MDean
Top 500 Contributor
Share MDean's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
MDean's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    41
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Review
    25 July 2011
  • Last Review
    14 December 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    25 July 2011
  • Last Answer
    07 December 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
MDean's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
 KMC X9-73 9 Speed Chain
KMC X9-73 9 Speed Chain
Features include: Compatible with Shimano, SRAM and Campagnolo 9 Speed sprockets.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted14 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased this chain for my eddy merckx flyer road bike with campagnolo mirage 9 speed since fitting the chain I've done around 2000 miles this bike is mainly used in wet/ winter conditions the chain shows very little wear"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Token Valve Caps
Token Valve Caps
Make your bike blinging with these Alloy CNC Valve Caps.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good quality
Posted14 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Fitted these to a set of campagnolo wheels also obtained from wiggle not much to say apart from that they look good"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Light Weight Cycling Sock 8cm
dhb Light Weight Cycling Sock 8cm
Get fully kitted out with the new summer dhb unisex cycling socks. Available in 4 colours these lightweight COOLMAX socks are incredibly comfortable and functional.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted14 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have a number of pairs of these socks in various colours they are excellent value for money. Very comfortable as well"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 KMC X10-EL Silver 10 Speed Chain
KMC X10-EL Silver 10 Speed Chain
KMC's 10 speed chains are compatible with all major shifting systems, it is NON directional so will work with both Shimano's mtb and road 10spd.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value
Posted14 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I haven't used this chain since purchasing it. I have however used kmc chains on all my road bikes and mountain bikes and have found the brand to be excellent value for money I've used kmc chains for over 15 + years and to date I've never experienced a broken chain. Currently I have a 9 speed kmc on a merckx flyer road bike which has done 2000 miles and since fitting the chain and shows little wear and I have an 8 speed kmc chain on a felt hard tail mountain bike which has done around 800 miles since fitting the chain again no signs of wear."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb R1.0 Road Cycling Shoe
dhb R1.0 Road Cycling Shoe
An outstanding value road cycling shoe with a sleek, minimal upper for cooling comfort and a stiff glass reinforced nylon sole for efficient pedalling action. The R1.0 is the perfect introduction to performance cycle footwear.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted07 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have 2 pairs of these shoes one black and the other white the black pairs I've had for over 2 years I place memory foam soles inside due to being diabetic I have to watch my feet. These shoes are very comfortable and are great value I ride around 3000 miles per year in these shoes with no problems. another great product from dhb"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
The Windslam Roubaix Jersey offers effective windchill defence, added warmth and all the features you need whilst out on your bike, making it the perfect layer for those cold Autumn/Winter road rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted07 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased this top for cold and damp winter rides I've now warn this top a couple of times and found it very comfortable and a good fit it wipes down very easily if you get splashes of mud on it after a ride. You may need a long sleeve base layer under the top for extra warmth"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Momentum Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - Fluoro
dhb Momentum Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - Fluoro
With temperature regulating features and a super soft fleece fabric, the Momentum Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey is ideal for road cycling sessions through the colder seasonal months. A wardrobe essential for all levels of performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted07 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased this item for cold winter riding I've only warn this once since purchasing I had to wear a long sleeve base layer underneath however the top is very comfortable. The only slight drawback was that it shows every mud mark due to the bright colour still a good product from dhb"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Campagnolo Power Torque Cup Set
Campagnolo Power Torque Cup Set
For use with Athena, Centaur, and Veloce Power Torque chainsets. This time, the axle is in a single piece firmly fixed to the right pedal crank of the chainset.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good quality
Posted07 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I had to replace my campagnolo bottom bracket due to slight wear a friend fitted this for me due to the fact that he has all the recommended tools. He said that the part took a while to fit due to the fact that campagnolo puts lock tight on the threads which means you have to be extra careful not to cross thread when fitting apart from this the replacement bearing works well"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Easton Pinline Foam Bar Tape
Easton Pinline Foam Bar Tape
Made from durable EVA foam with embossed Easton logos, The Easton Pinline Logo Foam Bar Tape provides great grip and vibration damping in a variety of colours.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
easy to use
Posted02 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"For the price this is excellent bar tape the tape supplied to finish the installation wasn't used the best tape for finishing bar tape is electricians black tape. The tape was installed in only a few minutes and looks great."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Topeak Joe Blow Sport II Track Pump
Topeak Joe Blow Sport II Track Pump
Topeak quality at a great price! Padded elastomer grip and TwinHead connector make this efficient pump comfortable and easy to use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
easy to use
Posted30 September 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got this track pump for my road bike tyres it's very easy to use it has an arrow where you can set the desired pressure good value for money and very easy to use"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
MDean's Questions
 
