MDean
Top 250 Contributor
Share MDean's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
MDean's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    63
  • Helpfulness Votes
    17
  • First Review
    25 July 2011
  • Last Review
    03 January 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    25 July 2011
  • Last Answer
    04 January 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
MDean's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
Great value 5 pack & new for 2015, Lifeline road inner tubes are designed for 700C rims & are available in two sizes & three valve lengths. LifeLine inner tubes are made of high quality butyl rubber & air leakage tested to ensure excellent reliability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great value
Posted03 January 2016
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These tubes for the price are great value due to having continental gator skin tyres to most of my bikes I don't tend to puncture that often however these inner tube's are great value"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Install components with calibrated precision. The LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench allows you to apply the correct tension and clamping force when fitting and adjusting components, helping prevent costly damage or dangerous loosening of bolts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted03 January 2016
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I received this torque wrench as a Christmas present I've only used a few times how ever the wrench for the price is easy to use follow the pre-use instructions to ensure the wrench is lubricated correctly it's easy to set the required torques from ring chain bolts to stems and seat posts. The only criticism is the attachments are hard to remove a from the wrench to swap etc. Dispite this its still a great tool for the price."
Pros: Adjustable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Femto Drive lightset is an affordable yet brilliant compact "be seen" light. Engineered alloy body is light (62g per pair with straps) and tough with long lasting, high polished and anodised finish.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted03 January 2016
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've only used these lights on a couple of occasions however they are easy to fit on the bike and easy to remove once removed they fit nicely in my jersey rear pocket"
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The GatorSkin is the ultimate wire bead training & racing tyre where puncture protection is priority. Using the latest technology against flats the GatorSkin range uses an aramid breaker and Duraskin® sidewall ProTection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great quality
Posted11 December 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have these tyres on all my road bikes I average around 3500 miles a year and during that time I've only punctured a few times which was due to poorly maintained roads rather than the tyres."
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Professional, high quality lubricant especially suited for road cycling applications. Syn Lube contains extra adhesive & synthetic additives to reduce friction and helps deliver smoother gear shifts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value
Posted11 December 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I used this oil regularly on all my road bikes and mountain bike it is a thick lubricant so doesn't run when applied."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent product
Posted30 October 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased two of these for my eastway r3.0 they were easy to fit and hold my bottles in place but not too tight allowing me to remove the bottles whilst riding without having to struggle to put the bottles back in the cage whilst avoiding pot holes and the odd drain cover."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Aero shaped wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Large openings swallow up all the things you take with you.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent product
Posted30 October 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Topea k's products are generally excellent quality this saddle bags is no exception I obtained this to replace an existing Topeak bag which is more than 17 years old and was showing signs of wear. The bag is big enough to hold 2 inner tubes, tyre levers, chain tool and spare links plus some loose change for the odd coffee stop. I use this bag for 2 of my road bikes and with in a few minutes it fits from one bike to another."
Pros: Adjustable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Excellent value SPD-SL compatible road bike pedals for a secure interface with your cycling shoes. Supplied with 6° float cleats and sporting a wide profile, Shimano PD-R540 are the perfect introduction to performance road cycling pedals.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent product
Posted28 October 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have these pedals on all my bikes. These were purchased from wiggle for my winter training bike which I also go via wiggle ( Eastway R3.0 with tiagra ) the only downside was wiggles price was more than other websites however the price I got the bike and other accessories for made up for it."
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
a must have when replacing cables
Posted28 October 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are a must have when you're replacing your cables to either road or mountain bikes"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
New for 2015, Lifeline road inner tubes are designed for 700C rims and are available in two sizes & three valve lengths. LifeLine inner tubes are made of high quality butyl rubber and air leakage tested to ensure excellent reliability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great value
Posted28 October 2015
MDean
fromHarwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I use these tubes on all my road bikes with clincher tyres they are great value for money"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
MDean's Questions
 
MDean has not submitted any questions.
 
MDean's Answers
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float. Each option sold as a pair
 

Where can i get spare bolts (including the square washer parts)?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
You get the bolts and square washers with the cleats
1 year, 4 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
For use with Athena, Centaur, and Veloce Power Torque chainsets. This time, the axle is in a single piece firmly fixed to the right pedal crank of the chainset.
 

my new bearings will not screw into my frame have i ordered the wrong thread spec

i have a ribble frame,and i ordered italian thread,but the new cup set is just over a millimeter bigger do i need british thread
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Ribble bikes use and English thread you have purchased an Italian thread so the item will not fit buy the English thread version which will fit. The bearing I purchased from wiggle was also for a Ribble aluminium frame
1 year, 5 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 VDO M2 WL Wireless Cycle Computer
VDO M2 WL Wireless Cycle Computer
The VDO M2 is the entry-level model in the VDO M-series and has a compact, linear design and flat structure. The brilliant, portrait-format display uses large letters and a specially developed font to show only one function, making it easy to read.
 

water resistance

Is the computer and transmitter water/rain resistant?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I've used mine in heavy rain showers without any problems
1 year, 6 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 VDO M2 WL Wireless Cycle Computer
VDO M2 WL Wireless Cycle Computer
The VDO M2 is the entry-level model in the VDO M-series and has a compact, linear design and flat structure. The brilliant, portrait-format display uses large letters and a specially developed font to show only one function, making it easy to read.
 

In the features it mentions one wheel size what does that mean.

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
You can only enter one wheel size on this computer at one time therefore if you ride a road bike and a mountain bike you will have to change the wheel size settings for each bike the system will only save at one time one wheel size
2 years ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 Continental Ultra Race Road Tyre
Continental Ultra Race Road Tyre
Nimble, quick and for the ambitious road racer, the Ultra Race tyre supports your ambitions thanks to the race orientated tread & the quick & comfortable 180tpi casing plus the Safety System puncture protection belt meeting your technical demands.
 

Are these tyres suitable for wet weather?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes they are great all year round
2 years, 3 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 

This or Windslam Robaix for winter?

Looking for a winter jacket/jersey for cycling in London and I don't know whether to go for this or the dhb Long Sleeve Windslam Roubaix? It sounds that this jacket is warm but it's doesn't claim to block the wind like the Windslam and in my experience it's the icy wind in Winter that really leads to cold limbs.

Hence I'm leaning toward the Windslam Roubaix but want to double-check my assumptions?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Go for the windslam for added warmth
4 years, 3 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 Miche Race 707 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
Miche Race 707 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
The Race uses a new flat progressive spoke that greatly enhances the aerodynamics of the wheels, the assembly involves accurate and precise spoke tensioning and are mechanically stabilised to settle the components position guaranteeing high quality.
 

are these wheel compatable with a Felt Z100, as ana upgrade, or what would you recomend?m

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Would be ideal, I purchased these wheels as replacements to a set I've had for 11 years
4 years, 9 months ago
by
MDean
Harwich
 
 Miche Race 707 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
Miche Race 707 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
The Race uses a new flat progressive spoke that greatly enhances the aerodynamics of the wheels, the assembly involves accurate and precise spoke tensioning and are mechanically stabilised to settle the components position guaranteeing high quality.
 

Do these hubs come with sealed bearings?

What model hub are these and do they come with sealed bearings?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
They come with sealed bearings the hub is campag
4 years, 9 months ago
by
MDean