AtomAnt
Share AtomAnt's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
AtomAnt's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    15 June 2009
  • Last Review
    14 November 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    06 September 2014
  • Last Question
    06 September 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    28 August 2011
  • Last Answer
    14 November 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
AtomAnt's Reviews
 
 Elite VIP Bottle Cage Clamps
Elite VIP Bottle Cage Clamps
Universal support for bottle cages, made of nylon.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
The product works ... sorta.
Posted14 November 2014
AtomAnt
fromMelbourne, Vic.
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I needed a way to attach a bidon cage to a bike without any mount points.
These clamps are very fiddly to attach. The strap doesn't flex as well as it should, so it needs to be held in place until it has been tightened hard - third hand is useful for this procedure. At the same time, the plastic teeth are softer than I'd like so I'm not super-confident in how it would cope with a bumpy road or a heavy load.
It'll do for now, but it is no serious substitute for proper mounting points."
Pros: Adjustable
Cons: fiddly, fragile?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SockGuy Lucky 13 Classic 3" Socks
SockGuy Lucky 13 Classic 3" Socks
SockGuy Lucky 13 Classic 3" Socks deliver superior quality and high-tech features for exceptional strength and long ride comfort helping eliminate blisters and hot spots. You'll be unlucky to puncture while wearing these socks.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Socks don't have to be dull
Posted30 May 2014
AtomAnt
fromMelbourne, Vic.
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good comfortable socks for everyday riding. With clean uncluttered but fun designs, the SockGuy Classics are regularly adorning my feet.
My only gripe - for the Lucky 13 design, one of the 13s should be upside down ... ;-)"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Durano Performance Folding 20" / 24"Tyre
Schwalbe Durano Performance Folding 20" / 24"Tyre
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fast and smooth
Posted14 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
User submitted photo
AtomAnt
fromMelbourne, Vic.
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I am very happy with these tyres for my small-wheeled bike.
I replaced the stock 40mm tyres on my Hooligan with the 28-406 version of the Durano for an immediate improvement in ride quality and a drop in weight. They roll nicely on smaller wheels, and are still in good condition after daily use for quite a few km.
Either I am careful, or the puncture protection works - no flats (yet).
Although 406 is BMX-sized, you can't squeeze fat BMX tubes into, but Schwalbe SV6 or 6A tubes work well."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Lightweight
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Respro Hi Viz Black Diamond Sticker Sheet
Respro Hi Viz Black Diamond Sticker Sheet
A4 sheet of black scotchlite, black in colour but reflects as white in the dark.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Stealth by day, Hi Viz by night
Posted28 August 2011
AtomAnt
fromMelbourne, Vic.
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The sticker comes as a single A4 sheet, making it easy to customise the stickers to the shape and size needed.
I used the sticker in simple bands around the frame. By day it just looks like old-skool black bands, which matches the 'feel' of the steel-framed SS commuter. By night the bands are highly reflective, providing additional side visibility.
The sticker can be tricky to apply; it is easy to stretch it slightly, so that the sticker is not quite flat and then catches bubbles underneath. However, this deformability also helps when applying the stickers to curved surfaces (e.g., forks)."
Pros: effective
Cons: tricky to apply
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Typhoon SBS Road Shoes 2008
Typhoon SBS Road Shoes 2008
The special construction of the upper adapts to every shape of foot and wraps around it evenly. Versatile shoe, ideal for road, time trial or track riding.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
THE shoe for broad feet
Posted14 September 2009
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
AtomAnt
fromMelbourne, Vic.
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A very comfortable last for a broad foot. Usually I need to buy cycling shoes one size too big to get enough width, but with NorthWave I could get the correct size. The inner sole is a weak point, but easily fixed with some Specialized inners and wedges (maybe I just have bad feet).
The adjustment straps work well allowing me to make single click adjustments either way when riding.
The silver looks good when new, but isn't easy to keep looking pretty in bad weather.
These won't be my last NW shoes."
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Classic Dummy Cycling Socks
Classic Dummy Cycling Socks
3"classic cuff socks. Crash test dummies are full-scale replicas of human beings, weighted and articulated to simulate the behavior of the human body.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Made for crits
Posted15 June 2009
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
AtomAnt
fromMelbourne, Vic.
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Need a small gift for the accident-prone criterium racer in your life? Something to cheer them as they nurse another collarbone?
The SockGuy Crash Test Dummy socks feel good and fit well, while being tough enough to survive the next crash test."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
AtomAnt's Questions
 
 Schwalbe Durano Performance Folding 20" / 24"Tyre
Schwalbe Durano Performance Folding 20" / 24"Tyre
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 

Availability of 28/406 version?

Is the 28/406 version no longer stocked by Wiggle? It's not listed, even as out-of-stock.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
AtomAnt
Melbourne, Vic.
 
AtomAnt's Answers
 
 Schwalbe Durano Performance Folding 20" / 24"Tyre
Schwalbe Durano Performance Folding 20" / 24"Tyre
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 

So is it 20" 1.1 or 24" 0.90?

Good day! There are two sizes shown for one tire (without any selection). I need a 20" tire for my Kickbike (front is 700c 25c Durano). When I add that item to the basket there is shown size of 24" 0.90. What shall I do to buy 20"? Or it is same tire?
They are two incompatible tyre sizes, that fit different rims.

20" 1.10 is ETRTO 28-406
24" 0.90 is ETRTO 23-520

Hopefully Wiggle will again stock the 406, because the Durano is a lovely fast tyre on small wheels.
1 week, 5 days ago
by
AtomAnt
Melbourne, Vic.
 
 Elite VIP Bottle Cage Clamps
Elite VIP Bottle Cage Clamps
Universal support for bottle cages, made of nylon.
 

Fitting Advice

Hi,

I have been trying and trying to get these to stay on my franme. My bike is a Focus Mares AX1. The bike only has one bottle cage and I am trying to add these to the vertical tube.

I cannot get them to tighten, when I screw the clamp the teeth pop out. It is very frustrating.

Can you please offer some fitting advice.

Kyran
Patience. It took me several attempts. A third hand to hold the strap down as you tighten helps.
1 week, 5 days ago
by
AtomAnt
Melbourne, Vic.
 
 Elite VIP Bottle Cage Clamps
Elite VIP Bottle Cage Clamps
Universal support for bottle cages, made of nylon.
 

what is it made out of?

Is it made from metal or plastic and could it scratch my frame?
Plastic. Unlikely to scratch your frame, as it isn't even a particularly hard plastic.
1 week, 5 days ago
by
AtomAnt
Melbourne, Vic.
 
 Schwalbe Durano Performance Folding 20" / 24"Tyre
Schwalbe Durano Performance Folding 20" / 24"Tyre
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 

Can you recommend tubes to go with these tyres?

For the 28-406, use Schwalbe SV 6, or SV 6A if you want to save a few grams.

(AV if you use Schraeder)

For the 23-520, use Schwalbe SV 9C.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
AtomAnt
Melbourne, Vic.
 
 Respro Hi Viz Black Diamond Sticker Sheet
Respro Hi Viz Black Diamond Sticker Sheet
A4 sheet of black scotchlite, black in colour but reflects as white in the dark.
 

Is this just on a sheet or is it pre cut designs?

The sticker is a single A4 sheet
3 years, 2 months ago
by
AtomAnt
Melbourne, Vic.