MDean has not submitted any questions.
 
MDean's Answers
 
 Campagnolo Power Torque Cup Set
Campagnolo Power Torque Cup Set
For use with Athena, Centaur, and Veloce Power Torque chainsets. This time, the axle is in a single piece firmly fixed to the right pedal crank of the chainset.
 

my new bearings will not screw into my frame have i ordered the wrong thread spec

i have a ribble frame,and i ordered italian thread,but the new cup set is just over a millimeter bigger do i need british thread
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Ribble bikes use and English thread you have purchased an Italian thread so the item will not fit buy the English thread version which will fit. The bearing I purchased from wiggle was also for a Ribble aluminium frame
1 week, 3 days ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 VDO M2 WL Wireless Cycle Computer
VDO M2 WL Wireless Cycle Computer
The VDO M2 is the entry-level model in the VDO M-series and has a compact, linear design and flat structure. The brilliant, portrait-format display uses large letters and a specially developed font to show only one function, making it easy to read.
 

water resistance

Is the computer and transmitter water/rain resistant?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I've used mine in heavy rain showers without any problems
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 VDO M2 WL Wireless Cycle Computer
VDO M2 WL Wireless Cycle Computer
The VDO M2 is the entry-level model in the VDO M-series and has a compact, linear design and flat structure. The brilliant, portrait-format display uses large letters and a specially developed font to show only one function, making it easy to read.
 

In the features it mentions one wheel size what does that mean.

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
You can only enter one wheel size on this computer at one time therefore if you ride a road bike and a mountain bike you will have to change the wheel size settings for each bike the system will only save at one time one wheel size
7 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 Continental Ultra Race Road Tyre
Continental Ultra Race Road Tyre
Seriously fast tyre. Nimble and quick for the ambitious road racer.
 

Are these tyres suitable for wet weather?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes they are great all year round
10 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 

This or Windslam Robaix for winter?

Looking for a winter jacket/jersey for cycling in London and I don't know whether to go for this or the dhb Long Sleeve Windslam Roubaix? It sounds that this jacket is warm but it's doesn't claim to block the wind like the Windslam and in my experience it's the icy wind in Winter that really leads to cold limbs.

Hence I'm leaning toward the Windslam Roubaix but want to double-check my assumptions?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Go for the windslam for added warmth
2 years, 10 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 Miche Race 707 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
Miche Race 707 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
The Race uses a new flat progressive spoke that greatly enhances the aerodynamics of the wheels, the assembly involves accurate and precise spoke tensioning and are mechanically stabilised to settle the components position guaranteeing high quality.
 

are these wheel compatable with a Felt Z100, as ana upgrade, or what would you recomend?m

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Would be ideal, I purchased these wheels as replacements to a set I've had for 11 years
3 years, 4 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 Miche Race 707 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
Miche Race 707 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
The Race uses a new flat progressive spoke that greatly enhances the aerodynamics of the wheels, the assembly involves accurate and precise spoke tensioning and are mechanically stabilised to settle the components position guaranteeing high quality.
 

Do these hubs come with sealed bearings?

What model hub are these and do they come with sealed bearings?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
They come with sealed bearings the hub is campag
3 years, 4 months ago
by
MDean