MDean
Top 1000 Contributor
Share MDean's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
MDean's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    31
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    25 July 2011
  • Last Review
    07 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    25 July 2011
  • Last Answer
    26 April 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
MDean's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
The Ultra Sport II offers everything you need performance wise for racing. Reliable puncture protection from the robust 3/180 TPI design, good grip and a long tread life from the silica based compound.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great puncture resistance
Posted07 July 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Since buying these tyres I've done around 500 miles without a puncture. I've used continental tyres many of times on both road bike and mountain bikes and the puncture resistance has been great."
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The VDO M2 is the entry-level model in the VDO M-series and has a compact, linear design and flat structure. The brilliant, portrait-format display uses large letters and a specially developed font to show only one function, making it easy to read.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great value
Posted26 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased this cycle computer to replace my 12 year old sigma. This is a good computer easy to read when sat up on the bike the only negative thing i can say about it was the for the fact that the instructions were hard for me to follow. However if you log on to the makers web site you can down load a pdf which will be easy step by step instructions which i did with ease."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A saddle that has been designed for medium-long distance recreational riding and both male/female riders. Also features the PAS system (Perineal Area System - cut out to alleviate pressure).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
this is a comfortable saddle
Posted26 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"i purchased this saddle for my main road bike i've covered around 150 miles with this saddle with rides between 25 and 45 miles and to date the saddle is very comfortable taking onto account my 14 stone!!!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Scirocco 35 features a new 35mm deep section rim that is aerodynamic and yet easy to handle in a strong cross wind. It is also responsive and light, but packed with all the advantages of a standard clincher rim with an aluminium braking surface.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great value and quality
Posted02 March 2014
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've only done around 60 miles with this wheels however the campag free wheel is very quiet the wheels are fine even in strong head winds they look great on my bike the transfers are better than i've had on campag wheels before where the stickers started to peel. It's hard to tell if the wheels makes me ride any faster due to the fact that I've only done 2 rides on them. Due to spokes being flat instead of round I had to use a piece of electrical tape on the spoke for my sigma sensor to hold in place a part from that gtreat value and quality"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Limited Color Choices
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Seriously fast tyre. Nimble and quick for the ambitious road racer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GOOD WEAR
Posted26 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have these tyres on both my road bikes, I average around 2,500 miles per year I get at least 1,000 miles out of each set of tyres. and to date I have not encountered any punctures apart from those caused by bad maintained roads i.e. pot holes!!! the only thing that let these tyres down is that they are hard to fit due to the wire bead but overall a great tyre."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
This small chain tool from Park Tools goes anywhere and performs like a shop quality tool.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
a good size to fit in a small tool bag
Posted19 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have not had to use this product as of yet, however it appears to be of good quality and is a size that would enable it to fit in a small tool bag or a pocket in your jersey"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nano Tech Bike Cleaner buy 1 get 1 free
Nano Tech Bike Cleaner buy 1 get 1 free
Buy one litre of Muc-Offs Nano Tech Bike Cleaner and get another FREE to remove double the dirt and grime with even less effort at the same great price.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ideal for road and mountain bikes
Posted01 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"i've purchased muc off a few times from wiggle. This purchase was very good value 2 for the price of 1 i use it on all of my bikes from my road bikes to my mountain bike after each ride a spray a small amount on the wheels, frame, forks, seat drive chain etc. It's great for keeping my bikes in good working condition"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Winter Hat
Winter Hat
An insulating winter cap that fits comfortably under your cycling helmet for warmth and protection on cold winter roads rides and commutes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted20 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"i purchased this hat for winter rides it fits well under the cycle helmet and is comfortable. The main thing is that it keeps my head warm"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Infinito - Replacement Pad Set
Infinito - Replacement Pad Set
A set of replacement Inner pads for Las Infinito Helmet
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted15 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I was pleased that i was able to get a replacement Las pad set for my road cycling helmet. The reason for the low score was down to the fact that the original pad set was falling apart after i had done around 3,000 miles wearing the helmet. However i ordered 2 sets which is better than buying a new helmet and cheaper!! And as always the service from wiggle was again excellent!!! And fast"
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Seriously fast tyre. Nimble and quick for the ambitious road racer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ultra race folding tyres
Posted18 September 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased these tyres for my new road bike ive had these in the past on other bikes ive only done around 150 miles since purchasing a week or so the only niggle i have is that they are a tight fit on my campag wheels so be careful not to nip the innertubes when fitting using tyre levers. It will be hard to fit these folding tyres with out using levers. The tyres however once fitted grip the road with excellent rolling havent used on wet roads but I'm sure that they will be fine. Overall great value and a great performing tyre."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
MDean's Questions
 
MDean has not submitted any questions.
 
MDean's Answers
 
The VDO M2 is the entry-level model in the VDO M-series and has a compact, linear design and flat structure. The brilliant, portrait-format display uses large letters and a specially developed font to show only one function, making it easy to read.
 

In the features it mentions one wheel size what does that mean.

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
You can only enter one wheel size on this computer at one time therefore if you ride a road bike and a mountain bike you will have to change the wheel size settings for each bike the system will only save at one time one wheel size
4 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
Seriously fast tyre. Nimble and quick for the ambitious road racer.
 

Are these tyres suitable for wet weather?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes they are great all year round
7 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 

This or Windslam Robaix for winter?

Looking for a winter jacket/jersey for cycling in London and I don't know whether to go for this or the dhb Long Sleeve Windslam Roubaix? It sounds that this jacket is warm but it's doesn't claim to block the wind like the Windslam and in my experience it's the icy wind in Winter that really leads to cold limbs.

Hence I'm leaning toward the Windslam Roubaix but want to double-check my assumptions?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Go for the windslam for added warmth
2 years, 6 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
The Race uses a new flat progressive spoke that greatly enhances the aerodynamics of the wheels, the assembly involves accurate and precise spoke tensioning and are mechanically stabilised to settle the components position guaranteeing high quality.
 

are these wheel compatable with a Felt Z100, as ana upgrade, or what would you recomend?m

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Would be ideal, I purchased these wheels as replacements to a set I've had for 11 years
3 years, 1 month ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
The Race uses a new flat progressive spoke that greatly enhances the aerodynamics of the wheels, the assembly involves accurate and precise spoke tensioning and are mechanically stabilised to settle the components position guaranteeing high quality.
 

Do these hubs come with sealed bearings?

What model hub are these and do they come with sealed bearings?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
They come with sealed bearings the hub is campag
3 years, 1 month ago
by
MDean