shane78
Top 250 Contributor
Share shane78's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
shane78's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    39
  • Helpfulness Votes
    22
  • First Review
    15 July 2009
  • Last Review
    15 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    05 October 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    05 October 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    12 October 2012
  • Last Question
    02 April 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    15
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    29 October 2011
  • Last Answer
    23 July 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
shane78's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
 Morvelo House ThermoActive Long Sleeve Jersey
Morvelo House ThermoActive Long Sleeve Jersey
Morvelo's House Long Sleeve Jersey features a panelled construction that ensures a great fit while the ThermoActive fabric keeps you warm. Great for use on it's own when cool and with a base layer or waterproof when it's colder or wetter.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Rapha quality but half the cost
Posted15 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
shane78
fromNorth Wales
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Morvelo are a fairly new brand that are based in Brighton, UK. I have some of their summer kit and rate it, so when I knew they were releasing Autumn/Spring and mild winter kit I had a look to see what designs I took to my liking.
This is one such design.
It is a made well garment that comes up exactly as it is sized on the size chart - all you have to do is measure yourself properly.
This top has a thermo lining, but remains quite lightweight. This is of importance to me as I get quite hot and still like to push sometimes when riding in the winter. I often have to slow down on climbs not just for my breath but because I have become a hot sweaty monster that is just too hot! This top allows a good rate of heat to escape to enable my body to maintain a reasonable temp.
It also looks good in the orange!
I wouldn't wear this in near zero conditions without a baselayer and decent gilet or jacket.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Jersey pocket essential
Posted14 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
shane78
fromNorth Wales
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is one of the jersey pocket or Saddle bag essentials.
I carry a spare tube in the hope I don't need it, but don't feel the need to pack two. This is a great back up. It takes up no room at all and given that if you get more than one puncture on a ride may well save your ride.
The only thing to add is ensure that you have a decent micro pump that can hit the dizzy heights of 120PSI or at least a decent amount without wearing yourself out getting to 60PSI. That or carry a few CO2 canisters and be well versed in how to use it.
These are very easy to use and are no hassle at all. May as well buy a couple while your at it so you have them!
"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Craft Winter Bike Cap
Craft Winter Bike Cap
A warm cycling cap with a fleecy brushed fabric inner for insulation and light wind resistance. The Winter Bike cap fits comfortably under a helmet, ideal for cold and windy conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A must for winter for fellow cap wearers
Posted10 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
shane78
fromNorth Wales
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If like me your cycling was revolutionised by the purchase of a cycling cap, meaning sweat formed when was absorded by the cotton cap, or the rain dripped off the peak of the cap, or even it kept the sun out of your eyes. You may have wondered what to do when the temperature drops near freezing, with Belgian type cross winds howling hail in your face buring your exposed ears.
Well there are a few options, this being one of them.
This is a well made winter cap, it can be worn underneath a helmet (as long as it is sized for adjustment and not tight). I have a 60cm head and can wear this and my giro helmet. Although I should point out that I have a gore skull cap and this wouldn't go underneath this cap and have the helmet fit comfortably.
I am more than happy with this purchase and fidn this both comfortable and warm, covering my ears (although with movement it can leave the bottom of my ear lobes exposed) and the rear of my head.
I think for some they may need a buff in addition to this for neck warmth but then this would be needed with a skull cap too.
The only downside for some is there is no way to adjust this as it stretches to fit so for some may be too big/small. As stated at 60cm this fits me fine.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Unadjustable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
High quality, windproof gloves for ambitious road riders. The WINDSTOPPER Softshell fabric construction provides compact and breathable, weather-proofing with a padded palm and silicone print for comfort and control on chilly winter training rides.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Usual Gore quality, good cold weather glove
Posted10 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
shane78
fromNorth Wales
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have used this glove a few times now, as a comparison I also have the DHB amberley II gloves as well.
Choosing winter clothing and layering systems is something very personal in that what works for one may not work for another.
Now I can run quite hot and when I get hot my body naturally sweats to try and cool it down.
I have used these gloves on a couple of rides recently, one was around 5C and the other started at 2C and rose to around 7C.
The more recent I found that I was working quite hard and had a number of winter gloves on, when pushing up hill at a reasonable pace I got hot causing me to sweat.
The gloves when I took them off to stop for a gel and a bite to eat were damp inside, even so the windstopper element meant that this did not have a cooling effect on my fingers and they remained nice and warm throughout the ride.
As a comparison to the DHB, these are padded slightly differently and although the DHB gloves are very good, these have a slight edge over them due to not being as thick at the finger end (feeling like you've got a mummified hand) with dexterity remaining for feel of gears and braking.
These are now my go to gloves for winter. I would be interested to see the difference between these and the goretex but that is almost double the price.
Overall a recommeneded pair of gloves for cold Spring and Autumn rides as well as winter.
Not really expensive but not so budget either. Mid range pricing but for high end quality.
Will have to see how they fair when it drops to around zero C.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Midzero Arm Warmers - 2012
Midzero Arm Warmers - 2012
Full stretch wicking midweight arm warmers with fleeced inner side. Ideal insulation for extending the season range of your summer cycling wardrobe.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Spring/Autumn arm warmers
Posted06 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
shane78
fromNorth Wales
