DavieJT
Top 500 Contributor
Share DavieJT's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
DavieJT's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    39
  • Helpfulness Votes
    22
  • First Review
    27 July 2009
  • Last Review
    19 August 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    19 August 2010
  • Last Answer
    19 August 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
DavieJT's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
The Ultegra 6800 11 speed cassette is the new offering from Shimano enabling you to use wider ratios. The lightweight HG-EV cassette has rigid alloy sprocket carrier for reduced weight and better shifting performance, even under demanding gear changes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Typical Ultegra quality
Posted19 August 2014
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Having used and still using both Dura ace and Ultegra cassettes I can say there is very little in them . The Dura ace is lighter (not by much) and looks very bling especially the titanium cogs but unless your not bothered about the cost (which is huge for Dura ace ) I would stick with the Ultegra . It works just as well , will give you near on the same miles and is a fraction of the cost .
For a rider wanting value and most of all quality you really can't go wrong with Ultegra .
Oh forgot to mention , Ultegra does the magical 11-32 cassette for getting you up the dreaded 20+ % climbs !"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
With a unique four-arm spider and Hollowtech II construction putting strength just where its needed, the FC-9000 chainset sets new standards for stiffness and low weight.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top Spec Top performance .
Posted09 August 2014
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Upgraded from a 6700 Ultegra chainset to 9000 Dura ace and use it with my DI2 groupset (upgraded that to 11 speed as well ) , you can tell where the money has gone , its lighter and much stiffer .
I went for the middle ground 52/36 tooth chainset and also upgraded my cassette . I've now got a 11-32 , so I have the speed on the flats 52/11 and can spin on the really steep 20%+ climbs I encounter up North .
Really impressed so far , it looks soooo nice I don't ever want to get it dirty ."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Grand Prix 4000S has had a facelift. The 4000S II gets a Vectran breaker for unsurpassed puncture protection and Continentals advanced BlackChili compound for lower rolling resistance and increased grip.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top Quality Tyres
Posted14 May 2014
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Tested these tyres today on 92 mile bike ride on various road surfaces , Climbs and descents . I already have a set of the previous GP4000S tyres but in 23mm size . These new versions I thought i'd try 25mm to see if there was any difference .
The answer is YES ! , the bigger tyres have improved the ride quality especially on poor roads . The grip also seems even better than previous versions .
Can't comment on there resistance to Punctures or wear yet but the old ones were very good so I can only assume these will be even better .
A worthy improvement on a already Good Tyre ."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
 
The iJ.intermediate_S7 represents a new concept in cycle apparel, it combines high stretch summer weight back and side panels with an advanced stratagonUltra windproof front panel for insulation, protection and thermo-regulation in changing conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Another Excellent Assos Jersey .
Posted26 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Found this to be a truly excellent jersey , Its fit seems to be perfect for me (large) , the windproof panels in the front work well and even in cold weather all i have worn is a wicking baselayer underneath . Usual quality Assos design and styling .
Expensive but as usual with Assos you can see where the R&D has gone and the top class materials used ."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Tailored with extreme care to give an amazing race fit, the Assos T.équipe_S7 Bib Shorts are snug and feature a super-anatomic insert. The supremely comfortable fit make these a great choice for non-stop use and races where details make a difference
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Another rung up the Quality ladder .
Posted05 February 2014
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Only used these shorts once so far just to try them out as the weather is awful at the moment (wore them under leggings) ., There RACE fit so very snug but comfy . I'm a few pounds over weight from Xmas (still yes I know ! # so my little kite was showing but is finally starting to go ! . The quality of the construction and material is top class , the pad is excellent and I felt no discomfort after 50miles .
I have both Uno and Mille shorts and would say although the pad is thinner than Mille its as comfy so the next two higher level shorts Cento and campo should be amazing .
As with all Assos kit make sure you get the right size , don't settle for too small or too big and think it will be ok . They won't fit and won't do there job properly . Try before you buy or send them back and get the right size ! .
Its still early days but so far i'm impressed and happy . I've had thousands of miles out of the other Assos shorts and i'm sure these will give me the same service if not better .
Yes there expensive #well Santa got mine !) but your behind will thank you for it .
Treat yourself .
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Vittoria Open Corsa Evo CX Clincher Tyre
Vittoria Open Corsa Evo CX Clincher Tyre
Corsa CX has proved successful in road races all over the world, but the new EVO version is bound to even greater success.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top Class Tyre
Posted13 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Been using the Open Corsa for the past few months in mostly dry but a few wet rides . They are by far the best overall tyres I've used. Previous tyres have been Schwalbe ZX and Conti GP4000S , both good but not upto the class of these . The Open Corsa roll better than both , grip the road surface better and touch wood have not had any punctures in over 500 miles so far . Glass has dug into the tread but appears to have been stopped going any further and was easy to dig out . They are showing very little signs of wear and I picked them up for less than half price which made them even better . Only down side is they could make them look a bit more bling but I just like that kind of thing ! . Excellent tyre ."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new generation of Assos S5 insert bib tights from the campionissimo line. Designed for cold climate riding conditions, ideally suited for early winter.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb Early Winter Bibs
Posted17 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Still the Best for Quality , Comfort (S5 pad soooooo comfy ) and fit .These are designed for early Winter mind , For full winter (really really cold go 706 or Fugu if you ride at the North Pole ! )
You see some people commenting on Assos fit saying there tight when I stand up etc , They design them that way !!!!! so when your on the bike the fit/comfort is perfect !
Rant over , great bibs . Buy and Enjoy your ride as Assos says"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit, super comfy pad
Cons: Expensive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Winter tights with an s5 seat pad and a light and fleecy RX fabric construction for insulation and comfort in cold conditions. With a paired-down design and an ergonomic race fit, LL.Uno tights are the ideal for riders focussed on the essentials.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
usual Assos Quality and Total comfort
Posted17 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Ive been using Assos clothing for a few years now and can't really fault any of it for the Quality or performance . Everyone complains about the price , but you pay for what you get with Assos .
I also have the slightly Heavier and thicker material LL607 bibs which are one up in the Assos Range which are also great , compared to them these New LL UNO's are just as well made and comfortable . Difference , I tend to get warm very quickly and have found on some milder weather rides the thicker material in the 607's make my legs feel very warm . not uncomfortable but I was aware of it .
These UNO's are slighter thinner and don't have as much insulation in certain areas which makes them far better for milder conditions than previous Assos Bibs . If you feel the cold or your knees / bladder area are sensitive to the cold these prob aren't for you thou. The S5 pad is super comfy and they look great .
As usual make sure you get the right size , however they are ment to be tight on the Shoulders when you stand up !!! .
Overall there great , they fill a gap between when you can wear shorts and when you need Winter bibs ."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
 
