DavieJT
Top 500 Contributor
Share DavieJT's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
DavieJT's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    43
  • Helpfulness Votes
    23
  • First Review
    27 July 2009
  • Last Review
    02 December 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    19 August 2010
  • Last Answer
    17 September 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
DavieJT's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
 Swissstop Flash Pro Yellow (High Power) Pads
Swissstop Flash Pro Yellow (High Power) Pads
A Swiss product, Swissstop offers the best braking performance in all conditions High performance compound for carbon wheels. Excellent stopping power wet and dry with superior modulation and low pad wear rates.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Improved braking power but at a cost ! .
Posted02 December 2014
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Thought I'd try these pads after reading that Swissstop are about the best you can get . I'm a bit of of a decent demon so need to stop in a hurry and these pads have helped when using my full carbon wheels BUT !
1. As several other riders have said YES they do mark quite badly your nice carbon wheels (giving them a good clean gets it off )
2. They wear down very fast !!! .
For the price I can't really recommend these given the two flaws I and numerous others have pointed out . Shame really , think I will try the latest Swissstop pads thou and see if they have redeemed themselves ."
Pros: improved stopping power on carbon wheels
Cons: Expensive, Wears Out Easily, stains carbon rims
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Muc-Off Water Soluble Degreaser 500ml Aerosol
Muc-Off Water Soluble Degreaser 500ml Aerosol
The Water Soluble De-Greaser quickly and safely eliminates built-up oil, grease and grime on metal, plastic, rubber and seals. The biodegradable formula means that after use it can be quickly rinsed away with water to leave your greasy bike parts clean.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does exactly what it says ! .
Posted23 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Used this loads recently on my winter bike after clocking hundreds of miles up on the Farm roads in Northumberland . The bike and especially the chain gets covered in thick grime which is a pain to get off . Spray this on and leave for 5 minutes , rinse off and wipe with a old cloth/towel and your chain and everything you spray it on is clean . Its made cleaning the bike a lot easier .
Excellent product . Well Done MucOff ."
Pros: Great Value, cleaning power
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Morgan Blue Chain Keeper
Morgan Blue Chain Keeper
This device clamps into the rear stay (drive side) and keeps the chain in place making it easy and less messy for you when you are transporting your bike to and from the car or if hanging on the wall in the shed/home.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
What a simple but great piece of kit
Posted22 October 2014
DavieJT
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"You take your Rear wheel off and the chain flaps all over the place or sometimes comes off ? , Get one of these and those problems are gone . Simple to use and holds the chain perfectly tight . Its perfect for storing the bike without the wheels on or transporting your bike in the car (if like me you have to take at least one or both wheels off ! ) . Can't imagine not using a chain keeper .
Simple , well built and cheap .
Get one ."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
The Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 speed chain is designed to run flawlessly with the Shimano's 11 speed Ultegra groupset. With outer plates design to reduce the chance of chain suck and inner plates developed to providing smoother shifting under load.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Usual Ultegra Quality !
Posted17 September 2014
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"As per usual the newest Ultegra chain is top class and won't let you down . Smooth faultless changing , especially with DI2 . Why pay the extra for Dura ace unless you REALLY have to use Dura ace . Can't fault it ."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6800 11-Speed Cassette
Shimano Ultegra 6800 11-Speed Cassette
The Ultegra 6800 11 speed cassette is the new offering from Shimano enabling you to use wider ratios. The lightweight HG-EV cassette has rigid alloy sprocket carrier for reduced weight and better shifting performance, even under demanding gear changes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Typical Ultegra quality
Posted19 August 2014
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Having used and still using both Dura ace and Ultegra cassettes I can say there is very little in them . The Dura ace is lighter (not by much) and looks very bling especially the titanium cogs but unless your not bothered about the cost (which is huge for Dura ace ) I would stick with the Ultegra . It works just as well , will give you near on the same miles and is a fraction of the cost .
For a rider wanting value and most of all quality you really can't go wrong with Ultegra .
Oh forgot to mention , Ultegra does the magical 11-32 cassette for getting you up the dreaded 20+ % climbs !"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Dura Ace 9000 HollowTech II Double Chainset
Shimano Dura Ace 9000 HollowTech II Double Chainset
With a unique four-arm spider and Hollowtech II construction putting strength just where its needed, the FC-9000 chainset sets new standards for stiffness and low weight.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top Spec Top performance .
Posted09 August 2014
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Upgraded from a 6700 Ultegra chainset to 9000 Dura ace and use it with my DI2 groupset (upgraded that to 11 speed as well ) , you can tell where the money has gone , its lighter and much stiffer .
I went for the middle ground 52/36 tooth chainset and also upgraded my cassette . I've now got a 11-32 , so I have the speed on the flats 52/11 and can spin on the really steep 20%+ climbs I encounter up North .
Really impressed so far , it looks soooo nice I don't ever want to get it dirty ."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S II Folding Road Tyre Twin Pack
Continental Grand Prix 4000S II Folding Road Tyre Twin Pack
The Grand Prix 4000S has had a facelift. The 4000S II gets a Vectran breaker for unsurpassed puncture protection and Continentals advanced BlackChili compound for lower rolling resistance and increased grip.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top Quality Tyres
Posted14 May 2014
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Tested these tyres today on 92 mile bike ride on various road surfaces , Climbs and descents . I already have a set of the previous GP4000S tyres but in 23mm size . These new versions I thought i'd try 25mm to see if there was any difference .
The answer is YES ! , the bigger tyres have improved the ride quality especially on poor roads . The grip also seems even better than previous versions .
Can't comment on there resistance to Punctures or wear yet but the old ones were very good so I can only assume these will be even better .
A worthy improvement on a already Good Tyre ."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos iJ.intermediate_S7 Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Assos iJ.intermediate_S7 Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
The iJ.intermediate_S7 represents a new concept in cycle apparel, it combines high stretch summer weight back and side panels with an advanced stratagonUltra windproof front panel for insulation, protection and thermo-regulation in changing conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Another Excellent Assos Jersey .
Posted26 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Found this to be a truly excellent jersey , Its fit seems to be perfect for me (large) , the windproof panels in the front work well and even in cold weather all i have worn is a wicking baselayer underneath . Usual quality Assos design and styling .
Expensive but as usual with Assos you can see where the R&D has gone and the top class materials used ."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos T.equipe_s7 Bib Shorts
Assos T.equipe_s7 Bib Shorts
Tailored with extreme care to give an amazing race fit, the Assos T.équipe_S7 Bib Shorts are snug and feature a super-anatomic insert. The supremely comfortable fit make these a great choice for non-stop use and races where details make a difference
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Another rung up the Quality ladder .
Posted05 February 2014
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Only used these shorts once so far just to try them out as the weather is awful at the moment (wore them under leggings) ., There RACE fit so very snug but comfy . I'm a few pounds over weight from Xmas (still yes I know ! # so my little kite was showing but is finally starting to go ! . The quality of the construction and material is top class , the pad is excellent and I felt no discomfort after 50miles .
I have both Uno and Mille shorts and would say although the pad is thinner than Mille its as comfy so the next two higher level shorts Cento and campo should be amazing .
As with all Assos kit make sure you get the right size , don't settle for too small or too big and think it will be ok . They won't fit and won't do there job properly . Try before you buy or send them back and get the right size ! .
Its still early days but so far i'm impressed and happy . I've had thousands of miles out of the other Assos shorts and i'm sure these will give me the same service if not better .
Yes there expensive #well Santa got mine !) but your behind will thank you for it .
Treat yourself .
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Vittoria Open Corsa Evo CX Clincher Tyre
Vittoria Open Corsa Evo CX Clincher Tyre
Corsa CX has proved successful in road races all over the world, but the new EVO version is bound to even greater success.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top Class Tyre
Posted13 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DavieJT
fromnorth East
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Been using the Open Corsa for the past few months in mostly dry but a few wet rides . They are by far the best overall tyres I've used. Previous tyres have been Schwalbe ZX and Conti GP4000S , both good but not upto the class of these . The Open Corsa roll better than both , grip the road surface better and touch wood have not had any punctures in over 500 miles so far . Glass has dug into the tread but appears to have been stopped going any further and was easy to dig out . They are showing very little signs of wear and I picked them up for less than half price which made them even better . Only down side is they could make them look a bit more bling but I just like that kind of thing ! . Excellent tyre ."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
DavieJT's Questions
 
