jaybird
Share jaybird's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
jaybird's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    21 August 2009
  • Last Review
    25 January 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    25 November 2009
  • Last Answer
    25 January 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
jaybird's Reviews
 
The dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses are one of our best-selling products - and it's not hard to see why. They offer 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection and have a Hydrophobic lens coating to help repel sweat and water.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
All you need
Posted25 January 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
jaybird
fromDublin
"If its road or MTB these glasses are perfect. Three different lenses to choose from. Perfect for all the seasons"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Alivio/Mavic XM317 Rear Mtb Wheel
Shimano Alivio/Mavic XM317 Rear Mtb Wheel
Fantastic value rear wheel for cross country use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great feel
Posted25 January 2011
jaybird
fromDublin
"These wheels feel fantastic. When I switched from my old, there was an unbelievable change in steering, speed and overall general feel of the bike."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Frog LED Twinpack
Frog LED Twinpack
Twinpack containing 1 x Frog front light and 1 x Frog rear light.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Legend
Posted25 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
jaybird
fromDublin
"These are one of the best ideas ever. I found them ideal for the bike. Very powerful light/size ratio. Waterproof, small and no eyesore on the bike. The only snag is remembering to turn them off :)"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Navy Pursuit Short - SS13
Navy Pursuit Short - SS13
Technical knitted fabric with great stretch and recoveryReflective tapeBonidex elasticated waist band with draw cordIdeal for team kitFibre content: 90% Polyamide, 10% ElastaneWeight: 141g
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great for a base layer.
Posted25 January 2011
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
jaybird
fromDublin
"I found that these shorts were fantastic as a base layer. I dont think they would be well suited to wear just on their own as the material is very light. Keeps you warm thats the main thing."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Cool weather padded waist tight suited to Autumn training rides. (dhb Vaeon - previously dhb PACE)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Not bad
Posted25 January 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
jaybird
fromDublin
"Great fit, not too sure about extreme temperatures in the minus but they do the job for what you pay!"
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Ronhill Classic Tracksters Running Tight
Ronhill Classic Tracksters Running Tight
Tough and lightweight the Ronhill Classic Tracksters Running Tight allows for great comfort and performance as the Exertech 100 fabric moves with you. Improved waistband design and internal fob pocket for small necessities.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great fit
Posted25 January 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
jaybird
fromDublin
"I found the running tracksters a perfect fit. Not too warm or too cold. Very comfortable"
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Turn your bike into more than a fair-weather friend with the help of a Mag trainer. The perfect solution to getting in a ride when it's too cold, wet or dark to go outside, the Mag sets up quickly and easily for on-the-spot spins.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does what it says it will do
Posted25 November 2009
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
jaybird
"I thought that the trainer did exactly what it was meant to do. I got it for when the cold rainy days get the better of you but I also did not want to spend too much as I enjoy getting out on the bike and to me its primary use is warm up work but as I mentioned earlier, when the weather sucks the motivation out of you its great."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Firefly Baggy Shorts
Firefly Baggy Shorts
Supplex nylon peach fabric, Mesh drop liner with CoolMax antibacterial pad , Integral Endura branded elastic with drawcord, Front side entry pockets, Contrast panel in crotch and upper rear, Zipped fly , Seamless inner leg
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great shorts
Posted21 August 2009
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
jaybird
"It helps when you research and that is what I did when before buying these. The only bad thing I can say is that if you cycle everyday, generally, you are bound to have large thighs and although I am a medium waste I found the inner tights were slightly tight on the upper thigh, though no major deal!!
Other than that, the padding is ideal for a long cruise and the quality up to standard,
Very comfortable.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Great Value, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The GatorSkin is the ultimate wire bead training & racing tyre where puncture protection is priority. Using the latest technology against flats the GatorSkin range uses an aramid breaker and Duraskin® sidewall ProTection.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very Good
Posted21 August 2009
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
jaybird
"I found this type of tyre perfect for what I wanted it for, good grip, strong rubber compound and above all else great at preventing punctures."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
jaybird's Questions
 
jaybird has not submitted any questions.
 
jaybird's Answers
 
 Frog LED Twinpack
Frog LED Twinpack
Twinpack containing 1 x Frog front light and 1 x Frog rear light.
 

can these lights fit on the forks-rather than handlebars or seat post?

I have mine fitted to the forks. My bikes a racer and I have had no problems with the fitting yet.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
jaybird
Dublin
 
 CycleOps Classic Mag Turbo Trainer
CycleOps Classic Mag Turbo Trainer
Best value magnetic trainer on the market.
 

Could you please advise how the resistance works on the trainer. Do you operate the gears as normal or is the resistance on the trainer ?

Best answer
I find that if you set the trainer at its middle setting, you can let the gears do the work as it is on the same principal as on the road.
The resistance setting lets you feel you are hitting an incline. Hard setting...you come right down on the gears, easier but the resistance will not let up.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
jaybird
Dublin