newtocommuting's Answers
 
Get off road with the very sturdy mountain bike shoe from dhb. The M1.0 features a Simple 3-strap closure and a rubber outsole with internal glass reinforced Nylon structure for excellent traction and great power delivery.
 

can you wear thick winter socks with these?

Im a size 44 casual shoe and was wondering if i could fit a boot style sock under these as well as wearing a normal sock without having to get a size up
You might, but it would be a tight squeese and your toes need wriggle room. You would be better of with 2 thin pairs of socks and overshoes or one medium thick sock.

I have worn Decathlon heat summat or other ski socks - with silk lining at the toes and still needed a 'regular' pair of socks underneath.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Newtocommuting
London