MDean
Top 1000 Contributor
Share MDean's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
MDean's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    28
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    25 July 2011
  • Last Review
    02 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    25 July 2011
  • Last Answer
    26 January 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
MDean's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Scirocco 35 features a new 35mm deep section rim that is aerodynamic and yet easy to handle in a strong cross wind. It is also responsive and light, but packed with all the advantages of a standard clincher rim with an aluminium braking surface.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great value and quality
Posted02 March 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've only done around 60 miles with this wheels however the campag free wheel is very quiet the wheels are fine even in strong head winds they look great on my bike the transfers are better than i've had on campag wheels before where the stickers started to peel. It's hard to tell if the wheels makes me ride any faster due to the fact that I've only done 2 rides on them. Due to spokes being flat instead of round I had to use a piece of electrical tape on the spoke for my sigma sensor to hold in place a part from that gtreat value and quality"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Seriously fast tyre. Nimble and quick for the ambitious road racer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GOOD WEAR
Posted26 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have these tyres on both my road bikes, I average around 2,500 miles per year I get at least 1,000 miles out of each set of tyres. and to date I have not encountered any punctures apart from those caused by bad maintained roads i.e. pot holes!!! the only thing that let these tyres down is that they are hard to fit due to the wire bead but overall a great tyre."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
This small chain tool from Park Tools goes anywhere and performs like a shop quality tool.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
a good size to fit in a small tool bag
Posted19 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have not had to use this product as of yet, however it appears to be of good quality and is a size that would enable it to fit in a small tool bag or a pocket in your jersey"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nano Tech Bike Cleaner buy 1 get 1 free
Nano Tech Bike Cleaner buy 1 get 1 free
Buy one litre of Muc-Offs Nano Tech Bike Cleaner and get another FREE to remove double the dirt and grime with even less effort at the same great price.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ideal for road and mountain bikes
Posted01 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"i've purchased muc off a few times from wiggle. This purchase was very good value 2 for the price of 1 i use it on all of my bikes from my road bikes to my mountain bike after each ride a spray a small amount on the wheels, frame, forks, seat drive chain etc. It's great for keeping my bikes in good working condition"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An insulating winter cap that fits comfortably under your cycling helmet for warmth and protection on cold winter roads rides and commutes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted20 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"i purchased this hat for winter rides it fits well under the cycle helmet and is comfortable. The main thing is that it keeps my head warm"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Infinito - Replacement Pad Set
Infinito - Replacement Pad Set
A set of replacement Inner pads for Las Infinito Helmet
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted15 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I was pleased that i was able to get a replacement Las pad set for my road cycling helmet. The reason for the low score was down to the fact that the original pad set was falling apart after i had done around 3,000 miles wearing the helmet. However i ordered 2 sets which is better than buying a new helmet and cheaper!! And as always the service from wiggle was again excellent!!! And fast"
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Seriously fast tyre. Nimble and quick for the ambitious road racer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ultra race folding tyres
Posted18 September 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased these tyres for my new road bike ive had these in the past on other bikes ive only done around 150 miles since purchasing a week or so the only niggle i have is that they are a tight fit on my campag wheels so be careful not to nip the innertubes when fitting using tyre levers. It will be hard to fit these folding tyres with out using levers. The tyres however once fitted grip the road with excellent rolling havent used on wet roads but I'm sure that they will be fine. Overall great value and a great performing tyre."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Tyre Levers
Tyre Levers
Set of three handy LifeLine Tyre Levers. A must have essential for any cyclist, easy to use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lifeline Tyre Levers
Posted30 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These levers are great, they are great to use on tyers with wire walls, and are also great with folding tyers.
They lock together so that fit easily in a small seat bag or in the rear pocket of your cycling jersey.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The very famous quality of regular Deda Tape in a all new fashionable dress: fully perforated.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Deda Perforaqted bar tape
Posted30 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"TGhis bar tape is great value, I've got black on my raod bike bars and it has worn well, its easy to clean and was easy to fit.
I use the figure 8 method when fixing the tape so the small cut off peices for the gear / brake brackets didn't get used.
Deda bar tape is good value and durable
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Bulls-Eye pin: The unique KMC bulls-eye pin riveting provides unsurpassed side plate retention.X-SP treatment: KMC's extreme stretchproof treatment of pins and plates makes this chain less susceptible to wear caused by sand or other exterior material invading into the chain bearings. Drastically enh...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
KMC X9 9 SPEED CHAIN
Posted30 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These chains are very good value I've had several of these chains on my 12 year old Eddy Merckx road bike over the years, this chain is ideal for Campag, its easy to put on and take off with the missing link that comes with it, i've also got the 8 speed version on my mountain bike.
once cleaned and then oiled with some dry lube this chain performs great, and to date I've never had one break!!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
MDean's Questions
 
MDean has not submitted any questions.
 
MDean's Answers
 
Seriously fast tyre. Nimble and quick for the ambitious road racer.
 

Are these tyres suitable for wet weather?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes they are great all year round
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 

This or Windslam Robaix for winter?

Looking for a winter jacket/jersey for cycling in London and I don't know whether to go for this or the dhb Long Sleeve Windslam Roubaix? It sounds that this jacket is warm but it's doesn't claim to block the wind like the Windslam and in my experience it's the icy wind in Winter that really leads to cold limbs.

Hence I'm leaning toward the Windslam Roubaix but want to double-check my assumptions?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Go for the windslam for added warmth
2 years, 2 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
The Race uses a new flat progressive spoke that greatly enhances the aerodynamics of the wheels, the assembly involves accurate and precise spoke tensioning and are mechanically stabilised to settle the components position guaranteeing high quality.
 

are these wheel compatable with a Felt Z100, as ana upgrade, or what would you recomend?m

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Would be ideal, I purchased these wheels as replacements to a set I've had for 11 years
2 years, 8 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
The Race uses a new flat progressive spoke that greatly enhances the aerodynamics of the wheels, the assembly involves accurate and precise spoke tensioning and are mechanically stabilised to settle the components position guaranteeing high quality.
 

Do these hubs come with sealed bearings?

What model hub are these and do they come with sealed bearings?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
They come with sealed bearings the hub is campag
2 years, 8 months ago
by
MDean