SMJT
Share SMJT's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
SMJT's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    05 July 2010
  • Last Review
    17 December 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    05 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    17 December 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
SMJT's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 dhb Active Waterproof Hi Viz Jacket
dhb Active Waterproof Hi Viz Jacket
With light shower and wind resistance and minimal construction, the dhb Active Waterproof Jacket can be stowed away easily into a jersey pocket or saddle bag.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good value for price but not breathable
Posted17 December 2014
SMJT
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Pretty cheap, it fits well and seems pretty durable. The down side is that it is not breathable at all, 10/15 mins after putting it on the inside is wet with sweat. So fine for short rides but definitely not something to wear on a long ride."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: not breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
Get off road with the very sturdy mountain bike shoe from dhb. The M1.0 features a Simple 3-strap closure and a rubber outsole with internal glass reinforced Nylon structure for excellent traction and great power delivery.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Very useable and cheap
Posted16 October 2014
SMJT
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Fit and price are good so no complaints there. However they will not last very long if used off road. I use them mainly for commuting and a little bit of MTB. After 2/3 months the surface of the "leather" has worn away in a lot of places and torn right through in one place. Also the grips on the sole cracked and ripped off the bottom of the left shoe. I super-glued it back on but on reflection I should have returned them as I was expecting a bit better from dhb and wiggle have always been very good about things like this. Overall they are fine for commuting but definitely not off road. So only buy if on sale!"
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Femto Drive LED Light Set
Lezyne Femto Drive LED Light Set
The Femto Drive lightset is an affordable yet brilliant compact "be seen" light. Engineered alloy body is light (62g per pair with straps) and tough with long lasting, high polished and anodised finish.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Easy to install and works well
Posted03 June 2014
SMJT
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Bought these because they are easy to attach to the handlebar and seat post for the ride home after a circuit race. Attaching and removal is trivial. They are bright enough to be noticed and seem to work well. They're pretty well made, the Alu body appears robust. Saying that it was a bit of a hassle to install the battery for the front light as the seal caught in the threads, so the body wouldn't tighten easily. The rear light (exactly the same body just with a red lense) was no problem."
Pros: Durable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 GripGrab RaceAero Overshoes
GripGrab RaceAero Overshoes
RaceAero is a Lycra shoe cover offering ultimate aerodynamic efficiency. Besides protecting shoes against spray and dirt, RaceAero looks great too. Compatible with most types of pedal systems.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value for price
Posted20 May 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
SMJT
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Well made and the fit seems good. Can't imagine they will last very long with repeated use but don't expect them too. The cuff is a little short but perhaps that is being a little picky. I'd buy them again."
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Clif Bar Box Of 12 x 68g Bars
Clif Bar Box Of 12 x 68g Bars
The original natural energy bar. Every Clif bar is packed with a healthy mix of whole grains, protein and fibre, but not with fat, perfect to keep you going whatever your activity.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Love cliff bars
Posted16 April 2014
SMJT
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Texture just right, flavours not too sweet, particularly like the peanut butter version"
Pros: tasty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Quickview Garmin GPS/Computer Mount
Quickview Garmin GPS/Computer Mount
SRAM delivers an uncomplicated computer mount that‘s easy to install, lightweight, and above all, vibration and slip-free. At only 20 grams, with a single torx T25 bolt, and flexible mounting clasp, it installs quickly, simply and securely.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
invaluable
Posted16 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SMJT
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These are so good I've order two more for my bikes!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Neoprene Glove
dhb Neoprene Glove
dhb Neoprene glove for cold wet weather use.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
comfortable fit, windproof but Spring/Autumn only
Posted05 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
SMJT
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought a size large, they fit really well and are comfortable to wear. I especially like the velco cuff which gives a good secure fit. I've used these gloves for a couple of weeks now and can't fault them. There isn't much padding but you do get a good feel of the controls.
On their own, these gloves aren't the warmest. Anything less than say 4 degrees and you'll feel the cold. I've used a pair or liners with them and that seems to be ok. So Spring/Autumn use only, also they're not waterproof but seem fine to resist the wind well enough.
I bought them when they were £19, but def wouldn't buy at £27 as not worth it."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good winter jersey
Posted01 November 2010
SMJT
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I used this with a base layer, and it works just fine. The material is breathable, so I didn't heat up too much and the windproofing works well. So all in all very pleased with it. Be aware though, it is a slim fit, I'm not exactly chubby (6ft tall with a 32" waist) but I had to return a medium and get a large size. Also the rear pockets aren't huge, so you may be limited in what you can carry."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Crud Race Pac Mudguard Set
Crud Race Pac Mudguard Set
Lightweight, slimline, offering all round mud control. Great for use on hybrid / trekking bikes as well as mountain bikes.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Crud Mudguards
Posted01 November 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
SMJT
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Overall these are not that expensive and do the job adequately. I got these for a Specialized Rock hopper. The rear guard is pretty easy to fit to the seat post, adjustment is easy but I would have liked the ability to angle it down just a little more. Unfortunately it’s impossible to fit the front guard as it fits to the downtube and Specialized run the gear cables down the front of the downtube."
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Orion Down Tube Fit Bracket
Orion Down Tube Fit Bracket
Spare OK Baby Orion Down Tube Fit Bracket
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Needed for a mountain bike
Posted15 July 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
SMJT
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"If you want to fit the seat to a mountain bike, you will probably need this bracket. I have a Clcud Butler Alpina so the head tube was quite large. The bracket scomes in about 8/10 pieces but isn't difficule to construct. You also get serveral different length bolts to attach the bracket. Exact positioning can be a little fiddly but doesn't take too long to adjust. Also the bar which holds the seat in place is quite a tight fit."
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Unadjustable, Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SMJT's Questions
 