SRAM again raises the bar of rear derailleur performance with our new Exact Actuation Apex rear derailleur.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Beat any Hill with this !
Posted17 November 2012
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"As a part of Sram's Excellent and most welcome Apex / Climbers kit . This is another great piece of kit made by SRAM . I purchased the Sram climbers kit and this is part of that . Paired with the 11-32 Cassette , this helps you get up some of the Steepest and most evil climbs out there . Took a bike equipped with Apex to Co Durham / Stanhope area where the Climbs are Savage , lots of 20+ % climbs and they go on for ages . Without Apex I would never have made it up some of the Steepest sections and would have suffered like a dog .
Its not the lightest nor does it look Bling . But that's not the point , its cheap , well made for the price and for what it does is Excellent .
Going somewhere Steep on your Bike , Apex 11-32 is the way forward . Trust me your legs and lungs will thank you."
Pros: Great Value
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Change your bike to a climbing machine in 30 minutes! Following the great success of the SRAM Apex and SRAM Rival groupsets with their WiFLi technology (Mid-cage rear derailleur and 11-32 cassette), SRAM launches the SRAM Rival Climber’s Kit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Life and Leg saver !!!
Posted01 November 2012
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Perfect for helping you get up even the steepest climbs . Tested it recently round the hills in Co Durham ( lots of 20+ % climbs ) . The 32 tooth cog enabled me to get up these climbs and was especially good towards the end of a long hard ride when I was tired . Usual good SRAM build quality and ease of use . Can't really fault it in anyway ."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
DavieJT's Questions
 
DavieJT has not submitted any questions.
 
DavieJT's Answers
 
The Ultegra 6800 11 speed cassette is the new offering from Shimano enabling you to use wider ratios. The lightweight HG-EV cassette has rigid alloy sprocket carrier for reduced weight and better shifting performance, even under demanding gear changes.
 

Would the 11-32 work on a 2014 ultegra Di2??

I am assuming I will have to change my rear derailleur to a long arm to fit a 32?? If so is there a 30 available??
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
11-32 works on a 10speed DI2 , it will rub slightly when in 32 cog but you can adjust the b screw on the rear mech to max and it will move it off the jockey wheel .

A 12-30 cassette 105 or tiagra will work no probs .

I've just upgraded to 11 speed DI2 , bought new long cage mech , 11-32 cassette and chain . It is great .
1 week, 4 days ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

How to get bike oil out of white shorts?

I got oil on the shorts and washing them with the assos detergent has not removed it. What's the best way to get it out
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Try Vanish Stain Remover and Swarfega , rub in leave for a while and then wash . Repeat it if oil still there . Had the same problem and it worked

Good luck
1 year, 10 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 BC Duffel Bag Small
BC Duffel Bag Small
Volume: S: 42 litres, Avg weight: S: 1250 g, Dimensions: S: 51 cm x 31 cm x 31 cm, Fabric: Phthalate-free TPE fabric laminate
 

Is this the size i need for a porter to carry on a hiking trip or could i have the next size up?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
would prob get the next size up , small is good for amount of gear you take to gym nothing more . depends on how much gear but for hiking would def go bigger !
4 years ago
by
DavieJT
north East