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Arm warmers, knee warmers and leg warmers soon become part of the essential kit that an all year cyclist requires.
I have about five sets of arm warmers - some are for summer nights, some match other kit and some are water resistant.
These fall into the category of cooler to cold rides where there is a need to keep the arms warm, perhaps with a summer jersey and gilet, or a base layer.
They are lined with a roubaix type material that provides warmth.
These are well made and fit well, although this is something that can vary between one person and another.
They look good and the price they were sold at was excellent.
Like I said I have a number of base layers including dhb, gore, morvelo and hincapie and these are right up there with all of them.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The K-EDGE chain catcher is a precision component that enhances the overall function of your drive train while protecting your valuable frame.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
How much is your carbon frame worth?
Posted16 October 2013
shane78
fromNorth Wales
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Some will debate over this issue of whether or not you actually need a chain catcher if you have your drive train set up correctly.
Mine is set up correctly but in my mind its better to have this and protect the carbon frame of my bike than it is to not have it and have an issue if the chain drops.
It adds a miniscule amount to the overall weight of the bike and the fact it comes in so many colours means that it can actually compliment your bikes drive train.
I am more than happy to have this on my bike, I have another chain catcher (dog fang) on my winter bike as well. Its just easier that way!
I would recommend this to anyone with a carbon framed bike.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A light and packable road cycling jacket with WINDSTOPPER® Active Shell panels for complete windchill protection. With a slim fit and low bulk construction, The Contest 2.0 Jacket is essential for high paced rides in uncertain spring conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Want a jacket then just buy Gore
Posted05 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
shane78
fromNorth Wales
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I wanted something that was going to be lightweight yet breathable. I also wanted it to fit adequately.
I tired a xenon jacket in XL, this fitted just but was a bit of a struggle with the zip. I wanted something that I could put on or take off pretty much on the move, without that struggle. I would of gone for the xenon in the XXL but none were left in my size for when I needed it by. (The Xenon is more compact and lighter than this jacket, with a racing cut, this jacket is more than adequate though, but if its going to spend a lot of time in a jersey pocket I would go with the xenon.)
I am a believer of buying once rather than buying cheap and then ending up buyin gthe more expensive product anyway as the cheaper version didn't do the job you wanted it to.
Well this jacket hasn't been worn over time but has been warn in rain and wind. It kept me nice and dry as well as warm with the layers I had on underneath.
I would go with the gore sizing chart and if you are on the upper limits of one I would tend to go for the bigger size.
This top has velcro cuffs at the wrist to help keep water out, I found it breathable and the pocket at the back is ok to put things you may need like gels etc whilst cycling, I kept all other things in my jersey or gilet pocket.
I would recommend Gore jackets to anyone that was looking for a jacket apart from larger people as they just won't fit. If you have a 46 inch chest you will have to look elsewhere for a cycle jacket I am afraid. I think this is relevant to more than one manufacturer of cycling clothing too not just gore.
I own three gore items all of which are excellent.
A pair of their MTB shorts with removable pad gets a fair amount of wear.
These and a pair of Gore windstopper gloves which again are worth their money.
Would recommend to friends and have.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 High5 Energy Gel Sachets - Buy 1 Box Get 1 Box Free
High5 Energy Gel Sachets - Buy 1 Box Get 1 Box Free
Buy one box and get one box FREE. An ultra concentrated sports fuel for instant energy. Race proven in the World's toughest events; it delivers fast energy to endurance athletes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great offer and decent gels
Posted05 October 2013
shane78
fromNorth Wales
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As the mileage increase so does the need to keep both hydrated and fueled.
My mileage was increasing and its not always possible to fit in the required cafe stop dependent on time etc. The obvious answer was with gels and bars along with the drinks both whilst cycling and in recovery.
These gels are fine - they taste great and have a number of different flavours, I usually take 3 or 4 on a training ride, not that I will always use them but so they are there if needs be as they take up little room in my jersey pocket.
I always tend to use them when doing hills though!
At this price you would be crazy not to choose them!
"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, tasty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Team style knee warmers from Morvelo featuring a Roubaix fleece fabric for warmth and comfort. Lightweight and compact, these knee warmers can fit in your jersey pocket when not in use and have silicon grippers for a great hold and comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Revolutionary! Great team kit
Posted05 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
shane78
fromNorth Wales
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As per my review for the Morvelo arm warmers this are a well made product with a good fit.
Coupled with the compression bibshorts they make, these helped keep my legs quite fresh over a few days cyclign in France recently in weather of 12-14C with the occasional bit of drizzle.
Kept my knees nice and warm whilst also looking good with the rest of the Morvelo kit also worn.
Morvelo are also based in the UK so worthwhile supporting them.
Would get more of their kit as it is very good quality.
Good for Spring/Autumn riding.
I have size L/XL and have the XXL in their bibshorts but their sizing chart is pretty near spot on (for Jerseys and Bibshorts).
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pedros Chain Keeper
Pedros Chain Keeper
The Chain Keeper is inserted into the right rear dropout when the wheel is removed for cleaning, storing, or transporting bikes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good for transport too.
Posted05 October 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
shane78
fromNorth Wales
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Purchased this mainly for keeping the chain in place when using a bike bag/box.
Fits ok, would of probably preferred a complete skewer system for this.
Also good for keeping the chain off the frame when cleaning the bike or doing maintenance with the rear wheel off.
I usually take my chain off to clean it, but this works for applying lube afterwards.
"
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
shane78's Questions
 
