MDean
Top 500 Contributor
Share MDean's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
MDean's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    48
  • Helpfulness Votes
    13
  • First Review
    25 July 2011
  • Last Review
    26 July 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    25 July 2011
  • Last Answer
    04 January 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
MDean's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
Muc-Off's C3 Dry Ceramic Lube raises the bar when it comes to providing the ultimate lubrication. It provides total corrosion protection and unparalleled performance in dry, dusty and damp conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great product and environmental friendly
Posted26 July 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have only used this oil twice on my bikes however so far the changes based on other oils are significant my drive chains have been much smoother and quieter the uv light does make it much easier to apply as you can see areas you may miss when oiling the chain"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
New to the Bracciano lineup is a solid racing wheel for the unique needs of racers who prefer a full alloy aero wheelset. In Special Edition Dark Label decals they offer a stealthy alternative on the standard colour way.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted09 July 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I obtained these wheels the use on my road bike. I wanted a set with deeper rims to see if my performance could be improved. I generally used a pair of 35 mm campagnolo rims. There's not a great deal of performance between the wheels however these look great on my bike they seam to cope with the poor road conditions I tackle during a ride. To date I've done around 200 miles with them. During my rides I face cross winds and must say these cope well."
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Campagnolo Veloce Power Shift 10 Speed Ergopower Lever Set is the newest version of the Veloce Ergo, a high end feature inspired by none other than the exclusive EPS Ergopower controls.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good quality
Posted16 June 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got these levers from wiggle due do to issues I had with my current current 2012 right hand lever was skipping gears after reading the installation instructions and watching various videos on YouTube I had the new levers and all cables installed in around 2 hours since installing the cables I've done around 150 miles the levers work much better than my or if 2012 levers"
Pros: Comfortable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good quality
Posted07 February 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased this chain for my 10 speed campagnolo veloce group set. The chain has been on my road bike for a few months now and glides beautifully. I also purchased a 10 speed KMC missing link for ease of fixing which I would strongly recommend if you haven't got campagnolo tools."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Having already made the worlds lightest 9 speed chain (X-SL series), KMC decided to produce a new cheaper L version. This X9-L Silver chain shares a lot of the SL technology, but provides great performance on a budget.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted07 February 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I haven't used this chain as yet as I'm waiting for dryer weather and don't want to get salt corrosion on the chain in winter riding. I have used KMC chains for a number of years and strongly recommend the brand.
If you regularly use KMC chains I would also recommend getting the KMC pliers to help to disconnect the missing link and connect the missing link. There's a couple of videos on YouTube showing the chains and pliers manufactured by KMC
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Polish removes stains made by tar, grease and other substances whilst providing a surface shine. The treated surface then repells dirt and water.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted07 February 2015
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This polish is great gives my bike a great shine I've only used it a few times since purchasing. I returned from a 36 mile ride in damp conditions and noticed that the bike wasn't as dirty due to the water repellent of the product."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float. Each option sold as a pair
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted04 January 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Replacement cleats for my dhb cycling shoes. I made a mistake by purchasing a pain of imitation cleats which lasted a few weeks. Lesson learned only buy genuine shimano cleats for shimano pedals so that you get a longer wearing pairs of cleats the new pair of cleats purchased from wiggle have only done 40 miles however I have the same cleats on other shoes which have done miles and show little wear."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A 9 speed chain that is compatible withShimano, SRAM and Campagnolo 9 speed systems. Features include their XSP treatment, X-Bridge and the Bulls-Eye pin - a unique KMC riveting system that provides unsurpassed side plate retention.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted14 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased this chain for my eddy merckx flyer road bike with campagnolo mirage 9 speed since fitting the chain I've done around 2000 miles this bike is mainly used in wet/ winter conditions the chain shows very little wear"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Make your bike blinging with these Alloy CNC Valve Caps.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good quality
Posted14 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Fitted these to a set of campagnolo wheels also obtained from wiggle not much to say apart from that they look good"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Get fully kitted out with the new summer dhb unisex cycling socks. Available in 4 colours these lightweight COOLMAX socks are incredibly comfortable and functional.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted14 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have a number of pairs of these socks in various colours they are excellent value for money. Very comfortable as well"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
MDean's Questions
 
MDean has not submitted any questions.
 
MDean's Answers
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float. Each option sold as a pair
 

Where can i get spare bolts (including the square washer parts)?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
You get the bolts and square washers with the cleats
6 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
For use with Athena, Centaur, and Veloce Power Torque chainsets. This time, the axle is in a single piece firmly fixed to the right pedal crank of the chainset.
 

my new bearings will not screw into my frame have i ordered the wrong thread spec

i have a ribble frame,and i ordered italian thread,but the new cup set is just over a millimeter bigger do i need british thread
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Ribble bikes use and English thread you have purchased an Italian thread so the item will not fit buy the English thread version which will fit. The bearing I purchased from wiggle was also for a Ribble aluminium frame
7 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
The VDO M2 is the entry-level model in the VDO M-series and has a compact, linear design and flat structure. The brilliant, portrait-format display uses large letters and a specially developed font to show only one function, making it easy to read.
 

water resistance

Is the computer and transmitter water/rain resistant?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I've used mine in heavy rain showers without any problems
8 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
The VDO M2 is the entry-level model in the VDO M-series and has a compact, linear design and flat structure. The brilliant, portrait-format display uses large letters and a specially developed font to show only one function, making it easy to read.
 

In the features it mentions one wheel size what does that mean.

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
You can only enter one wheel size on this computer at one time therefore if you ride a road bike and a mountain bike you will have to change the wheel size settings for each bike the system will only save at one time one wheel size
1 year, 3 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 Continental Ultra Race Road Tyre
Continental Ultra Race Road Tyre
Nimble, quick and for the ambitious road racer, the Ultra Race tyre supports your ambitions thanks to the race orientated tread & the quick & comfortable 180tpi casing plus the Safety System puncture protection belt meeting your technical demands.
 

Are these tyres suitable for wet weather?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes they are great all year round
1 year, 6 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 

This or Windslam Robaix for winter?

Looking for a winter jacket/jersey for cycling in London and I don't know whether to go for this or the dhb Long Sleeve Windslam Roubaix? It sounds that this jacket is warm but it's doesn't claim to block the wind like the Windslam and in my experience it's the icy wind in Winter that really leads to cold limbs.

Hence I'm leaning toward the Windslam Roubaix but want to double-check my assumptions?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Go for the windslam for added warmth
3 years, 5 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 Miche Race 707 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
Miche Race 707 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
The Race uses a new flat progressive spoke that greatly enhances the aerodynamics of the wheels, the assembly involves accurate and precise spoke tensioning and are mechanically stabilised to settle the components position guaranteeing high quality.
 

are these wheel compatable with a Felt Z100, as ana upgrade, or what would you recomend?m

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Would be ideal, I purchased these wheels as replacements to a set I've had for 11 years
4 years ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 Miche Race 707 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
Miche Race 707 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
The Race uses a new flat progressive spoke that greatly enhances the aerodynamics of the wheels, the assembly involves accurate and precise spoke tensioning and are mechanically stabilised to settle the components position guaranteeing high quality.
 

Do these hubs come with sealed bearings?

What model hub are these and do they come with sealed bearings?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
They come with sealed bearings the hub is campag
4 years ago
by
MDean