DavieJT
Top 500 Contributor
Share DavieJT's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
DavieJT's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    46
  • Helpfulness Votes
    24
  • First Review
    27 July 2009
  • Last Review
    26 May 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    19 August 2010
  • Last Answer
    26 May 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
DavieJT's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
Long, fast descents demand confidence. Dura-Ace brakes deliver, with a new symmetrical dual pivot design and twin bearings reducing pivot friction and improving efficiency and controllability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Brakes
Posted26 May 2015
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Recently Upgraded from 6700 Ultegra brakes to 9000 Dura Ace brakes and wow what a difference . Stopping power is improved and the feel / control of the brakes is improved . Tried them in the wet and there is a big improvement then as well . Currently using the brakes with Mavic SLE wheels with the Exalith pads and this just works even better . Even the dura ace brake cables seem far better quality , Yes as usual with Dura Ace its pricey but you can see the top build quality and bling factor ."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
CNP Gel is an advanced energy gel providing 24g of carbohydrates per sachet from maltodextrin and fructose. Each Gel also provides added B Vitamins to enhance energy metabolism and added sodium, magnesium and potassium electrolytes to boost hydration.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job well but just not to my Fussy Taste
Posted06 April 2015
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"I've tired numerous brands of Gels over the years and thought I would try these given as Team Sky use them . My Verdict on the Rhubarb Crumble flavour
Easy to open
Easy to swallow , don't require water to wash down unlike some other brands .
Gives you much needed Carbs and vitamins quickly
I would have given it a higher score but the Rhubarb flavour I tried wasn't to my personal taste , it really tasted like Rhubarb crumble thou ! . I prefer a more sweeter taste to my gels . So please don't be put off as this is just me being fussy and i'm sure most other riders will love it .
Overall good ."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, fast acting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Accurately measure the amount of wear on your chain. The LifeLine chain wear tool helps you determine how much your chain has stretched, allowing you to replace a worn chain before it causes damage to the cassette and chainrings.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple but effective .
Posted07 March 2015
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Easy to use and well made , nothing much else to say . ."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Flash Pro, featuring Swisstop's Yellow King compound, offers the best braking performance in all conditions and designed solely for carbon wheels. Excellent stopping power wet and dry with superior modulation and low pad wear rates.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Improved braking power but at a cost ! .
Posted02 December 2014
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Thought I'd try these pads after reading that Swissstop are about the best you can get . I'm a bit of of a decent demon so need to stop in a hurry and these pads have helped when using my full carbon wheels BUT !
1. As several other riders have said YES they do mark quite badly your nice carbon wheels (giving them a good clean gets it off )
2. They wear down very fast !!! .
For the price I can't really recommend these given the two flaws I and numerous others have pointed out . Shame really , think I will try the latest Swissstop pads thou and see if they have redeemed themselves ."
Pros: improved stopping power on carbon wheels
Cons: Expensive, Wears Out Easily, stains carbon rims
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Water Soluble De-Greaser quickly and safely eliminates built-up oil, grease and grime on metal, plastic, rubber and seals. The biodegradable formula means that after use it can be quickly rinsed away with water to leave your greasy bike parts clean.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does exactly what it says ! .
Posted23 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Used this loads recently on my winter bike after clocking hundreds of miles up on the Farm roads in Northumberland . The bike and especially the chain gets covered in thick grime which is a pain to get off . Spray this on and leave for 5 minutes , rinse off and wipe with a old cloth/towel and your chain and everything you spray it on is clean . Its made cleaning the bike a lot easier .
Excellent product . Well Done MucOff ."
Pros: Great Value, cleaning power
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Morgan Blue Chain Keeper
Morgan Blue Chain Keeper
This device clamps into the rear stay (drive side) and keeps the chain in place making it easy and less messy for you when you are transporting your bike to and from the car or if hanging on the wall in the shed/home.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
What a simple but great piece of kit
Posted22 October 2014
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"You take your Rear wheel off and the chain flaps all over the place or sometimes comes off ? , Get one of these and those problems are gone . Simple to use and holds the chain perfectly tight . Its perfect for storing the bike without the wheels on or transporting your bike in the car (if like me you have to take at least one or both wheels off ! ) . Can't imagine not using a chain keeper .
Simple , well built and cheap .
Get one ."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
The Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 speed chain is designed to run flawlessly with the Shimano's 11 speed Ultegra groupset. With outer plates design to reduce the chance of chain suck and inner plates developed to providing smoother shifting under load.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Usual Ultegra Quality !
Posted17 September 2014
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"As per usual the newest Ultegra chain is top class and won't let you down . Smooth faultless changing , especially with DI2 . Why pay the extra for Dura ace unless you REALLY have to use Dura ace . Can't fault it ."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Ultegra 6800 11 speed cassette is the new offering from Shimano enabling you to use wider ratios. The lightweight HG-EV cassette has rigid alloy sprocket carrier for reduced weight and better shifting performance, even under demanding gear changes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Typical Ultegra quality
Posted19 August 2014
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Having used and still using both Dura ace and Ultegra cassettes I can say there is very little in them . The Dura ace is lighter (not by much) and looks very bling especially the titanium cogs but unless your not bothered about the cost (which is huge for Dura ace ) I would stick with the Ultegra . It works just as well , will give you near on the same miles and is a fraction of the cost .
For a rider wanting value and most of all quality you really can't go wrong with Ultegra .
Oh forgot to mention , Ultegra does the magical 11-32 cassette for getting you up the dreaded 20+ % climbs !"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
With a unique four-arm spider and Hollowtech II construction putting strength just where its needed, the FC-9000 chainset sets new standards for stiffness and low weight.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top Spec Top performance .
Posted09 August 2014
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Upgraded from a 6700 Ultegra chainset to 9000 Dura ace and use it with my DI2 groupset (upgraded that to 11 speed as well ) , you can tell where the money has gone , its lighter and much stiffer .
I went for the middle ground 52/36 tooth chainset and also upgraded my cassette . I've now got a 11-32 , so I have the speed on the flats 52/11 and can spin on the really steep 20%+ climbs I encounter up North .
Really impressed so far , it looks soooo nice I don't ever want to get it dirty ."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
 
