Kieron
Top 25 Contributor
Share Kieron's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Kieron's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    106
  • Helpfulness Votes
    17
  • First Review
    11 June 2009
  • Last Review
    11 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    20
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    16 September 2011
  • Last Review Comment
    18 April 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    76
  • Helpfulness Votes
    16
  • First Answer
    23 October 2009
  • Last Answer
    11 July 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    5
 
 
Kieron's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 >>>
 
This trainer tyre has been solely designed for use with Tacx turbo trainers. It is not designed to be used on the road. The tyre supplys better grip and last far longer than normal tyres.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Can't do without it.
Posted11 July 2014
Kieron
fromOslo
Country : Norway
Age : 45-54
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"If you're using, or thinking of using a trainer, then don't do it without using one of these tires.
I've had mine for four years and it doesn't seem to be wearing out. I have it on a separate rim with a single speed cog to save changing it over (and have tubular rims on bike anyway) and in the long run you'll be happy for the small investment. Well worth the cost and effort. Much better training due to virtually non slip and reduced sound.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Speedo's fitness goggles have been designed for those who take swimming seriously - for training or keeping fit. Innovative technology enhances the swim experience, these goggles are designed for maximum comfort, fit and vision.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best goggles ever
Posted11 July 2014
Kieron
fromOslo
Country : Norway
Age : 45-54
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Definitely the best goggles for open water swimming I have used yet. And, they are so comfortable to wear that I almost forget I have them on. Ok, that's an exaggeration, but they are really good. Only a fraction of the "goggle eyes" after two hours swim, and normally I have the marks around my eyes for a good half hour. (Did I really say good?)
Highly recommended and well worth the bit extra compared to other eyewear. The mirror is good in the sea and I have never had such clear vision before. Even with new ones.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
EnergySource Plus is a new generation sports drink for use during exercise. The carbohydrate formulation with added caffeine, magnesium and a high level of electrolytes helps sustain performance whilst enhancing the absorption of water.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Problem free nutrition
Posted01 July 2014
Kieron
fromOslo
Country : Norway
Age : 45-54
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This really is the stuff. Easy on the stomach, awesome balance of carbs and electrolytes. It mixes a lot easier than a lot of other brands and quicker too. Often the others leave a big lump of mix at the bottom of the bottle.
I have used this type for many half and full ironman distance and never had a problem with the stomach. High5 really do know they're stuff.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, good flavours, easy to mix
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Energize Sport Shots - 16 x 60g - Expiry May 14
Energize Sport Shots - 16 x 60g - Expiry May 14
Short sell by date (14th May 2014). You've been performing well but fatigue is starting to set in. Your energy levels are low and you need to fuel up fast.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good source of quick energy
Posted22 March 2014
Kieron
fromOslo
Country : Norway
Age : 45-54
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are really good to eat just prior to a long swim. They don't fill you up, are easy to eat, and seem to be just right amount of energy so you don't have to worry about cramps etc. Highly recommended."
Pros: Great Value, great taste, well balnced energy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A new addition to 2XU’s popular Comp Tri collection, the 2XU Perform Trisuit delivers the high performance of a Pro level suit. Essential extras include flatlock stitching, front semi-lock zip, silicone free Y Elastic Grip and contoured panelling.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very good fit and comfort
Posted22 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kieron
fromOslo
Country : Norway
Age : 45-54
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Definitely a step up on earlier models. Very comfortable and really good fit. I have used 2XU for a number of years so I am comparing to earlier models of this brand when I say it is a huge improvement (and the last ones aren't that bad!).
Well designed and easy to put on even though it's sits tight, as it should. Already ordered another!
"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
2XU Elite Compression Tights are engineered for targeted support to key muscles and improve performance. Perfect for rigorous training sessions, competition and faster recovery from the toughest of workouts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Recovery and running
Posted03 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Kieron
fromOslo
Country : Norway
Age : 45-54
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I use these for both running in the winter and for recovery, and as running tights they're good, though I personally think the jury is still out on the recovery part. As long as you aren't expecting some miracle difference because it's minimal, but it is certainly comfortable to wear these after a long session."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A super pair of lightweight carbon SPD-SL road pedals for high performance road racing. The carbon body provides large shoe contact area to maximise power transfer and support whilst reducing weight.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Problem free everytime
Posted16 December 2013
Kieron
fromOslo
Country : Norway
Age : 45-54
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Very light and have never had a problem. They have proved to be well worth the extra money given the quality. If you want a pedal that you don't need to worry about then this it the one. I have had 9000km without a care (so far)."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 1080v3 Shoes - AW13
1080v3 Shoes - AW13
The 1080v3 provides neutral runners comfort and protection in a lightweight frame. With N2 heel cushioning, an ABZORB crash pad, and a thin, light, arch-securing FantomFit quarter, the 1080v3 can keep up, mile after mile.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
good on asphalt
Posted12 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kieron
fromOslo
Country : Norway
Age : 45-54
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Noticeably lightweight. first few runs in them were in excess of 26km on the road and it felt like I had run on something a lot softer. Good to combine with elastic shoelaces for comfort on upper foot. I use the wide 2E shoe and it is one of the best for proper fit. Top marks."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit, quality shock absorption
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Unifying seamlessly advanced design technology and materials, the RYDON blends cutting-edge ergonomic features with advanced materials (Carbon, Aluminum, Magnesium, Silicium and Titanium) to create a lightweight, versatile, high performance sunglass.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comortable and sit well.
Posted10 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kieron
fromOslo
Country : Norway
Age : 35-44
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The best sunglasses I have ever used. They sit firmly and are perfect for riding and running. No draught in the eyes but don't get sweat running on the inside either. Really, they are ultra comfortable and leave you to concentrate on the race/training.
I have used Rudy before but these wear like their top model.
Comes with soft cover and hard case.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 High5 Energy Gel Sachets - Buy 1 Box Get 1 Box Free
High5 Energy Gel Sachets - Buy 1 Box Get 1 Box Free
Buy one box and get one box FREE. An ultra concentrated sports fuel for instant energy. Race proven in the World's toughest events; it delivers fast energy to endurance athletes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Easy on the stomach
Posted02 October 2013
Kieron
fromOslo
Country : Norway
Age : 35-44
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"No messing around, these are so easy to get down whether riding or running. Not difficult without water, and even easier with. Two or three an hour is more than enough and you can go all day on them even with a v. high output. Easy to carry tucked under the bottom of you bike shorts. (If taste is important then these wont disappoint at all, though taste isn't going through my mind when competing.)"
Pros: High Quality, good taste., easy on guts
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Kieron's Questions
 