DavieJT has not submitted any questions.
 
DavieJT's Answers
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
The Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 speed chain is designed to run flawlessly with the Shimano's 11 speed Ultegra groupset. With outer plates design to reduce the chance of chain suck and inner plates developed to providing smoother shifting under load.
 

Compatibility

Is this chain long enough to use it with Ultegra 6800 long derailleur GS version and 11-32 cassette?
Thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes , no problem . I'm using the same 11-32 long cage mech .
3 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 Speed Chain
The Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 speed chain is designed to run flawlessly with the Shimano's 11 speed Ultegra groupset. With outer plates design to reduce the chance of chain suck and inner plates developed to providing smoother shifting under load.
 

will this work with the new 11 speed 105 (5800)?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes should work no problem .
3 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6800 11-Speed Cassette
Shimano Ultegra 6800 11-Speed Cassette
The Ultegra 6800 11 speed cassette is the new offering from Shimano enabling you to use wider ratios. The lightweight HG-EV cassette has rigid alloy sprocket carrier for reduced weight and better shifting performance, even under demanding gear changes.
 

Would the 11-32 work on a 2014 ultegra Di2??

I am assuming I will have to change my rear derailleur to a long arm to fit a 32?? If so is there a 30 available??
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
11-32 works on a 10speed DI2 , it will rub slightly when in 32 cog but you can adjust the b screw on the rear mech to max and it will move it off the jockey wheel .

A 12-30 cassette 105 or tiagra will work no probs .

I've just upgraded to 11 speed DI2 , bought new long cage mech , 11-32 cassette and chain . It is great .
3 months, 4 weeks ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

How to get bike oil out of white shorts?

I got oil on the shorts and washing them with the assos detergent has not removed it. What's the best way to get it out
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Try Vanish Stain Remover and Swarfega , rub in leave for a while and then wash . Repeat it if oil still there . Had the same problem and it worked

Good luck
2 years, 2 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East
 
 BC Duffel Bag Small
BC Duffel Bag Small
Volume: S: 42 litres, Avg weight: S: 1250 g, Dimensions: S: 51 cm x 31 cm x 31 cm, Fabric: Phthalate-free TPE fabric laminate
 

Is this the size i need for a porter to carry on a hiking trip or could i have the next size up?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
would prob get the next size up , small is good for amount of gear you take to gym nothing more . depends on how much gear but for hiking would def go bigger !
4 years, 3 months ago
by
DavieJT
north East