DavieJT
Top 250 Contributor
Share DavieJT's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
DavieJT's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    60
  • Helpfulness Votes
    53
  • First Review
    27 July 2009
  • Last Review
    10 November 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review Comment
    07 November 2015
  • Last Review Comment
    21 November 2017
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    19 August 2010
  • Last Answer
    26 May 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
DavieJT's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
The Northwave Flash Arctic GTX Winter Boots have been designed especially for road cyclists who don't want to stop for winter. The Gore-Tex® waterproof and windproof Koala membrane keeps your feet warm and dry.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant Winter boots
Posted10 November 2017
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Been using these in various conditions now , both cold and wet . My feet have stayed both warm and dry . Yes in torrential downpours water will get passed the snug collar and enter your boot but no boots will ever be totally waterproof .
I have been wearing a pair of thick merino wool socks so far and the old toes have been toasty .
The sizing on the boots is slightly small so I would size up . I'm normally a UK 9 (43) but ordered a 10 after reading about the sizing . There's still room for another pair of socks if needed which some people like to wear in the winter .
They haven't been tested in really Baltic conditions we get up north ie around 2 deg , wet and with a subzero windchill but I reckon they will be fine .
Read some comments on getting them on and off , what's the problem there easy to get on and off . The collar is meant to be snug , just take your time and there fine .
The High viz colour is perfect for riding in the winter .
So far I can't fault them at all ."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Quickly removes the toughest of grime from all drivetrain areas including chain, front and rear mechs as well as the cassette.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant Degreaser , spotless every time .
Posted22 October 2017
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Tried several brands of Degreaser and have to say this is the best one I've used to date . I use the pro mechanic tip with a cut in half water bottle and brush to coat the bike chain and cassette in degreaser . The dirt / lube etc comes off in no time using this after you leave it for a few minutes . Shifts the dirt no matter what is on the chain or cassette ."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Schwalbe Pro One tubeless tyre is outstanding. Supreme grip & rolling performance are guaranteed as well as durability & puncture protection. A tyre that is fast & light which also provides a thrilling ride with superb rider comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
So far there brilliant Tubeless tyres
Posted14 March 2017
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Done 500 miles so far on these tyres , fitted to a new set of Hunt tubeless wheels . So far the Schwalbes have been great . I'm running a set of 25mm ones , there comfy , noticeably faster than standard clinchers (I normally use Conti GP4000S II and these are better speed wise) . After 500 miles I've had no punctures when riders with me have on clinchers , mostly pinch flats which you can't get with these !.
I've just checked both front and rear tyres and there is no marks , tears , nothing in both tyres and that's on Northumberland's poor roads .
Overall i'm really impressed with Tubeless tyres & Wheels . So much so I've ordered another set of Wheels with the same tyres on .
Cons - Well i'm aware the Sealant will eventually dry out and need to be replaced prob after about 6 months . However given the miles i'm doing the tyres will need to be replaced as well so who cares ! .
Based on the last 500 miles I reckon Tubeless is the future for cyclists"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, High Quality, Versatile
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
For any ASSOS fan, the name Bonka is synonymous with the ultimate performance in the coldest winter months. The new LL.bonkaTights continue this tradition, making them the new technological leader for harsh winter riding conditions
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant Winter bibtights
Posted09 February 2017
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Tested these Bibs in 2 deg temperatures, windchill of -5 deg . The Roads were damp and it rained on/off for the whole ride . The Bonka's kept my legs warm all during the ride . There by far the warmest bibs I now have , I've had several other Brands and still have some older Assos ones (old Mille version -sadly well worn now after stirling service) .
You can see where all the R&D budget goes with these Bibs ,the quality is superb . There super comfy and fit just right .
I'm 5ft7 and 12stone so medium fit me perfectly , Assos and Rapha seem to be the only makes I've tried that aren't too long in the leg for my stumpy legs .
Yes there mega expensive but they will last years and do there job perfectly . Go treat yourself ,"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
LifeLine Citrus Degreaser 1000ml is perfect for degreasing drivetrain components in preparation for the application of fresh lubricant.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good value effective degreaser .
Posted05 November 2016
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Been using for a while now and after applying with a brush ,this has no problems at all getting all the muck/oil/grime you name it off your chain and especially the cassette . I just dip a brush in the bottle and then run the chain through the brush . Leave for a few minutes then rinse . Comes up spotless . The Cassette is exactly the same .
Another good product from Lifeline ."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, powerful cleaner
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Top level racing clincher with exceptional winter and wet condition performance with a Duraskin® cut-resistant layer from bead to bead and 2 extra Vectran Breakers help increase puncture protection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Winter version of GP4000S II - Excellent tyres !
Posted05 November 2016
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Been using a set of 23mm tyres , done about 500 miles in pretty grim weather . Lots of surface water, mud ,grit etc now on the country roads around Morpeth where we ride around . To date these tyres have been excellent , they were easy to fit , roll as well as there Summer cousin - the GP4000S II and are proving resistant to cuts and punctures . They appear to have the same excellent grip that Conti tyres do so well .
Overall i'm impressed and will continue to use them .
"
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Lightweight, easy to fit and now compatible with up to 38c tyres, the Crud RoadRacer Mk3 Mudguard Set is the perfect way to keep you and your bike clean when the weather turns bad.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good but could be perfect with a minor addition !
Posted24 October 2016
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Used various makes of Mudguards over the years and used the old MK2 version of these . Have to say this Mk3 version are way way better than the old ones . They were much easier to fit and have more space for wider tyres thou i'm still using 23 tyres . They also appear to be constructed of a stronger plastic as the old versions were very weak .
So far they have done there job well over the last few weeks of poor weather we've had in the North East of England (as per the norm ! ) , They are keeping me and the bike nice and clean and dry .
My only complaint which is a minor one is the rear mudguard could be a few inches longer to stop spray hitting the rider behind you . I'm fine but my mates are not happy . If that was sorted i'd give this a 5 out of 5"
Pros: Adjustable, Durable, Good Fit, Lightweight
Cons: slightly too short
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Performance Cassette Remover
LifeLine Performance Cassette Remover
A workshop quality wrench for removing/installing Shimano and SRAM cassettes. With a guide pin for precise alignment and a comfortable moulded handle, the LifeLine Professional Cassette Remover is essential for regular wheel and drivetrain maintenance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Well Made ,easy to use
Posted12 October 2016
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Well made and easy to use , so easy to take a cassette off using this and a chain whip ."
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Kask Vertigo 2.0 Road Helmet
Kask Vertigo 2.0 Road Helmet
The latest update of the popular Vertigo is the ultimate combination of high technology, innovation, aerodynamics and beautifully light at only 270 grams. 24 air intakes and a compact shape ensure a cool and comfortable ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant comfy Helmet that prob saved my life.
Posted23 July 2016
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Had one of these helmets for a while now and it had been great . I say had as I had a high speed crash yesterday going downhill at 45mph in the PENNINES , my front tyre blew and I crashed . My KASK took the main impact which knocked me unconscious , the Doctors say without my helmet I would have probably been killed with the force of the impact.
Top Marks KASK on building a helmet that took such a massive impact and saved me.
UP to the crash my Vertigo had been super comfy , easy to clean , provided good ventilation and just looked the part . I choose TEAM sky colours as I like the colour scheme which went with my bike .
"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
 