Kieron has not submitted any questions.
 
Kieron's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
Form fitting Neoprene sock prevents injury to sole of foot when walking on rocky surfaces. They also insulate against the cold. Two sizes available.
 

Is there a Medium size available?

Following the last 2 Q&A's on this product, you've suggested a Small/Medium size. But no medium appears to exist. I'm a 9.5/10 size, so I would imagine a small would be too small and a large too big?
Does a Medium size exist and if so are you likely to stock them? Or can you be more clear as to what size range the Small and Large sizes accommodate.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
You'll need Large size. No problem.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Kieron
Oslo
 
Form fitting Neoprene sock prevents injury to sole of foot when walking on rocky surfaces. They also insulate against the cold. Two sizes available.
 

Big foot sizing

Hi, as a Men's size 13 foot i was wondering what kind of sizing i should be looking at or if there is a similar product what is suited better for me.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I have a size 11UK and use the large, but I have a wide foot. They are tight, but not prohibitively so. Just like any neoprene product.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Kieron
Oslo
 
Accept no imitations or limitations. There is only one Timex IRONMAN* Triathlon. Stylish enough for the weekend warrior, technical enough for the extreme athlete. Dont swim, bike, run, jump, climb, throw, or kick without one.
 

Open Water Swimming

I'm training for an open water event and want to know if this watch will tell me how far I have swam, etc when training in the sea.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
It certainly won't! You'll need a watch with a built in GPS for that.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Kieron
Oslo
 
Accept no imitations or limitations. There is only one Timex IRONMAN* Triathlon. Stylish enough for the weekend warrior, technical enough for the extreme athlete. Dont swim, bike, run, jump, climb, throw, or kick without one.
 

Laps

30 lap memory recall, but a 99 lap counter... So, does this mean if I swim say 30 laps, and then do my 31st, then press the lap button, would it reset to one or go to 31 and then 32 and so on?

Bit confused here!

My uses for the watch would be to time my swims and record the number of laps to make a later calculation.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Try using a Poolmate watch. It'll do all you require.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Kieron
Oslo
 
The Pool-Mate is the only fully automatic lap and stroke counter for swimmers. It will work with all major strokes, all abilities of swimmer and all sizes of pool over 15m.
 

discolouration

I really like the light blue watch but worried it will discolour with use and start to look grubby when swimming in open water. is this likely to happen?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Just so that you know, the watch will not be of any use in the open water, only pools greater than 15 meters in length. The strap etc is just like any other watch strap so I can't see it getting grubby in my opinion.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Kieron
Oslo
 
The Pool-Mate is the only fully automatic lap and stroke counter for swimmers. It will work with all major strokes, all abilities of swimmer and all sizes of pool over 15m.
 

If you are mixing strokes and training sessions,does the watch recognise this also if you rest on 200 for instance does that affect the data

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The watch will not recognise different strokes, but does recognise flip turns, or, the pause that one gives you, so as long as you aren't too worried about the efficiency etc when you change style, it will work. The watch gives an efficiency along with stroke count etc with the lap number. Any pause of a few seconds will count as a new lap.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Kieron
Oslo
 
These shifting switches simply fit into the ends of your tri-bars. For use with 11 speed Di2 systems only.
 

Do these plug into junction box or brake levers?

Do these plug into junction box or brake levers?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The brake leavers and the TT leavers all plug into a small junction box that attaches at the top of stem before the applicable wires disappear off to their place.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Kieron
Oslo
 
Accept no imitations or limitations. There is only one Timex IRONMAN* Triathlon. Stylish enough for the weekend warrior, technical enough for the extreme athlete. Dont swim, bike, run, jump, climb, throw, or kick without one.
 

Is there a lock button on this watch, so that once the timer has been started you cannot accidently stop it?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
No lock button unless you move the screen to a different function after starting the stopwatch. Having said that, I have only once stopped it accidentally in four years!
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Kieron
Oslo
 
This trainer tyre has been solely designed for use with Tacx turbo trainers. It is not designed to be used on the road. The tyre supplys better grip and last far longer than normal tyres.
 

does this require an inner tube or is it air tight?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes it's just like a normal clincher tire in that respect.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Kieron
Oslo
 
EnergySource Plus is a new generation sports drink for use during exercise. The carbohydrate formulation with added caffeine, magnesium and a high level of electrolytes helps sustain performance whilst enhancing the absorption of water.
 

Does this work well in a camelbak?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
As long as you mixed it before adding to the bladder, yes.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Kieron
Oslo