ChimpOnABike
Share ChimpOnABike's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
ChimpOnABike's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    09 July 2010
  • Last Review
    24 July 2010
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    09 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    09 July 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
ChimpOnABike's Reviews
 
 Variado Expert Triple 2010
Variado Expert Triple 2010
The 2010 Variado Expert features Shimano 105 and Concept components to provide you with a fantastic performance bike at an outstanding price.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Greta bike - now more of a bargain than ever
Posted24 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ChimpOnABike
"I did a lot of research into road bikes before choosing this one and I'm definitely very happy with the decision - I don't know of anything else in this price bracket that comes with the Shimano 105 drivetrain and chain set.
Setup and delivery from Wiggle were excellent - my only issue was that the supplied front and rear reflectors were not a good fit for the frame at all, and took several hours of wrestling with to get fitted. Part of the problem was that the handlebars are oval in cross section, which is extremely comfortable to hold, but not so great for fitting reflectors that were designed with circular cross sections in mind. The same goes for the supplied bell, although I opted to leave that off.
I've done around 100 miles on the bike so far and find it very comfortable and smooth to ride. The setup from Wiggle was great; it rode smoothly straight out of the box and I've had no problems with it since. The only downside worth mentioning is it is a little heavier than some bikes in this price range, but personally I don't really think that makes much difference at this level."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Topeak Road Morph with Gauge
Topeak Road Morph with Gauge
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good value, good quality
Posted09 July 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
ChimpOnABike
"Great value portable pump - it's not the smallest or lightest pump I've ever used but it's still an easy fit on the bike. The flexible tube allows you to connect the pump to the valve whilst keeping the pump on the floor - which has the double benefit of being able to brace it with your leg and also meaning there's no chance of ending up with a bent valve.
The pump unpacks quickly and easily and the combination of aluminium construction and its slightly larger size means that getting pressure into your tyres is quick and easy.
The few things I would criticise are that the handle is a little bit small, so it can be hard to feel like you've got a good drip of it when pumping; the pressure gauge is useful but I'm slightly skeptical about how accurate it is in my experiences with the pump so far; and finally, the flexible tube is good but it would have been nice for it to be a bit longer (although it does extend a little beyond its size when packed up)."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ChimpOnABike's Questions
 
ChimpOnABike has not submitted any questions.
 
ChimpOnABike's Answers
 
 Topeak Road Morph with Gauge
Topeak Road Morph with Gauge
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 

Is this suitable for french valves common to most road bikes?

I have been told portable pumps tend to bend the valves on road bikes. Is there any truth to this?
The pump is compatible with the two major valve types - schrader and presta, and features a flexible tube for you to connect to the valve when using the pump. THis means the pump doesn't rock the valve when inflating the tyre so there is no chance of bending the valve.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
ChimpOnABike
 
 Topeak Road Morph with Gauge
Topeak Road Morph with Gauge
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 

Does the pump come with a mounting kit

Yes, it comes with kit to mount it to a variety of bikes, whether you have the correct mounting sockets or not.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
ChimpOnABike