MDean
Top 500 Contributor
Share MDean's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
MDean's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    45
  • Helpfulness Votes
    12
  • First Review
    25 July 2011
  • Last Review
    07 February 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    25 July 2011
  • Last Answer
    04 January 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
MDean's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good quality
Posted07 February 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased this chain for my 10 speed campagnolo veloce group set. The chain has been on my road bike for a few months now and glides beautifully. I also purchased a 10 speed KMC missing link for ease of fixing which I would strongly recommend if you haven't got campagnolo tools."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Having already made the worlds lightest 9 speed chain (X-SL series), KMC decided to produce a new cheaper L version. Sharing a lot of the SL technology, the L offers both performance and budget.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted07 February 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I haven't used this chain as yet as I'm waiting for dryer weather and don't want to get salt corrosion on the chain in winter riding. I have used KMC chains for a number of years and strongly recommend the brand.
If you regularly use KMC chains I would also recommend getting the KMC pliers to help to disconnect the missing link and connect the missing link. There's a couple of videos on YouTube showing the chains and pliers manufactured by KMC
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Polish removes stains made by tar, grease and other substances whilst providing a surface shine. The treated surface then repells dirt and water.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted07 February 2015
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This polish is great gives my bike a great shine I've only used it a few times since purchasing. I returned from a 36 mile ride in damp conditions and noticed that the bike wasn't as dirty due to the water repellent of the product."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted04 January 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Replacement cleats for my dhb cycling shoes. I made a mistake by purchasing a pain of imitation cleats which lasted a few weeks. Lesson learned only buy genuine shimano cleats for shimano pedals so that you get a longer wearing pairs of cleats the new pair of cleats purchased from wiggle have only done 40 miles however I have the same cleats on other shoes which have done miles and show little wear."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Features include: Compatible with Shimano, SRAM and Campagnolo 9 Speed sprockets.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted14 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased this chain for my eddy merckx flyer road bike with campagnolo mirage 9 speed since fitting the chain I've done around 2000 miles this bike is mainly used in wet/ winter conditions the chain shows very little wear"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Make your bike blinging with these Alloy CNC Valve Caps.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good quality
Posted14 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Fitted these to a set of campagnolo wheels also obtained from wiggle not much to say apart from that they look good"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Get fully kitted out with the new summer dhb unisex cycling socks. Available in 4 colours these lightweight COOLMAX socks are incredibly comfortable and functional.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted14 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have a number of pairs of these socks in various colours they are excellent value for money. Very comfortable as well"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
KMC's 10 speed chains are compatible with all major shifting systems, it is NON directional so will work with both Shimano's mtb and road 10spd.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value
Posted14 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I haven't used this chain since purchasing it. I have however used kmc chains on all my road bikes and mountain bikes and have found the brand to be excellent value for money I've used kmc chains for over 15 + years and to date I've never experienced a broken chain. Currently I have a 9 speed kmc on a merckx flyer road bike which has done 2000 miles and since fitting the chain and shows little wear and I have an 8 speed kmc chain on a felt hard tail mountain bike which has done around 800 miles since fitting the chain again no signs of wear."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An outstanding value road cycling shoe with a sleek, minimal upper for cooling comfort and a stiff glass reinforced nylon sole for efficient pedalling action. The R1.0 is the perfect introduction to performance cycle footwear.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted07 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have 2 pairs of these shoes one black and the other white the black pairs I've had for over 2 years I place memory foam soles inside due to being diabetic I have to watch my feet. These shoes are very comfortable and are great value I ride around 3000 miles per year in these shoes with no problems. another great product from dhb"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Windslam Roubaix Jersey offers effective windchill defence, added warmth and all the features you need whilst out on your bike, making it the perfect layer for those cold Autumn/Winter road rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted07 December 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased this top for cold and damp winter rides I've now warn this top a couple of times and found it very comfortable and a good fit it wipes down very easily if you get splashes of mud on it after a ride. You may need a long sleeve base layer under the top for extra warmth"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
MDean's Questions
 
MDean has not submitted any questions.
 
MDean's Answers
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 

Where can i get spare bolts (including the square washer parts)?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
You get the bolts and square washers with the cleats
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
For use with Athena, Centaur, and Veloce Power Torque chainsets. This time, the axle is in a single piece firmly fixed to the right pedal crank of the chainset.
 

my new bearings will not screw into my frame have i ordered the wrong thread spec

i have a ribble frame,and i ordered italian thread,but the new cup set is just over a millimeter bigger do i need british thread
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Ribble bikes use and English thread you have purchased an Italian thread so the item will not fit buy the English thread version which will fit. The bearing I purchased from wiggle was also for a Ribble aluminium frame
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
The VDO M2 is the entry-level model in the VDO M-series and has a compact, linear design and flat structure. The brilliant, portrait-format display uses large letters and a specially developed font to show only one function, making it easy to read.
 

water resistance

Is the computer and transmitter water/rain resistant?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I've used mine in heavy rain showers without any problems
6 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
The VDO M2 is the entry-level model in the VDO M-series and has a compact, linear design and flat structure. The brilliant, portrait-format display uses large letters and a specially developed font to show only one function, making it easy to read.
 

In the features it mentions one wheel size what does that mean.

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
You can only enter one wheel size on this computer at one time therefore if you ride a road bike and a mountain bike you will have to change the wheel size settings for each bike the system will only save at one time one wheel size
1 year, 1 month ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 Continental Ultra Race Road Tyre
Continental Ultra Race Road Tyre
Nimble, quick and for the ambitious road racer, the Ultra Race tyre supports your ambitions thanks to the race orientated tread & the quick & comfortable 180tpi casing plus the Safety System puncture protection belt meeting your technical demands.
 

Are these tyres suitable for wet weather?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes they are great all year round
1 year, 4 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 

This or Windslam Robaix for winter?

Looking for a winter jacket/jersey for cycling in London and I don't know whether to go for this or the dhb Long Sleeve Windslam Roubaix? It sounds that this jacket is warm but it's doesn't claim to block the wind like the Windslam and in my experience it's the icy wind in Winter that really leads to cold limbs.

Hence I'm leaning toward the Windslam Roubaix but want to double-check my assumptions?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Go for the windslam for added warmth
3 years, 3 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
The Race uses a new flat progressive spoke that greatly enhances the aerodynamics of the wheels, the assembly involves accurate and precise spoke tensioning and are mechanically stabilised to settle the components position guaranteeing high quality.
 

are these wheel compatable with a Felt Z100, as ana upgrade, or what would you recomend?m

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Would be ideal, I purchased these wheels as replacements to a set I've had for 11 years
3 years, 10 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
The Race uses a new flat progressive spoke that greatly enhances the aerodynamics of the wheels, the assembly involves accurate and precise spoke tensioning and are mechanically stabilised to settle the components position guaranteeing high quality.
 

Do these hubs come with sealed bearings?

What model hub are these and do they come with sealed bearings?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
They come with sealed bearings the hub is campag
3 years, 10 months ago
by
MDean