SMJT has not submitted any questions.
 
SMJT's Answers
 
 dhb Active Waterproof Hi Viz Jacket
dhb Active Waterproof Hi Viz Jacket
With light shower and wind resistance and minimal construction, the dhb Active Waterproof Jacket can be stowed away easily into a jersey pocket or saddle bag.
 

Is it breathable?

Absolutely not. I use it to cycle to and from a nearby race track (~20 mins in traffic) and it will be wet inside when I get there. It is cheap though!
5 days ago
by
SMJT
London
 
 dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
Get off road with the very sturdy mountain bike shoe from dhb. The M1.0 features a Simple 3-strap closure and a rubber outsole with internal glass reinforced Nylon structure for excellent traction and great power delivery.
 

Shoe sizing & will they work with chosen pedals i have purchased from you ?

Morning need some help , I have just recently purchased some shimano Deore XT PD - M785 TRAIL WIDE PLATFORM I need to know if these will work with the shimano M064 SPD MTB SHOE & DHB M1.0 SPD MTB SHOE. Also I have the dhb road shoe R1.0 which are great however I went for the 44 size as that's my size in a normal shoe they fit fine except some times they feel a little tight at the end of the toes would you recommend that I go for a 45 in the mtb shoe as I wear seal skin socks in winter time .

Thanks Paul
Those pedals should have come with a set of SPD cleats and these shoes are SPD compatible. So yes they will work just fine. Oh and yes go for a 45 if your feet are little tight in the road shoe version. One point to note, I use my MTB shoes for commuting and a small amount of MTB. They shoes just don't stand up to abuse, the surface is ripped and I even managed to rip off one of the grips from the sole.
2 months ago
by
SMJT
London
 
 dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
Get off road with the very sturdy mountain bike shoe from dhb. The M1.0 features a Simple 3-strap closure and a rubber outsole with internal glass reinforced Nylon structure for excellent traction and great power delivery.
 

Suitable overshoe for winter riding?

Could you suggest a suitable overshoe for winter riding please? Finding warm, waterproof overshoes compatible with MTB shoes is tricky!
Best answer
Endura road overshoes, simply the best I've come across. Just remember to go one size larger than normal.

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/endura/road-overshoes-ec011695?country=GB&currency=GBP&gclid=CKO_gvPvsMECFcbMtAodnkIAvQ&gclsrc=aw.ds
2 months ago
by
SMJT
London
 
 Chronometro Aero TT Cycling Helmets - 2012
Chronometro Aero TT Cycling Helmets - 2012
Designed to shave seconds off your time trials, the Chronometro's sleek lines, visor and neck extension minimize drag and air resistance to give you an aerodynamic advantage.
 

Is this helmet made in Italy? And is the visor not only detachable but retractable? Thanks.

Yes the helmet is made in Italy.

It comes with 2 visors and a helmet bag. You can detach visors relatively easily but they are not retractable, unfortunately. Mine misted up badly during a wet TT so I had to stop. Also the helemt is slightly too big for the helmet bag which kind of defeats the purpose really.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
SMJT
London
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 

Does it have a zipped pocket?

Yes a small zipped pocket on the RHS on the back, but none on the front. It's not very big, enough for your house keys.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
SMJT
London
 
 Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Just like the trail, but with a wider 60mm blade for use with fat tyre bikes running 24 or 26" wheels.
 

Will this fit to a Trek 4300?

I have a Trek 4300 with front suspension. Will these mud guards fit it?
yes they will fit, I use these on a Cluad Butler Alpina front suspension bike. The connector on the rear mudguard appears to be a little weak saying that I've been using them for 3 months now and it hasn't broken. Also the front mudguard uses a metal L bracket which requires a hole on the bridge between the front forks through which you pass a bolt. Mine didn't have have this so I cable tied it on.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
SMJT
London
 
 Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Just like the trail, but with a wider 60mm blade for use with fat tyre bikes running 24 or 26" wheels.
 

Does it fit a small frame hybrid bike?

I would say no, I use these on a 22" frame/ 26" wheel front suspension mountain bike and the fit well.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
SMJT
London