DavieJT
Top 250 Contributor
Share DavieJT's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
DavieJT's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    56
  • Helpfulness Votes
    36
  • First Review
    27 July 2009
  • Last Review
    05 November 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    07 November 2015
  • Last Review Comment
    27 September 2016
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    19 August 2010
  • Last Answer
    26 May 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
DavieJT's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
 LifeLine Citrus Degreaser 1000ml
LifeLine Citrus Degreaser 1000ml
LifeLine Citrus Degreaser 1000ml is perfect for degreasing drivetrain components in preparation for the application of fresh lubricant.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good value effective degreaser .
Posted05 November 2016
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Been using for a while now and after applying with a brush ,this has no problems at all getting all the muck/oil/grime you name it off your chain and especially the cassette . I just dip a brush in the bottle and then run the chain through the brush . Leave for a few minutes then rinse . Comes up spotless . The Cassette is exactly the same .
Another good product from Lifeline ."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, powerful cleaner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Winter version of GP4000S II - Excellent tyres !
Posted05 November 2016
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Been using a set of 23mm tyres , done about 500 miles in pretty grim weather . Lots of surface water, mud ,grit etc now on the country roads around Morpeth where we ride around . To date these tyres have been excellent , they were easy to fit , roll as well as there Summer cousin - the GP4000S II and are proving resistant to cuts and punctures . They appear to have the same excellent grip that Conti tyres do so well .
Overall i'm impressed and will continue to use them .
"
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good but could be perfect with a minor addition !
Posted24 October 2016
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Used various makes of Mudguards over the years and used the old MK2 version of these . Have to say this Mk3 version are way way better than the old ones . They were much easier to fit and have more space for wider tyres thou i'm still using 23 tyres . They also appear to be constructed of a stronger plastic as the old versions were very weak .
So far they have done there job well over the last few weeks of poor weather we've had in the North East of England (as per the norm ! ) , They are keeping me and the bike nice and clean and dry .
My only complaint which is a minor one is the rear mudguard could be a few inches longer to stop spray hitting the rider behind you . I'm fine but my mates are not happy . If that was sorted i'd give this a 5 out of 5"
Pros: Adjustable, Durable, Good Fit, Lightweight
Cons: slightly too short
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Well Made ,easy to use
Posted12 October 2016
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Well made and easy to use , so easy to take a cassette off using this and a chain whip ."
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant comfy Helmet that prob saved my life.
Posted23 July 2016
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Had one of these helmets for a while now and it had been great . I say had as I had a high speed crash yesterday going downhill at 45mph in the PENNINES , my front tyre blew and I crashed . My KASK took the main impact which knocked me unconscious , the Doctors say without my helmet I would have probably been killed with the force of the impact.
Top Marks KASK on building a helmet that took such a massive impact and saved me.
UP to the crash my Vertigo had been super comfy , easy to clean , provided good ventilation and just looked the part . I choose TEAM sky colours as I like the colour scheme which went with my bike .
"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
 