The Grand Prix 4000S has had a facelift. The 4000S II gets a Vectran breaker for unsurpassed puncture protection and Continentals advanced BlackChili compound for lower rolling resistance and increased grip.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top Quality Tyres
Posted14 May 2014
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Tested these tyres today on 92 mile bike ride on various road surfaces , Climbs and descents . I already have a set of the previous GP4000S tyres but in 23mm size . These new versions I thought i'd try 25mm to see if there was any difference .
The answer is YES ! , the bigger tyres have improved the ride quality especially on poor roads . The grip also seems even better than previous versions .
Can't comment on there resistance to Punctures or wear yet but the old ones were very good so I can only assume these will be even better .
A worthy improvement on a already Good Tyre ."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
 
DavieJT's Questions
 
DavieJT has not submitted any questions.
 
DavieJT's Answers
 
Long, fast descents demand confidence. Dura-Ace brakes deliver, with a new symmetrical dual pivot design and twin bearings reducing pivot friction and improving efficiency and controllability.
 

Do the Shimano Dura Ace 9000 Brake Calipers come with pads?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes they do . Pretty good as well .
2 days ago
by
DavieJT
England, UK
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
The Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 speed chain is designed to run flawlessly with the Shimano's 11 speed Ultegra groupset. With outer plates design to reduce the chance of chain suck and inner plates developed to providing smoother shifting under load.
 

Compatibility

Is this chain long enough to use it with Ultegra 6800 long derailleur GS version and 11-32 cassette?
Thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes , no problem . I'm using the same 11-32 long cage mech .
8 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
The Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 speed chain is designed to run flawlessly with the Shimano's 11 speed Ultegra groupset. With outer plates design to reduce the chance of chain suck and inner plates developed to providing smoother shifting under load.
 

will this work with the new 11 speed 105 (5800)?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes should work no problem .
8 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
The Ultegra 6800 11 speed cassette is the new offering from Shimano enabling you to use wider ratios. The lightweight HG-EV cassette has rigid alloy sprocket carrier for reduced weight and better shifting performance, even under demanding gear changes.
 

Would the 11-32 work on a 2014 ultegra Di2??

I am assuming I will have to change my rear derailleur to a long arm to fit a 32?? If so is there a 30 available??
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
11-32 works on a 10speed DI2 , it will rub slightly when in 32 cog but you can adjust the b screw on the rear mech to max and it will move it off the jockey wheel .

A 12-30 cassette 105 or tiagra will work no probs .

I've just upgraded to 11 speed DI2 , bought new long cage mech , 11-32 cassette and chain . It is great .
9 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

How to get bike oil out of white shorts?

I got oil on the shorts and washing them with the assos detergent has not removed it. What's the best way to get it out
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Try Vanish Stain Remover and Swarfega , rub in leave for a while and then wash . Repeat it if oil still there . Had the same problem and it worked

Good luck
2 years, 7 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 BC Duffel Bag Small
BC Duffel Bag Small
Volume: S: 42 litres, Avg weight: S: 1250 g, Dimensions: S: 51 cm x 31 cm x 31 cm, Fabric: Phthalate-free TPE fabric laminate
 

Is this the size i need for a porter to carry on a hiking trip or could i have the next size up?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
would prob get the next size up , small is good for amount of gear you take to gym nothing more . depends on how much gear but for hiking would def go bigger !
4 years, 9 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East