 World Cup 2.0 Disc 2013
World Cup 2.0 Disc 2013
A classy cyclocross bike that features clean lines and simple tube shapes to ensure plenty of mud clearance and reliability season after season. The World Cup is Colnago’s solution for riders who enjoy the thrills and spills of cyclocross.
 

What mudguards would fit on this bike?

Would it fit traditional type road mudguards or would it have to be something like the crud catcher?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
shane78
North Wales
 
 Sempre 105
Sempre 105
A very nicely balanced road bike, the Bianchi Sempre 105 is comfortable, light, quick, well equipped and still manages to be elegantly good looking.
 

53 in stock?

Don't suppose you will be getting any 53's in stock or have found one in the warehouse?
If so please email me!!!
2 years ago
by
shane78
North Wales
 
shane78's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Most cycle orientated Garmin GPS's have a speed and cadence feature, you will need this Garmin GSC10 Speed/Cadence Sensor to make use of this.
 

GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor, is this compatible with the 810.

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes
1 year, 3 months ago
by
shane78
North Wales
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

What Size

Im 6ft 2 inch 36 inch waist 44 inch chest . L or XL
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I would opt for the XL. Whilst not your height I am shorter 5ft 8 with a measured (current) 38" waist and 43" chest and XL are a "fitted" fit. I wouldn't get anything under them such as merino wool tights, but can wear a wicking t-shirt/compression top with them.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
shane78
North Wales
 
 Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Most cycle orientated Garmin GPS's have a speed and cadence feature, you will need this Garmin GSC10 Speed/Cadence Sensor to make use of this.
 

Does this Cadence Sensor also include all parts (tie wraps, etc.) for fitting? Or does that need to be bought separately?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes, comes with cable ties, and rubber mounts as well as magnets.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
shane78
North Wales
 
 Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Most cycle orientated Garmin GPS's have a speed and cadence feature, you will need this Garmin GSC10 Speed/Cadence Sensor to make use of this.
 

Does this work with the Edge 200?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No. It will work with the 500 and 800.
It will also work and link with some other ANT+ devices.

I use it with an edge 500 (got these on both bikes) and I use this with a Suunto move stick on a turbo with trainer road.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
shane78
North Wales
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

Does this edge 500 Red give accurate outside temperature . In the same way that the 800 does..

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes, although it may take some time to adjust from going from an indoor environment to outside, so may skew your average temp over the period of the ride as it can take a good 10 minutes to adjust.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
shane78
North Wales
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

Cadence and speed sensors - both wireless and does speed work on rear wheel?

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The cadence and speed sensor is the same thing. It is a garmin gsc10 that is mounted on the non drive side. You place a magnet on a rear spoke and align it with the sensor and mount a magnet on the left crank arm to align with the sensor.
So yes, it's wireless and speed is on the rear wheel
1 year, 10 months ago
by
shane78
North Wales
 
 Sempre 105
Sempre 105
A very nicely balanced road bike, the Bianchi Sempre 105 is comfortable, light, quick, well equipped and still manages to be elegantly good looking.
 

Hi do u take the bike to work vouchers

I am 5"7 28" inside leg not sure on what size is best as i am new to road bikes and looking at about £1000 Sempre 105 has caught my eye any advise would be great
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A 50 or 53 dependent on how an aggressive racing fit you want.
I am an inch taller and inch and half leg +, I would have a 53.
2 years ago
by
shane78
North Wales
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 

What is exact lenght of sleeves on a large?

I have tried a medium and the fit was too tight on the chest and short for my torso. However sleeves were of right size.
Could anyone measure up the sleeves on a large? e.g. on the medium I have measured
57 cms (sleeve end to underarm where the seam/stiches are)
80 cms (sleeve end to lower collar seam)
Thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Just had a quick measure of my large and these are the sizes;
61-62ish cms (sleeve end to underarm where the seam/stiches are)
83-4ish cms (sleeve end to lower collar seam)
Thanks
2 years ago
by
shane78
North Wales
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

Handlebar Mount

One of the biggest problems I'm having with computers is the handlebar mount as I have carbon fibre bars that are profiled for your grip and nothing seems to fit them. Is the 500 bar mount for round section bars or will it fit profiled bars?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
It should fit most bars as the mount sits on top of e bars and has rubber bands to keep it in place.
You could just put it on the stem as is done by a lot of users, or buy a k edge or Quarq garmin mount.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
shane78
North Wales
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

The product description mentions the product contains a heart rate monitor. Does it include the strap for the monitor?

The product description mentions the product contains a heart rate monitor. Does it include the strap for the monitor?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes, the strap is attached to the heart rate monitor.
It is adjustable too and is placed around the chest.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
shane78
North Wales