NEW and improved flavour range! These tasty, fruity carbohydrate gels give an instant energy boost whilst on the move. With all NEW packaging that's easy to use and available in a choice of SEVEN great tasting flavours to suit all palates!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lovely Taste and excellent value .
Posted02 April 2016
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Thought I'd try Wiggles own brand Energy gels in the strawberry flavour . They were easy to open , tasted great and did what they needed to do . Excellent value as well compared to other brands . I've used most other brands out there and I rate Torq as the best for taste , these were as good .
I will be using these gels again . Well done Wiggle"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cool weather Tights but Not Full on Winter ones .
Posted07 March 2016
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Used these Ale Urano Tights as few times now in various types of Weather this winter . The Bibs are well made and comfy , the pad is pretty good given these are not Ale's top of the range Bibs . Sadly I have stumpy legs and the leg length on the mediums is way too long . I put up with it as the excess material was hidden by my Overshoes . This seems to be a trait of Italian made Bibs , I have the same problem with Castelli .
In cold windy conditions the bibs did a good job of keeping my legs warm but the lack of extra protection provided when you pay a lot more shows when the Heavy rain and snow hits . My knees were really cold following a heavy downpour when the temp was 2 deg , windchill of -5 and ached for sometime afterwards .
For full on winter conditions these would need thicker material on the legs and especially round the knee section .
I still like these Tights but for Full on winter conditions I now use my other bibs which sadly cost 3 times as much ! .
Keep these for cold dry days , good but could be better .
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: Not Enough Features, Poor Fit
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Tyre
Posted24 November 2015
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"I've only done a few hundred miles on these tyres so far as the good bike has been put to bed for the winter ! . Thou so far they have been excellent . They roll smoothly and handle the poor road surfaces well . They were very easy to get on the rim and appear very resistant to debris on the road . No nicks or wear found after about 400 miles .
Tried the ZX tyre a few years back and they were good bar having very weak sidewalls . These however seem much better quality .
I would highly recommend these tyres .
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Fulcrum Racing 3 Wheelset Tyres & Tubes Bundle
Fulcrum Racing 3 Wheelset Tyres & Tubes Bundle
A great deal from Wiggle. With this bundle you not only get the lightweight clincher wheelset (Fulcrum Racing 3's), but also a pair of Continental UltraSport tyres and inner tubes. Bundle only available for Shimano/SRAM 10/11 speed systems.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Wheels
Posted12 September 2015
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Had a set of Fulcrum 3's now for a few years and I've done several thousand miles on them in all weathers . There stiff , well made and roll well on the quality bearings fitted in the hubs , so well infact I would say they spin much smoother than my Carbon wheels costing twice as much !.. Only recently have I had to repair the rear hub but given the punishment its had I can't complain . The rims are showing signs of wear but as stated given the miles and two harsh winters its to be expected .
Not once have the wheels flexed or any spokes snapped which says a lot for the build quality .
As a upgrade set of wheels they really are great
Rider - 75kg 5ft7 ."
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Strips the Lube/gunk from your Drivetrain easily .
Posted24 July 2015
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Does what it says and well , spray onto the chain , chainrings and cassette . Leave for a few minutes and wash off . Gets rid of the tough oil and muck easily .
I've tried using non-degreaser to get the parts clean but to really be sure its so much easier using Degreaser ."
Pros: High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
DavieJT's Questions
 
DavieJT has not submitted any questions.
 
DavieJT's Answers
 
 

Do the Shimano Dura Ace 9000 Brake Calipers come with pads?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes they do . Pretty good as well .
1 year, 6 months ago
by
DavieJT
England, UK
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
The Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 speed chain is designed to run flawlessly with the Shimano's 11 speed Ultegra groupset. With outer plates design to reduce the chance of chain suck and inner plates developed to providing smoother shifting under load.
 

Compatibility

Is this chain long enough to use it with Ultegra 6800 long derailleur GS version and 11-32 cassette?
Thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes , no problem . I'm using the same 11-32 long cage mech .
2 years, 2 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
The Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 speed chain is designed to run flawlessly with the Shimano's 11 speed Ultegra groupset. With outer plates design to reduce the chance of chain suck and inner plates developed to providing smoother shifting under load.
 

will this work with the new 11 speed 105 (5800)?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes should work no problem .
2 years, 2 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 

Would the 11-32 work on a 2014 ultegra Di2??

I am assuming I will have to change my rear derailleur to a long arm to fit a 32?? If so is there a 30 available??
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
11-32 works on a 10speed DI2 , it will rub slightly when in 32 cog but you can adjust the b screw on the rear mech to max and it will move it off the jockey wheel .

A 12-30 cassette 105 or tiagra will work no probs .

I've just upgraded to 11 speed DI2 , bought new long cage mech , 11-32 cassette and chain . It is great .
2 years, 3 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

How to get bike oil out of white shorts?

I got oil on the shorts and washing them with the assos detergent has not removed it. What's the best way to get it out
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Try Vanish Stain Remover and Swarfega , rub in leave for a while and then wash . Repeat it if oil still there . Had the same problem and it worked

Good luck
4 years, 1 month ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 BC Duffel Bag Small
BC Duffel Bag Small
Volume: S: 42 litres, Avg weight: S: 1250 g, Dimensions: S: 51 cm x 31 cm x 31 cm, Fabric: Phthalate-free TPE fabric laminate
 

Is this the size i need for a porter to carry on a hiking trip or could i have the next size up?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
would prob get the next size up , small is good for amount of gear you take to gym nothing more . depends on how much gear but for hiking would def go bigger !
6 years, 3 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East