NEW and improved flavour range! These tasty, fruity carbohydrate gels give an instant energy boost whilst on the move. With all NEW packaging that's easy to use and available in a choice of SEVEN great tasting flavours to suit all palates!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lovely Taste and excellent value .
Posted02 April 2016
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Thought I'd try Wiggles own brand Energy gels in the strawberry flavour . They were easy to open , tasted great and did what they needed to do . Excellent value as well compared to other brands . I've used most other brands out there and I rate Torq as the best for taste , these were as good .
I will be using these gels again . Well done Wiggle"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
DavieJT's Questions
 
DavieJT has not submitted any questions.
 
DavieJT's Answers
 
 Shimano Dura Ace 9000 Brake Caliper
Shimano Dura Ace 9000 Brake Caliper
Long, fast descents demand confidence. Dura-Ace brakes deliver, with a new symmetrical dual pivot design and twin bearings reducing pivot friction and improving efficiency and controllability.
 

Do the Shimano Dura Ace 9000 Brake Calipers come with pads?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes they do . Pretty good as well .
2 years, 6 months ago
by
DavieJT
England, UK
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
The Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 speed chain is designed to run flawlessly with the Shimano's 11 speed Ultegra groupset. With outer plates design to reduce the chance of chain suck and inner plates developed to providing smoother shifting under load.
 

Compatibility

Is this chain long enough to use it with Ultegra 6800 long derailleur GS version and 11-32 cassette?
Thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes , no problem . I'm using the same 11-32 long cage mech .
3 years, 2 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
The Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 speed chain is designed to run flawlessly with the Shimano's 11 speed Ultegra groupset. With outer plates design to reduce the chance of chain suck and inner plates developed to providing smoother shifting under load.
 

will this work with the new 11 speed 105 (5800)?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes should work no problem .
3 years, 2 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
The Ultegra 6800 11-Speed Cassette from Shimano enables you to use wider gear ratios. The lightweight HG-EV cassette has rigid alloy sprocket carrier for reduced weight and better shifting performance, even under demanding gear changes.
 

Would the 11-32 work on a 2014 ultegra Di2??

I am assuming I will have to change my rear derailleur to a long arm to fit a 32?? If so is there a 30 available??
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
11-32 works on a 10speed DI2 , it will rub slightly when in 32 cog but you can adjust the b screw on the rear mech to max and it will move it off the jockey wheel .

A 12-30 cassette 105 or tiagra will work no probs .

I've just upgraded to 11 speed DI2 , bought new long cage mech , 11-32 cassette and chain . It is great .
3 years, 3 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

How to get bike oil out of white shorts?

I got oil on the shorts and washing them with the assos detergent has not removed it. What's the best way to get it out
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Try Vanish Stain Remover and Swarfega , rub in leave for a while and then wash . Repeat it if oil still there . Had the same problem and it worked

Good luck
5 years, 2 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 BC Duffel Bag Small
BC Duffel Bag Small
Volume: S: 42 litres, Avg weight: S: 1250 g, Dimensions: S: 51 cm x 31 cm x 31 cm, Fabric: Phthalate-free TPE fabric laminate
 

Is this the size i need for a porter to carry on a hiking trip or could i have the next size up?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
would prob get the next size up , small is good for amount of gear you take to gym nothing more . depends on how much gear but for hiking would def go bigger !
7 years, 3 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East