HillsAreFriends
Share HillsAreFriends's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
HillsAreFriends's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    23 October 2011
  • Last Review
    01 October 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    23 October 2011
  • Last Answer
    01 October 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
HillsAreFriends's Reviews
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good tubes for a good price.
Posted01 October 2012
HillsAreFriends
fromHampshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are pretty good tubes and not bad value as a pack of 5.
My only slight gripe is that I have to tighten the valve body a little before use otherwise I can find that my screw on Lezyne pumps can sometimes undo the complete valve body from the valve stem after inflation during removal (and I don't overtighen the pump tubes either); just a little annoying when that happens. However once that is done there are generally no further problems. It should not pose a problem to those with push fit pumps."
Pros: Great Value
Cons: lezyne pump owners watch out for lose valve bodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib shorts with ‘Action 205’ and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics. Contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface ‘Giro Air’cycling pad.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Excellent value and comfortable bib-shorts
Posted01 October 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
HillsAreFriends
fromHampshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are good shorts although not quite as comfortable as the more expensive Pro's but still nontheless excellent. Would definitely purchase again. They fit ok too (sizing chart good), plenty of stretch in the braces which is always a concern given that I'm 194cm tall and the braces do not adjust.
I get quite a bit of DHB stuff as it represents good quality and excellent value for money."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great value and excellent fitting bib-shorts.
Posted01 October 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
HillsAreFriends
fromHampshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I wanted a good value quality bib-short for longer rides and these definitely fit the bill. Extremely comfortable. I also bought a pair of the Race shorts as I wasn't initially too sure about the thicker pad in the Pro's but now having compared both I think the Pro's are better and worth the higher premium."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight base layer provides a superior cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Excellent summer wicking layer
Posted01 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
HillsAreFriends
fromHampshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The product was exactly what I've been after. Lightweight breathable undergarment which helps to move moisture away from the skin, although clearly you still remain fairly damp when really hot. Works fairly well as it starts to cool down too.
I normally take most jerseys in XL so got this in a L to ensure a tight fit and that seems to be perfect. Disappointing that Wiggle now have it marked as discontinued."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Super C Klickfix Bar Bag
Super C Klickfix Bar Bag
Large detachable, clearview folded map case KLICKfix® for easy on/off bike use, optional extender to clear computer mounts, lights etc Large fittings available for handlebars up to 32mm diameter Zipped internal pocket 5 litre capacity Made from heavy duty black Cotton duck Shoulder strap for of...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great Bar Bag
Posted23 October 2011
HillsAreFriends
fromAlton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this from Wiggle for my wife, basically to replace her existing bag which leaked like a sieve in the rain. I purchased it on the basis of my own experience, having owned one for about 3 years. The bag is very durable and rain proof. I've toured with mine quite a bit and it has never let the weather in to harm my bag contents. You need to keep the map case on as it helps to keep the top dry but also the elasticated retaining strap flaps noisily if you remove it. The side pockets are really handy for hex keys, suncream etc. The case is nice and stiff and has plenty of room, but you should not overload it (weight-wise) because it can affect steering. Tried the under bag light fixing once but found the light beam bounced all over the place, so never used it again."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ultimate Ultremo ZX/HD
Posted23 October 2011
HillsAreFriends
fromAlton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Initially purchased just one of these to see if it was any better than the Continental GP4000S that I had on the back wheel which suffered a noisy blowout. The roads around me are very poor, crummy surfaces, lots of flint and general debris, so a tall order for any road tyre to survive. I find the Ultremo rides well, accelerates quickly and grips superbly. The tyre has suffered a few nasty deep cuts and slices but so far none have resulted in a puncture. I regularly grimace as I hear stones getting squashed and pinging out the side but they are holding up well with the abuse. Would definitely consider getting more or possibly the heavier but more durable Ultremo DD; no doubt a better option for the cooler months."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, fast
Cons: cuts easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
HillsAreFriends's Questions
 
HillsAreFriends has not submitted any questions.
 
HillsAreFriends's Answers
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib shorts with ‘Action 205’ and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics. Contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface ‘Giro Air’cycling pad.
 

Sizing Question

Hi,

What would be the most appropriate size for me - I'm 6 3" with a waist of 34".

Thanks,

SMT.
Best answer
I'm 6'4" and went for the XL which fits just fine. I'm not quite as svelte as yourself, being nearer the 37" waist mark and the bib-shorts are quite comfy around the waist, so might be a little baggier on you. However given your height I think a L might make your voice go up an octave if the braces are much shorter in length; even though they are quite stretchy they are not adjustable.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
HillsAreFriends
Hampshire, UK
 
 Super C Klickfix Bar Bag
Super C Klickfix Bar Bag
Large detachable, clearview folded map case KLICKfix® for easy on/off bike use, optional extender to clear computer mounts, lights etc Large fittings available for handlebars up to 32mm diameter Zipped internal pocket 5 litre capacity Made from heavy duty black Cotton duck Shoulder strap for of...
 

Is the case waterproof? Is the map case waterproof? Can an extra map case be purchased?

(not much documentation on the Carradice website)
I've found the bag to be very waterproof, especially if you keep the map case on; might start to suffer if you didn't (can't say I've tried). As for the map case, never had any of my paperwork get wet that I've stored in there. I do annually re-proof mine just in case, but so far so good (after 3 years of regular use). Don't know about spare/extra map case purchase.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
HillsAreFriends
Alton
 
 Super C Klickfix Bar Bag
Super C Klickfix Bar Bag
Large detachable, clearview folded map case KLICKfix® for easy on/off bike use, optional extender to clear computer mounts, lights etc Large fittings available for handlebars up to 32mm diameter Zipped internal pocket 5 litre capacity Made from heavy duty black Cotton duck Shoulder strap for of...
 

Detachable light bracket

Is the detachable light bracket included that is listed with the product on the Carradice website?
Both of the bags I purchased came with the light bracket, but as I mentioned in my review, I found the light beam would bounce around too much (made me feel sick trying to see the road ahead) so I only tried it once. I think it would be fine for say an LED that is used just so that you can be seen, as opposed to you wanting to see by it.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
HillsAreFriends
Alton
 
 Super C Klickfix Bar Bag
Super C Klickfix Bar Bag
Large detachable, clearview folded map case KLICKfix® for easy on/off bike use, optional extender to clear computer mounts, lights etc Large fittings available for handlebars up to 32mm diameter Zipped internal pocket 5 litre capacity Made from heavy duty black Cotton duck Shoulder strap for of...
 

Is the lid stiffened or does it allow water to pool?

I have a Vaude Discover Box that I could still return to the shop if I find a better alternative. It has a "soft top" which sags and might be a problem when it rains, although the map case would probably help a bit.
I think it might pool if you took the map case off, which I would not recommend. As you surmise, the map case keeps most of the rain off, but without it the elastic case retaining strap tends to flap in the wind. I tend to re-proof mine once/year and it has not let me down once in some fairly hideous rain storms.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
HillsAreFriends
Alton
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

Is the Shwalbe Ultremo ZX tyre a clincher or a tubular?

Clincher
2 years, 9 months ago
by
HillsAreFriends
Alton